Drama in court as narcotics suspect accuses police officer of demanding GH¢4,000 bribe

Read Comments Comments (76)

• Obempe Mensah 8 months ago

Hahaha this guy craze oo the police offer has regretted arresting him

• THIS MONEY-MAKING SKILL WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE! 8 months ago

Time doesn't care. It's MERCILESS. You either rise or get buried. No more excuses. Time to thrive by SKILLING UP! This new week, Plant, don't plant; write, don't write; learn, don't learn - it's all in your Hands!!! But I ass ...

• Vornyovie Victory 8 months ago

I hope the police will not threaten this person. The fairest thing to do will be to move the case from La

• Dada 8 months ago

In any serious country, this matter wouldn't be taken lightly. The police officer should be charged with corruption and extortion

• TAKE OR PAY DEMON 8 months ago

In fact, this has been the behaviour of the police. It happened in my area in Teshie Tsui Bleo. The police arrested a lot of the drug users and peddlers and asked them to pay three thousand cedis each. At a point, community m ...

• Always hate on police 8 months ago

Where is the evidence my friend you people hate ghana police tomorrow much

• The Spear 7 months ago

Mr. Constable, it's the whole truth and nothing but the truth.

Personally, I hated the very corrupt Ghana Police until Dampare stepped in, I have many reasons for it.

• Kasagyan 8 months ago

If only his friend could support him by telling the court he paid the amount mentioned to the police.

• jesus 7 months ago

Yes, there are corrupt officers among the police, but until this guy can provide evidence to support what he is saying we should not believe him. He is a drug dealer, a criminal. Individuals known to say and do anything to su ...

• Mawrehene 8 months ago

This sounds to me like a frame-up.
    The guy is trying to put the officer in trouble for arresting him.

• The Spear 7 months ago

What frame up? Who doesn't know the Ghana policemen who can even plant a herb in your car and accuse you if you fail to give them bribes? They do worse.

• Onipaba 8 months ago

Ghana Police for you.Its not going to get better with such an empty headed clueless inmatured unprofessional IGP

• wow 8 months ago

what the IGP do???? is the police a new employee?

• Done 8 months ago

It will get better if you and others decide to do what is right per the law and refuse to pay bribe to the police. You are corrupt and you are calling others corrupt?

• Humble lion 8 months ago

Let's put your competent father there to manage the affairs of Ghana police think twice

• Achakanapaya 8 months ago

Good one. Big expose. The court should deal with that police.

Deal with who always hating Ghana Police were is the evidence mmmtch

• Anti Ghana NPP 8 months ago

This is the rot the NPP brought in to our system. They have no shame and are still talking rubbish.

• Akua pokuaa 8 months ago

Anti Ghana you're adisgrace as human being what has this got to do with npp, you people's hate npp but npp is the best party weather you like it or not

• Anti Ghana NPP 8 months ago

Akufo Addo put many of these judges in place with the goal of defending them when necessary. Don’t look far, see the SC and the biases it demonstrates. I don’t hate NPP but I love my country so I don’t care who is in po ...

• ghboy 8 months ago

if npp is the best party, how come Bawumia got 38.%?

• GH8 8 months ago

And Mahamah got what percentage? You see because you are a lying piece of shirt you only mention what Bawumia got in percentage terms but never add what Mahama got. Why? You think you can deceive people.

• Willie 8 months ago

So do you have to turn this into NPP matter. A suspect has made an allegation against a crime officer handling his case, instead of you speaking to the issue you blame NPP for what. What about the criminal minded suspect who ...

• John Martin 8 months ago

Uncivilized guy

• The Spear 7 months ago

Ghana Police has always been like that.

• Kofi Boakye 8 months ago

The corruption in the Ghana Police Service is legendary. I have never seen any corrupt institution like the Ghana Police Service. These days they are not even ashamed of their corrupt practices. If there is any institution re ...

• D great 8 months ago

Are they not Ghanains just like yourself? Corrupt society breed corrupt institutions. Ghana man always want to pay his way through. Both the giver and the taker are all corrupt.

• The Spear 7 months ago

CEPS can measure up to the Police in corruption. Only senior police officers could build big houses from extortion. Most CEPS officers have more than 3 huge houses and several cars each. A lot of them have safes in their home ...

• Mantse 8 months ago

Allegations like this common in Ghana but there has not been a concrete evidence to prove this. The question then is who watch the watchman

• Kwesi 8 months ago

There’s evidence in this case.They arrested two them,why is his friend not in court with him?What other evidence do you need?

• IMAGE OF THE POLICE IMPROVED UNDER DAMPARE. HE IS GONE NOW AND THEY WERE HAPPY TO SEE HIM GO. NOW THE ROT IS CREEPING BACK 8 months ago

Dampare improved the image of the police. They dared not do what this officer has been accused of. Yohonu must not allow corruption to creep back into the service.

• Boat. 8 months ago

You didn't hear that, dampare was equally tagged as corrupt as yourself? Which successful individual, politician or institution in the country has never been tagged as corrupt? The educated illiterates like yourself are the ...

• THIS MAN SHOULD NOT GO BACK TO POLICE CUSTODY, OTHERWISE HE WILL REGRET OPENING HIS MOUTH. 8 months ago

You accuse a policeman like this? You are finished in his custody. They will do this man ayakayakade until he confesses true or false that he lied

• Willie 8 months ago

The suspect has made an allegation in open court and it's on record before the judge, so that police man/station should rather be careful b'cos the spot light is on them now. Should they try anything to intimidate or harrass ...

• Anane 8 months ago

@Willie, massa, which country are you living in? The judiciary is also corrupt as the police. The guy is a dead goat, he should have paid the bribe because this is an animal kingdom with jungle laws. That is what we all go th ...

• Test2 8 months ago

SUCH A COUNTRY
    USELESS AND DISHONEST LOT
    AFENYO

• Koti 8 months ago

Interesting, all die be die!

• Erik 8 months ago

GHC 50000 bail for the possession of ganja is pure wickedness. He was.not trafficking but for personal use . Peter Tosh need to hear this.

• No 9 8 months ago

I wonder why a smoker would be arrested for possession when other places in the world is making huge sums of cash through the legalization of the plant. Prosecuting marijuana cases is a complete waste of time.
    Hard drugs su ...

Personal use for the where if u don't know anything don't talk wai

• Donatus 8 months ago

Hope no one would ask for another bribe to make the police bribe allegation useless.

• Willie 8 months ago

That's the truth, this has been happening long ago and not at that police station alone. It's widespread, everywhere, they ask for settlement and if you aren't able to meet their demand, then they process you for court.

• Kwabena 8 months ago

The road is clear now if it's true I personally congratulate Emmanuel for this courageous act all people expecially drivers who go through this should learn from him

• Prince Charles 8 months ago

C50,000 bail for petty offense, when he could not even afford C4,000 bribe. Our courts are a joke.

• Ohene 8 months ago

Yes, this is what it should be.
    Good job. This guy should be set free and put the police in the custody for jail.

• FOYOOSIS 8 months ago

Who in Ghana does not know that the police take bribes for settlement? This act by the police has been going on since the time of Methusela and has got nothing to do with whichever party is in power. The Ghana police service ...

• Nana yaw 8 months ago

Come to Manso Adubia police station and see the police commander John Yeboah and the police officer in charge of operations Agyei take as much as Fifty thousand Ghana cedis to kill cases at the police station

Journalist ...

• Anane 8 months ago

Same as the SUNYANI CRIME COMMANDER, another criminal.

• Right 8 months ago

Where are the journalists?? ? It seems only Kevin Taylor had exposed these thieves. This corruption is very rampant.

• Pablo 8 months ago

THE GUY IS BEHAVING LIKE NTIM FORDJOUR, THE NPP PASTOR AND MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT, NO EVIDENCE OR WITNESS

• JK 8 months ago

SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM ALERT !!!!

JOBS IN EUROPE AND TEACHING JOBS IN CANADA

This guy advertising these jobs in Europe and Teaching jobs in Canada is a SCAMMER. He doesn't have any jobs anywhere. All he wants is your money ...

• Justice 8 months ago

This is nothing new!

• IT IS TRUE 8 months ago

Anybody pretending not to know this is mad. We all know the police in Ghana and their corruption. Ask the trotro and taxi drivers

• Jim 8 months ago

That is the conduct of the crime officers in Ghana. I trust the thief more than the Police. Ghana police, if you have not encountered them, you won’t know how corrupt that institution is . Hmmmm! The police officers support ...

• Ashlog 8 months ago

Hahaha you haven't seen anything yet. Next time take the law into your own hands or go spiritual. The police is a business entity, the highest bidder always wins.

• Ghana. Ooo Ghana 8 months ago

Oh, but this happens all the time it's not surprising at all

• Accra is dirty.com 8 months ago

It cannot be true,the criminal is just making such allegations against the police to see if that strategy can free him, he is a dangerous person and a manipulator just jail him

• Sadat 8 months ago

Hmmm Ghana police! Why? corrupt without same

• Gborlahn 8 months ago

I don't remember reading anything like this during Dampare's tenure. I wasn't arrested for going through amber light either.

• Mucus 8 months ago

U think u can fool a boy from Labadi

• Jesus Is God 8 months ago

Repent now! Jesus Christ is coming soon

• Kwame 8 months ago

I should have done the same. I was arrested by police of passing red light at Achimota police station traffic and they demanded GHs 500. Fortunately, I recorded the conversation, I should have proceeded to court and also disc ...

• HDondon 8 months ago

This guy is lying he just want to destroy the image of the police

• koku 8 months ago

but without evidence this allegation won't do him any good

• Mucus 8 months ago

His evidence is the other guy the police let go....Mr police would have to produce him

• Zakarakis 8 months ago

Some of these criminals are very smart. Possibly he is trying to INCRIMIINATE the police man. The presiding judge should have demanded evidence from him right there in the court.

• M. Sam 8 months ago

The Open and the naked Truth of what has been happening within the police and the the judiciary

• Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 8 months ago

, Bank wire transfer to all countries

Bank f ...

• Freedom and Justice 8 months ago

Let's not bury our heads in the sand. This is a very COMMON PRACTICE by the Police.

• Hmm 8 months ago

Very simple Case, if they arrested two of them where is the other?

• Thomas pickling 8 months ago

The crime officer must be suspended for demanding bribe from the accuse person immediately this is big shame for Ghana police service.

• Annor. 8 months ago

This should not be surprising since the police are notorious for demanding money from accused people. The police service has been turned to business transaction service.

• Salimako 8 months ago

This very serious oh
    Ei, GHANA POLICE
    HMMMMMMMM

• Joy 8 months ago

The jugde must rule this case seriously without given the police officers behind this case not guilty. That is what Ghana police people does. Very bad guys. Any police man involved in this case must have his account frozen ...

• Hannan 8 months ago

!!!! Hot girls are waiting for you on -->> Sexy24.mom

• KofSam 8 months ago

The crime officer must be investigated for bribery and jailed to serve as a deterrent to others . This has to stop. Innocent people are in jail because of their ignorance inability to pay bribes to the police.