Nigeria bullying the rest of West Africa – Mahama

Read Comments Comments (83)

• Doom 10 years ago

What do you mean by that is nigeria the only market

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

Yes Nigeria has found it necessary to protect certain industries to help them grow; so why can't we also think and put our house in order, rather than just importing everything from China.

• Africanus 10 years ago

Protectionism works for Nigeria because they have a huge domestic market. Ghana on the other hand do not, protectionism will hurt us more than Nigeria. ECOWAS leaders just have to negotiate with them to open up at least to EC ...

• NEMESIS RADAR, UK!! 10 years ago

You people can go to hell. Nigeria can do without you phd Ghanaians.

• WISE-TALK, UK 10 years ago

Nigeria's recalculated economy is worth $510 billion, by far the biggest in Africa, officials announced Sunday of a long overdue recount that gives the West African nation continental bragging rights but does little for the n ...

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

Wat.goes up, must come down...eventually. The ancient Ghana, mali empires, egypt, Rome,.Greece,.Britain empire. Where r they now? Naija has invested in their economy and added values using oil revenues. Wat is Ghana doing wit ...

• Ayigbe Joe 10 years ago

What has Nigeria added? Fool.

Denmark with a population of 5 million puts 370 billion in the world economy

What do Nigeria's 190 million put in the world economy??

Nigeria is a sh!t poor state which only impresse ...

• Skin pain typical Ghanaian 10 years ago

Despite all their problems ..they are flying . Common we have to admire these people, sheer entrepreneurs . They dominate the economy of each and every country they reside and that's a fact. I remember they used to own and ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

WE ARE TALKING ABOUT AFRICA HERE OKAY.... STICK TO THE SCRIPT
    PS ..FOR THE RECORD IM OFFICIALLY HALF AND HALF. IT WILL BE WRONG FOR ME TO REP ONE SIDE OF MY FAMILY TREE. THANKS!

• Concerned Patriot 10 years ago

If you can stop borrowing. You need to do more to promote the Made in Ghana goods globally and stop always trying to see Nigeria as a Master. Stop relying on Nigeria now! You sought help from them before the elections don't f ...

• AYENIROMO OJIKUTU 10 years ago

America does not open its doors to all goods from around the world without conditions. Nigeria's might must show within Africa and beyond especially Ghana that choose to use certain obnocious laws to bar Ecowas citizens from ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Don't you know that this law was initiated by Nigeria? How many Ghana businesses do you see in Nigeria? Nigeria prohibits foreigners in the retail trade. This was even the case in 1980 when I used to live there. Ghana have ev ...

• JP ETO. 10 years ago

Talking nonsense with out fact have been the hobby of some stupid people. Where were u all when Ghanas place highe rate of taxation on Nigerians trading, school, leaving and visiting. Where were u all? Where were u all when g ...

• DAN 10 years ago

more than saudia arabia

• foxnews 10 years ago

The talking wouldn't solve it,if ghana should have had more middle income earners even united states of american would beg us for them to export to ghana.You have to have leverage for your talking to be heard,they feel like t ...

• marfo 10 years ago

LEARN FROM THEM.

Thanks Marfo, tall him. What prevents us from doing same?

• mensah abrampa 10 years ago

The blustering and blundering won't help our cause. Nigeria has the sole responsibility to look out for its national interests and so must Ghana. They must have reasons and concerns why Ecowas trade and regional intergration ...

• Aboki 10 years ago

Mensah, I concur 100% with your comment: Mahama has proved to be a loose talker without action. Nigeria is in West Africa just like Ghana-Why then should he go to London and discuss bilateral issues when he could better do it ...

• DOGO 10 years ago

Exactly what i was thinking. It means Mahama still has that colonial mentality. Going to his master's backyard to complain so hopefully his masters can step in to help him out. Complaining is some western country will not hel ...

• Zangina 10 years ago

Prez Mahama is showing his lack of rapport with other African leaders. You have been having numerous summits with Nigeria's head and yet you could not bring this fundamental issue before him. What else have you been discussin ...

• Aboki 10 years ago

I concur to go Zangina. For Mahama everything is deceitful face of politics. Just not this loose talk and follow mahama's action for next year to see if he will ever make a follow up to address this issues. She just make sta ...

• Korkor 10 years ago

Useless president.
    Nigeria is our brethren.We can always negotiate.
    This goat is trying to make the epa sound palatable to us.
    Kwasia toe!AAAAAgh!!!

• Andy 10 years ago

Minister of Trade and Investment, Segun Aganga.
    Aganga said the agreement was not favourable to Nigeria.
    The Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment, Olusegun Aganga, said Nigeria would not rush into signing the Economic ...

They favor trade but are protecting their industries and economy. They don't need lil, shortterm bribe to stall.their economic development likemost gh politicians will do. This epa thing is about pride.naija is showing they h ...

• ANIMAL Nig 10 years ago

Do you really believe that?? you foolish pig.

YES, I DO. NAIJA HASNT SIGNED THE EPA. WHY HAVNT THE EU ASKED SOUTH AFRICA TO SIGN AS WEKL. S AFRICA SAYS THEY WONT, AND NAMIBIA HAS FOLLOWED SUIT. IF ANYTHING AT ALL. GH MUST ADOPT THE WAIT AND SEE APPROACH.I DONT TRUST THES ...

• Ashootings 10 years ago

Now someone is speaking up about Nigeria's protectionist attitude. There is the need for openness about this debate. Its bullying and inward -looking behaviour
    This must change

• USMAN 10 years ago

Nigerians are not as stupid as Ghanaians are. Nigerians do not only allow importation of food from outside but also do not allow the export of food. They are able to produce enough to feed that populous nation some we are str ...

Really? Then how do u explain the naija ppl who eat here human flesh? Massa,.shine ur eye...wahala green eagles

• Wofa sika 10 years ago

Please massa, don't even let me start to open all our skeleton in our cupboards. Too mach dirty clothes.

VERY SOON. NAIJA PPL WILL OPEN RESTAURANT N SERVE JERK HUMAN FLESH. WHO HAS EATEN JAMAICAN JERK CHICKEN BEFORE? ..SAME THING

• modinsane 10 years ago

Thank you Mr President. You've hit the nail right at the spot, but must follow with action.
    If they refuse to open their market to the rest in the region then the rest must also organize against them. PERIOD.

• hamzy 10 years ago

most african countries especially ghana is flooded with china goods, and nothing good to trade with nigeria , ghana need to bulid a more cordial relationship with nigerian as president kuffour did with o ...

Hamzy, I think your thought is a little bit skewed to say most goods in markets come from China therefore not much to trade with Nigeria. Don't you know trade between two countries not only dependent on material goods only.? ...

• ANIMAL Nig 10 years ago

You idiot... You don't know a thing. Go back and look.

• jimmy 10 years ago

If they shut the door the rest of ECOWAS members, the rest should do the same. Rememeber Nigerians can never be trusted in anything, whether persona or government level. Look at the gas supply to Ghana, as if that is not enou ...

• DAN 10 years ago

MAHAMA WILL BE IMPRISONED AFTER NPP REGAIN POWER IN 2016

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris!. 10 years ago

Amen nd......,fr Samms! nd may God bless u all oman Ghana nd all our betters!.

• Big Jay 10 years ago

Visionless John Mahama, Follow Goodluck Jonathan, and learn from his good economic policies.
    Ghanaians are suffering because you can only talk plenty at functions, and do nothing about your promises. Left to you alone, you ...

• Navajo F 10 years ago

You're very prophetic! ECOWAS will surely collapse under his presidency. Let's all watch keenly.

• Obenfo 10 years ago

It's a tactic the Europeans are going to use to break the ECOWAS apart, by first breaking Nigeria and Ghana apart through a premature tension between Mahama and Goodluck.

That approach will sideline or breakaway Nigeria f ...

• Korkor 10 years ago

Your analysis is just too spot on.

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Ghana is playing a loosed game.
    We have opened ourselves to foreigners too much,and therefore being vulnerable to whatever they plan to do:
    GOOD OR BAD.
    Our leaders are not proactive,sensitive,wise in their decision-making ...

• Obenfo 10 years ago

Mensah,

Our weakness is PRAISES; and our foreigners partners know it; and, they play it to win. They know Ghanaians love to be praised that we are doing well, meanwhile, we are not! We go crazy when the West publish in th ...

Npp is influencing jonathan to make mahama job tough. Abi u be election stealer?..

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 10 years ago

WELL AS YOU CAN SEE I TOLD YOU LONG TIME AGO THAT THE WEST HAS A LONG STANDING GAME PLAN WHICH THEY ACTIVATE THRU GHANA AND NIGERIA APART FROM THE FRANCO PHONE ASPECT OF THEIR PLOT AGAINST AFRICA. NOW A VERY BIG GANGSTER G ...

• WALA 10 years ago

WHAT ARE U TALKING? U ALSO A PRESIDENT ABI\/

• James Armstrong 10 years ago

You have now realized this? Like the UK puts it ;More Exports or Britain will Sink' We should adopt economic diplomacy to boost trade and earn more foreign exchange other than that Ghana will sink, period.

• kb 10 years ago

President John Mahama,Nigerians do not play with,learn from them or stepdown quietly,we Ghanaians will derail in 2016.No awarm no tricks.

• Sylvanus Agbemenyah 10 years ago

They are being wise in protecting their own.

• The truth only 10 years ago

Ghana has become a country too difficult even to fight for. Politics has blinded the eyes of some Ghanaians to reality. Protectionism is a tool used by large economies like US and China, that is to say prevent goods from othe ...

• michael 10 years ago

Nigeria are very serious people when it come to bussinee, they won't allow any country in the region to flood their market with chinese goods, i was amazed to see nigeria like our Gin like Alomo nd other this are the real Gha ...

• Ayigbe Joe 10 years ago

Then why is Nigeria a failed state? Denmark a country of 6 million produces much more than Nigeria a failed state of 190 million.

• Naijaman 10 years ago

Wow, you're actually comparing Denmark with us ...GOD bless Nigerian. What an honour. At least not comparing with any shitty country in Africa . You can say all you want with your filthy stinking smelly jealousy mouth. We ...

• lord 10 years ago

do you want malaysia visa.call 0542862953 now.

• seattle, wa 10 years ago

to be be frank nigeria used to be the best country in west africa, in terms of economic and living stardard, but since the country plunges into choas and looks more like the poorest country in african the ve beset with fears ...

Seattle, why don't you keep your comment in your head if you don't have anything sensible to say about Nigeria. Go back and read over what you posted there if you can make any sense of yourself. Were you forced to write or yo ...

• DAN 10 years ago

nIGERIA HAS BECOME BIGGER THAN SOUTH AFRICA! READ YAHOO NEWS TODAY ABOUT RECALCULATION OF THEIR ECONOMY..INDUSTRYS THAT WHERE NOT AROUND WHEN COUNTED IN 1990 LIKE NOLLYWOOD..EVEN THO MOST ARE POOR AND SOUTH AFRICA HAS BETTER ...

• Obenfo 10 years ago

Bro.,

Don't be fooled by the Western Press. This is not the time for Nigeria to go crazy. This is the same way the West raised and dropped Ghana. Praises over market size and growth mean nothing to the hungry ordinary Af ...

• Boamah Gyamerah 10 years ago

President Mahama should have tackled the issue internally, first face to face talk with the President of Nigeria. If Nigeria still holds its position then he President Mahama will have to convince his fellow leaders of the so ...

• michael 10 years ago

You wan't nigeria to open his market for chinese made ghana textile, we need to tell ourself the truth if we can allow our greedy bastard importer to flood our market with China kente i don't think Nigeria is ready to do such ...

Boamah Gyamera, your write-up sounds very intelligent but your solution to countering Nigeria's blockade of goods into Nigeria is impracticable, especially when you brought in a sub-ECOWAS trading bloc comprising Ghana and ot ...

• Obenfo 10 years ago

No, gangster approach is not the solution. It will work against the entire West Africa, Nigeria's emerging growth would be destroyed in the process, and that is exactly what both the West and the East want to see - a divided ...

• Boamah Gyamerah 10 years ago

Ayeniromo Ojikutu, I agree 100% with that a sub group withing an economic is disastrous but a protectionism within an economic bloc is more disastrous. No economic bloc functions with protectionism. I want us to a well functi ...

• SAQ 10 years ago

Prez. Mahama, Nigeria is doing the right thing in protcting indigenous industries. Do the same in Ghana and stop importing rotten frozen chicken from China.

• michael 10 years ago

We just need right policy,Ghana have many way to be more successfull.

• DAN 10 years ago

HE WANT YOU TO TALK ABOUT NIGERIA RATHER THAN HIS THEFT OF FUNDS!

• MEANS 10 years ago

NO MR. PRESIDENT, NIGERIA JUST HAPPENS TO UNDERSTAND WHAT NATIONAL INTEREST MEANS. SHE KNOWS HER INTERESTS ENOUGH NOT TO SELL THEM TO FOREIGNERS AT ANY COST.

• DAN 10 years ago

READ YAHOO NEWS TODAY AND YOU WILL SEE THAT nIGERIAS RECALCULATED ECONOMY IS NOW BIGGER THAN AOUTH AFRICA!

• Mohammed Ibrahim 10 years ago

Why do you allowed Nigeria to Bully you?.President Mahama.

• Obenfo 10 years ago

Lack of vision makes him see every strategic approach as bullying. He holds a lot of power but unfortunately, he still sees himself the same way he saw himself at Form One at Tamale Secondary School. He went to Davose to comp ...

Obenfo, I had an interactions with you on this very topic and this platform which went very educative and extremely civil devoid of insults eventhough you seem not totally agreed with me but it went well. Am however surprised ...

• Obenfo 10 years ago

Sorry for my language, it came out of frustration. I did't mean to be disrespectful to the President but he is acting so helpless and confused, which I dislike.

He is the President of the Republic of Ghana - the Pride o ...

• SAQ 10 years ago

Author, You are wrong. Nigerias GDP is 256 billion after the rebase (take it witrh a little salt). South Africa is the largest economy (>350 billion GDP) in Africa. Nigeria with a population of over 160 million people is a me ...

• Kay Bamba 10 years ago

Sorry dear. Keep dreaming while Nigeria and her people keeps moving forward. The news calculation shows we're 510 billion dollar economy. We're getting there.

Saq, don't always write to please yourself, you seem to be behind time, others have moved beyond you so go read IMF & WORLD BANK website, you'll find it there. The rebase calculations put Nigeria as the largest economy in Afr ...

• ESI 10 years ago

NIGERIA AND OTHER ECOWAS MEMBER STATES HAVE SERIOUS INTERNAL/NATIONAL ISSUES TO DEAL WITH. ECOWAS IS A WASTE OF TIME RIGHT NOW.
    EACH MEMBER STATE SHOULD BE ALLOWED TO DEAL WITH THEIR OWN INTERNAL CHALLENGES FIRST...SECURITY, ...

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

And he goes to London to complain to who?

• Ebo 10 years ago

Don't mind him nigeria. ....he was manipulated in Germany to sign the EPA. Nigeria stand firm and save Ghana from EPA

• Goose&Gander 10 years ago

Lie!
    Nigeria has everything to fear from Ghana because of her xenophobic policies against Nigeria;
    Even the very fact of President John Mahama hopping into the first available plane to go and bad-mouth Nigeria in a European ...

• Nana Peace 10 years ago

The EU deceived him that they have opened their market for him, why can't he go and sale there? He rushed to sign the EPA and the EU intend to use ghana as the export point in west africa, knowing the ghana market is not what ...

• Olatunde B 10 years ago

Ghana can not tell Nigeria how to run her Market System (Economy). Nigeria is not a dumping ground to receiving fake products from any Country, not even Ghana.