No need for celebration - Dr Bannor to government on 22% T-Bill rate

Read Comments Comments (28)

• Mimi 9 months ago

This Dr I don't get him ooo
    You were calling for celebration of 27% and 29% but 22% no eeeiii Mr economist

• jesus 9 months ago

In my ignorant and lay man's term, do high interest rates on T-Bills not mean having lots of money chasing fewer goods if production does not increase? Will that not increase inflation? So why are these 'Drs' who called every ...

• We shall exchange crdis into dollars and hord 9 months ago

Yhe artificial lowering of yields will force people to buy dollars instead. This will lead to a rise in exchange rate.

• Galamsey water 9 months ago

How do you explain the recent oversubscription of Tbills? Are these"experts" suggesting that the investors are stupid??? The fact is Expectations in the country has changed and people are optimistic that inflation, interest r ...

• Nana yaw 9 months ago

He can't understand his own economics

• Nana yaw 9 months ago

He can't understand his own economics
    Don't go and withdraw your t bill the rate will come to10%
    This government is not tasty for borrowing

• Bryan 9 months ago

Ato Forson will disappoint JM big time!!!!
    He knows nothing about Sovereign economics! How does inflation stand at 23.1 and the T.bill rate at 20%?

Impoverishing Ghanaians, Abi?

• 3dem 9 months ago

And how was it last year? Hypocrits

• Wisefolk 9 months ago

this guy is dumb, what the fall in rates means is that the cost of debt service is going down, this is good for refinancing maturing debts. these rates will eventually feed into the interbank and subsequently commercial lendi ...

• Bryan 9 months ago

No, Wifefolk! Inflation-target Banks like the Bank of Ghana use inflation as an anchor to purge policy rates. The Bank of Ghana’s policy rate is the interbank rate!

If T. Bill's rate goes below the inflation target and ...

• Pelicles. 9 months ago

Thank you, NDC is in power and what should we expect, cooking figures to suite their ineptness. The sad aspect is most Ghanaians easily buy into their poor mathematical calculation which does not make sense.

Look at a pers ...

• Citizen8 9 months ago

Ato Forson is too porous on economics and finance and that's why he's so huge on propaganda. He doesn't understand what's really happening with our economy. His deputy isn't any better. We're in for a rough ride with this tea ...

• Bryan 9 months ago

Ato, and Asiama are never the best bet!!!

• Tophey 9 months ago

This is really the first time a propagandist has been appointed as a Finance Minister in the fourth republic. Ato Forson failed before he started because he thrives on propaganda.

• Hannan 9 months ago

;) Hot girls are waiting for you on ~>>>> www.Hot4.eu

• Ghanaians must stop buying treasury bill 9 months ago

Please, invest in something else the Government would collapse your investment

• Thief of Staff - Akosua Frema 9 months ago

Where were you when Ken Oforiwa-Atta and Nana Addo were cooking economic figures? Did you tell them? It took almost only Dr. Ato Forson to be hitting the NPP government hard even when the government orchestrated to jail him. ...

• Kojois 9 months ago

Cheap people.

• Rita 9 months ago

Thank you Dr Bannor you are smart. I blame the media especially Joy news and Tv3, does boys hasn't seen life and they don't know economics like this ruthless Ato Forson(finance minister).everyday they talking about Treasury b ...

• Senga 9 months ago

Dr Barnor. Were u in Ghana when NPP played all sorts of of tricks with economics figures? Or you were too afraid of the wicked dwarf??

• Bright 9 months ago

I think we are in for a long 4 years.l advice the best option is to invest in bitcoin.that is how your money can be useful in the long run

• Nii 9 months ago

Good advice by Dr Bannor. Not too long ago those at the helm of affairs now fed the world bank with unreliable, lnaccurate and false figures when they were in government. A word to the wise is enough or rather in the north.

• .com 9 months ago

If you have all these to celebrate on then why do we go for IMF loan. It means you have what it takes to work with. And by this the sinking fund/reserve fund is hugely reduced to put the nation at risk.

• Benny 9 months ago

Interest rate will expose you.

• The PROF. 9 months ago

What is a maturing bond coupon payment, by government increase the confidence in the Market.

• Power of slaps 9 months ago

Truth be told. Finance minister doesn't fit this guy one bit. Bitter truth

• Forlifive 9 months ago

Infact I want the general public to praise the government if somethings are right rather than praising themselves. That's what npp did but they're in the mud now. So ndc should desist from self appraisal.

• COD_friend 9 months ago

If you lower interest rates on your debt instruments, the currency will lose value (exchange rate appreciates) (buy dollars). who will invest in a falling IR? something below inflation rates?... investors are rationale in the ...