Ghana's economy will face severe consequences if a ban on mining is imposed - Lands minister

Read Comments Comments (69)

• Farmer 1 year ago

If this is how GoG ministers are calculating percentages I finally understand everything I was wondering about so far. LOL

• What about the cost of destruction of our river bodies? 1 year ago

What is the cost of the destruction of our river bodies? What is the cost of reclaiming mercury and cyanide-polluted lands? What is the cost of human lives lost by drinking polluted waters? What is the cost of the destruction ...

• Korku 1 year ago

You see these people? Critical questions worth asking:-
    1. This galamsey hazard and corona virus, which is more deadly?
    2. Didn't they shut down everything à la COVID then, further enforced with powers of arrest?
    3. What ...

• WHERE IS KOKU ANYIDOHO. HE HAS GONE INTO HIDING 1 year ago

Where is Koku Anyidoho. He has gone into hiding. The next time you hear from him, he will say JM invented Galamsey.

Minister, you are criminal and deserve to be jailed

• Buwumia Miaing Ghanaians 1 year ago

The Nana Addo Bawumia galamsey Economy of Ghana will collapse. Hmm, these are the people we elected into office

• Divine Ninja of America 1 year ago

It is true

• Divine Ninja of America 1 year ago

I can see that there some smart people in Ghana, though, the foolish ones re more than the smart ones.

• ZachZanu 1 year ago

China is the largest exporter of gold globally and its waters are super clean why Is does this water destruction mostly happen in shithole countries like ghana

• ZachZanu 1 year ago

Gold producer *

• Ochee-Do-Chee 1 year ago

Abu Jinapor is very stupid. Nobody is calling for a ban on mining in Ghana. What people are calling for, and we all agree on, is a ban on irresponsible, illegal mining. A menace that is destroying our farm lands, our national ...

• DO GHANAIANS SEE, LET ALONE ENJOY THE BENEFITS OF MINING IN EVEN THEIR COMMUNITIES? 1 year ago

DO GHANAIANS SEE, LET ALONE ENJOY THE BENEFITS OF MINING EVEN IN THEIR LOCAL COMMUNITIES?

FRAUDULENT AND IRRESPONSIBLE LEADERSHIP, AND LOOTING THE STATE WILLY-NILLY ARE THREATS TO THE SURVIVAL OF GHANA AND ALL GHANAIANS, ...

• FENCING AFRICA 1 year ago

We help secure your perimeter with modern ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS that supports alarm system and backup battery system. We sell and install ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS & CCTV CAMERAS. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info. ghrtyr ...

• Victoria 1 year ago

So you mean that we must die.they should keep on doing galamsey

• B. ANSAH 1 year ago

Mr. Minister, if the small scale miners are the ones destroying the forest and the water bodies then I'm afraid they don't qualify to mine in Ghana...whoever is destroying the forest and the water bodies must stop immediately ...

• Sefa Kai is not a serious journalist 1 year ago

They have come with their tactics. Ghanaians will not fall for this again. Same tactics for E-Levy

• Kofi Sam 1 year ago

Eeeeiiiii Ghana we aŕe finished. So we have such ministers who are supposed to serve us in our midst. We are doomed.

• The ugly face of galamsey 1 year ago

Greedy and selfish politicians like are the reason why galamsey cannot be stopped. Where did you get the money to buy all the houses and cars you own? God will deal with you criminals for sacrificing Ghanaian lives for your p ...

• Help 1 year ago

The minister probably has some interest in the mining sector?

• PAA 1 year ago

Small scale mining is contributing 21% (i.e. 40% of 54%) to foreign exchange earnings

• PAA 1 year ago

*21.6%

• Real cost of mining gold in Ghana 1 year ago

For every dollar gained from mining gold, we have to spend more than $10 to clean up our rivers, provide clean drinking water, provide drugs and medication for those who suffer from mercury and cyanide poisoning, undertake re ...

• Nigerian man 1 year ago

He used a dishonest calculation. They are all galamseyers.

• Moses 1 year ago

The minister is directly benefiting from galamsey so he cannot stop. The citizens have to take action themselves to stop this galamsey activities.

• Mr. Man 1 year ago

It's a miserable argument he is making. We have neglected the Agric sector, hence Galamsey. I think he is complicit in it as well.
    Agriculture is the life blood of any economy or civilization for that matter. Continuing will ...

• Fireman 1 year ago

You must be made Mr minister, galaamsey kimpins

• KofSam 1 year ago

Abu Jinapor does not deserve to be our minister of Land. Ghana has seen the devastating effect of galamsey with majority of Ghanaians calling for its ban. For this stupid , clueless minister to tell Ghanaians that our economy ...

• KWASIA KWASIA BE 1 year ago

ABOA ABOA GOD SHOULD KILL YOU NOW.

• Nana Kay 1 year ago

Clueless minister talking trash. Go back to school and study about safety.

• Eric Fynn 1 year ago

All this are leading us as a nation how can we develop?
    China produce a lot of gold,did they pollute their water bodies in the name of gold?
    Nonsense

• Adwenpa 1 year ago

You are talking about percentages of d economy that will go down.Do u know d percentage of destruction that will happen to this country n it's economy if we continue to destroy d forests,rivers, oceans n lands for agriculture ...

• Phrendz 1 year ago

So in his own little mind, he thinks the economy is on point! Such a shame!

• Korku 1 year ago

Depth of destruction, deceipt, deception and deflection galore, repeatedly at play.
    We are dead, as in the fresh water struggling and gasping cat fishes and the hopless sea fishes
    So, Kormi plus(+) Shitor, minus(-)Kalami ...

• ObuasiMan 1 year ago

Ghana's economy can thrive without small-scale and illegal gold miners who continue to use crude methods of gold extraction. The cost (financial, etc) to Ghana of this menace far exceeds how ever much Jinapor thinks they add ...

• Ken Asante 1 year ago

This is what happens if you allow a big mine like FGR to collapse by giving it to the wrong investor.Go and check the illegal mining there.He rather comes around there to inaugurate Community miming which is not regulated I ...

• Emma 1 year ago

Hello Mr. Minister, Nana Akuffo Addo told us when Covid came, that bringing back dead bodies is not possible but for economy, they have what it takes to resurrect it. Why are you now choosing Economy over the Good people of G ...

• Kwaku 1 year ago

Your President promised putting his presidency on the line to stop galamsey but he lied! Give us the statistics on poisoned lands, lost cocoa farms, children born within vital parts, expected huge medical outlay on disease fr ...

• Eric Asante 1 year ago

Lol.
    Ghana is indeed been run by clueless, morons and idiots.

• Fuckadilities 1 year ago

This guy is no leader. He says one stupid thing after another.

• Bastie Tutu Asantehene’s BOSS 1 year ago

So we should destroy our water reserves and import water with the proceeds from galamsey. Akoa agyimi

• Eric 1 year ago

It is very unfortunate for the minister to speak/talk like this. Sadly, he couldn't SUGGEST a single solution, other than "...continue the discussion". For how long? While our water bodies are being destroyed?
    ...and he doe ...

• king abakah 1 year ago

the minister clearly exhibit low IQ. did he consider the harm to human, environment and fishes? what about contribution from farmers and fisheries to the economy that are being destroyed. Water for life. there must be state o ...

• Maame 1 year ago

So what you are saying is we can all go to hell and die of mercury and cyanide poisoning, while you fill your pockets, Ghana only gets a pittance from our gold. Other countries mine gold but they have pristine rivers teemin ...

• Kaakyire Kwasi 1 year ago

YOU ARE STUPID WHO APPOINTED YOU AS MINISTER YOU ASS HOLE YOU CAN DESTROY THE WATER BODIES AND KILL PEOPLE WITH DEADLY DISEASES WHAT IS YOUR POINT YOU BRAINLESS FOOL YOU MUST BE ASHAMED OF YOURSELF

• Sikaman 1 year ago

This man is very stupid. I don't understand how he is still a minister. He can only be a minister in an Akuffo Addo govt. If the govt does not act, the Chiefs should take control of the lands. This shows the incompetence of t ...

• Joko 1 year ago

Ban mining near water bodies and forest reserves nobody said ban mining completely. This people are twisting the whole thing. They are unrepentant criminal gang.

• Kweku 1 year ago

How much does illegal mining contribute to the economy of Ghana? Ghana is not benefitting from the senseless gold mining activities in the country. It's individuals and foreigners who are benefitting from the illegal mining a ...

• Baba 1 year ago

The threat we face now from small scale mining / galamsey is far more deadly than COVID-19. The current environmental threat will affect generation unborn. It is just a matter of time, it will explode in our face!!!

• Ochee-Do-Chee 1 year ago

I don't know where this idiot was when the DOTARD who appointed him was campaigning against galamsey?

• Akyem Kraman. 1 year ago

Look at this fool too. So we should desecrate our forests, pollute our waters, destroy everything for the sake of gold exports? Hiw stupid. How did Ghana survive in the past? Galamsey didn't exist when we were in secondary ...

• Sikaman 1 year ago

Arise and fight this NPP govt. They want to kill all of us and destroy our children's future.

• Low IQ Minister 1 year ago

It is strange this man can’t see the dangers of mining methods used currently in the country (galamsay). Do not be overshadowed by the money and tips you receive as a land minister. Put on your thinking hat and stop elabora ...

• Obeng Manu 1 year ago

We say ban Galamsey not mining

• Bitter truth#1 1 year ago

Massa coming for there..not every galamsey activities destroy water bodies..Galamsey has been in existence for decades..if the Govt is banning galamsey and leaving the big corporate companies to work, that’s an insult to Ou ...

• Adoma 1 year ago

we the people want the ban NOW

• Sikaman 1 year ago

Agree. 100%.

• Wiseman 1 year ago

Idiot! Unapproved small-scale mining is what we are talking about. Those devastating the forests, polluting the land and rivers.

We know your cronies are involved that is why you are putting up this lackluster behaviour a ...

• Bitter truth#1 1 year ago

I agree with u Abu Jinapor to some extend..even some people are doing responsible Galamsey..Not every galamsey activities destroy water bodies and the land..The Govt should go after those who are using chanfang machines to de ...

• Matete 1 year ago

THIS IS EGOSYNTRISM. THIS MINISTER IS FILTHY RICH
    HE DOESN'T CARE ABOUT THE POPULACE BECAUSE HES A GALAMSER HIMSELF. WICKED GOVERNMENT

• Yao 1 year ago

He is an idiot! He has people mining for him so how will he support total ban?

• Gyamfi 1 year ago

The most useless minister aside Ofori-Attah.

This guy must be jailed. Where does all that monies from the huge percentage of gold go to?

Thief. You next home will be in the prison very soon.

• Manu 1 year ago

The Lands Minister should be terminated, fined and imprisoned for his destructive role in Ghana's waterways, environment, food supply and health of constituents.

• Juvenal 1 year ago

Dumb minister. Who's saying anything about legal mining? It is the illegal mining, stupid!

• Koo Manu 1 year ago

Really? That's a crap statement. If you cannot manage the economy, get out of the way. It's an abomination to destroy our water bodies for a "bowl of porridge." Same as eating the chicken that laid the golden eggs.
    Dumb stat ...

• Emma 1 year ago

Such a fool. Upon all the E-Levy, many taxes, IMF, and 3 Oil Wells. What else do you fools need before you can build a warehouse Fishing Habour?

• Joe 1 year ago

We are talking about controlled and regulated mining and not destruction of our waterways and bodies.

Ghana is already suffering severe consequences with your NPP galamsey government's embrace of galamsey operations around the country.

• Trained DAMPROOFER ( UK standard ) 1 year ago

Let's solve your dampness problems in a TOTALLY DIFFERENT WAYS. Yes with 10yrs guarantee
    Chat 0248324619

• Korku 1 year ago

You get sick and tired, when you listen to some argue galamsey on air. They press hard for "Need for Engagement" rather than calm reflection over Emegency Temporary Halt, to clean up the mess. Even if fire is burning, gad ...

• Albert Dwomoh. 1 year ago

All this guy is thinking about is his pocket.The distruction of the environment,means nothing to him.