British High Commissioner schools Nana Aba on grammar

Read Comments Comments (117)

• CHE 8 years ago

Languages do evolve and the English should not expect us not to speak our colloquial english the way the speaks hers. We are going to create a dictionary of adulterated queen's english to prove this point and include newly cr ...

• xox 8 years ago

Just a joke and don't blame the H.C. for enjoying the Ghanaian way of life, it's very catching you know. You cannot live in Ghana and get involved with our uniqueness of the society, regardless how straight or crooked we som ...

• Ghanaba 8 years ago

You are absolutely right the H.C is having some harmless fun but you will forgive people for being very suspicious of the British.They always seem to want to portray us in the negative light.You cannot say we enjoy from the B ...

• PIOTO 8 years ago

That's a banter between two opposing supporters. We will make him a Ghanaian. He has a Fanti sense of humour. I think he is A Kwesi.

• Solomon 8 years ago

Jon wey ibe syntax error, like e for be John

• Constructivist 8 years ago

Jon Benjamin, was ignorant and conservative. He demonstrated cross cultural incompetence. How many years has he spent here?

• Concerned Citizen 8 years ago

If you like her, tell her and stop these things.

• Saint Ghfuo: MEDIOCRITY STINKS! 8 years ago

ah, u want chop the chicka? nanaba b3di white meat

• ACID& Dagger Party 8 years ago

Are they the same ? Which is correct ?

• OSEI 8 years ago

THE GUY LIKES TO BE IN GHANA. HE IS JUST HAVING FUN. PEOPLE, LOOSEN UP HE DOESN'T MEAN ANY HARM. LET'S PUT DOWN THE RULES AND PROTOCOLS FOR A MINUTE AND HAVE FUN. WE'RE ONE PEOPLE UNDER GOD.

• may 8 years ago

Low self esteem fools. He'll fuck all the women in Ghana. Mmoa

• The Truth 8 years ago

Pulse or whatever you call your news outfit, note that she intentionally used the Pidgin English. I laugh at media outfits like Pulse. In the first and second paragraphs of this report I can point out grammatical errors. You ...

• TEACHER TAHIRU 8 years ago

The Truth, thanks for the observation. Anyway, the word in your write-up/correction is "match" but not "march" as you depicted or wrote. I suspect it's a syntax error because you're a very good English teacher. Let's take thi ...

• OSEI TUTU TAWIAH 8 years ago

Don't mind that fool who thinks Africans are obliged to be perfect in his fucking language. No one owes him any good English vocabulary. We didn't create that language so we can write and speak it anyhow we want.

• Goddey. 8 years ago

You can't write and speak it anyhow, if go to Rome,do what the Romans do, you can't do that in examinations, just accept mistakes and correct, it doesn't take away anything.

• Okay Bakazi 8 years ago

The British High commissioner isn't in England.He is in Ghana and in ghana ,we speak pidgin.

• Jah 8 years ago

Illiterates like you speak pidgin in Ghana. Does the government spend millions to educate you only to speak pidgin ? Go back to school and learn how to speak proper English, you twart !

• kwame 8 years ago

was she in da uk?didn't. he ntiase ne3 okaay3 mo ma yen dwene y3 ho on social media

• Lydia 8 years ago

Probably not just on this tweet, it's smthing he's observed over time that why he said ..... ' in some of your tweets!' Means it's bn going on.

Some comprehension schooing for you too my dear

• kofi 8 years ago

yeah she brags too much

• SCHEMER 8 years ago

How much Fante can the silly Jon Benjamin tweet? At least Nana Aba has been able to write in your language to warrant your response. She has an edge over you because at least, she has two languages to her credit, English and ...

• Loway 8 years ago

We know they're own , but they don't know ours

• JOHN MAHAMA 8 years ago

This man seem to be learning from the NDC foot soldiers, he behaves like koku Anyidoho and kofi Adams.

• Synthetic syntax 8 years ago

Aaah this man too dey worry. Na syntax and grammar we go chop? Nana Aba, oya free your mind. Come chop one kiss. ..muaaah. we dey love u

• RasRay 8 years ago

the British commission get no serious thing there. na jockers they go carry come put there make they chop cheep politics money. Ben, what be ur busines sef. get busy joor.

• loyal ghanian 8 years ago

Americans always use wrong words. He should talk about that and leave us alone.

• camcam 8 years ago

So this man is evrywhere criticising pple on grammar den things...he no get job?

• Maame 8 years ago

My thoughts exactly. I find him very unprofessional.

• Unkie 8 years ago

So why did "pulse.com" fail to post the "other" tweet by the Brit?

WHY post same Nana Aba's tweet 2CE??

• Sarah 8 years ago

He was just playing with her cos he understood what she said perfectly.

• Kwasi Michael 8 years ago

Just like his casual nature.

• Chris Austria 8 years ago

This is highly unprofessional,can Ghana high comm to Austria do this here?how can he interfere every issue in Gh?Is English our language?fuck u n ur murdafucker mom!!!!

• Cardinal 8 years ago

You guys need to get a life. If we have ten high Commissioners or Ambassadors like Jon Benjamin in Ghana, Ghana will be a nice place to live. This is just a nice banter two supporters are having. Nana Aba knew Jon is. West Ha ...

• Elizabeth 8 years ago

Yes, that is true. He wants to enjoy the Ghanaian hospitality

• Okay Bakazi 8 years ago

Inferior human being u are. Who is that ordinary citizen? Shut that hole of urs.It baffles me when I read comments from people like u Cardinal.… To say Nana Aba knew the high commissioner was a west ham fan,so what?It is h ...

• arz kyesuo 8 years ago

This is absolutely nonsense, if u don't hv anything to write stop dis nonsense.

• Biggy 8 years ago

Nana Aba, make you no dey wori. Ambassador im sef use pidgin for im name. Queen English spell JOHN. The pidgin is JON. He, he go take the pidgin one. If he want leave ambassador work and go teach English make he come to Sunko ...

• Realist 8 years ago

This the only high commissioner or foreign diplomat who blends and act like a citizen. I like him. He criticizes corrupt govts and devilish religious crooks. he's good

• Asabere 8 years ago

Kick this scoundrel out of Ghana

• Senior Fire 8 years ago

It's allowed in Ghana.you are not a Ghanaian so you won't understand.british embassy has to be closed down because it has no use to Ghana now. She doesn't even mean you are worried. She meant you can disturb.

• Czla 8 years ago

He for commot for there. If he want learn pidgin make he talk den we skuul am

• livian 8 years ago

Cardinal can't agree with u more.Ghanians we take things way too serious.

• sam 8 years ago

when dis so called commissioner was rubbishing obinim, I wrote here on ghanaweb DAT we should not celebrate him, if not the next time is going to be an important person in soceity that we Revere as Ghanaians. I guess dis a s ...

• Nana Kyei 8 years ago

N Benjamin or what he calls himself shd focus on proper matters and not this because Anamoah was just making fun dats all.There are better things he can talk about it so he shd check for dat.

• Salim asumadu 8 years ago

Well that was childish from the Brit....the tweet was not directed to him totally I suppose

• Sis Helen 8 years ago

people, the man is very free and a good. This is how we should live .

Blame the "Fish No Head" anago referee for ruining a good game.
    He must be one of T.B. Joshua's apostles. LOL

• Yaw Mensah 8 years ago

How could this be news? This is some usual back and forth that happes all the time on twitter. It was his little way to get ack at nana aba given that the British High Commissioner is a west ham fan. A classical good case of ...

• Konfo 8 years ago

I can't really tell what type of diplomate this useless guy is. Can he tweet in Twi,Ga,Ewe or any ghanaian language? Praise Nana Aba for trying to use your dirty language.

• Yaw 8 years ago

Jon Benjamin should also check his grammar with respect to the use of number and concord. When the word "only" is used, we expect one to use only one item which should also be in singular. However, Jon Benjamin goes on to lis ...

• steve, Kasoa 8 years ago

It seems Jon Benjamin is falling in 'LOVE' for Nana Aba.

• Ewugyadze desperate John Mahama 8 years ago

This stupid Jon Benjamin is so unprofessional and junk to poke his nose into everything that goes on in Ghana.l wouldn't be surprised he sleeps with some of the women in Ghana. What fucking idot is this?????#SMFH

• Abeiku SW2 London 8 years ago

Nana Aba West Ham dey worry for Real ...

• SIMPLY GEORGE. 8 years ago

Jon Benjamin ancestors as we all know in history were slave traders who bought millions of Africans to the then unknown world. These black people were subjected to inhuman treatment in the forms of torturing, rape, killings a ...

• Elv- UK 8 years ago

very childish.

• Bongo 8 years ago

It's obvious, the ambassador has a serious CRUSH on the young chic. Ambassador if it is the woman u want saaaaaaayyyyy!!! it, and stop beating around the West Ham bush.

• Solo 8 years ago

Looks like he has nothing serious doing . The British govt. has to call him back. Anything small then he comes in to say something. A Diplomat?

• Fuzzy 8 years ago

Hi Benjamin,wey things be your worry. We dry understand the lady well well well.
    If you can't catch up with dis language better start learn am.
    This na the best sweet language.
    Nana Aba we they love you, more of the pigin. ...

• adongo the villager 8 years ago

Jon should rather help us fix our economic issues than some of these things ....this is pidgin for U

• samuel azumah 8 years ago

i like the social behaviour of the British high commissioner to Ghana.in london i met people like that.the man is an african by his mind

• Abena 8 years ago

Oooh... that is hush and not pleasant. Nana feel free after all English is not our native language. Some of your English coaches can not even speak English. How worried are you about that?

• NOBODY 8 years ago

To hell with the British Low Commissioner. Benjamin should go to New York and hold hands with the demented "Englishman" Okoampa_Ahoofe and leave this lady alone. Nothing wrong with using pidgeon English in an informal communi ...

• URBAN CONCEPT 8 years ago

Follow URBAN CONCEPTZ on twitter and instagram

@urbanconceptgh

• Kojo 8 years ago

This UK high commissioner has so belittled that high office he occupies. What an airbag!

• Bright 8 years ago

Jon must know this is Ghana and we have our own way of speaking and understanding the English Language. this is not Uk

• Kyekyeku 8 years ago

woman please be very careful and keep it to yourself if you support any foreign team. teams are modern churches to british people. majority of british people worship their teams rather God Almighty. our rev. father couldn't d ...

• Goddey. 8 years ago

You can't write and speak the English language anyhow, we must learn to accept correction, if you go to Rome,do what the Romans do.

• kofi 8 years ago

Nana Aba brags too much.

• nn 8 years ago

mm

• Steve 8 years ago

Mr commissioner, to the best of my knowledge,communication has taken place. You British are part of our problems here in Ghana.All that you know is grammar. With your attitude, most countries you colonized in Africa are still ...

• Kwame Addo 8 years ago

Hey Benji, it's ok to say West Ham dey worry, irregardless of grammar & syntax, but make you comment on dodgy Dave, my British brother Benji.

• THE CRUSADER 8 years ago

This pd should shut up is she a brit?

• Nana 8 years ago

If u dnt understand Pidgin language,let Nana Aba school u.there's nothing wrong with what she said as far as Pidgin is concern.since u Wanna b grammar teacher,there's a school in my village that needs one @ Jon

• ONYAME NIPA(Man Of God)USA 8 years ago

Better take grammer courses

Jon is a variation of John or Jonathan commonly used in Britain. Get used to it!

• Kwame Joe 8 years ago

Talking about variation, isn't pidgin English a variation of common English?

• ONYAME NIPA(Man Of God)USA 8 years ago

Period

• ScHoly 8 years ago

I just love this man. He speaks his mind on just anything, and in any manner, not minding the consequences. Hahaha I guess he will relocate to Ghana after his term.

• WOJAFFO 8 years ago

Typical Englishman. Always finicky about grammar and vocabulary.Her tweet was in pidgin which you have no idea of.Abba's grammar is impeccable but can the lady have a little fun with the locals?
    Benjamin, take a chill pill ...

• AKYEM SASABRONSAM 8 years ago

The British High Commissioner has nothing better to do with his time than read tweets about soccer matches and criticize "Pidgin English"? Wow, losing the Empire has finally taken its toll on these idiotic Brits!! It's left ...

• DUMSOR KWABENA BAAH 8 years ago

I know so many whites who cannot spell so many words so this is not a big deal.Nana wrote "dey' intentionally.

• Abu 8 years ago

Then our respected commissioner has a a lot to worry about if he travels to Nigeria Jamaica

• blu karent 8 years ago

is this also news .ah Ghanaweb paaaa .

• libarskey 8 years ago

Why do u want some 1 to write in a language dat u understand

• Abrantie 8 years ago

The honesty of H.E is unparalleled, watching him afar. Ghana is proud to have him.

• Asem beba dabi 8 years ago

I feel the pain of the guys smarting from the HC's jest. You guys got 'bounced' at the BHC.

• Amidini 8 years ago

Needless and senseless. Let us talk on better issue than this

• Yaw Adu-Asare 8 years ago

The ambassador must be having a ball in Ghana.

• John. SAIBU 8 years ago

It is proper to say that John BENJAMIN The BRITISH HIGH COMMISSIONER have a big problem.
    His perilmistics has depicted the nueroceptive compoundment of his brain. (in short,he is an IDIOT.)
    As Africans we can pigginize the ...

• Nana Obiri Agyei 8 years ago

This man is a bigot!

• kplukutsu 8 years ago

We Ghanaians understand her bl)fo. Bl)fo wiem) jee by force.
    west ham dey worry.
    Ask Jon if he can speak any Ghanaian language as Nana can speak his. Jeew) n) ni m) nu ni k3 obl)fo l3 f33.

• SPAR. 8 years ago

THIS HC IS SICK.GHANA NO BI LONDON.

• Guinea boy 8 years ago

Jon or who ever you are, just respect nana aba, nana means everything to me..

• maame 8 years ago

Love this guy. A very simple and happy soul.

• C/C 8 years ago

thats what youget--mediocrity

• TRUTH 8 years ago

This High Commissioer is Mugu 1 Mumu 2' What does he mean? Is he an authoriry on.pidgin english? He should gerrrooout!!!

• Muslim Daneil Angsomwine Nubalanaa 8 years ago

so what ? pls let us think the H C should rather correct Nana Aba's Twi

• Kwesi 8 years ago

I think the British High Commissioner has not forgotten that there are varieties of English and the Pidgin English used by Nana Aba is one them. The English or the Brits are not wont to correcting or raising concerns over in ...

• Dayaki 8 years ago

this Jon Benjamin guy is unbecoming of a diplomat.

• Abena Ofosuwaa 8 years ago

Perhaps the British High Commissioner is kidding. If he ain't kidding, then he has a big issue. I don't speak pidgin but love every bit of it when others speak it. Pidgin rocks!!!

• winperfet 8 years ago

i like this guy's sense of humour. hahahaha. he is enjoying his life in ghana

• kmpkh 8 years ago

He's one of the idle commissioner in the history of Ghana. Foolish man is that how to express your frustration.

• Wumbei 8 years ago

Ds soo called commissioner is stupid to say so. Can he spk nd write any Ghanaian language like Nanaba is doing to english.

• Nanaba 8 years ago

even an English profession will need passport before going to UK Commissioner John is not serious

• OPANINPA 8 years ago

WHAT BRITISH ARROGANCE, WE DEY TALK ANYWAY WE LIKE. WE NO BE INGLISH. YOU DEY SPEAK TWI?

• Akoloogo fra fra 8 years ago

High commissioner well done. Low standards in Ghana is too much

• Odikro 8 years ago

I wonder why the lady did not hit back; Pidgin English is not British English. Pidgin English is a result of the colonization and slavery that Mr. Benjamin's grandfathers inflicted on Africa. Next time, this lady should conta ...

• George 8 years ago

Touch not mi Nana Aba.....who do u tnk u are Benjamin

• Yawa Andani 8 years ago

Does this girl give bribe to employers before she is employed or what because I will not employ this girl as a TV announcer. Her English, and behavior does not make her fit for that job

• NDC DESTROYERS PARTY 8 years ago

OFUI BA LEAVE THAT LADY ALONE WE ARE NOT IN BRITAIN THAT STUPID GUY SHOULD KNOW KNOW THE IMPLICATION OF COLONIALISM .

• Gambo 8 years ago

Ghanaians should learn how to take a joke.Wow. The H.C. is just making fun of Nana. Who does not know that Nana can write better English. Cardinal said it all. The H.C. wants to enjoy our culture. I blame the media for unnece ...

• Human 8 years ago

Foolish man n so what?. Idiot

• Igp 8 years ago

Jon Benjamin you are becoming a nuisance on the Ghanaian local scene. For your info. Kwame Nkrumah's Ghana is a sovereign Republic and like the US and India not a British colony. Respect your diplomatic boundaries. Ghana does ...

• Daniel Kofi Sefah Legacy 8 years ago

Hmm...make I comment some; I think this whole thing can just be ignored. Nana Aba is, and shall always be great! Love you, Nana!

• NOBODY 8 years ago

Nana Aba went to the British High Commission yesterday to obtain a visa to travel to the UK. She was in the company of Wanlove. On the application form, Nana Aba wrote, "I dey want go for UK. Make you for give me visa". When ...

• kwame 8 years ago

nana aba wokaa wa ka can de HC speak proper twi? i dare him.

• Priscilla Williams 8 years ago

Let Her Be and chop ur matter.can't she feel free to do what she likes to do?being a Tv presenter doesn't mean u must always be what u want her to be,she has her own preference.We talk too much