Rita Marley turns Ghanaian

Read Comments Comments (67)

• Hua 10 years ago

And so what? What is the benefit for Ghana? We want roads, water, sanitation, refund of Akomfem, Isofoton, Woyome, Tehoda, National Lotteries, Ghana water company, tree planting, Gyeeda, STX, Ghana Ports, TOR, stolen monies a ...

• King 10 years ago

Ayekoo

• Homesense 10 years ago

I address Hua and King and tell them that this news as important as any other news on Ghana.

First, a nations development is not measured in in terms of physicals only, but also by intangibles such as relationships (the e ...

• PK 10 years ago

Ignore Hua and King's ignorant comment. The ability to tap into Diaspora networks has been a major driver of economic development in East Asia, including in China. I think the NDC made a big mistake in abandoning the Joseph P ...

• Black American Male 10 years ago

I, whom have been to GH many times, with stays up to nearly a year, know how important this is. Places like the US keep Ghana-born and other Africa-born, now living outside of Africa distracted. Never able to hold still for a ...

• OBURUMANKUMA 10 years ago

I live in the US ...what exactly do you need from the govt? Foreigners in GH have all the freedom.. what do you need a citizenship for?

• Omanbapa Osei Oyeadieyie 10 years ago

With the kind of English (if I dare call it so) you have written here, what else can I say about you business idea: cocaine and hash, afterall did you say your site was again?

10g...@hash.com ????

• nii 10 years ago

do you know the charities this woman and the bob marley clan give to gh. think and research before you write your nonsense. what has corruption by so called gh leaders of the country got to do with this storey anyway?

• efo 10 years ago

so we cannot do anything apart from roads, sanitation etc etc.do u know how important it is to grant this woman a Ghanaian citizenship. fool next time shit from ur ass not ur mouth

• Jon 10 years ago

Welcome to the family. You've been amongst us for quite sometime and now you have become one of us indeed.

Ayekoo once again.

• GO WEY YOU 10 years ago

Congrats Rita, and may you and your family have a nice stay in Ghana, Cheeeeers !

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

PANAFEST is not known to many Ghanaians because the value of the event is not clear to the general public.Thank you.

• moyo 10 years ago

God bless you Mad\m Marley. Enjoy the continent of your's.

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

Congrats, Rita, and we love you.

Your wonderful music has made us serious impact in some of us, and we'll never forget...

• King 10 years ago

Congratulation Ma'am

• Royal Kwakye 10 years ago

Congratulations dear sister. May your stay in Ghana bring you peace and comfort. Put your experience to the service of Ghana.

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

Hua, I'm not surprised at all how you see no significance in this. It has all to do with the slave mentality most of our citizens have............

Let me enlighten you abit here and I'm sure you will get the picture one da ...

• KWAME OWUSU 10 years ago

this woman should have gotten this passport about ten years ago, she has several properties in GH. She is among the FIRST MOST 50 WOMEN ON THE PLANET. GH can benefit in millions with her presence if we know how to use her. af ...

• Kwame Nkrumah 10 years ago

I really am happy for you ma'am. You are back to where you belong and please feel at home. I know you've be residing in Ghana, the Black Stars of Africa, for a decade or so , living somewhere on the mountains at Akropong, and ...

• Homesense 10 years ago

Kwame, come home. Ghana still remains a peaceful and progressive country.

Look at the beauty of our politics, for example. Just last three days there were some NDC lawyers and Senior officials who were pleading for lenienc ...

• abena owusuaa, Namibia 10 years ago

Well said, could not have put it better.
    Congratulations to Ghana!

• sweet talks 10 years ago

Some of us have the dual citizenship in europe and France in particular,so whats the beef, if one of our own is given a passport?History tells us to remember our roots,so nothing wrong if they want to come back home.Akwaaba,m ...

• Mr Okuru Kumah. S Africa 10 years ago

Yes, this international icon deserves the offer

• ODINDUSPAPASNONSTOPINGWEEEBLOWING 10 years ago

SMOKE WEEEEE EVERY DAY

SHAME, YOU ENVIOUS NIGERIAN ... GOD GP PUNISH YOU ...

• sweet talks 10 years ago

I dont blame you homie,your naivity is quite clear to all.Weed,ganja or tempe are natural as compared to cocaine or crack and even alcohol.This weed was found growing on the site where the great King Solomon was buried.It has ...

• Nana josai 10 years ago

Wife of sensational Reggae "killer" Rita Marley has been granted a dual citizenship by government in connection with the Pan-African Festival (PANAFEST) Foundation......LIKE WTF...What kind of grammar is this??? GHANAWEB?...w ...

• Activist 10 years ago

Kindly do me a favour to forward your comment to the poster of this entertainment news item as stated above right on top: The Independent Gh (media house).
    On behalf of GhanaWeb, I think GhanaWeb is not responsible f ...

• pala 10 years ago

hope she won't regret it.

• Kofi of Africa 10 years ago

An excellent idea to grant Rita duel citizenship. It is consistent with Dr. Nkrumah's Pan-Africanist vision of all Africans together. Some Ghanaians played a negative role in encouraging the enslavement of our own people. It ...

• wise 10 years ago

has she married to ghanaian?or just waiting for bob marley tocome back again?

• James B. Otafregya 10 years ago

With her children fully grownup and she herself a grandmother why MUST she marry again?

If your "wisdom" is not aware, let me remind you that most women (especially in Africa) re-marry because they need a man to provide fi ...

• FAMA NYAME , GIVE IT TO GOD 10 years ago

WILL SEE YOU SOON IN GHANA

you can get them permanent residence , not citizenship....if you give every blackman in America , ghanaian citizenship, there will be no more ghana because those outside are more than the 30 M ghanaians inside ghana.....you n ...

• Easy P London 10 years ago

Thank You Jah for what you are doing.Mama Rita lives on. With your presence I know Jah will brighten our future as a nation. My dream is to witness another Marley Magic in Ghana.One Love!! HARAMBEEEEEEEEE!

• Activist 10 years ago

AKWAABA SISTER RITA!!

FULLY WELCOME BACK HOME WHERE YOU BELONG ORIGINALLY!!!

YOU DESERVE MORE THAN ONLY THIS!!!!

GHANA HAS FULLY WELCOMED YOU & YOUR FAMILY INCLUDING YOUR LATE & OUR BROTHER BOB BACK HO ...

• James B. Otafregya 10 years ago

Otafregya re ma wo asetena pa wor Oman Ghana !!

Otafregya wishes you nice stay in Ghana!!

• Addo Martin 10 years ago

King and Hua and the likes of you ignorant mutherfuckers... what have you done for Ghana lately ? Get down to researching about the Marley Clan in Ghana before you get behind a computer ever again. Better yet let me educate ...

DON'T MIND THESE PEOPLE. THEY ARE ILLEGAL ALIENS, WHO HAD WISHED TO BE IN THE SHOES OF RITA.

• Susubiribi 10 years ago

Addo Martin,

Your message would have been better heeded without the expletives.

• YAW- COLUMBUS OHIO USA 10 years ago

This is good move so now the government has to grant dual citizenship to all Ghanaian in the diaspora who apply for it.It,s very very important since is going to benefit the country in all aspects of our developmental process ...

• KoBO 10 years ago

The Government should grant dual citizenship to all Ghanaians abroad irrespective of when they acquired their citizenship in the countries they are residing. I heard the NDC gov't has put measures in place to only accept app ...

• Ern 10 years ago

You are welcome the the household sister. These are the people we need to be part of our country, not Nigerians who will commit fraud with Ghana passport!!

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Congrats girl hope you continue to enjoy Ghana. Jah Rast.

• Joelalas 10 years ago

U don't grant duel citizenship because u expect those people to crate more jobs to the country. I seriously believe that the constitution of Ghana doesn't reframe it that way.

• DIAMONDD 10 years ago

Akwaabba..well deserved

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

LIVING IN DIASPORA LAS VEGAS NEVADA.

IF YOU ARE A RESIDENT IN LAS VEGAS,YOU NEED A SHERIFF CARD TO WORK FROM THE POLICE,BUT ONE DAY THEY REFUSED TO GRANT ME A SHERIFF CARD BECAUSE WHEN I SHOT THE SHERIFF,I DID NOT SHOOT T ...

• Mr. Mensah 10 years ago

You can't be doing one thing the same way forever. The panafest needs to be evaluated for lessons learnt and for new way forward.

• observer. 10 years ago

of how famous one is or the wealth one has. Do it because is the right thing to do.Just saying.

• Black American Male 10 years ago

In the US, they recently created a law by which if a foreigner put $1,000,000 into a US bank and wants to move to and become a US citizen...no problem. I'm not sure that option is still on the table right now? Anyone know? Yo ...

• kofi 'ghanadofo' oti 10 years ago

WELCOME HOME, SISTER. HOPE GOD HELPS YOU TO RE-ESTABLISH AFTER THE FIRE.

• Whoares 10 years ago

Who in his/her right mind would want to be a Ghanaian?...FUCKED UP COUNTRY!

Rita,

Where can I get the video of the last concert you guys (BM&W) played at the Garden . I think it was in 1980. I have search everywhere but I only get the audio. Please let us know where to get the video...You guys wer ...

Rita...there are lot of Bob Marley fans in Ghana and people who are really interested in the Rastafarian movement....These are professionals who were reggae-heads in the 70's and 80's..

Please use your foundation to set-up ...

• Activist 10 years ago

Don't give up but Stir it Up!!

I searched the U tube only the audio version is there....

• Omanbapa Osei Oyeadieyie 10 years ago

I even recorded it using VLC.

• Kalira 10 years ago

Better ghana agenda

• Ama Baduah 10 years ago

Rita should have been given dual citizenship way back considering the contribution she has made to Ghana especially in the village where she lives. She has built a clinic, schools and a community center for the village. Cong ...

• Agonaba 10 years ago

As long as Jamaicans call kola nut-besse,owl-patu,bafan-disabled,you be the Judge.Jamicans have some Akan similarities,behavior,expressions and mostly proverbs and idiomatic expressions.Potopoto,kyakakyaka are a few just like ...

• sam(usa) 10 years ago

congrats to Rita.There's no reason for denying people citizenship if they contribute to your nation.many nations are implementing these dual citizenship/citizenship policy,why not Ghana?

• Nana Egyir Aggrey 10 years ago

If we get rid of the looters and unproductive parasites in politics, and invite our brothers and sister in diaspora to come back to their roots,Ghana will make a lot of progress in her development.Ghana needs people who are n ...

Rawlings has done more harm to Ghana than anyone that ever lived...He is the biggest crook and hypocrite...He set ghana back 40 years....

Politics is the fastest way to wealth in Ghana.. Just compare the ratio of salary of ...

• G.A 10 years ago

Yes we need people like you Rita jah bless

• Kof 10 years ago

Never though getting a dual citizenship was tough to acquire. Congratulations. Just happy that a legend's wife is part of us now.

Use your new citizenship to preach and spread the virtues and tenets of rastafarian religion in Ghana...It is not about smoking weed but preaches afro-centrism, self-determination, self-confidence and being your brother's ke ...

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com