We will scrap fuel, DSTV, and other allowances for government officials - Mahama

Read Comments Comments (52)

• GASKIA 1 year ago

Sensible policy. Long overdue. And somebody will post an insult about this?

• Sam 1 year ago

Policies and implementation are two different things
    If it will be done and maintained it will be very good for ghana
    But the question is where will the money saved be used
    Scrap all the V8 and be like Rwanda
    Bottom l ...

• Togbe Agorkorli 1 year ago

Good idea from wrong messenger....this is the same guy who campaign in helicopter....dumb dramani how much is a 200 cedis DSTV gon save?....small mind jack Daniels....nkoko nkitikiti.

• Yaw 1 year ago

Torgbe, your cocaine chimpanzee clearing agent president cannot be compared to JM.
    He is a talkertive president.

• Mike 1 year ago

Deceiving the gullible and the unlearned. You have been a president before. Why didnt you stop it. Cheap politics indeed

• Kramai 1 year ago

The economy was ok back then and hence wasn’t necessary

• Eman 1 year ago

Are you sure you were in Ghana?The economy was ok but we went for an IMF loan?

• Kramai 1 year ago

IMF or not the economy was ok that’s the word I used

• Eman 1 year ago

An ailing economy needs help.Thats where IMF comes in.Your comment is thefore far from truth

• maapa o 1 year ago

is going to imf a crime? is taking additional loan a crime

• Drs 1 year ago

Do you take loans when you are financially ok?

• Yaw 1 year ago

The economy was far far better than what we have today. The data tells it all.

• BB 1 year ago

Because economy was better it was ok to pay useless allowances.... .I see

• Blackman 1 year ago

He has learnt his lessons....

• Concerned Ghanaian 1 year ago

He should also include and scrap so called vehicle loans for MP’s to the amount of $120,000 per MP per term of his presidency which is a euphemism for free money at the cost to the tax payer. Remove all non Ghanaian assem ...

• Kojo 1 year ago

Well said JDM, your the man Ghana needs not BAWULIAR who has nothing better to offer than liars and empty promises like AKUFFO ADDO

• Solomon 1 year ago

Politicians and lies, former president Mahama have been on that seat before and all the opportunities to do things right. But failed to do so, now he wants to come back he is promising heaven. I don’t believe in NDC or NPP ...

• Smioko 1 year ago

Solomon, you said it all, politicians are super liars, so many years this is what has been going on, deceiving Ghanaians. Don't trust these politicians NDC/NPP

• Blackman 1 year ago

He has learnt his lessons.....

• KNOCK THEM 1 year ago

The starting point is Mahama should say the government should remove all the payments including security and househeps plus the travelling and fuel allowances from him first. Start now and stop this tomfoolery ideas.

• Nii Akpakpa Zamrama 1 year ago

Eiiiiii, so even DSTV bills are borne by government? & they tell us they are dedicating themselves to serving Ghana.
    Eiiiiiii hmmmmm

• King 1 year ago

As for fuel Allowance he should look at it again. Many government workers including Doctors and Teachers who use their own car to work are paid this Allowances.

• Ekd 1 year ago

Yes, it is about time. Even the so called developed countries do not entertain such payments. Whoever comes to power should implement this idea. The SUVs should be curtailed for all, even the president. Ghana needs every penn ...

• Abbiw 1 year ago

Ghana needs total overhaul in our democratic processes. No more loans for V8s. Car rental services are available and if an MP wants to go to his/her constituency s/he has to rent a car. In Canada here, some MPs take train or ...

• KOBBY 1 year ago

BUT HE AND HIS THIEFS WERE TAKING COUPONS FOR THEIR PERSONAL GAINS RIGHT?

• Blackman 1 year ago

Mahama has learnt his mistakes. He is a better choice than who peddles lies. Where is the concrete motorway as promised?

• Kofi Adu 1 year ago

Only foolish people will agree to this nonsense. Why didn't you scrap it when you was president for six years? Remember that if you win you have only four years as a president. So stop your unnecessary promises

• Blackman 1 year ago

A lot can be done in 4 years bro. If in 4 to 8 years, Akuffo Addo, Ofori Atta and their cohorts can milk Ghana to bankruptcy can't Mahama make it better in 4 years?

• Hannah Bissue 1 year ago

Senseless Mahama making all sort of promises just to get hold of power.

• Blackman 1 year ago

What have you contributed Mr sensible man?

• Accranie 1 year ago

Oluman yobbings

• maapa o 1 year ago

su su hy3 b)..hmmm. Obi b) hy3 amem nek)

• All freebies 1 year ago

All freebies need to be scrapped....they need to depend on their salary just like rest of Ghanaians. If it's not official government must not incur any cost...simple.

• Akos 1 year ago

JDM should stop receiving these incentives while in opposition and that Ghanaian s will take him serious

• Blackman 1 year ago

It's not JDM. If your useless leaders want to milk the nation, that is what happens. We worship our retired presidents more than a retired US president. Are we fools? Ghana is just the size and in population like Oregon and w ...

• Anonymous 1 year ago

They will target Mahama for this comment. These people are the ones in charge of affairs and you dare them. Why not take action when you win power?

• Stephen 1 year ago

Start from bank of Ghana

• Citizen 1 1 year ago

Just another way to get more money for akpeteshie .
    Ghana is in trouble should he win again.

• Bagina 1 year ago

YOU DON'T HAVE ANY BIG NEW IDEAS. TINKERING ON THE EDGES OF 65+ YEARS OLD LAWS WILL GET US NOWHERE.

YOUR WIFE SHOULD REFUND MONEY SHE CONTINUES TO COLLECT UNLAWFULLY.

• Blackman 1 year ago

The 3 arms of government plus the MMDAs are the major cause of Ghanaian problems. You got that?

• Emma osew 1 year ago

Write your comment but you have be in power before. Why you didint do soo before

• Obiba Jah 1 year ago

Mr Mahama you already have 1 vote with this policy alone am voting for you....

• Yaw 1 year ago

Very commonsensical. JM, God bless you.

• Ben 1 year ago

I support this many times your excellence

• Eric Fynn 1 year ago

Good one there

• Truth 1 year ago

With this you might have my vote. Let's do away ex gratis, meeting allowance, free rent etc and all the nkwasia alllowance. Let's implement what Margaret Thatcher did and we will discourage lazy and stupid people from enterin ...

• Kukrudu 1 year ago

The fox promised the sheep that he will become a vegetarian if they elect him for president.

• Elephant Farmer 1 year ago

Dumsor John likes to support Prostitutes, free car and bungalow. John Dumsor chop another Billions if d fool win elections. He employed a black Mosquito to sack Muntaka and Haruna. 4 years only. Airbus Ford... Nothing good to ...

• Oyibo 1 year ago

Just throwing missiles, government official one speaking.

• Northern Boy 1 year ago

That'll be more than fantastic. It's high time we started getting some things right in this country. Very Very happy to hear this

• Kwaw 1 year ago

This is loudable well done

• Nick 1 year ago

Wow unto a man that put his trust in mankind....
    Greedy politicians