Ghana's taxes among lowest in the world - Terkper

Read Comments Comments (39)

• KRABIRE 10 years ago

is it not because salaries are comparatively low?

• ASS HOLE FOLEY 10 years ago

DZIFA ATTIVOR IS A THIEF USING TAX PAYERS MONEY TO BUY 3 SUV INFINITYS FOR HER CHILDREN

• DAN 10 years ago

If i go on trip outside the usa i can bring back $500 in merchandise with no duty to pay! i can walk to my mail box on street i live on and collect a package from Ghana and pay no duty/fee to post office..All the thieves in G ...

• kojo B 10 years ago

And the vast majority of the people are jobless. At the end of the day the average Ghanaian who struggle to put a meal on the table a day will eventually suffer these tax hikes.One needs to be honest and weigh facts before vo ...

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

Ghana is NOW like Haiti!!! There was only one airport in Haiti and when the disaster strucked,aid donors HAD it so hard to send humanitarian reliefs because the only one international airport
    was destroyed. just imaginING i ...

• KANAWU (U.S) 10 years ago

Low taxs because incomes are low, those with higher incomes pay more. Progressive. Also there are corruption in the system. The tax system is not effective. A lot of loopholes. Punish all gov't agents and collectors who go th ...

• DAN 10 years ago

If your in usa YOU know the Banks and your Employers provide you income statements to IRS..You also know they ask what kind of job you have so they can base what your salary should be..You can bet they are people in Ghana tha ...

• KWAME OWUSU 10 years ago

one of the best governments so far, continue the goodwork, those who cant stay let them leave. hahahahha

MAHAMA SAYS: LET THEM EAT CAKE....
    ...TARRIFS ARE GOING UP ALL ACROSS THE BOARD IN GH. YET, WE DONT SEE AN IOTA OF AN IMPROVEMENT IN PUBLIC SERVICES OR QUALITY INFRATSRUCTURE. WHERE R THE NDC VOTERS?
    ILLITERACY/LACK OF BASI ...

• YAW 10 years ago

ANOTHER PRAISE SINGER HOW MUCH DO YOU EARN?HOW MUCH TAX PAYE DO YOU PAY.IF YOU AGREE WITH HIS STUPID TALK HOW MUCH IS SOMEONE IN LOME TOGO WITH SAME QUALIFICATION AND DOING SAME JOB EARNS?HOW MUCH TAX IS PAID THERE?THT IS WHY ...

• kwami 10 years ago

HIS NDC GOVRENMENT IMPOSE HIGH TAXES AND FEES ON IMPORTS AND GHANA BUSNISSES AND KILLING OUR JOBS AND OUR ECONOMY THIS MAN TAKE US FOR A FOOL WHY DOES HE NOT TELL THE TRUTH THAT GHANA FALKS EARN THE LOWEST SALARYS IN THE WORL ...

• yaw 10 years ago

Massa, the issue is not how high or low it is, but what do you do with what you get? if Gyeeda can take over a Billion, corruption at district assembles, over invoicing, 100,000 dollar cars for ministers, latest V8 for chief ...

• antwi 10 years ago

what did you do with ghana tax , just you share by yourselfs, evil people

REALLY? GO TO OTHER NATIONS N SEE WATS THEY R DOING WITH THEIR ECONOMY, INFRASTRUCTURE CORRUPTION AND COMPARE IT TO GH. THIS IS THE MOST DUMBEST FINANCE MINISTER IN THE HISTORY OF THE REPUBLIC.

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

In a country where the president does not pay taxes, how do you dare talk about taxes to anyone. All the Ministers enjoy free everything. Oh Ghana My Happy Home.

• K. B. 10 years ago

the president, his ministers and their families' families all get free passes on telephone, electricity, water, tranportation both at home and abroad for any reason personal or business.
    there is no cap on how much these min ...

• HABLUTA SENYO 10 years ago

TAX THE POLICY MAKES AND INCREASE THE CORPORATE TAXES,ESPECIALY THE OIL SECTOR,GOLD AND DIAMOND MINING INDUSTRY.THAN
    EXPECT THE WESTERN CROAKS FOR DONOR MONEY.

• DAN 10 years ago

you stupid muslim terrorist( no boko harem in Ghana!) Sure Gold and cocoa companies need to pay more and Build Chocolate factorys in ghana(cadbury,nestle,mars,hershey) The oil industry once they pay for their wells need to be ...

• 13YEARS OLD BOY 10 years ago

WHY THESE EWES ARE SOO FOOLISH AND WICKED LIKE THAT.. I WILL ALWAYS SUPPORT WAR IN GHANA...

• EVERY POLITICIAN IS A FOOL 10 years ago

EVERY POLITICIAN IS A FOOL

• OWEN, NEW YORK 10 years ago

Speak or wish no evil for the land of your birth, for you have no other place or country to run to. It is better to stay in your country and be hungry, rather than living in a refugee camp in another country. Ask our Liberian ...

• Yaw Owusu 10 years ago

There are too many square pegs in round holes acting as ministers in Ghana with the likes of Seth Tekper as one the fools in NDC Government. He does not what he is talking about or going simple as ABC. Ghana is fast sinking ...

• Kyei Marfo Emmanuel 10 years ago

Taxes are not the real figures.What percentage of Ghanaians income goes to tax paying?As Ghana's tax is among the lowest so is it with incomes.

• @@@ 10 years ago

Thats a lie from the pit of hell, don't just talk check facts.

• dickson 10 years ago

tax footballers and shut your beak mr.

• Charlie King Addo 10 years ago

Airport tax in Ghana is among the highest in the world if not the highest. Clearing fees at the harbor is also ridiculous. Export an SUV from Japan to Uganda and the state demands $1000 as vat. The same car to Ghana and you p ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

Using comparisons to define a problem is not the way finance minister of a developing country should be handling economic situation. If I hear more this blatant rhetoric of convenience, I would also be forced to bring the o ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Let the Minister visit all the West African countries to find out for himself the difference.We in Ghana are paying not only one tax to clear our goods but we pay about 6 different taxes on the same goods.So Mr Minister,you a ...

DIDNT U VOTE FOR NDC?...LOL
    Ghana is NOW like Haiti!!! There was only one airport in Haiti and when the disaster strucked,aid donors HAD it so hard to send humanitarian reliefs because the only one international airport
    wa ...

• Rans F 10 years ago

Go ahead with your self-destructive lies and propaganda! At the appropriate time you shall account for your deception. Sakawa Ministers!

• kwami 10 years ago

SETH IT IS TIME TO TELL THE TRUTH AND STOP LYING YOUR GOVRENMENT AND MAHAMA TAXING US GHANA PEOPLE AND BUSNISS TO DEATH AND YOU KNOW IT

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Kufuor left the Single Spine salary structure to the Mills administration to be implemented. Now, upon assuming office, the Mills administration should have studied the SSS very well before taken any action on it. I do not t ...

• Abokyi Kanto 10 years ago

If I were you, I will throw in the towel and resign my position and apologise to Ghanaians for messing up this economy. This statement of yours shows clearly that you have lost the plot. You are not worth the position you are ...

• Kwaku Mankatah 10 years ago

Mr Minister apart from the comfortable and theoretical IMF you have not done any real job for you to understand business environment. You dishonestly picked two taxes and our corporation tax is not generous relatively to oth ...

• Akyem Begoro 10 years ago

Mr. Tekper Ghana has equally the lowest employment rate. There is no job in Ghana. If it will possible please just contact the armed robbers for a tax. That is the only lucrative job for the youth and fresh graduates from sch ...

• Mansa 10 years ago

In sierra Leone it cost just roughly one thousand dollars to clear a Toyota corolla from their port. But in Ghana it cost about two thousand five hundred dollars to clear the same car. Low tax indeed. kromfuo

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

Where did Atta Mills collect all these jokers from?

• Bongo Boy 10 years ago

You tax the poor more than the rich, cronies, political elites - that can't be right.

• Bongo Boy 10 years ago

Nothing. Free roof on your head etc