Deranged accountant kills daughters

Read Comments Comments (77)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 10 years ago

AUTHOR: VICTOR A. YOUNG-----
    The fact is the most of our youth are not so smart. They're confused because of lack of good education under the NDC gov't. They've been targeted by the NDC; most of them gave sold their conscien ...

• kyekyeku 10 years ago

This woman has a mental problem and needs help. God will punish men for all that we are doing to women. she doesn't even know that she has done something wrong for God sake.

• Yaa Nkosuo 10 years ago

Yes, the Police have to come in.
    Post-natal depression plus Schizophrenia.

We have a lot of Ghanaians who've trained as Psychiatric Nurses all over the world; this is the time to pool your resources and impart your skills ...

• Dessie 10 years ago

great imput..But, I think it's not a "SCHIZOPHRENIA"causing that..i think it is an after birth TRAUMA..it comes emotional problems after birth especially abuse from the baby father or if the mother do not receive proper care ...

• Dada 10 years ago

Thank you. She needs help not to be arrested! Such ignorant idiots!

• PlainPlainTruth 10 years ago

Do you understand the Law at all? Yes, she may be ill but a crime has been commited. So she has to be arrested and proven in a court of law that she committed the crime. It is in the course of this that her mental capacity to ...

• Saint Ghfuo: CHALLENGE YOURSELF! 10 years ago

The elder brother indi­cated that at a point, the husband wanted to take the children from the wife and so sent the case to court, but the court did not permit him to do so because they were too young and needed to be with t ...

• THOMAS DUKORMEVI 10 years ago

Why didnt she also take the food if she's really mad?

• PlainPlainTruth 10 years ago

Rantings of an idiot! What has you idiotic contribution got to do with the story in hand?

• Jay 10 years ago

Reckless comment and got deviated from what is before you. Idiot you knnow virtully nothing and pasting nuisance on the net

• Ostinato Gustavo 10 years ago

Yes l didn't understand him. His might be worse.Somebody must come to his rescue.

• Ostinato Gustavo 10 years ago

Same thing , you need to be rushed to any of these hospitals otherwise yours will be worse What point do you really make ?

• SMART FREMPAH, UK 10 years ago

So everything in Ghana now has turned into politics. Even if you fart, either it's the fault of the NDC or NPP. You are a sad fellow and definitely needs the help of the health authorities.
    About the case itself. She has t ...

• They Say They Say 10 years ago

This guy is simply a broken gramophone, ignore him. Why? evlytin poritiks, evlytin poritiks, why eh?

• APONKYE 10 years ago

What a wicked man. Your wife becomes ill and you abandon her and was even making moves to take the children from her. Now he should have them.

I'm surprised people are not taking the husband to task for triggering this dea ...

• AKOWUAH 10 years ago

It is pathetic that a whole colleague teacher should leave his lovely wife just because she became sick.
    Was she sick before married? Definitely no and so if she accidentally got sick, was it good to leave her?
    Is this fo ...

• Ama Densi 10 years ago

Schizophrenic has no cure. It sets in during the late teens. The has been recorded cases of people getting it late in life like 60 years.It's chemical imbalance in the brain, and include chemicals like dopamine that is involv ...

• wisdom 10 years ago

I agree with you. Maybe the man started dating another woman just after the wife had the second baby. It could be broken heart. The husband should be blamed

• KOJO 10 years ago

Don't judge until you know the full story. who knows if he had stayed he would have been poisoned as well. In most cases they tend to hate the man to the extent that they will even wish him dead. nothing that the does pleases ...

• Ama Densi 10 years ago

Did you read the story well before you jumped to your rantings? Or because your reading skills has a correlation to your name? The husband tried to seek custody through the courts but the court denied him custody. read below ...

• Blaqgh 10 years ago

Am really sorry my brother, u have got it all wrong this man in question was my government teacher and also I was at the police station when he was giving his statement. The man has a problem himself because he had accident a ...

• YAW DARKO, ASIKAM 10 years ago

what have Akyems done in this case

Depression at a different level often leads to these actions. We should never judge this woman but rather offer the support mechanism to help her to normality.I am pretty sure there is no man behind to support as as well.

• Obed Adore 10 years ago

Hmm, a very sad case. The kids would have been alive today had the courts agreed to give them to the man...

• Johannes B Awotwe 10 years ago

I believe if he had stayed with the family, the burden on the mother would have been less - thereby reducing the mental stress.

• CORNEY 10 years ago

Right,at the time the woman needed his help was the time he left her because she is now mentally ill,no responsible man will leave the wife at a difficult time in her life,you married her and promised that for better or wors ...

• Osei Kodjo 10 years ago

It affects lots of women.It is called postnatal depression.Postnatal or postpartum depression (depression after pregnancy)affects many women in different degrees.

These are the symptoms a persistent feeling of sadness and ...

• Keneth 10 years ago

Osei Kodjo well defined

May The Souls Of The Kids Rest In Peace.

Meanwhile I wish the mother recovers from the 'shock' and also from her mental illness.

Formerly of Fijai and then UST?

If yes, I need to contact him!

• Esi 10 years ago

The woman needs medical attention, not a court hearing. I don't know what the judge who gave custody of the children to the sick woman is thinking now, but this whole episode is sad.

• FJB-UK 10 years ago

The court and the judge played contributory professional negligence if truly the ladies mental health condition was brought to their attention as a basis to take away the children. In fact Ghanaians are often not proactive an ...

• Koo 10 years ago

Massa,I make no excuses for the courts or the health workers (God knows those are two of the worst sectors in the country) but truth is that every society has its flaws. Try the US, until you are able to obtain power of attor ...

• Medicus Germany 10 years ago

Poor woman,this is the nature of the sickness-- schizophrenia--no court can help her, she now needs help, social attention.

• Yaa 10 years ago

Please she needs to be admitted to Psychiatry hospital. Poor woman. May the children rest in peace.

• GT 10 years ago

Our doctors need to be aware of PPD. Its quite a serious issue and manifest itself almost like a psychiatric one. Maybe this lady suffered from it and went misdiagnosed. Sad for the whole family. My prayers are with them.

• Esi 10 years ago

You are right. PPD is what I thought of when I read this too.

The title of this article itself "Deranged accountant kills daughters" reveals what we as a society think of mental health.

This is definitely not PPD. The last child was 6 years. Her schizophrenia might have been preceded by postpartum psychosis but after 6 years, the condition cannot still be called post-partum depression. Yes, your doctors know ...

• KOJO 10 years ago

All Esi is saying is that the PPD (i think it was most likely puerperal psychosis) must have been misdiagnosed and therefore she did not the treatment she needed.

don't forget that postpartum psychosis is essentially a b ...

What was her initial diagnosis that was a misdiagnosis? Get it clear that not all cases of psychosis (puerperal or otherwise)get back to normal even if caught on the first day of onset. Mental illness is much more complicated ...

• KOJO 10 years ago

her PPD went undiagnosed (rather misdiagnosed) and untreated (rather wrong treatment). so it worsened and the threat of losing here children led to the sad end because the unbalanced mind processed it wrongly and reacted irra ...

• SUZUTA 10 years ago

The court should taken the situation of the woman and handed over the poor children to the man, they would have been alive by now.

• Dr Robert K Glah 10 years ago

The mother should join the husband to recover under treatment. The husband is her best friend till death do them part.

• Benny 10 years ago

This is not the question of graduation and double varsity degrees. The government made too many mistake. Look at the gender minister trying to take the children from her will let the mind develop into evil deed. The die is al ...

• Benny 10 years ago

This girls could have been like Samia nkrumah

• K Manu 10 years ago

This is a sordid spectacle. But you see our judicial system must somehow be blamed for this unfortunate situation. The husband's initial attempt to take custody of the kids to perhaps avert this occurrence was frustrated by ...

We are quick to put mental patients before court and possibly get them sentenced the same day. Mentally-alert criminals go to court sparsely and never get sentenced for years until the cases get dismissed.

• Prof. A.K. Appiah 10 years ago

This lady needs psychiatric care not the courts. Please, see to it that she gets proper mental health support and care. Thanks

• ishimoto 10 years ago

Please, Naana Bray is not a Chartered Accountant and the reporter must cross check.

• Kwabena Ohemeng,london 10 years ago

This is strange indeed!!.Why allow a person with a severe mental condition to be in charge of her children?FOR THEIR SAFETY THE HUSBAND SHOULD HAVE BEEN GIVEN CUSTODY OF THE CHILDREN.

• Nana 10 years ago

she did not get the help she required . Our mental health services are flawed because the govt has not paid too much attention

• KOJO 10 years ago

the picture really saddens me: The hooting public and smiling uncaring policeman., with is a clearly mentally unbalanced woman reacting to the hooting and name calling with a defiant look on face and firm quasi-elevated head ...

• Kwarko Afriyie 10 years ago

God bless you for your comments.May God forgive her and the family.

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

We must all take note from this terrible case.If you have any relative who is suffering from mental illness.Kindly please keep children away from the retard person.You will never know when accident or any big problem will occ ...

• Adjoa 10 years ago

Come on journalists - one doesn't use woods like derranged! Aba! You say mentally ill instead!

• AALEY 10 years ago

Maybe she had Post-Partum depression which turned into something more serious, becouse she didnt get the right medications. I think the judge who refused to give the children to the husband, should be sent to jail.

• Abena 10 years ago

Is this scientific fact or your opinion? Evidence please!

• abi 10 years ago

Of course, we know she is mental ill to have committed homicide. By law she will be charged for that offence and the courts having realise she is
    mentally ill, she will be given a psychiatric hospital order for treatment. ...

• Afua . 10 years ago

The husband should not left the matrimonial home. They married for better and for worst.
    Ghanaian men are fond of doing that. Most women get sick immediately after child birth. It is called Postpartum Disorder (PD). I may b ...

• sergio 10 years ago

Where was the law when the man took the case to court?
    Ghanaian laws are clear on this.Even the police knows very well the only time a man can take custody of children under 7 years is when their mother is mentally challenge ...

• Ekow Samuel. 10 years ago

Huuuum.

• koteledon 10 years ago

The judge who ruled in favour of the woman also has schizophrenic autistic equilibrium which is worse than the schizophrenia.

• Virgin Jake -USA 10 years ago

I wonder if some of you guys really read the whole story before commenting. Point is; most of the mentally challenged murder cases are carried out through: gun shot, cutlass wounds, drowning, hanging etc. If this lady is men ...

• Django 10 years ago

Mr known it better than all, have you read yourself and understand the good and highly intelligent explanation that was giving by Kojo? I am sure NO. You can write shit to your low understanding that is why instead of making ...

• Dessie 10 years ago

after birth disorder; Soo many women facing similar situation,Many killed their born children if not detected early;they affected if the partenal father not around to help the maternal nother;it is a sychological problem faci ...

• BODDY 10 years ago

THIS IS WHAT I KEEP SAYING"BAD GOVERNANCE WILL DESTROY OUR SOCIAL&ECONOMIC LIFE.THIS SUITUATION DON'T NEED POLICE HARRESMENT,BUT THE LADY NEED SPECIAL MEDICAL ATTENTION SERIOUSILY.
    WHAT I CAN SAY NEXT IS THE GOVERNMENT OF T ...

• BODDY 10 years ago

THIS CASES OF SUCH ILLINESS&PERSONAL TRAGEDIES, SHOULD EVEN CATCH THE PRESIDENT ATTENTION&GAVE PROMPT AND QUICK EXECUTIVE ACTION AND STOP SNICKING TO PEOPLES BIRTHDAY PARTY,WHICH YOU HAVE NEVER BEEN INVITED.POOR&SICK CITIZENS ...

• Joshus Gbemu Joemep Green @Opass 10 years ago

This is very awful
    The suspect should b put behind bars

• Joshus Gbemu Joemep Green @Opass 10 years ago

This is very awful
    The suspect should b put behind bars

• JH. New York 10 years ago

The Judge is the Suspect,in my personal opinion!.

• Mepo @Weija 10 years ago

This cnt happened undergood education
    Now shs schools fees per term Cn buy quater land
    Due to this unsubstantial attitude many children cnt go xkul
    Please government we want our fees to reduce little sake of its too esc ...

• JH. New York 10 years ago

No wonder Anas exposed them. On what grounds could a Judge denied a Working man the Custody or his 2 daughters with their certified derailed Mother! Is this not a case of "9 AM massage", or "Aponkye nkrakra" in travesty of Ju ...

• i and i 10 years ago

Vodafone is a shameless theilf. Have anybody check their balance. My goodness it is nano second to veiw two messages. Shame . how much is enough!

• kane dii 10 years ago

may be not the mind.

• mama 10 years ago

this is the cause of PP depression and our society treatment of MH patients.

• Kwesi Koomson 10 years ago

My heart goes out to the kids. Naana I hope you get some help.
    This stupidity happens everywhere.I hope and pray that someday kids would not have to suffer for these.

• Joseph N 10 years ago

it is painful in the first place to read such an article.Nothing is working in Gh. the structures are not there.Right from the family to the judiciary and to the husbee all missed it.