Let’s stop pretending; Twi should be Ghana’s national language - George Quaye

Read Comments Comments (148)

• ST Ghfuo: KWAME NKRUMAH INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT 8 months ago

AKANS DONT SPEAK TWI AND MOST NON AKAN GHANAIANS SPEAK AKAN, NOT PRECISELY TWI. THEREFORE MAKING TWI THE NATIONAL LANGUGE IS A NON STARTER. MAKE THE AKAN LANGUAGE THE NATIONAL LANGUAGE. AFTERAL, THE AKANS ARE THE MAJORITY IN ...

• Nuhu 8 months ago

He's being honest though not an akan. Kudos bro

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 8 months ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine.....for instance 10 paracetamol at once......or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide

• Kwame 8 months ago

Illiterate George Quaye, which of the Ghanaian Languages can you rely on to do a cross boarder transaction amongst even Togo, Ghana, Burkina Faso and Coted'ivoire. Idiot you are!

• Arkhosua 8 months ago

His brain is way smaller than the debate he wants to dabble in.

• Justice 8 months ago

Does China, France, Netherlands, Brazil, Argentina etc do a cross boarder transaction?

• Truth be told 8 months ago

Mr Quaye please don't disturb as, don't you realize that twi, as a language, is seriouslly limited? Twi has much less words, and as such is constricted in expression and influence. For example what is the twi word for "stem ...

• AKUFO-ADDO, AN AKAN TRIBAL BIGOT, WAS BORN AND RAISED IN SWALABA IN THE HEART OF ACCRA, BUT HE PRETENDS HE CAN'T SPEAK GA FLUENTLY. HE'S A FOOL! 8 months ago

99% OF AKANS CAN SPEAK OR UNDERSTAND THE GA LANGUAGE BUT, LIKE AKUFO-ADDO THE AKAN TRIBAL BIGOT, THEY PRETEND THEY DO NOT UNDERSTAND GA.

AKANS WILL NEVER SPEAK GA BECAUSE THEY CONSIDER GA LANGUAGE VERY VERY DEMEANING, LET ...

• Ssk 8 months ago

You did well bro. These people pretend every other non European language is difficult but then tend to pressure others to speak theirs. It's a no for me

• Useless Akronfo addo it out- Bawulia has no chance 8 months ago

They are using this foolish Ga man to promote their bigoted agenda. Let them try. They don’t speak or learn other languages but expect theirs to be learnt or spoken. Where will twi me in the world? Nowhere-FACT

• Jones Kumi Larbi 8 months ago

You never had an Akan housegirl...can never happen in your dreams.

• THE AFRICAN AND HIS STUPIDITY 8 months ago

If Ewes made up 50% of Ghana’s population and if Dagombas owned 50% of Ghana’s territory, we could imagine how they would force their senseless tribalism and patapaa ways on us. The African fights racism but practices tri ...

• M.T 8 months ago

Rather, people who are making such bogus calls should stop pretending. We can't do that. There's no problem having English as a national language when that's the medium of instruction in our schools. Switching from English to ...

• Yes 8 months ago

You are shallow minded

• Blue Pen 8 months ago

@Yes. You are rather shallow minded.

• Arkhosua 8 months ago

Why couldn't you just use your broad mind to answer the question posed?

• Sad 8 months ago

Brilliant thanks
    English is spoken by 1.5 billion people worldwide
    How many people speak twi in the world

• OGyam 8 months ago

There are over 300 million Chinese citizens learning and paying through their nose every year to learn English in China.

• Nii Odoi 8 months ago

My friend. You are confused. The debate is about "National Language" not " Official language ". English will always be the Official language in Ghana. Twi has become a national language. It is not the official language. Nobo ...

• Needless 8 months ago

Abosulute nonsense. What is a national
    Language and what’s the need to make Twi a National language. Is there any communication gap in this country? Massa talk about real development issues and stop this needless talk

• Concern Citizen 8 months ago

People like you are the reason Ghana can't move forward. Reflect on all the countries in the world, and you will realize that language has a lot to do with developing a nation.

• Anaba 8 months ago

A language that is only known for insults on social media. Please, next story!

• TWI SPEAKING ENDS IN GHANA. DO GHANAIANS COMMUNICATE TO THE WORLD IN TWI OR AKAN? 8 months ago

99% OF AKANS CAN SPEAK OR UNDERSTAND THE GA LANGUAGE BUT, LIKE AKUFO-ADDO THE AKAN TRIBAL BIGOT, THEY PRETEND THEY DO NOT UNDERSTAND GA.

AKANS WILL NEVER SPEAK GA BECAUSE THEY CONSIDER GA LANGUAGE VERY VERY DEMEANING, LET ...

• Jah Cure 8 months ago

I believe most of the people who have difficulty learning another language are as thick as shit.They rationalise that by proposing Twi as a national language..

• 3tw3 ba 8 months ago

Another beach shitter. Ghana is for Akans. Adapt speaking Twi language or leave the country. Odwan

• Abc 8 months ago

Do you honestly expect non Akans to accept Akan as their national language after boldly stating that Ghana is for Akans? So are the non Akans in Ghana foreigners?
    Tribal bigots like you are the ones who make non Akans oppos ...

• 3tw3 ba 8 months ago

Look, Ghana is for Akans first. Akans are the original people of the land before all these beach shitting ntafuo fulanis and cat eating incest loving people arrived. Go back to your native origins if you disagree with this cl ...

• Ewvevi 8 months ago

Adui, how different is you akans shitting in rat holes different from the modus operandi of Ewes? Eblume emophodi.

• @princewilly 8 months ago

@concerned citizen. None of those developed nations changed their national language. None. Germans have always spoken and dealt in their German. Likewise the Chinese. At this point in our national life, what contribution will ...

• Jah Cure 8 months ago

@princewilly,you appear to be the most sensible contributor,so far. Bravo!
    As far as I am concerned,there is no merit in the need to have a Ghanaian language as a national language.
    I literally grew up in Manchester,UK and ...

• Kwame 8 months ago

@Jah Cure . Spot on. You hit the nail right on the head. Chi

• Kwame 8 months ago

China is a developed nation, Germany same , Finland same, Spain same , Italy same. My point? Virtually All the nations that have their own language as their main or national language are developed and self sustained nations. ...

• Language has nothing to do with development 8 months ago

Look, ho to Mexico, Argentina, even Greece and other places that speak the same language. Are they developed??? Stopping corruption and those vices is what lead to development. Get that in your head.

• Nii Odoi 8 months ago

Nobody is asking to "make" twi the national language. It is already the only national language.

• Ghana Bofo 8 months ago

Which language is Akan? Could you please explain that in English for me, your Dagbani is too deep to understand.

• seth 8 months ago

Akan is the language of which Twi is a dialect, spoken by the Ashantis. other dialects of the Akan language are Fanti, Akwapim, etc.
    So Twi itself is NOT a language!

• Bukyi 8 months ago

Is everything ok?

Exactly!

• Blue Pen 8 months ago

George, don't talk about you don't really understand. Populism won't help you.
    Do you really understand the implications of what you are suggesting? Don't go too far. Just go to typical Dangbe communities and find out how m ...

• BRA JOE 8 months ago

GEORGE QUAYE OR WHATEVER YOU CALL YOURSELF, YOU ARE AN EDUCATED ILLITERATE. IF YOU KNEW THE HISTORY OF GHANA YOU WOULDN'T HAVE MADE THESE SACRRILIGEOUS AND SENSELESS PROPOSITION. NO LANGUAGE CAN EVER BE MADE A NATIONAL LANGUA ...

• Kofi USA 8 months ago

National language is different from official language. English will still be the official language and Twi, the national language.

• Poor Africa must think again 8 months ago

And what value will it add. Study other nations who went on that tangent. At this stage it will only bring about disunity. What will making one of our languages a national language add to us. You think our founding Father Nkr ...

Look at countries like Switzerland (English, German, and two other languages), Singapore (English, Chinese, Tamil) and others..

• Poor Africa must think again 8 months ago

They did not change language after 70 years of independence. It is not language that made them develop. It is honesty, loyalty and hard work. It is not mere pride of just changing a language that will take us several years ba ...

• THIS MONEY-MAKING SKILL WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE! 8 months ago

After Easter it's the end of a qtr of this year. God only BLESSES the WORKS of our HANDS so put your hands to work! One blink & it's 2026. Time doesn't care. It's MERCILESS. You either rise or get buried. No more excuses. Tim ...

• 3tw3 ba 8 months ago

Ghana is for Akans first. Akan should be the official language of the nation. Any beach shitter who disagrees is Odwan m333.

You see how foolish you are?

• Blue Pen 8 months ago

Tribal arrogance and supremacist tendencies, as you exhibit, are some of the reasons why twi (or any other local language) should not become national language.

You are joking.

• Jon J 8 months ago

English shud remain da national language.twi is easy to speak n understand but it shud nt replace anglais

• Bukyi 8 months ago

How many people in your family speak English?

• Jon J 8 months ago

There is non in my family who speaks twi.

Is English your language?

• Jon J 8 months ago

Neither English nor Twi is my language.

Neither is twitwi. What your point?

Neither English nor Twi.

• Zach 8 months ago

The fact that most people even comment here in English shows twi cannot be the official language no wonder we Africans have the lowest iqs in the world,for a language to be the official language it has to be mainly used ever ...

• Bukyi 8 months ago

Bro. you are on your way to HEAVEN.
    The truth shall set you free.
    Ghanaians will support the idea of making the L2 (English) language a national language but because it is Twi it is abomination.
    If not hatred for a part ...

Oh, my brother, say it again. It's called the black mentality

It’s not. Every language should be made a national one in Ghana. Be it Dagbani, Frafra or Kusasi. Singapore has English and other languages as national ones.

Let’s make each person learn one other local language.

• Agyemang 8 months ago

Colonialism is not only about the white man. Black people also have colonial tendencies. Ga children, Dangme children, Dagomba children, Nzema children, and children of all other tribes in Ghana should now become twi speakers ...

• WIFI 8 months ago

An Ashanti friend of mine, once said they rule Ghana because their language is being spoken everywhere in Ghana. Such an arrogant statement can really happen if you nationalise the language. I totally reject such notion. Ga s ...

• YOUR STATEMENT IS FALSE FOR TWO REASONS 8 months ago

AKAN IS NOT SYNONYMOUS WITH ASHANTI. AKAN IS BIGGER THAN ASHANTI. AND TWO; ASK YOURSELF WHETHER GHANA IS BEING RULED BY ASHANTIS AND YOU WILL REALIZE YOUR MISTAKE. SINCE INDEPENDENCE PRESIDENT KUFUOR IS THE ONLY ASHANTI WHO R ...

• Papynkwabee 8 months ago

And kutu Acheampong don't forget

And Afrifa too. Learn your history.

• Safo 8 months ago

Try that and we'll have 16 countries very soon

• Jah rules 8 months ago

I tell you

• Nuhu 8 months ago

Complete rubbish and gullibility. With the exception of Ashanti and Ahafo regions which speak one language, the other "16 countries" you've mentioned speak more than one language.
    Odwan

• Sulleiman 8 months ago

I personally support him. If that happens in ten years non Akan speaking rigions are the one's who are going to speak good Akan language because they are going to learn it in the school. Good morning to you all

• OGyam 8 months ago

@Sule,stop talking nonsense.You do not have to speak twi to be an Akan. That said, all the Akan languages from Fante, Sefwi, Akuapem , Asante etc all came out of the original ,Brong Language , just as French, Spanish, Romani ...

• Jak 8 months ago

This guy is becoming a joke every single day.

Enough said. The English language was systematically murdered in Ghana starting from when Kufour came to power. About 95%of Accra radio stations are in twi yet newspapers and ...

• Kwadwo 8 months ago

This is why Kufuor is the GOAT

• Jak 8 months ago

This guy wants to be relevant in today's landscape.

Ever since he was associated with Menzgold he lost credibility.

Bro, I don't know how much to support you on this sensitive topic, but I feel Ghanaians are not being honest with themselves. They wanted to make everything about tribalism, which is hindering our progress as a nation. Twi is ...

• Citizen 8 months ago

Who is the tribalist here? The one forcing everyone to use his language or the been forced to accept someone else language?

• Jojo 8 months ago

This fool never make sense no wonder he's 4.5 feet tall

• Lucy 8 months ago

low IQ idiot! twi speakers are the only people in ghana so lets impose their language on all of ghana. aboa bi ba!!!!

• Bukyi 8 months ago

For lack of knowledge my people perish.
    Who is talking about dominance or superiority here?

• Jah rules 8 months ago

What is with these national language thing.. There are far better and weightier matters to ponder over.

Ain't we just fine as we are with our language-twi is the unofficial national lingua franca. Make it official and see ...

• ASANTE TWI LANGUAGE IS SPOKEN EVERYWHERE IN GHANA. 8 months ago

I am a Teacher in krobo land , specially Somanya and I am marvel at the way the Twi Language is widely SPOKEN here over the Krobo language even by indigenous people themselves. In fact in GHANA now to do petty trading su ...

Do you understand “%”? Where’s your statistics from?

• Mafia 8 months ago

You are in Krobo and think the Twi spoken by Krobos were learnt from Asante but not Akyems, their neighbours. Two spoken in Accra and Eastern Region were not learnt from Asante. The dominance of Twi is one because the Akans d ...

• Bongo 8 months ago

Does this guy understand the word DIGNITY?????

• Dread 8 months ago

It not dignity, rather HATE, JEALOUSY, Mentali degradation from our parents.
    You love to speak to you own in a foreign language because you had no consciousness.
    If HATE is not confront ,It becomes norm.

• YOU ARE TALKING FROM YOUR ANUS! 8 months ago

If it were not lazy Ga people who created this problem of not actively making sure anyone who wanted to reside on Accra MUST learn Ga, you would not be talking from your anus now.
    It will NOT happen. Twi is not the only lang ...

• Naa 8 months ago

You r rather talking from ur anus. How many akan speaking regions do we have in GH. This shd inform ur lazy mind that automatically their language dominants already per their nos. Secondly, it's not about laziness of Ga peopl ...

• Sam 8 months ago

Let's rather adopt kotokoli or frafra

• Dread 8 months ago

Frafra,and kotokori people don't make sense in Ghana.

• Star from the North 8 months ago

Ghanaians have been feeding on lies for a long time concerning this notion that we the akans are the majority in Ghana. What scientific data supports this analysis? Yes your population may be more, but how much? Most people f ...

• Citizen 8 months ago

What a stupid guy?
    Even if this has to be said, must it come from you?
    It reminds me of the role of samuel Jackson in the movie " Django unchained".

A complete sellout and a moron.

• Star from the North 8 months ago

When I wanted to join the US army, I was asked if I speak French or Swahili considering the jurisdiction of my origin. As a matter of fact twi speaking seized whenever I travel to Wa in the upper west. Usually, after crossing ...

• Akos 8 months ago

Twi is not only spoken in Ghana but in Europe as well, I quite remember a guy lead me to find a job speak twi to the boss,and one thing i love about twi speaking people is they don't care if u understand it or not u better un ...

• Anso 8 months ago

Foolish even without making Twia the national language, you call other Ghanaians Togolese and Burkinabes but not Ivorian. Language is culture. You cannot obfuscate and send other languages into extinction.
    Twi can be spok ...

• Trump 8 months ago

Very stupid comment, is twi the only language spoken in Ghana?. Idiotic imbecile!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Oh 8 months ago

The problem with a local national language is that the language itself is not developed to catch up with rigors of time. I don't know how we can do Physics, Chemistry, Geology, Computer engineering and science in Twi. Other l ...

• OGyam 8 months ago

@oh, never mind "Tetra" as an Akan person myself, I have always wondered how to say biology, physics, chemistry, atom,amoeba, molecule, etc in twi. Frankly none of these words exists in our daft and limited language which has ...

• Oh 8 months ago

We end up describing those terms rather than naming them. If it Biology, the local language will rather describe it than to mention it by name which they don't have.

• John 8 months ago

Senseless

• Agyemann Yaovi 8 months ago

Hausa is more widely spoken in Africa and I will support Hausa. Don't tell me Hausa is not Ghanaian. We need a language that transcends the borders of the country called Ghana.

• Sagacious shaggy 8 months ago

We should formalize the Twi language as second language not French which is spoken by less than 15 p Ghanaians

• Chairman One 8 months ago

My brother get serious. This tribal suggestions is not but a remedy for disaster. This is not even the problem Ghana is facing currently.

• So many languages 8 months ago

There are so many languages in Ghana but everyone speaks English so naturally English should be the national language for communication sake . Every area will have its corresponding language. No fight.

• Kwame 8 months ago

It's time this moron is shut up. Nobody needs your slimy views. Such a moron

• Mystic man 8 months ago

You are very stupid man, is twi only Ghanaian language? You people that's hoyou are. Triberlistic people! Shame onto you!!!

• sammy 8 months ago

george twi my ass

• Israel 8 months ago

Foolish boy

• Mad dog 8 months ago

We want french

• Language Barrier. 8 months ago

What is Asante Twi. Asantes speak Asante. Twi is the kanguage orihinally spoken by the Denkyiras, Adansis, Assins, Akyems, Heman, Twifu. Asantes etc. When you go to the Ashanti villages and towns the elders prefer to speak in ...

• Know your boundaries 8 months ago

Kwasia you too when did you start to think superiority of twi language over others
    You think Ghana is Taxi driver managed by you wofa

• Sakito 8 months ago

U dey take red abiiiiii

• Richy 8 months ago

Another irresponsible creature without Sense also doing his own talks.

• Ewvevi 8 months ago

George Quaye GBEMELA, YAKAME, MEPHIMEH WVEWVE, EMOPHODI, TAGBORGBEGBLETOR, ENUMEWVEWVE, ENUWVLAYAAAA. Menyemie korde nume nawo. Maaamawo phe mephimeh.

• Ken 8 months ago

A bogus suggestion. Very arrogant Assuming everyone in Ghana speaks, write and understand Twi. What about it other languages “s, for example, Ewe which is spoken in 3 countries.?

• Ssk 8 months ago

It won't be accepted. We keep the English or lookout for nonnative such as hausa or mossi which can easily link to neighboring African countries as well

• Ogbo kwaku 8 months ago

Am not sure you understand what you talking. Not every Akan is twi speaking. Even the twi has different dialects, that's when we have akwapim twi, asante twi, etc

• Osa 8 months ago

Aboagye, I have followed you years and you always stand above the tribalism and hate other Gas have towards Asante and everything Asante. You're so wise and deep. God bless you.

• Ben paul 8 months ago

Perfectly right no argument on this

• Alhaji 8 months ago

Apart from Ghana where is twi spoken
    Don't impose your language on others please

• Bukyi 8 months ago

Which part of Ghana do you stay?
    Haven't you heard that Twi is now being studied in one of the universities in abroad?

A foolish Ga person as . Make twi a national language In your house. After that when you go out of the country speak twi to your foreign friends

• Beama 8 months ago

You are right my brother. Akan is on top and as an ewe man I agree with you you bro

• Kofi Jesus 8 months ago

About 95 % of Ghanaians speak Asante twi. Is unstoppable language in Ghana we shouldn't pretend we don't know, even most of non Akans journalists speak Asante twi for their TV and radio programs and many GA Cumminuties speak ...

• Mafia 8 months ago

Which one is Asante Twi. Akuffo as Akyem spoke Asante Twi or Bryan Acheampong as Kwahu speaks Asante Twi or Denkyira hemaa speaks Asante Twi. Twi you claim is Asante Twi is not Asante language but language spoken by Denkyira ...

• WED 8 months ago

Agree with u bro

• Niiblue 8 months ago

Ga language, should be number 1 language to be spoken in ghana.

• 3tw3 ba 8 months ago

Kwaasia beach shitter. Ghana is for Akans. Adapt speaking Twi language or leave the country. Odwan

• Naasei 8 months ago

He has been sensible from his acting days of Dada Boat and Taxi Driver..he said the truth and I think the government and relevant agencies should adopt Twi as the official means of education in Ghana

• Di tw3 8 months ago

Aboagye gyemifuor odwan

• Ghanaian 8 months ago

At least he should try and campaign for Ga language to also go outside the boundaries of Accra.

• Hannan 8 months ago

)))))))) Single women are waiting for you on ~~~ Sexy24.mom

• Cliff 8 months ago

Foolish Ga man.

• Major 8 months ago

STUPID ASANTES...USELESS TRUBAL BIGOTS

• Ghana SA 8 months ago

Excuse my word but most comments here are very stupid and nonsense. Imagine a scenario where Akan/twi is the national language and most Ghanaians, become very confident and fluent in that said language, And then we elect a pr ...

• Is this our priority 8 months ago

Come to the North and compel us or suggest twi as an official language to us. I thought you had sense. Every ethnic group has a duty to prioritize it's language. Is this our priority? Is this a challenge Ghanaians are confron ...

• Kojo 8 months ago

comot there. tell your mother to send you back to school

• Agbelimor Paris 8 months ago

Is making Twi our national language going to stop galamsey and corruption?So if we start using Twi language as an official language or national language,are we going to use our traditional beliefs as our main religion?If you ...

• No way for Twi. Forget it 8 months ago

There's no way other tribes will agree but they will readily support using England's tribal language of English

• Daddy's 8 months ago

You have said it all : WELL DONE BRO

• Joe 8 months ago

Another stupid fool.

• Robert 8 months ago

And how to use Twi to solve calculus. ??
    Official language is not only to be spoken in markets and on the streets. Official language is one to be in schools colleges and universities for teaching students upto PHD levels in ...

• Arkhosua 8 months ago

Illiterates shouldn't partake in this debate. It is beyond you. Would that thenworking language too, what about medium of instructions in our schools? Do we have science and mathematics books in twi? Come on,,,don't set us ba ...

• JD 8 months ago

Just look at this thing too calling himself a celebrity...

• Aponkye shuaa 8 months ago

Copy cats. Who should stop.pretending and what do you kmow. Mouth mouth people, we just talk trash any time someone else has implemented something.

• Justice 8 months ago

It's long overdue. I am an Akan but Akuapem and Fante. Yet I speak Twi all the time. At out various workplaces, Twi is the commonest mother tongue spoken. No one has even ever prayed in any other language before. From the fi ...

• Hei 8 months ago

How will you say SQUARE ROOT in Twi, in order to teach Mathematics?
    Foolishness is becoming so cheap in Ghana ......

• Ras man silas 8 months ago

Hw3 kwasiabi.....u figure say ibi taxi driver series we dey act ofui....

• Mimosa 8 months ago

Come on....kiosk Estate is taking over the capital...you are here talking nonsense...If they stop tribalism and deep rooted ethnocentrism we will consider...until them...Never. I blame Ga people for allowing GES approve study ...

• Firing Squad 8 months ago

Even Europeans are learning the Twi Language and Culture in their Universities, so allowed the Nay Sayers continued to fool themselves as the saying goes, if you can't beat them, join them. George Quaye you have said the Gosp ...