BoG bans dollar pricing for school fees, rent, airline tickets and others

Read Comments Comments (67)

• TEACH IN CANADA. 3 months ago

TEACH IN CANADA

An International NGOs based CANADA need both qualified and unqualified teachers who can teach orphans and disabled children basic ( English, Maths, Science & IT)
    The NGOs are paying for the expenses inclu ...

• Kabokabo 3 months ago

Sir have you spoken to Sammy Gyamfi?
    His dollar woman is convicted now.
    The man in charge of Ghana Gold displayed DOLLARS in public and none of the NDC gurus disciplined him publicly.

Sir what measures are you putting do ...

• WE WILL FORGE THE DOCUMENTS - ABOCHI THE BLACK MARKET TRADER WHO EXCHANGE MY DOLLAR NO GET RECEIPT SO WHAT SHOULD I DO??? 3 months ago

THOSE OF US WHO HAVE BEEN TRADING WITH ABOCHI THE BLACK MARKET TRADER, HOW AND WHERE ARE WE GOING TO GET THAT BANK SLIP WITH A STAMP? WELL, WE WILL FORGE ONE!

• JESUS IS GOD 3 months ago

Jesus Christ loves you and wants to save you from sin and its consequences. Vanity upon vanity—everything in this world is meaningless without Him. He died on the cross for your sins, was buried, and rose again on the third ...

• May 3 months ago

If someone is inequality how is he or she going to teacher and with which experienced

• Kelvin 3 months ago

You are really working!!

• JAY 3 months ago

THIS IS NOTHING NEW!!!MY ISSUE IS HOW DOES BOG ENFORCE THIS DIRECTIVES???BOG MUST REATHER STRENGTHEN THE VALUE of the cedi to make it more attractive to Ghanaians who prefer foreign currencies LIKE the DOLLAR,EURO,POUND,ETC E ...

• KOFI 3 months ago

This is long over due. I don't believe that they should have announced this is the first place.

There is no country in the world where a foreign legal tender can be used. It is on our books already that it is only the Cedi ...

• Shamsi Waleed 3 months ago

@Kofi stop lying. Dollars are used in India and Brazil like how it is used in Ghana. These places are top tourist destinations. Nothing will happen sia

• KOFI 3 months ago

You can't throw around untruths to justify your views or wishes. Just read trip advisor pages first to educate your pea head.

I have loads of Indian Students in London who say this very thing too.

You don't know jack ab ...

• KOFI 3 months ago

@JAY Naa, the act is illegal in the first place so we should not make the currency attractive before people stop transacting business in the country with another currency.

Indeed it is one of the arsenals in our tool box t ...

• .mr amin 3 months ago

Good but enforce it seriously Ghana had been taken for a ride in a long time BoG protect the value of the cedi it's key to the economy

• ME 3 months ago

What about the port? Why is GoG pricing duties in $$$$?

• Kobea Augustine 3 months ago

You have speak my mind bro what about Tema Harbour ? Mr minister

• Lash 3 months ago

They're choosing and picking what goes invtheir faviur. The pott duties are in follars but you expect pricing to be in cedis. Ofui.

• Madam dog 3 months ago

Long overdue..

• Albert 3 months ago

Talks Only No Actions (NATO). Walk the talk. Start prosecuting those who have violated the directive. Prove to us that you are serious with your words.

• Albert 3 months ago

Correction: No Actions Talks Only (NATO). Walk the talk. Start prosecuting those who have violated the directive. Prove to us that you are serious with your words.

• Threat if Firing Squad Did not Scare the Money Changers and You Think Prison Will? 3 months ago

Even the much feared gun-totting Rawling's AFRC regime was finally defeated by the black market forex dealers and liberalised their operations.

And you think these bunch of hungry NDC aparathciks can deafeat the money-chan ...

• KOFI 3 months ago

Correct. They should stop making this BS announcements. It is illegal so why disturb us with such an announcement?

• MARKET FORCES WILL ALWAYS TRUMP OVER POPULIST PROPAGANDA! 3 months ago

Assiamah, you're inadvertently nurturing a thriving black market in foreign currency, a challenge even the notorious Rawlings regime couldn't tame. They eventually succumbed to market forces and formalized these operations in ...

• KOFI 3 months ago

@MARKET FORCES WILL ALWAYS TRUMP OVER POPULIST PROPAGANDA! You have taken me to my Uni days. Monetary policy analysis and evaluations.

We have moved on from Rawlings time. We now live in the era of technology and skill.

• James 3 months ago

Mr Governor,

Charity begins at home. Can I ask if the government will stop valuing imports in USD/£/Euros before converting them for the cedis equivalent to be paid in cedis?
    What is good for the goose is also good f ...

• KOFI 3 months ago

@James THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!

• Accranie 3 months ago

@Governor Cut Some Slack For The Comment Section/ Gh Has A Maths Problem/& The Problem Is That It Imports Almost Every Products Needed To Make Life Bear

• Accranie 3 months ago

Able For It's People/ Since It(Gh)Doesn't Have Manufacturing Capacity / This Imports Of Finished Products Is Paid For By Income It(Gh) Earns Exporting Natural Commodities

• Accranie 3 months ago

But There Are Two Factors Posing Existential Concern For The Nation
    -Growing Populaion
    -Finite Exportable Commodities

• Accranie 3 months ago

The Single Biggest Factor Contributing To Gh Deteriorating fx Position Is That The Rate Of Population Growth Is OutPacing The Rate Natural Resources Are Discovered / To Earn fx

• Accranie 3 months ago

To Pay For Imports

• KOFI 3 months ago

Massa, China did not wait to build capacity. Malaysia, Vietnam, Brazil did not wait to build capacity.

They were firm. Ah, we say the law is the law but we tacitly support law breaking.

Today, there is social media, p ...

• Be wise 3 months ago

These are Service fees charged by National Accreditation Board foreign currency.
    Institutional Registration Fee – Foreign- £3,600.00
    Database Fee (Listing – Foreign)- £3,600.00

• KOFI 3 months ago

Yes because the elites there have an interest.

• Sammy 3 months ago

Only in Ghana this nonsense goes on, Long Over Due.

• KOFI 3 months ago

THANK YOU. I don't know why people are writing theories they have studied in lecture halls.

• Prudhomme - Stop this foolishness, BoG 3 months ago

Why does the government express projects and loans in USD? This directive has been there for decades, from government to government, but no one regards it due to the bullshit it represents. NOTHING NEW!

You all have just r ...

• Kwame Acheampong CTX 3 months ago

None of this will happen. In Accra, all the homes in the prestigious areas priced in dollars are owned by government officials or big men affiliated with them. Same with the luxury cars also advertised in dollars. They will t ...

• Kwaku 3 months ago

Demand and Supply, baby.

• KK 3 months ago

This is going no where because it will be paid in equivalent which will sum up to the same thing

• Kwame Opoku Kumasi 3 months ago

Yes now we have a governor

• PK 3 months ago

Good news and it’s long overdue

• Pelicles. 3 months ago

If the previous government did come out with this directive, NDC would have asked Ghanaians to resist but do they hear any resistance from NPP? Yes, we are building a nation, and it should be all hands-on deck. It doesn't mak ...

• Just me 3 months ago

They should not only say it but also enforce it. Let your word be respected. Don't jusy say it while u see things go the opposite direction.

• Kwame panin 3 months ago

South Africa did the same and it has not helped

• Kwame panin 3 months ago

The Rand has moved from 7 to more than 17 to the usd.

• Truth 3 months ago

Will it work? Do something about the abokyi people ...and adopt the Dubai exchange system

• Wahala 3 months ago

Ghana dollar pricing is a joke oo. It has been illegal to do dollar pricing for long long time but no one minds that one. No body follows or listen to dey law oo. BOG is like everything in Ghana and erbody will still require ...

• Shamsi Waleed 3 months ago

Do people actually pay these services in dollar bills or cedi equivalences?

• KoBakor 3 months ago

If I have heard this once I have heard it thousand times. What sanctions Sir, do you intend imposing on breakers of this hackneyed law? And are you prepared to name and shame any individual or organization that breaks the law ...

• Kobea Augustine 3 months ago

What about Tema Harbour

• Billy Bones 3 months ago

U are just joking,what the airlines do is they charge the fares in dollar equivalent to cedis,and concerning estate developers,if the transaction is done in a bedroom how are you people going to know.....u haven't seen anythi ...

• Kwame Angel 3 months ago

Jokers! Who says when they receive the cedis, they will go and bank them? Schools, landlords, airlines will all go to the open markets to convert their cedis to other less volatile currencies. It is just as good as if the ind ...

• So Clean 3 months ago

This is what they say when they are failing the economy

• Kojo 3 months ago

Well overdue. They say it and dont act on it. Ì

• Abrahams benjamin 3 months ago

Am proud of you governor. This nonsense doesn't happen in south africa. Is it because out country is a nonsense one. I will personally report such unpatriotic activity to the police as soon as I get an info on that.
    I love y ...

• Isaac 3 months ago

Black market is still flourishing. Are they untouchable?

• ANA 3 months ago

What about ULAG who is widely known for dollariziing school fees for foreign students? Are the authorised Mr governor?

• ANA 3 months ago

Are they authorized? I mean they authorities in that institution.

• ANA 3 months ago

The University of Ghana to be precise

• Bonus Baba 3 months ago

There should never have been an idiotic policy like this ever in our History. I am beginning to believe what Trump said. I quote, I am not a dictator but many people would like a dictator. Yes Ghana needs a dictator. N ...

• Mhl 3 months ago

NIA is currently pricing Ghana card issuance in dollars for foreigners. Let the government start enforcing this in our state institution

• RENA 3 months ago

Just recently our finance minister was explaining the rise in purchase of cocoa per tonne in USD

• Warrior 3 months ago

Delta airline wanted passengers to pay fees in dollars in KIA very strange.

• Concerned Ghanaian 3 months ago

Then the government should also stop quoting Budget allocation figures in dollars. Everything in the Budget must be in cedis.

• Kwasi 3 months ago

Comedian Governor.I believe he has just descended from heaven.

• Busiah 3 months ago

Good but it is you people carry dollars not common people please

• John 3 months ago

That's is the black colour foolish useless man. Only the talking. You yourself do business in dollars but want others not to do. Check yourself and your boss who gave you the position and your other colleagues in such positio ...

• Ben 3 months ago

Congratulations BOG for this initiative, I fully support this move 100%. Please ensure its enforced.
    The second thing is, do not stop the open market operations on the monetary policy of pumping more dollars into the market ...