Charging duties on imported cars in dollars is killing our business – Automobile Dealers Union

Read Comments Comments (21)

• Farmer 1 year ago

And this is just the beginning.

We have a government desperate for money. Money that is illigally pumped into NPP's lost campaign for the upcoming elections.

A desperate government listens to nobody.

We are looking f ...

• Jack Toronto 1 year ago

@Farmer
    You couldn't have said it better. When Dr. Kwakye from IEA proposed they should then dollarize the economy, the greyhounds from Julorbi house were baying for blood. One policy on paper, another in practice. NPP, neve ...

• Watch things get worse 1 year ago

A failed country where your own currency sef you dey run from, Akuffo Addo is a monumental failure and a corrupt thief.....

• SMARTPHONE £XPERT - START MAKING REAL MONEY IN 3WKS 1 year ago

Hm...Last year's investors in this skill are reaping now, 162 already sold this month.Dont be left out, take control of your finances with our smartphone repair course(the first & best worldwide). In just three weeks, gain va ...

• TogbeKporwomordzikpoo KpornugloAvumako 1 year ago

It serves you people right. Next time mind your business. Don't go about contributing your hard earned money to support a moron to become president.

• Dave 1 year ago

Fact my bro!!

• NANA NTOW 1 year ago

It’s the funniest situation we find ourselves, it’s been years that we wait for the central bank to release exchange rate to customers for them to use to charge duties and and when Kwakye of IEA says Dollarize you economy ...

• Jon J 1 year ago

They say go buy brand-nu-assembled-in-ghana-cars. WTF

• Kobi 1 year ago

My greatest regret is given my wife transportation Fair to go and vote during least election not knowing am voting for heartless corrupt people to come and Steal like there is no tomorrow

Our mother Ghana is on the brink ...

• KofSam 1 year ago

As Ghanaians we shall not stop with our insults until our leaders do the right thing . Why should Ghanaians who import cars pay duty in dollars . We are fools . Is the dollar our unit of currency? These are businessmen helpin ...

• KofSam 1 year ago

The automobile dealers union must go on demonstrations against this policy and they should not pay the duties in dollars. If they authorities will not change that policy, they should take matters into their own hands . At tim ...

• Test 2 1 year ago

WICKED AKUFO ADDO
    ARE WE IN THE USA TO CHARGEIN DOLLARS

• Test 2 1 year ago

AKUFO ADDO IS A THIEF

• .com 1 year ago

Don't worry, Dr Bawumia will solve the problem for you.

• Nana 1 year ago

The worst is about to happen so them for stand well. The Tema Harbor it self is not owned by the government so they can't do nothing but follow orders from the owner. foolish country like Ghana

• Elephant Farmer 1 year ago

I told you that Tema Port is the problem. Does it comply with the constitution that duties, levies and taxes are to be paid in foreign currency? It will depreciate the Cedi. Dollars stashed at home. The best you can do, aucti ...

• Kudozia 1 year ago

Yet they are so stupid to blame people that cedi to dollar is falling.

• mr amin 1 year ago

Why charge in dollars? Don't you know that will put pressure on the cedi? Bawumia says when he comes he will change in cedis and it will be a flat rate, vote Bawumia

• Kobby11_11 1 year ago

What is this guy saying? Don't they also sell the cars in dollars? SMH.

• Yaw 1 year ago

This article smacks of illiteracy. And you'll falling for it hook, line and sinker! Anyway, this is ghanaweb. Publication without verification.

That's a sign that this incompetent and vision-less government has no confidence in the nation's currency, yet it hypocritically asks Ghanaians to wear local attire. A prudent government doesn't do things that put road blocks ...