Denying your partner sex can lead to jail for emotional abuse - Police

Read Comments Comments (48)

• Owan Yaw aka Lisiemine Ubi 21 hours ago

So this is all that an ACP is got on his plate when there are more pressing social and developmental matters? And is this not a subtle advocacy for forcible sex even when a woman is not ready for sex? And in a society where w ...

• Bra Joe 21 hours ago

Bro, the journalist who brought up this report is to be blamed not the ACP. The journist only took this 5minutes topic out of a 1000 question and answers section with the ACP.. Don't just jump into baseless comment and accusa ...

• Owan Yaw aka Lisiemine Ubi 19 hours ago

Where in the reportage does it say that the ACP was answering 1000 questions?

• FRANKIE 19 hours ago

The guiltiest party is women. Passive aggressive beings with hypergamous nature.

• Ghanaman 18 hours ago

So is he saying that separation from a spouse is a crime?

• prophet mohammed was a sick dog 18 hours ago

Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper..........Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe........ ...

• Ghanaman 14 hours ago

If it is a matter of verbal or physical abuse, fine, the police can come in if necessary, but as for whether a spouse has sex with his or her partner or chooses to eat the partner's food or not,.....that is absolutely no busi ...

• Ghanaman 14 hours ago

No law

• Hey! 19 hours ago

@Joe, if you have to explain this to him, then he shouldn't be here in the first place.

• JK 12 hours ago

Section 2 of the Domestic Violence Act does not it say that spousal sex denial per se is a crime. The interpretation place of "emotional, verbal and psychological abuse" given by the ACP Fiakpui crass and does not align with ...

• JK 12 hours ago

Edited
    Section 2 of the Domestic Violence Act does not say that spousal sex denial per se is a crime. The interpretation placed on "emotional, verbal and psychological abuse" by the ACP Fiakpui is crass and does not align wi ...

• Kay 19 hours ago

Ken Agyapong and John Mahama can never win this case in court, they've have had more than enough sex at their ages.Scientifically they've gone beyond the maximum limit that any human being need.

• LEVERAGE THE RIGHT Skillset TO MAKE MONEY IN 2026 - MASSIVE DISCOUNT SALES ONGOING! 15 hours ago

Get the RESOURCE U need to MAKE MONEY in 2026 NOW - not in January. Lock yourself in & TRAIN - After 30 days, a new giant will emerge! Get this XMAS Gift for yourself or that idle friend, relatives, neighbours or COMMUNITY YO ...

• James 14 hours ago

You don't know what is happening in various homes, affecting productivity. It is very important to address issues families are experiencing. You will understand him soon.

• GENERAL BUTT NAKED 11 hours ago

@owan yaw, it really matters ok, a friend of my had wanted to commit suicide or kill the wife, but he was confined in me as a friend and discussed with me before I advised him and layer sat the wife down to let her know the e ...

• Naana Ekua 21 hours ago

Proving emotional abuse is not that easy, is it ?

• Tk 18 hours ago

I will report soon haha

• Ghanaman 15 hours ago

This is a most stupid law concerning marriage that I have ever heard a poli e officer mention. Don't the police have anything better to chase after? A couple have the right to separate. They don't need to report it to any pol ...

• Ghanaman 15 hours ago

The ACP might as well keep watch at couples' bedroom windows to monitor if they are having sex and record it for evidence.

• Joy 20 hours ago

Hahahaha. Wives of today have the syndrome of no money no sex. Hahahaha hahahaha

• Kwaku Tee 19 hours ago

Forget it many husbands have lost their libido bcoz of bills. Our courts will be jobless if that's the only type of case they want to handle.

• Amen! 20 hours ago

Concern yourself with arresting and prosecuting criminals. Use your training and limted resources to arrest peadophiles, rapists, fraudsters and scammers. Leave consensual sex or sexual starvation to alternative "dispute" res ...

• SURVIVAL. 20 hours ago

The ACP should have gone further by saying anyone who force his or her partner into sex should also be punish.Usually every man should taste the wife three or four times a week.

• JB 20 hours ago

Controversy has been sparked.

• Abotsi 20 hours ago

Come is on the increase, murders here and there and all we could think of is sex. Aaaaba!

• Abotsi 20 hours ago

I mean crime is on the increase

• Oteng kwasi 20 hours ago

Good news Ghana is working how can someone getting what is free,aba

• Be careful 20 hours ago

These laws are the the best to sustain marriages, the divorce and motional traumas are too much, so is paternity DNA test at birth be made law as necessary requirements before birth certificates, can be issued, to check ad ...

• Be careful 19 hours ago

These laws are the the best to sustain marriages, the divorce and emotional traumas are too much, so is paternity DNA test at birth be made law as necessary requirements before birth certificates, can be issued, to check a ...

• Achakanapaya 19 hours ago

Eeiiiii hmmmmmm good news of the year.
    Amnesty for Men ooh. Papa police officer thank you. Hahaha.

• This are the topics you should be alerting people 19 hours ago

If you have kpekus you will be thinking of crime. Come to the north and tell the women here, they don't know anything.

• Nii 19 hours ago

COMEDY CENTRAL! I can't stop laughing...

• Francis Mccarthy 19 hours ago

Police officers found TAKING BRIBES could face 10years of Imprisonment. Foolish ACP

• Don 19 hours ago

Commander, God bless you so much for revealing this truth. Long life commander

• Ghanaman 18 hours ago

I have never heard of such a law before. So how long does a spouse have to deny the partner of sex for before he or she becomes guilty of breaking that law? 1 month? 3 months? 1 year? And what if a spouse wants to be separate ...

• Kwame Nkrumah 18 hours ago

Foolish

• Saviyo 17 hours ago

He will end up eating some of them. How can y say this? You have right to formulate and articulate all forms of information but not all are edible.

• Mr. T 17 hours ago

More men will go to jail than women. Redo the law

• Reason 16 hours ago

Foolish people say foolish things. Has the ACP never heard of divorce?

• Ghanaman 14 hours ago

There is no law in Ghana that can lead to your arrest or imprisonment for failing to have sex with your spouse or refusing to eat his/her food, That is a lie. Either the ACP is ignorant of these matters or Ghanaweb is twistin ...

• Aj 14 hours ago

So officer if you jail my partner for not giving me sex what will I be eating when you jail her?

• Jacob 14 hours ago

Those who enacted that Dovsu law were sick mentally. Period

• Solar Movement 14 hours ago

I don't think people really understand marriage. SEX is one of the main reasons people get married. Sex in marriage for recreation and to avoid fornication. The bible is even against a wife hiding her body from her husband ex ...

• Yaw 13 hours ago

Under which law?

• TAN 12 hours ago

Can you please bring out laws and rules before sex first of all. Let’s all create these rules and when one flouts any of them, then that person can be jailed.
    Pls talk about what happens to those who cause teenage pregnan ...

• OSAFO KANTANKA 12 hours ago

This Police officer is a disgrace. There are reasons for a partner to deny sex. There are many reasons also why a partner can refuse food. Come on !! Man !!

• Dom 7 hours ago

Guys, this is the best law I have ever come across. Good one!!!

• MASSA KEEP QUIET AND LET US BRIEF ATTENTION SEEKER 3 hours ago

WHEN PEOPLE ARE THINKING OF DEVELOPING AND GOING TO MARS, WE ARE THINKING ABOUT SEX SATISFACTION....INDEED THE BLACK MAN IS NOT CAPABLE OF MANAGING HIS AFFAIRS