Government to establish farms in all Senior High Schools – Agric Minister reveals

Read Comments Comments (32)

• Boss. Duisburg/Germany 5 months ago

A very good idea but my question is, where are the Farm Lands in the Cities where these SHS are Situated
    Like Accra or Kumasi.,or in these areas the Schools are going to do only garden.

• GUARANTEED MONEY-MAKING $KILL: TAKE ADVANTAGE NOW TO €ARN THIS NEXT SIX MONTHS! 5 months ago

Fact is - U EARN from what U LEARN and what you earn in just one day with this skilled-service business will far outweigh the token you pay to learn this skill. Remember: The smartphone repairs & accessories business is a dai ...

• FRANKIE 5 months ago

Hallelujah!!!! I've been saying this for years. Finally someone is thinking. Not only crop farming but ANIMAL HUSBANDRY as well. Back in the 80s when we were in secondary school, a lot of schools, especially those in the rura ...

• Dilez 5 months ago

1. Achimota School has had a school farm and a water recycling system since the 1960s.

2. Stop criticising everything NDC and open your mind, and you will be enlightened!

3. Where there is a will, there is always a way.

• Rose 5 months ago

Farm implies both Crop and Animal farming. How much space does it need to rare eg. rabbits or snails?

• NOT A NEW IDEA. FARMING WAS INTEGRAL PART OF ALL SCHOOLS IN GHANA UNTIL NPP CAME TO POWER IN THE YEAR 2000 TO DESTROY THAT CONCEPT. 5 months ago

FROM DAY ONE AFTER INDEPENDENCE , ALL SCHOOLS FROM PRIMARY ALL THE WAY TO UNIVERSITY HAD SCHOOL FARMS. FARMLANDS ARE INCORPORATED TO THE DESIGN, LAYOUT AND CONSTRUCTION OF ALL SCHOOLS SINCE INDEPENDENCE. OUR FOUNDING FATHER ( ...

• Obuor 5 months ago

Nonsense, we ve tried all these , the headteachers and GES wer the owners of sch farms.

Wat abt agric schools?

• Mr Smith 5 months ago

Boss from Germany and Obuor, very nice submissions and good questions. That's the lazy man's approach. What are his duties and responsibilities as a minister? To plan, strategize and implementation. Because of their clueless ...

• Os 5 months ago

Another Nonsense you dont need farms in high schools you just need a strong policy to establish a structured state farms in all district and their unique farm produce.... modern agricultural technology enhanced engagement

• Boamah 5 months ago

Isn't it questionable why Blaise Campaore returned Burkina Faso back to the IMF immediately after killing captain Thomas Sankara? They were definitely behind his assassination!!

• Otu 5 months ago

Mr. Minister, please I need just a half plot in any of the schools in Accra for planting food, rearing nkoko nkiti, rearing ruminants and a fish pond. Thank you honourable clueless minister. Where are the many tractors our la ...

• Martha 5 months ago

Hey lazy honourable minister, so every weekend I should take my basket to any senior high school and buy my cassava, plantain, tomatoes pepper, meat, fish, etc. what about our farmers? Are you not supposed to come up with pol ...

• Ekd 5 months ago

Martha, grow your own. Try it, it is possible. We always expect others to do it for us.

• EKOW MARK 5 months ago

Every parliamentarian should be mandated to own a farm in his or her constituency. Employ the youths in the constituency to work in the farm. The farm can be crops, animal or fish depending on the locality. Every district or ...

• Kwaku 5 months ago

Good idea. But it is mired in intractable problems. Children from urban homes can't swing a cutlass. Just make it simple: supply breadfruit and other useful trees to schools to care for.

• POURFENDEUR DE LA CORRUPTION/ANTI-CORRUPTION 5 months ago

School farms are already in existence in our schools. This was started by the Akufo-Addo’s government though school farming predates Dr Kwame Nkrumah’s time. To suggest introducing school farming in schools by the NDC is ...

• FRANKIE 5 months ago

Massa Massa Massa..........you stop the palpable lies! AKUFFO ADDO did not start any school farms. I went to secondary school in the 80s and we had a school farm; not only my school but other schools as well.

• AKWO KUSI BOATENG BIKINN 5 months ago

Exactly! This endless tug-of-war between NPP and NDC over who started what is both childish and destructive. Instead of building on each other’s progress for the sake of the nation, they turn every good idea into a cheap po ...

• Ekd 5 months ago

It's a good idea. Back in the seventies we had school farms. What happened to them? Whatever happened let us learn from the mistakes and do it right this time. During the COVID-19 period food was the major concern for the maj ...

• Kwabena Duku Damoah 5 months ago

Thanks EKD.So it is a good idea for children to produce food to feed Ghana and themselves.How possible?China has a population of 1.6billion no chiild farms but they have enough food for home consumption and export.I weep for ...

It is unfortunate and even shameful Mr.Minister and NDC.Has he consulted opinion of the students?Have they agreed to reserve part of the already insufficient 3years to farm?Or they will apply coercion like in the communist co ...

• Abigail 5 months ago

Does that useless fool Bawumia has a Farm?. He has made his mouth like a dog dancing at events like a fool. Yet the same idiot and certain fools will complain that the prize of maize has not reduced. He will be eating roast ...

Hi Abigail does this discussion have anything to do with Dr.Bawumia?Oh come on.Let us be serious.We all need a serene environment to live in.It does't help much.We can all be rational.

• AKWO KUSI BOATENG BIKINN 5 months ago

This is a commendable initiative! Establishing farms in all Senior High Schools can equip students with practical agricultural skills, promote self-sufficiency, and spark youth interest in modern farming. It’s a smart step ...

Hi Mr. Kusi Boateng have you considered the following:1.Who will provide tools likely to be used by the studends. 2.Who will provide security cover.Some of the students may injure or get themselves injured by others.A woman i ...

• Abi 5 months ago

It's has to come back hurrah

• Bitter truth 5 months ago

Wow, the first time I have seen a Ghanaian politician using their brains..come on this minister is very brilliant..kudos to him..when nana Addo launched the free Shs, this was one thing that I was expecting him to do..a lot o ...

• Abroampa 5 months ago

The Minister should get serious and tackle and encourage real mechnised farming on a large scale and forget about this Scholl boys project. We have seen it all before, from Workers Brigade to Ike's Operation Feed Yourself. Th ...

• Rory 5 months ago

Can this man take charge of supplying food to his own household through farming? Stop this nonsense.

People specialize in what they do and that's why in the developed world just a small number of commercial farmers who kn ...

• Hannan 5 months ago

;))))))))) A lot of hot girls waiting for you ~>> Sexy24.mom

• Bfoh 5 months ago

Are you not the same people complaining that the SHS students don’t have enough contact hours? Why are you now talking about introducing farming in addition. Why shd my son or daughter be turned into a peasant farmer or far ...

• Ralph 5 months ago

Amen Amen