Sports News Thu, 12 Mar 2020

Click for Market Deals →

WAFA 0-1 Aduana: Yahaya Mohammed’s goal sinks Academy Boys

A goal from Yahaya Mohammed decided a difficult away match for Aduana Stars as the defending champions won at WAFA by a lone goal in this Match Week 14 encounter on Wednesday.

The forward who recently received a call-up into the Black Stars netted in the 65th minute to ensure Aduana Stars kept their title defense bid intact.

WAFA entered the game on the back of a humiliating defeat to Legon Cities during the last match week. The Academy Boys were eager to make amends and needed a result reminiscent of their last home game when they clobbered AshGold SC by 6-1.

Head Coach Dr. Prosper Narteh made one change to the starting lineup to face Aduana with Kingsford Opoku making his first start as Richard Danso was serving suspension.

The Academy Boys started in dominant fashion but failed to make them count as they squandered the chances they created.

The first half eventually ended in a stalemate.

WAFA started the second half just like they did in the first. However Aduana Stars improved their second half performance and got rewarded with a goal.

Yahaya Mohammed unleashed a thumping effort that went straight into the net to give the away side the lead and eventual winner.

Aduana Stars Coach Paa Kwesi Fabin remains undefeated in his time as boss of the defending champions. He has won 2 of the 3 games played, all away matches (Dreams FC & WAFA SC) keeping clean sheets in all these games.

The win sees Aduana Stars take their tally to 27 points and are joint top of the league table. WAFA on the other hand have now lost back to back league games and are stuck on 8th position with 19 points.

WAFA Start List:

Prince Bilson Ato (GK), Konadu Yiadom, Augustine Boakye, Ibrahim Abukari (cpt), Karim Samed Abdul, Kelvin Boakye Yiadom, Eric Asamany, Kingsford Opoku, Samson Agyepong, Andrews Ntim, Youssifou Atte


Bolivar Sarfo Owusu, Bortey Acquaye, Prosper Deyegbe, Daniel Owusu, Michael Danso Agyemang, Enock Asubonteng, Haruna Jalilu Mola

Aduana Stars Start List:

Joseph Addo, Isaac Kwain, Joshua Tijani, Paul Aidoo, Caleb Amankwah, Samuel Bioh, Farouk Adams, Flavien Kouassi, Elvis Opoku , Mohammed Yahaya, Charles Kamara Gyamfi


Alfred Opoku, Supe Nortey, Musah Amevor, Benjamin Owusu, Richard Kwesi Nathan, Masawudu Inusah, John Nyamekye

Source: footballmadeinghana.com

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter

Related Articles: