Chris Brown says ‘Azonto’ is a Nigerian dance

Read Comments Comments (107)

• My Ghana is #1 11 years ago

Wizkid taught him how to do the dance, and definitely he did not tell him that it is a Ghanaian invention, so I don't blame him. The fact that he loves the dance and he is doing it in his music video is a good thing. Way to g ...

• Peggy Lee 11 years ago

And so what? Chris stated he learned the dance from a Nigerian artist doesn't mean he's giving credit to nigeria. Stop this useless war and propaganda!!!

• Kodwo 11 years ago

So what?!! Are you kidding?! Lol, no way is this a war or propaganda, this is an misinformation or plagiarism in my opinion. Ghanaians have come up with some many great things, and we do so much good, and have a lot to offer ...

I have seen the video interview at www.ghanafilla.net/archives/48278#.UV0sohlAte5.(Forward to the 6th minute) He actually credited the dance to Wizkid, so Nigerians on here should understand why Ghanaians would take offense. ...

Forward to the 4th minute.

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

What is wrong with these Ghana people with their jealous, disdain and hatred for anything and everything Nigerians? INFERIORITY COMPLEX is a very serious TERMINALLY killing these KWASHOKOR GHANAIANS. You better look for th ...

• Mr Truth 11 years ago

Nemesis or whatever your name is , i think you need to read a bit more to boast your knowledge about Ghana ,Nigeria relationship and i'm gonna help you here .Just go to www.google.com and type "ALIENS COMPLIANCE ORDER 1969 GH ...

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

In 1969, Ghana enacted the Aliens Compliance Order, in which hundreds of thousands of immigrants, {{mostly Nigerians}}, were expelled from the country. That was the beginning of "black on black discrimination in Africa" a si ...

• Kwesi 11 years ago

Although this is an unrelated issue to what is on discussion here, i regret to say that i agree with you. I am a Ghanaian and have never thought about the issue this way. I think it is because Nigerial also did the same thing ...

• Mr Truth 11 years ago

Kwesi ,i just asked Nemesis a simple question what were Nigerians doing in Ghana that time and i thought he was going to be honest and say they were looking for greener pastures but he deviated .The picture is so simple ,Nige ...

• Ibby 11 years ago

You got it wrong mate.Yes Ghanaians are suffering from inferiority complex and kwashorkor but Naija is swamping Ghana and copying AZONTO andchanging it to ALINGO and alsotrafficing drugs huh!

• Real ghanaian 11 years ago

Rubbish. Inferiority complex. There is no such word as inferiority complex in Ghana.Look Nigerians if you want us to get rid of you just tell us we will gladly do that.we will descend to every level that u want

• DANI B 11 years ago

inferior complex against nigerians? on what? your boko haram, 419 curruption or what. STOP COPPYING US GHANAINS-PERIOD. WE MIGHT BE SMALL IN POPULATION BUT WE ARE VERY POWERFUL AND INFLUENCIAL. GET IT??

• Benny King 11 years ago

sheer nonsense,why are you misinforming the whole country and continent,he said he learnt it from nigeria and it wasnt his invention bt "IT IS IN NIGERIA" hope u heard dat dump ass

• kayci 11 years ago

Def you r one of these Ghanaians with brain, Instead of Ghanaian musician popularizing Azonto they r busy singing ** Thank God we are not Nigeria** There is not Ghanain artist u can equate to Psquare, Dbanj, Tuface, Flavour N ...

• Legon 11 years ago

And which Nigerian dance matches AZONTO. The fact is that, there is no such dance in Nigeria with global appeal as AZONTO. That is why Nigerians mimic it as alingo, well I laugh ... May be it will sound better if they call th ...

• RICE WATER 11 years ago

HAHAHAHAHAH, YOU ARE DAMM WRONG, WHY? BECAUSE EVERY NIGERIAN ARTIST WANTS TO COME TO GHANA TO LAUNCH HIS/HER ALBUM OR WORKS BE IT MOVIE OR WHAT, BECAUSE IF GHANA ACCEPTS IT THE WORLD WILL ALSO ACCEPT IT, THAT IS WHY EVEN THE ...

• kayci 11 years ago

You are mistaking, Nigeria see Ghana asd brothers bcos Ghana is a contry form by Nigerian slaves white men were moving to Europe, why do u think we love u guys more than any other african country. You can never be bigger than ...

Nope it cant be. Who were the first Europeans to come to Africa?Portugal. There is no way you can go from the east to the west and back to the east for expediency. it does not make sense. Ghana was built by Ghanaians not slav ...

• look 11 years ago

Be reminded that being popular does not make better than another person.Copy cats learn to invent your own dance.We will call ur Alingo Azonto on any plateform

• Benny King 11 years ago

rice water or watever you call yourself you are the biggest fool i have ever seen,its Ghanaian entertainment industry booming than that of nigeria? check ur facts,which nigerian have you heard came to launch his album in ghan ...

• kayci 11 years ago

hahahaha, I dont understand why a country with a population of just 20 million wanna always fight for a place with a country of 200 million and very rich in human capabilities coupled with so much money from oil...

• Saddam 11 years ago

Everyone know the Nigerian population is bigger than Ghana,Here is the case you claiming there are rich men in Nigeria but yet still the poverty in Nigeria is more higher than Ghana..About 28% of Nigerian citizens lack access ...

• Dave 11 years ago

Are you not ashamed that the few public universities in Ghana (6 in number) are now being competed for admission space by Nigerians.Get your people to go to school.

• yaa brafi 11 years ago

hahaha that is a point well made to our(9) credit u know,if u are the big boys why don't u just stay in your own country rather than come to the claimed "less privileged". u must have the best universities and colleges so sto ...

good one there

• MR TRUELY TRUELY 11 years ago

200million poverty Nigerians and 20 million rich Ghanaians in terms of human capabilities & humain.
    The Netherlands is a small country without oil. But they are richer than Nigeria with all types of minerals to boost. No one ...

• tracy 10 years ago

fuck all Ghs 9ja is the 6th rich in the word soo plss go to school...bc i see that u cant even say the wret tin...!!"i hate gh people nw !!

We hold our own. We prefer self government and danger than to servitude in tranquility. Thats the Ghanaian

• i man 11 years ago

Kayci thats not the fact,the fact is Gh rich guys are soo useless ,instead of promoting it to be on top .if Azont was promoted on DSTV ,i dont think 9ja will stand a chance to copy write it. this is a time our rich guys must ...

• Wiseman 11 years ago

Azonto is a stupid dance anyway. Intelligent people should not give a 100th of their heads to a nullity called Azonto.

• Solomon Frimpong 11 years ago

My friend if u dont like azonto then get a life because us Ghanaians like azonto and u dont so go to a different planet

• Jack nana 11 years ago

AS you can see P-square made a song copying azonto but its called a alingo but let me tell you its alright making a song about azonto but it is not alright to take all the credits .

• kayci 11 years ago

What kind of stupid credit do u ghanaians want, somebody worked hard for his album and u want their credit, u knot heads

• Adekunle 11 years ago

He said he learnt it from Whiz kid, that does not mean he explicitly says it is Nigerian, simple English!

• David 11 years ago

The woman beater explicitly said "I learnt that...I learnt it from a Nigerian artiste by the name of Wizkid...so I don't wanna act like I created it...it's in Nigeria." simple english ! I hope you get the meaning of that.

• Ekkua O 11 years ago

Who really cares what Chris Brown thinks, a guy who can beat a woman he claims he loves, the stupid man. No one really cares. He needs to be thinking about not hitting any woman. All you Nigerians are not better than Ghanaian ...

I have seen the video interview at www.ghanafilla.net/archives/48278#.UV0sohlAte5. He actually credited the dance to Wizkid, so Nigerians on here should understand why Ghanaians would take offense. This issue can be argued fr ...

• kayci 11 years ago

Why wont he credit it to wizkid, u senseless ghanaians prefer wizzy and psq called it azonto but u dont know how powerful and popular these artist r, def the whole world knew azonto tru Nigerians( cool)

• MARK USA 11 years ago

ONLY FOOLS LISTERN FATHERLESSBOY ANIMAL CALLED CHRIS

• shaibu chubbi 11 years ago

chris brown is a DEVIL,but our sprit in GHANA is bigger dan him.fool

• LE'BLUE 11 years ago

I was told the Azonto dance originated from Spain but was made popular in Ghana.
    If indeed it originated from Ghana then we should do everything possible to popularize it, and firmly defend it to the core. Its one thing that ...

• kayci 11 years ago

The first Nigerian artist to even revive Azonto was Inyanya in kukere, It was Nigeria that made Azonto what it is today, then who do u think the whole world will give credit to....beside Azonto was dance in Ghana but did not ...

• GEORGE GOLDBERG ADJEI OSEKRE 11 years ago

AZONTO WAS ORIGINATED FROM GHAMA IN THE CITY CALL BUKOM NOT IN NIGERIA OK BEAR IN MIND MORE TO COME IN GHANA NOW THE LATEST DANCE ON TOWN IS AL-QAEDA AND IT IS MASSIVE ALSO MORE THEM THE AZONTO

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Who cares?

• SANI 11 years ago

and the winner is............. ???

• FUEL 11 years ago

who's chris brown? is it the name of a cat or a cassave eating retard. and why should I lose any sleep over what some useless,hemp smoking idiot thinks about who 'owns' azonto? utter crap!

• JAY TOOO 11 years ago

i am beginning to get pissed, since this guy came to Ghana his presence hs been a pain in my ass. i don't blame him, i blame that rlg mahamah stupidity

• GHANA BA 11 years ago

All Nigerians should know and know deep down their hearts that,we Ghanaians have always led and taught them in everything and can never ever take credit for our creation.There is only one thing they can take credit for as the ...

• pecos the crusader 11 years ago

Nobody should worry about whatever that devil worshipper chris brown says. he will support and give credit to fellow devil worshippers. look at how tonto also came out to support P square. it is because they all worship the d ...

• Debbie 11 years ago

A'rent there more important issues in Ghana to worry about?

• Melissa Antwi 11 years ago

U r making a big mistake Chris Brown, Wizkid, P-Square. YOU MAKE ME SICK! Ghana as a whole is a beautiful country and Nigerians are just posers!

• Victoria Asante 11 years ago

YOU NIGERIANS ARE BRATZ and Chris Brown you are so confused .Look Wizkid how dare you steal azonto why did you teach him that dat dance u r so sad! It is not up to u, it is not ur business and u r not from Ghana so butt out! ...

• kayci 11 years ago

why wont wizzy teach CB, do ghana have a world class artist like wizzy...pls u ppl should hide, NAIJA RULES

• ike pacesetter blazen 11 years ago

chris doesnt really know anything from africa...he didnt do his homework well..haha..u failed man

• sala 11 years ago

theives nigirians not get anything proper to steal than azonto hmmm

• ABU OKYEMAN .KYEBI 11 years ago

IT MAY BE TRUE BECAUSE ACCORDING TO GHANA HISTORY GAS ARE NIGERIANS OSU LABADI AND ALL .

• NANA OWUSU 11 years ago

IT IS ALL OVER THE INTERNET THAT AZONTO ORIGINATED FROM GHANA. ACCORDING TO WIKIPEDIA: "AZONTO IS A DANCE AND A MUSIC GENRE ORIGINATING FROM GHANA." ACCORDING TO THE BBC, AZONTO IS FROM GHANA:"COULD GHANA'S NEW AZONTO DANCE C ...

• NANAKIA 11 years ago

know your history whatever u call urself.U talking about acient alleins,imgration since the breakdown of the towa of bebel in the bible.Man b4 d white created boundaries. don't be cheap and swallow minded.

• NANAKIA 11 years ago

ABU OKYEMAN KYEBI. DONT BE CHEAP AND SWALLOW MINDED. KNOW YA HISTORY. THIS WAS B4 D WHITE MAN CREATED BOUNDARIES.FROM D TAWA OF BIBLE(GENSIS)

• Name 11 years ago

Look man, We are not going to let an American tear Africa apart. If azonto is Nigerian or Ghanaian dance, we will take it.

• kwabee 11 years ago

Every where in the diaspora nigerians succeed more than ghanaians. They seem to be more confident and their kids do well than ghanaians kids. Ghanaian are too tame and not business minded as nigerians. Fact and I am Ghanaian.

• Nana AMA 11 years ago

Are they serious??? I don't see why Nigerians claim Azonto to be theirs!!!! This ain't something to get mad to, but it's jist a pain in da ASS to heear that. And dat rat calles "Wiz Kid" didn't even tell him it's from Ghana s ...

• Kwesi DEE 11 years ago

It is about time that, "we" promote and infuse our culture(dance.etc) to improve our economical status. I don't know what Ghana Tourism Board or whatever Ghanaian agency is doing to promote this dance which has reach internat ...

• PATAPAA 11 years ago

CHRIS BROWN LOOKS LIKE CHIMP DANCING THE AZONTO!!!!!!!!!!!!

• kcdnaija 11 years ago

the truth is dat most of d ppl frm west and central Africa are often refered to as being a Nigerian, if azonto is popular d credits has Ghanaians who inveted it and Nigerians who promotes it.
    Ghanaians shld stop all these th ...

• Baffour Gyamfi, Ikeja, Lagos 11 years ago

As a Ghanaian living in Lagos , Nigerians do appreciate Ghanaians a lot . They never claim to invent or owns azonto, infact everyone always ask me to dance to azonto once they knows I'm a Ghanaian. Nowadays, you can hear a ...

• kayci 11 years ago

Pls tell them, Nigerians have never clame azonto....

• lanky 11 years ago

Fuck chris! the weed jonker. Nigerians themself knows the origin of Azonto as GH. Am a nigerian and will always speak the truth.

• mako bless.MA , USA 11 years ago

Chris B is the only stranger in jerusalem.he learnt it but forgot to find out the roots of the dance.anyway this shouldnt be a big deal .there are better issues to write on .articles like this only cause seperations and ill f ...

• sala 11 years ago

that is y we have google GOOGLE IT kwasiasem!!!

• Wanlov 11 years ago

he said, wizkid thought him the dance. stop trying to creat comfusion between ghanaians and nigerians. you guys are just idiots, you will say anything for attention. HE WAS CLEAR. after the way u guys treated him, u want him ...

• read y 2 dye 11 years ago

he aint shit himself. boycott vodafone; one!

• jagadu 11 years ago

This wee smoking guy has zero respect in America and he is becoming a household name in Ghana. This is a joke.

• he is an idiot 11 years ago

I don't even know why they brought this fool to perform in Ghana...
    So this wizkid trying to steal azonto from Ghanaians now?

• Andrew 11 years ago

Nigerians think that Ghanaian's are swag so they copied our moves. We can't blame them. Go and perform somewhere else FOOL!!!!

• NANAKIA 11 years ago

CHRIS BROWN just need attention form Ghana. Tryn to pay a pay back game. Who publish dis at all. lol

• Cruz Bright 11 years ago

this guy CB ,when will Ghanaian media grow? please think about something better and stop this hell talk

• Kwame 11 years ago

Point of correction, azonto is from gh. Wizkidd came to learn it from gh. Nigerian artiest like p square and wizkid can learn a lesson from Brown who was honest to admit he did not invent it.

• Amavie 11 years ago

WHY ARE GHANAIANS SO ENCHANTED ABOUT THIS 27 YEAR OLD SCHOOL DROP OUT? THERE IS NO BIG DEAL ABOUT BROWN. WHATEVER HE SAYS IS HERE SAY BECAUSE HE CAN'T READ!

• amponsah eric 11 years ago

Chris was under da influence of marijuana when in Ghana, so ignore his comment on Azonto.

• lydia usa 11 years ago

Azonto is originated from Ghana it is
    a kpanlogo dance from the gas.419 naija thieves jeolosy na kill you

• Mr Truth 11 years ago

Azonto dance is a copy of the exciting Kpanlogo dance of the Gas in Accra ,unfortunately our younger generation doesn't know anything about this sexy dance which tells your partner with every move of your hands and facial exp ...

• Kwadwo 11 years ago

We all learnt from school where the gas came from, so azonto might be nigerians

• ucccche 11 years ago

seriously, why is this even news, this fool clearly doesnt know shyt about ghanaian nor african music or dance!!! no be this same jimijimi go beat woman den come smoke weed for stage top in ghana??,, nkwasias3m akwaaaaka!!!! ...

• blackstar 11 years ago

Hes talking noise

• Pastor Osofu 11 years ago

For lack of knowledge, my peolple perish" so says the Bible.

It is clear Chris Brown is ignorant about the origin of Azonto dance that's why he is giving credit to people who copied it

He will be forgiven but as a seaso ...

• hello U S A 11 years ago

Azonto
    From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    Azonto is a dance and a music genre originating from Ghana.
    The dance involves a frenzied set of hand movements that either mimic everyday activities or are meant to signal an o ...

• KOFI FRIDAY 11 years ago

What does he know about Africa to tell us what originated from where?

• NPP IDIOTS 11 years ago

ALL THESE FOOLS CAN CONTINUE FIGHTING THE STUPID AZONTO WAR, WHO CARES?

• Nyame Ekuma 11 years ago

This Chris Brown is very stupid and arrogant. He's a damn m other fucker who will fade away very soon.

A rogue, truant and school drop out. Uncultured and indiciplined twerp, who behaves as if he had no mother.

Such a u ...

• PLANBCITY 11 years ago

ITS REALLY SAD THAT BREEZY COULD GET MORE ATTENTION THAN ALL GH N NAIJA ARTISTS COMBINE...ONCE AGAIN BLACK ON BLACK CRIME IS ON THE RISE...WE CAN COME TOGETHER AS ONE AND TAKE THIS DEMN AZONTO TO THE TOP.....KEEP THE FIRE BUR ...

• scarecrow 11 years ago

Listen to crocodile skin chris brown infact ghanaian authorities left this animal skinned off the hook after his indian hemp smoking saga in the country,very foolish indeed and he is an idiot.

• sir Cobbs......A dam 11 years ago

You dead right on spot.man..this fool was left off the hook just because they were scared of him being an American.We all knew what happened to Jimmy Cliff in Nigeria to warrant his (have you heard the news)music.Even Fela wa ...

• Kay 11 years ago

Chris Brown does not know what he is talking about

• leo 11 years ago

azonto is Ghanaian.

• Kwamina 11 years ago

This is just like someone saying "hiphop originated from brazil" Its only a dumb ass who will say this not just to himself but on tv. Infact am so shocked that chris brown of all people will make such an ignoramus comment. If ...

• Wizzy 11 years ago

My Dear, i am a Nigerians, i have been to Ghana 3times, the last time i visit there was last 2years, and am even planing to go soon, when i visit Nigeria, bcos my brother is working in an oil company in Ghana, as an engineeri ...

• MR TRUELY TRUELY 11 years ago

Ghanaian teachers educated Nigerians since when oil started to flow and was paid well. But Nigerians could not speak good grammatical expression and spoiled the queens English to date. Azonto is too popular internationally an ...

• Kwamina 11 years ago

Grateful my foot. For what? You see the kind of envyness and jealousy you people have against Ghanaians. Azonto is BIGGER than chris brown. Its like fetching water from the stream to drink. Whether chris brown dances azonto o ...

• kyaw 11 years ago

you are very stupid cant you see that pigeon there is difference nigerian pigeon is very raw and very bush ghanaian pigeon have some swag to it we make everything beautiful and beside pigeon is african thing

• samy 11 years ago

chris.hate ghana bcause of wee

• dic 11 years ago

i think chris brown should go back and listen to the lyrics of the wizkid Azonto track...his doubts will be answered..

• ofrikyi 11 years ago

I don't understand why good educated sikaman and goog educated Nigerpeople are fighting over comment made by uneducated women abuser Chris Brown. Go Africa

• Sammy 11 years ago

see dis foolish boi Chris..Just keep quite if u don't know where Azonto came from..Ghana forever

• tray 11 years ago

who is chris brown in the first place, just an indecent ass hole. he can go to hell and die. dirty wee smoker!

• lovely 11 years ago

i'm dissappointed dat chris brown thinks our own ghanaian dance azonto originated from nigeria