“You sing nonsense”, Sonnie Badu tells gospel musicians

Read Comments Comments (77)

• SHEE 10 years ago

u r right sonnie. i luv ur songs

• Mama Amma 10 years ago

They have the right lyrics but when they sing they make it so woeful and
    mournful that it depresses the person listerning. I can vouch for this as I was actually listerning to some of these that it made me feel very low an ...

• OZA 10 years ago

This news has been published before. Why is it being repeated? Is this a sabotage against Sonny's upcoming show?

• Gatro 10 years ago

If Sonny Badu sings to praise God, why did he feature the Range Rover gay on his platform?

• Koli 10 years ago

Leave Funny Face alone, gay prostitution pays more than the traditional women prostitution. Just some few rounds, the guy got Range Rover from Adebayor.

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

KWASIA TALK LIKE DAT. WAT DO U MEAN? U DONT EVEN WRITE UR OWN SONGS, NIGGA BUT U HAVE THE NERVE TO SAY NEGATIVE THINGS AGAINST MUSICIANS WHO HAVE THE BALLS TO WRITE AND SING THEIR OWN SONGS? WAA LOOK.....THIS FOOL NEEDS TO BE ...

• WWW.NOLLYTUNED.COM 10 years ago

Watch GTV, TV3, Joy News, AdomTV Ghana Movies, NollyWood Movies
    and KumaWood Movies AT WWW.NOLLYTUNED.COM

• www.owafk-africa.com 10 years ago

14,000 FREE Scholarships for African.

www.owafk-africa.com

• maame serwaa 10 years ago

please stop using such words they are uncalled for.it does not fit u koraa

• hajia fatu 10 years ago

the Range Rover gay is Gods creation and who knows if he will repent there.We shd not avoid pple we biliv r sinners

• Bisty 10 years ago

u will find a musician with his relatives standing close to a flower in their house and singing some type of song that will make u go like aww whats wrong with these people....

Let us simple thank God in our songs, lets ho ...

• Kono 10 years ago

Fools always criticize everything. Go and sing

• Yaw Amofa 10 years ago

Apart from singing bullshit, most of the so-called gospel singers simply don't have any musical talent! They are simply being packaged, but they are low class goods. Calling God's name does make one a gospel artiste.

• bh 10 years ago

i dont know that thi guy also say stupid things like this
    by now he is part of the illuminate group
    looking his life style back stage -he is not a christian self
    just comfusing people
    bullshit

• moses kufong 10 years ago

pl's read the massage well, what sonnie said is nothing but the gospel truth. ur point of argument is from the language of the ghanaian media. sonnie printed a picture that is white but the media printed it black to your unde ...

• Nii Lartey Nartey. 10 years ago

Sonny Badu was not bragging or being proud but a real revolutionary gospel singer and a true worshiper who speaks of his mind.

We must all, carefully listen to some of the gospel music recorded these days and some of the f ...

• Nana 10 years ago

those funny gospel singing actors

• Osei, Kumasi 10 years ago

I do think the headline of the story match the content. Sonnie is 100% right.

• Joseph Kpakpo 10 years ago

Do we have to demonize everybody by secretly recording them?

I do not think this story is news worthy. Halifax, this is sub-standard.

• KING 10 years ago

THE TRUTH HURTS, BUT CURES. WELDONE SONNIE. GHANAWEB PLS LEARN HOW TO WRITE CONSTRUCTIVE AND IMPARTIAL HEADLINE

• KING 10 years ago

GHANAWEB, LEARN HOW TO WRITE CONSTRUCTIVE AND IMPARTIAL HEADLINES

• nelly d@ 10 years ago

They jx wannu get ur attention.

• Peace 10 years ago

Sonny has minced no words. Anytime I visit family members abroad and I take along Ghanaian gospel tapes, my nieces will ask why mum and dad play dirges in the car when I am around. That confirms the type of lyrics our folks ...

• DANIEL AFRIFA 10 years ago

SONNIE IS RIGHT 100%. IT IS TIME TO LEAVE THE GOSPLE TO THE TRUE BELIEVERS OF CHRIST. ITS TIME TO GO BACK TO BIBLE.TIME WILL NOT PERMIT US EVEN TO TALK ABOUT THEIR HYPPOCRATES LIFESTYLES.

• rasklat 10 years ago

SING ALL YOU CAN , WHO DETERMINES WHAT IS WORTHY OF PRAISE.GOD OR man?

• Maa 10 years ago

He is always singing pentecostal hymns, he's got the nerves to down size others. What a world.

• Koffi parker 10 years ago

anything pentecostal is perceived to be the right thing in the eyes of the christiandom,must we gain international recognition in gospel music?wow

• Yaw 10 years ago

You know there some Ghanaian songs that when they are singing it in a church I refuse to say some of the words in the songs because they are discouraging or given more power to the devil. This is a wise counsel lets those who ...

• Bediako NJ 10 years ago

I have been saying this for long long time.Our gospel musician always sings of yadee eye ya, owuo aye mi bi, mani dasoo asa,They are always using lyrics which you put you down emotionally and spiritually.I have saying they sh ...

BADU, HOW ARE YOU ANY DIFFERENT FROM THE PERSONS YOU HAVE DESCRIBED HERE? NIGGA, U DONT EVEN WRITE OWN OWN SONGS...., ABI?....THESE GH GOSPEL ARTISTS U HAVE CITED HAVENT COMPALINED, HAVE THEY? THE FANS IN GH ARE UR MAIN PATRO ...

• Yaw Boateng 10 years ago

nonsense paaa! I'm not sure Ghanaian gospel musicians have seen this... well, i think sonnie, should show them how to sing... and also be mindful and precise...

• Isaac 10 years ago

The guy Sonnie Badu is right. He's hit it right. If it hurts then it's the gospel truth. We hardly sing to exalt the Lord. And we are just copy cats.

• Moi 10 years ago

If you really mean what you are saying or talking about, then mention names to help them.

• Aden 10 years ago

How many times is this story going to be published hater? So what if he saiid that, yes worship is about glorying God, we should learn to gives thanks to God instead of asking all the time. Our praises should exceed our requ ...

• stephen 10 years ago

i agree with you sunny i had the same argument with a gospel musician about the same song you mentioned, they do not glorify God at all .they are playing reggae numbers with computers funny.if you listen to don moen he is alw ...

• joka 10 years ago

Listening and learning is wisdom,let take truth in this and be better people in life,thank you Sonnie

• tohugu 10 years ago

Sonny Badu, please don't forget that it takes the grace of God to write and sing. You sing not because you are any better than your fellow Gospel artist but rather because of God's Grace. Please be careful not to let your see ...

• biils 10 years ago

Another misguided comment from the Sonnie camp. I think Ghanaians will be inclined to listen if you indeed wrote the songs you sell.

• kpee 10 years ago

he talking rubbish!!!!! idiot!!!!

• UK Owula 10 years ago

I think the reason why most Ghanaian musicians sings depressing songs is that, Ghanaians love funerals or respect the dead. Hence gospel musicians target such market.

• Boss 10 years ago

I support you Sonny, you are damn right about this.
    Sometimes I tell people that same thing but they think I am just criticizing. You came to Norway recently and I did not come to your concern because it was at the wrong pla ...

• Andy 10 years ago

This issue is been bothering me for long time. I'M glad you brought it up bro. Our musicians have to stop singing about our problems and put God, first cause he knows our needs. God, bless you Sonny.

NIGGA, DO U EVEN WRITE UR OWN LYRICS? IF GH MUSICIANS WANT TO SING ABOUT SORPI, OR ABODAMFUO LIKE KWAME VI OF ACHIMOTA/ST JOHNS FORREST LEAVE THEM BI. THEY CAN SING ABOUT KENKEY N FISH OR JAMA SONGS. CONCENTRATE ON U N WRITE ...

• Isaac Aidoo 10 years ago

Sonnie, I strongly agree with you. Sometimes you don't even know if it's a dirge or a gospel song. It takes bold musicians like you to say the truth. God bless you

• For Christ 10 years ago

Sonnie Badu should not criticize gospel musicians just because of fame, and the fact he is not suffering does not mean others are not suffering.Job, Lazarus and all others in the bible suffered, even the son of god suffered.M ...

• bibi 10 years ago

ok so i thought i read something like this or probably the same story last year or so maybe early this year. so the repeaty again. Ghanaweb pls give us fresh news and stop the crap.

• Niibi 10 years ago

So it is all about the "market", the "sales", the "delivery" and of course the money under the pretence of "praising God". Remember, you will get what you use the "Bible and God" for but if the ULTIMATE MOTIVE is not for His ...

• Mint 10 years ago

is it all about delivering on international platforms?

• Enoch Bonney 10 years ago

I totally agree with him. Its time gospel musicians need to sit down and sing spiritual songs.....i see what they are doing as worldly. Thats the truth!

• TA USA 10 years ago

Sony Badu should shut up and stop judging other Gospel singers. If people are admiring the way you sing doesn't connote that you are doing what other Gospel singer cannot do. This Article has rather proved your short comprehe ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

yes,this very true some of de gospel musicians apearance are very bad.meaning in their dressing,so sony i second u because u are my mentor star...TELL THEM THE TRUTH SONY.

• Florence 10 years ago

You are right Sonny

• gas 10 years ago

YOU ARE EXTREMELY RIGHT.THERE IS PRACTICALLY NO EFFORT PUT INTO LYRICS ON THE LOCAL SCENE. WHAT A SHAME!THE GHANAIAN MUSIC SCENARIO IS PITIFUL AND PATHETIC TO SAY THE LEAST!

• Quaidoo 10 years ago

Sonnie, much as I agree with you, I think this is not the right platform to say this. I am sure there is Gospel group or something, it could be done through that channel instead of Gh-Web. We must be each others keeper, Remem ...

• broskotos 10 years ago

songs of David are not only praising God, some are requesting for deliverance in so many areas

• ROSSO 10 years ago

SONNIE WELL DONE AND GOD RICHLY BLESS YOU FOR SAYING THE TRUTH, NOTHING BUT THE TRUTH.

• Don Justy 10 years ago

Honest criticisms are hard to take.
    Many of the trash played on radio called gospel songs are nothing but a disgrace to God Almighty... Anadwo bogya kayere bombom, enyi me mma oo, yaree ye ya, me bre, kum m'atamfo ma me. cur ...

• Chester 10 years ago

Just praise God and the rest will follow.

• KOLOFIA 10 years ago

is Sonnie Gay, Hmm He looks it, and acts it too. Show us ur girl and stop criticizing others. Is it not the same Bible you read? Are we not supposed to Praise God for whatever he has done in your lives? Dude..... grow up.

• ayera 10 years ago

THE CARDINAL rule of the Lord is "Thou shalt not JUDGE" so who is Sonnie Badu to JUDGE and tell what good gospel music is and to say the least where does Sonnie Badu rank among the gospel GREATS. Please mr Badu take a chil pi ...

• Xavier 10 years ago

2 Corinthians 2:15....says he who is spritual judges, (i.e.discerns) all things. So please we are allowed to judge actions, deeds, words, of people, we are not allowed to judge their person, i.e. by condemning them. Just want ...

• PK 10 years ago

Why is Halifax coming up with this story. Do you listen to Gospel music or are u a fun of Gospel Music. Please go back and listen to some of the gospel music. whether sonnie said it or not the info is true. Halifax should com ...

• OPEN MINDED SAINT 10 years ago

Well said, Ghana people like death, pain etc from film to music, joker in Ghana

• nana 10 years ago

Some do sing nonses

• nana 10 years ago

The truth really hurts

• Concern Citizen 10 years ago

This is an old piece, so why bring this up now..... it surfaced some months back that Kwaku Gyasi even responded to......... Ghanaians as people should desist from the tendency of always tying to write bad stuffs about people ...

HW3, LEAVE GH GOSPEL ARTISTS, ACTORS ALONE. THIS IS OUR LAND AND IF WE WANT TO SING SONGS IN GARI N KPAKPO SHITO, WE WILL. IS EVERYTHING MUSIC IN NAIJA AN THESE STUPID PLACES U HAVE CITED PERFECT? NOTHING IS PERFECT. THIUS FO ...

• Bryt 10 years ago

GO SING FOR THE ANGELS . WE LIKE THE LOCAL ONES......JUDGE NOT AND U MAY BE JUDGE BY GOD

• ben 10 years ago

hmmmmm sonnie jus be careful this is how it all begins please next time watch your words. Ghanains are!!!!!!!!!!

• ELIKEM 10 years ago

ALL YOU SAID IS NOTHING BUT THE TRUTH.

• maame serwaa 10 years ago

is sonnie trying to say that we can't pray through songs to God? how could he site christie's yare ye ya song as an example. should in case he does not understand twi ,that song is a prayer to God for mercy and protection fro ...

• nana 10 years ago

Personally I have felt this way about some ghanian gospel. It can sound VERY depressing and not uplifting. i think Sonnie Badu is giving a constructive critism and i hopethe people of ghana wiill take it in good faith and im ...

• Kwaku Antwi 10 years ago

Sonnie is right. I love Ghanaian gospels. i listen to foreign gospels as well. Some of the foreign gospels don't make sense in terms of the lyrics also but the local gospel songs are full of complaints- poverty,visa issues, m ...

• awellinga awinbangya atibiswin jonath 10 years ago

that is really true ministring to God shud b sam tin praising Him. sam tyms i dont call them gospel musicians bcoz there is no gospel in their song.

• Stephen Spear Elisha Sozo 10 years ago

Sonnie Badu has hit the right nail on the head, Sonnie! You are always on my mind. Keep Luck. Bless you Badu....!

• Apostle joe 10 years ago

You are perfectly right God bless you. Keep on teaching them

• george nana kwabena yeboah 9 years ago

Exactly Mr. Worshiper,its as easy as that! God bless you.