Tony Baffoe wins SWAG Sports Personality of the year Award

Video Archive
Sun, 28 May 2017 Source: www.ghanaweb.com

Ex-Black Stars defender and president of the Professional Footballers Association, (PFAG) Tony Baffoe was crowned the Sports Personality of the year at the 42nd SWAG awards.

The annual award ceremony that recognises people for their diverse roles towards the development of sports in the country happened at the Banquet Hall of the State House amid pomp and glamour and the CAF and FIFA match coordinator beat off competition from boxer Emmanuel Tagoe to win the ultimate award.

Tony Baffoe was rewarded for his exploits at FIFA that saw him coordinate some historic matches at the 2016 Rio Olympic game as well as the finals of the 2016 Club World Cup.

Tony Baffoe’s PFAG has also been on education tour where they have been educating Ghanaian players on the need to plan for life after football.

The event had in attendance the President, Nana Akufo-Addo, Sports Minister, Isaac Asiamah, SWAG president Kwabena Yeboah and other distinguished personalities from the sports fraternity

TP Mazembe winger Solomon Asante saw off competition from West Ham forward Andre Dede Ayew and Leicester City defender Daniel Amartey to win the Male Best Footballer of the year award.

Black Queens striker Pricilla Adubea won the Female Footballer of the year award for helping her team Ampem Darkoa Ladies win last season’s Women’s League. Her overly impressive 19-goal tally was a reason why her club achieved the feat.

Wa All Stars goalie Richard Ofori was surprisingly picked as the local footballer of the year ahead of Latiff Atta Blessing formerly of Liberty Professionals and Medeama SC’s set-piece expert Akwesi Donsu.

The National Weightlifting team, The Black Cranes won the National Team of the award whiles Ghana Premier League champions Wa All Stars were crowned Male Football Club of the year.

Full list of Award winners

Corporate Awards

McDan Group Of Companies

Twellium Industries Ghana Limited

Special Awards

Mahama Mustapha

Ruth Baffoe

Isaac Dogboe

Kick Boxer of the year

Lawrence Nyanyo Nmai

Table Tennis player of the year

Derrick Abrefa

Female Club of the year

Ampem Darkoa Ladies

Para-Athlete of the year

Yussif Amadu

Discovery of the year

Richmond Osarfo

Weightlifter of the year

Christian Amoah

Hockey player of the year

(Male) Emmanuel Ankomah

(Female) Rachael Bamfoe

Most Promising Star of the year

Sandra Owusu-Ansah

Dedication and Valor

Godwin Atram

Dan Quaye

Amateur Boxer of the year

Abdul Wahid Omar

Male Athlete of the year

John Ampomah

Female Athlete of the year

Nadia Eke

Male Footballer of the year

WA All Stars

Coach of the year

Paul Dogboe

Football Referee of the year

Roger Banor

Association Chairman of the year

Ben Nunoo Mensah

Professional boxer of the year

Emmanuel Tagoe

National team of the year

Black Cranes

Female Footballer of the year

Priscilla Adubea

Premier Player of the year

Richard Ofori

Male footballer of the year

Solomon Asante

Sports Personality of the year

Anthony Baffoe

Source: www.ghanaweb.com