KNUST student jailed over ‘Apio’

Read Comments Comments (65)

• yoofi 12 years ago

15yrs really? these stupid judges and their sense of judgement. a driver overspeeds and kills innocent predestrians and is fined and the very license he used is handed back to him.Corrupt public servants are sentenced to mont ...

• KoBO 12 years ago

This is too much....15 years? This is what happens when you put square pegs in round holes

• Nicholas J Bedzo 12 years ago

He deserve it more than that,He is never submissive and arrogant to the
    people of arrest.

• Lafia 12 years ago

Just apio lead to 15 years? what a fuck!!!

• JH 12 years ago

I agree the justice system in our coutry is questionable and suspect. But let's bear in mind we don't know the degree of assault and he is an ex-convict- all these play in teh sentences. Belive me I'm not supporting teh judge ...

• Sound Ghanaian. 12 years ago

This sentence is excessive. Warn him or let him perform community service.

• Hiprol 12 years ago

The 15yr sentence makes mockery of the justice system.
    He should have been given a year suspended sentence on condition that he refrained from indulging in apio and other substance of abuse for that year.A fine and apology w ...

• sam 12 years ago

Nonsense when you become a judge allow people to misbehave and go free.This is a guy studying to become a civil engineer in future responsible for system thus road,structures,rail works just to mention a few and putting up su ...

• Higher-U.K 12 years ago

omg and ghanaweb were able to get his photo but can't get photos of armed robbers,15yrs for this! bad judgement....put him on probation,sign a bond for good behavior do some community work and pay for medical bills and compen ...

• rescue 12 years ago

serves him right.these the kind of people who enters the university with stolen certificates.is he having parents

• ONIPANUA 12 years ago

@Yoofi, the sentence is not in respect of the consumption of Apketeshi and pito frather for coursing harm to the girl by beating(bleach of publi peace

• Nana Poku, Essex 12 years ago

Corrupt politicians get away with looting state coffers. How many years did Woyome even get? Tweea

• MAN 12 years ago

This is garbage from the court. Please, revoke the license of the judge. He has brought the name of the court into disrepute. I believe by now the so-called lady victim would be regretting for sending the case clown court.

• oh 12 years ago

The judge should change his mind. ido not think the judge will punish his own son this way.

• Queen Bee 12 years ago

the lady is a fool indeed, women or chldren should be beaten for no reason becuse a very smart man want to throw his life away acted stupidly and beat an innocent girl, should get a slap on hand, thats very sad. They should ...

• EZEKIEL 12 years ago

Out of proportion!! A fine PLUS a bond of good behaviour till END of the degree course would have been sufficient too!!
    Why Do our WHITE COLLAR THIEVES in PUBLIC SERVICE hardly get ANY such HARSH judgement ???
    There's SOME ...

• JOE BOATENG 12 years ago

If this poor guy is going inn for 15years,what about Woyome?Please judge revisit the case again and do the right thing for this guy ,he's young and acted foolish,he might one day be productive to our nation,PLEASE.

• Memma White 12 years ago

Serves him right! Ghanaians seem to have no respect for rule of law. Some of you people pleading for leniency may be guilty of similar civil offenses. We need tough judges like this to maintain law and order in our country. W ...

• OLDMAN GYASI 12 years ago

HOW CAN THIS STUDENT BE A REAL ENGINEER IF HIS BRAINS ARE FULL OF LOCAL STRONG BLEND GINS AS AKPETESHIE AND PITO?NO WONDER THOSE UNIVERSITY GRADUATES CAN-NOT INVENT ANYTHING USEFUL FOR THE NATION

• ROMANO 12 years ago

AND WHAT HAVE U DONE FOR THE NATION ?

• Paa Chris 12 years ago

Say that again Oldman.What kind of student is he? Is drinking of apio too part of the course? That is why they can't do anything proper when completed the course. This same student will be jobless one day and be blaming the g ...

• KOFI KOFI 12 years ago

6 MONTHS WOULD DO,OH HOO GHANA

• lol 12 years ago

funny, soooooo funnyyyy. This judgment should be revoked immediately. Somebody should do something.
    The student is wrong in all aspect of the law but 15 years??? Prison is supposed to be for correction not destruction. This ...

• nana 12 years ago

learn and stop all these, it will not help your future. do u think your parents will be happy about this?.fool

• JK 12 years ago

I am wondering if this is perhaps one where the judge had no discretion, and had to give him the 15 years.

If the judge had no option, then I can understand.

• ONIPANUA 12 years ago

/GIDEON PREFERES AKPETESHI AND PITO TO ACADENIC WORK,STUPIDMAN.Education should be importand in his life for that is his future not buss

• BRIAN CRAWFORD TETTEHSON 12 years ago

wow. how could this possibly be accepted as judgement? when observers pronounce any issure regarding court cases, they are branded as contemptous. what a country we live in. armed robber steal, harm and kill, yet they go free ...

• rescue 12 years ago

you call this bad judgement. if she was your sister would you express this sentiment. think most of you against this judgement have the same character or are ex convicts studying to be leaders in future? God help Ghana.

• btg 12 years ago

"Gideon said to be an ex-convict"...

Dont forget that his past as an ex-convict, must have played a part in the sentence.

• nunana 12 years ago

Mad Chief Justice is it true, are you aware of this judgement..and is that the sanction for the offence committed.

Please, he might be at fault but let us not destroy that life it is precious to GOD.

• Epson Joker 12 years ago

Justice my foot. What sort of corrupt judges do we have in Ghana?

• koby 12 years ago

NKWASIASEM AAAKWA!

• Papa Dey 12 years ago

The article mentioned him as ex-convict but did not elaborate his history.Probably thats why the judge gave him that sentence.Even so 15 years is too way out of line.His attorney should file an appeal to this case.

• COLLINS ABEBERESE 12 years ago

someone should rise up to speak for this poor man. How many years will this judge give those who sold the drillship? THIS JUDGE SHOULD BE CALLED TO BOOK.

• Kofi 12 years ago

What a judgement. This is too much aaba.

• paa kwasi 12 years ago

as sor justice amo yartey God in heaven will punish him for all those crazy sentence on humanity hw can u sentence i student t 15 years aba God will punish u amo yartey n ur family

• jay 12 years ago

is it 'apio' or 'pito'?

• TUM 12 years ago

O HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GHANA where are we going why do we want to damge this boys life? fire burn you all

• peace 12 years ago

woyome ie walking free arm robbers walking free this is too much sentence maybe he already has record

• OGA yum yum 12 years ago

give the guy probation, in order for him to complete his program at the school and consequently become a productive citizen of ghana.

• Antiochus - London 12 years ago

Gideon Sarfo is a moron. Why do you have to throw your life away over a tot of akpeteshe. Maybe that is his destiny. Good luck.

• Kpeblo 12 years ago

Did he stub the girl ? What kid of assault warrant 15yrs in prison . My heart bleed each time I read these unjust sentences in Ghana. When will we change? I think each of our judges should be retained to reflect the time we a ...

• nana yaw 12 years ago

please the story is not matching the sentence could be details its 15year we are talking about here

• Yaw Ntiamoah (former student of KNUST 12 years ago

Pls. let be patient, this boy is not KNUST student, he is a citizen of Ayigya and a former second year Civil Engineering student of KNUST who has stop the course for years now. Mr reporter you people should cheek you facts b ...

• NII ARMAH 12 years ago

HONESTLY SOME JUDGES JUST PASS JUDGEMENT AS IF THEY ARE CRYNG FOR HELP OR NEED TO BE SEEN BY DR ASARE? WOYOME SAGA THE GUY IS STILL FREE .YES IS APPLE AND ORANGES BUT THIS JUDGE NEEDS TO BE WHIP.

• K.Danso,Gbawe-Acca 12 years ago

Latifa, it wasn´t just apio but rather an assult on a poor seller in conjunction with resisting a lawful arrest.

• Kofi 12 years ago

why 15 yrs is it murder.What a wicked judge.

• OBIBINI 12 years ago

I wonder how judges and magistrates give sentences to those who have fallen foul of the law.Does this student really deserve 15 years in prison for the offence he committed? This is absolutely rubbish and such 'wild'sentences ...

• Meek Mill 12 years ago

I wish the convict was their family ,then we see the level at which the judgement goes.15 yrs ?That is so insane .He could have simply be warned or allowed to dig some borehole somewhere .communal labor at least.But jail ter ...

• Daddy Sam 12 years ago

students of gh i hope our lesson frm this young man is clear to all of us i hope the devil did not pour the drink into his mouth!

• SYG 12 years ago

Aggudey gets 3 months for stealing millions and he gets 15 yrs for some small beatings

• Nana 12 years ago

Please if what we read was the truth then something shoul be done immediately to save the future of this boy please somebody should appeal for him the sentence is too much for the offense. Please give sentences with human fac ...

• akua 12 years ago

Even in the USA, the world's greatest country the maximum punishment for assault is 5years and minimum is 2yrs even if a weapon was involved. these judges must go back to school.

• BB ash-town, ksi 12 years ago

Amo yartey was a high court judge at Takoradi but why is he now a circuit court judge in kumasi and recently among the newly sworn in high court judges? Can this man confess before God and man that he has never flout any of t ...

• yartey 12 years ago

From my investigation after reading numerous cases precided over by this judge Amo Yartey it is clear as lots of judicial worker say he is the most corrupt judge in kumasi court. if you don't have money to pay bribe you get t ...

• NII 12 years ago

laws are laws.the convict should have known better considering his status.

• Justice for the poor and the weak 12 years ago

These judges have to sit up and think, you know! How can you destroy a person with such a crazy jail sentence. How proportionate is this? Another life destroyed by another insensitive judge. God save Ghana with this mad ju ...

• Jaguar 12 years ago

This too much..... It should be reduce my Lord

• Rocky 12 years ago

Students lyk diz parents dey village. Instead to learn 4 dem u are buying apio on credit.. C ur end no future. Dat is y I school does not determine a prosperious future.

• Rocky 12 years ago

Students lyk diz parents dey village. Instead to learn 4 dem u are buying apio on credit.. C ur end no future. Dat is y I school does not determine a prosperious future.

• Mike 12 years ago

Wicked judge,misdemenor gets 15yrs while Mr.Agudey gets 3months for fraud agnts poor security guards unfair system.

• David anyetei 12 years ago

Let as face reality 15 years is too bad why.

• JAMES ADJEI 12 years ago

May I ask: this character, or behaviour or attitude of this student; is it the fault of the parents, the school, the community, the state, the lady who sold the drink to him or the student himself?

• mohammed amin abdallah,adenta,fafraha 12 years ago

he needs rehabilitation and not gruesome and insensitive prison sentence.the prosecute allowed his emotion to be at play..he needs rehabilitation and not untoward punishment.

• Phrank 12 years ago

Don't blame de bio