Ghana underdeveloped because of English language – Kwaku Manu

Read Comments Comments (115)

• Deep Thought 7 years ago

All the so call professors, Doctors, Parliamentarians, Bishops, Lawyers, Magistrates, Engineers etc since independent wasn't able to realise this reasonable idea by Kwaku Manu making it simply clear that our so called educati ...

• Akans Prophecies 7 years ago

So will you leave ghana out of a world of globalisation of which most are done in the dominating languages, l might agree with the Akan language and the English as a second language. Afterall countries like Finland ,Sweden ...

• the truth 7 years ago

Hold your fire......

In Norway, they speak Norige, but they also use the English language for international commercial purposes.

Kwaku Manu is onto something....but he will be vilified and called names, afterall, we are ...

• ok 7 years ago

anyway, one thing is certain if ghanaians or africans continue like the way our leaders are behaving now the whites from europe or america or china etc may come back to rule us. and they will be there with their language and ...

• VICTOR CARRILLACE OFINAM-ANTWI 7 years ago

I AM ALWAYS AMUSED COMING ACROSS CLAIMS CONNECTING GHANA'S UNDERDEVELOPMENT TO OUR INATTENTION TO LOCAL LANGUAGES. SOMEBODY TELL ME HOW THE MANY INTERNATIONALLY-ACCLAIMED PROFESSIONALS WE HAVE HAD IN THIS COUNTRY - LEGAL LUMI ...

• Sankofa 7 years ago

How do you communicate well in English when you do not speak the language properly?

If we spoke our local languages, we would communicate better and this would facilitate trade and economic activity.

• Akans Prophecies 7 years ago

It is not important to express oneself in English .Every ghanaian can use the English as his commercial language. Simple those who cannot speak must employ secretaries to do their work in the english language. It is already h ...

• Osei Boakye 7 years ago

Minuah Kwaku Manu ur assertion is a mere hypothesis that requires testing to become a theory, right now your conjecture ' Ghana is underdeveloped because of English language' sounds interesting, but has not gone through the ...

• niger man 7 years ago

if you visit UK or USA they speak their native language, do you think oyeebooh go speak your language because you are part of the gathering.my thought

• ROOTS 21st Century 7 years ago

Black American here, since 1975, I Kwaku have known that my paternal people are the from the Bretuo Clan within the Akans and my family last name is Manu, out of Kumasi.
    My maternal-side is from the Anlos and the Bate' Clan. ...

• Kwesi 7 years ago

You can always trust an African American to come out with a load of cultural marxist nonesense. The only thing i agree with him is to do with the imported religions.

• NorbertAsante 7 years ago

Twi, which is the most spoken Akan language in Ghana, doesn't have the depth, scope and range needed to be a national language. Even languages like Hindi, which have a rich literature and well refined grammar, do struggle to ...

• Talk 7 years ago

Ignorance is bliss.

And moronism is a disease

And who is talking about grammar my friend?

• Frantic 7 years ago

My friend do not worry. Everything can be created if you so desires. Particle physics can be given a name if we decide to use our mother tongue. The English language has borrowed from all sources to make it rich as find it no ...

• Talk 7 years ago

Kwaku you've said it all. People speak English when they don't want others to challenge them. They know most Ghanaians cannot call others to order when English is the medium of communication.

• the devils advocate 7 years ago

If Akans don't want to learn English,that is their problem.A local language totally devoid of technical terminology spoken in an area of less than four hundred square miles being compared to a global language.INANE ,INSANE A ...

• Askantwi 7 years ago

You are an ignorant idiot. Twi is even studied at Fordham University and many others in the USA. It is a language spread out all over the world. It is the most popular language spoken in west Africa. No wonder you language i ...

• Loway 7 years ago

Which Language you want to speak in Ghana

• Vicky 7 years ago

Everyone is an actor in Ghana even fools like him. What has Greed got to do with language?

• Adwoa 7 years ago

listen to yourself, you could not even write the English well, and you are challenging someone, what he said made a lot of sense

• Loway 7 years ago

Backward

• Shadie 7 years ago

Adwoa you too can't write the English language well. Is kwaku Manu make sense not made sense. GOTCHA. Hahaha!!!

• Paa 7 years ago

"Is kwaku Manu make sense not made sense. GOTCHA. Hahaha!!!"

• pat 7 years ago

Twi

• Marfo 7 years ago

A fool is you who love to speak english.

• Loway 7 years ago

Forward never , a la local

• Kofi Osei-wusu 7 years ago

Masa, this is exactly what Kwaku Manu is lamenting about. You are part of a group of people who somehow believe that, even the whiteman's shit is better than that of blackman yet, you write horrible English. Just read what yo ...

• Watchman 7 years ago

Kwaku Manu is too simplistic in his approach to solving Ghana's underdevelopment. English language cannot be blamed for Ghana's lack of development. Poor education is the the cause of all underdevelopment in every country. We ...

• bobostone 7 years ago

Watchman, what Kwaku is saying is simple. One national language is good for Ghana. All great nations the world over, have one national language even though there may be other shades of language in existence. Great nations, as ...

'Masser', it will never work without breaking up the country as we know it.

• LA-STAR 7 years ago

Yes, I am so tired of people always trying to shove the TWI, language down my throat, if I don't speak Twi, I don't speak Twi, what's the big deal, that isn't my language. English is the national language whether you like it ...

• Kasanova 7 years ago

Kweku you are right.How many times have you seen Kennedy Agyapong speak on the floor of parliament.This and many other factors.

• bentoa 7 years ago

Haaahaaahas

• Kopy 7 years ago

Yep! Clear and vivid understanding goes in hand with application. Absolutely! Many doubted our local media couldn't compete with the English. Walaaa.... Kwame Despite proved us wrong. In fact that's all the big cooperations ( ...

• Junior ackah 7 years ago

@ Loway or whatever your name is which part of what Kwaku said merit those unguided response? Those of you who thinks you are educated sometimes seem to amaze me and this portrays who you really are

• JD Mahama 7 years ago

Those are the JACKASSES Ewes and the northerners who have mess up the country GHANA.

• psabsco 7 years ago

please don't be a bigot, it's cos of such tribal sentiments that make it difficult to nationalize a local language in GH. seek to unite in your next commentary.

• Nima king Kong 7 years ago

Twi or Akan is the outstanding language in Ghana. Stop the hatred since you speak it every day in your interaction with people. Akan should be use for all if the need be!

• Proud Ghanaian 7 years ago

Dont force your primitive Akan language on Ghananians. Another idiot. this stupid pride is what disturbs you Akans. If this idiot could express himself in English he will never say this. Show us your development.

• ........... 7 years ago

Accept the fact and stop being so myopic! Akans dominate in everything! Would you rather we speak ewe? Apuuuutoooor

• jeee 7 years ago

just sorry for yu, never moved

If Akan why not Ewe? If Akan, which version of Akan? Keep dreaming and spewing nonsense.

• tweaaa 7 years ago

go abroad and go and speak your twi there. what u should be thinking of now is hammering on education not this rubbish. no wonder lot of Akans didnt go to school. gyimi

• Tumkumsa 7 years ago

And what has those of you who managed to go to school done for the country.The so called educated ones only use their educational monds to steal from the nation.Shame on you all.Japan,China and Russia and Germany use their ow ...

• Alberto 7 years ago

Is he talking about development in Ghana or abroad? Most Mexicans can't speak English yet they are working here.

• the truth 7 years ago

Hammering on education...............what kind of education?

• Kwasia banku 7 years ago

If you speak English doesn't means that you are educated .kwasia Baku. The guy is talking real fact and you here insulting him. Travel outside ghana and see. Every country respect their native language first. Even in America ...

• Nii Osabu Anokwafo 7 years ago

You are just a stupid.If you don't like to learn to speak English, stop making foolish and lazy suggestions.KWASIAA

• KWASI APONKYE 7 years ago

THE WORSE PART IS GHANAINS CHILDREN BORN AND RAUSED IN GHANA BUT CANNOT SPEAK THE LOCAL LANGUAGES..THEY USUALLY LOOK AND SOUND LIKE IDIOTS..WITH VERY FUNNY ACCENTS.
    GHANIAND CHILDREN RAISED IN THE WEST THAT CANNOT SPEAK THEI ...

• Akua Amoah 7 years ago

You are 100% right

• Tj 7 years ago

Kwaku you are right. People should start thinking about that.

• nii mantse 7 years ago

Kwaku, this is entirely your opinion and thus, i don't begrudge you. My only problem was your over-simplicity of the issue. You are advocating that we should all adopt Akan as our 'national' language but you were quick to for ...

• LA-STAR 7 years ago

Yes, NII MANTSE, my sentiments exactly. They are too lazy to learn any other languages, but they want us to speak their language. TWI is a foreign language to me. I was born in Ghana, and so was my mother, and we don't spe ...

• Mother Tongue Activist 7 years ago

Every child is supposed to start school @ 4, and our various local languages are to be used @ the primary level, according to GES. But what do we see? Emulative parents, nowadays, want their children to speak somebody's - Eng ...

• Justice 7 years ago

Speaking your native language won't put food on the table . You are the bigger fool. How many illiterates are rich. Kwaku Manu was on to something but then when you generalize it, it's a stupid idea. Speak only twi in your li ...

• jeee 7 years ago

that kwaku, how many languages does he speack and thinks peoples become everything becos they are politicians,? devolelopement has nothing todo with languages,?

• Ken Ntiamoa 7 years ago

I am sorry, but, Language has everything to do with development.

A group of people without a means of communication, normally called language, is NOT going anywhere.

It is much easier to communicate in a language you i ...

• Jeff 7 years ago

You sound sincere, but I'm sorry, you also sound very narrow!! Ghana adopting English is because of the relevance of it INTERNATIONALLY! If Ghana were the only country on Earth, or does not do business with the rest of the wo ...

• jeee 7 years ago

somebody sit somewhere out of his frustration ,he experiance somewhere, saying things he does not even know. white people comez here ,and makes it big, what language?

If Akan is made the national language, don't you think those non-Akans will still be affected just like you think English is adversely affecting you?

Twi, which is the most spoken Akan language in Ghana, doesn't have the depth, scope and range needed to be a national language. Even languages like Hindi, which have a rich literature and well refined grammar, do struggle to ...

• jcamcam 7 years ago

perfect

• Adjei Danso 7 years ago

Akan as national language? Politically it will backfire bcos politicians will play politics with it. Economically, the cost is high: We will have to all English material eg books, billboards to Akan nationwide. Culturally, ot ...

• Isaac 7 years ago

Kwaku Manu. U r very intelligent. I wish all Ghanaians can see clearly as u do. Ghana shd be a federation with the ethnic groups being federal states. That is the only way we can develop with our own language. No nation has d ...

• Mebro 7 years ago

I deeply disagree with you.What does development got to do with speaking the Queens language,think of something else.

• Obibini Kofi Tetteh 1 7 years ago

Badwenba nie!!

• NPP = NANA PROMISES PARTY 7 years ago

English language is not the problem. The problem is the volume of stupidity that runs through the system. We have too many stupid fools.

• mensah 7 years ago

this kwaku guy fool paa o,did he think akans are superior to any other tribe in Ghana?some fullist person should try making his or her fullist akan language official language and see the start of civil war in the country.we e ...

• Kwesi 7 years ago

The remedy for your lack of proficiency in English is to study the language and make an effort to speak it. Just because you're too damn lazy to learn English does not mean non-Akan speakers must be forced to learn Akan just ...

• Jeff 7 years ago

I salute you, Kwesi!!! But unfortunately, as you can read from the comments here, those who expect a dumbing down to their level are so many!

• Fear God 7 years ago

This dimwit is only trying to justify his lack of knowledge of the English language. It is our attitude to work and laziness which is our problem. When Ghanaians go abroad they develop a different attitude to work. Let's repl ...

• Biko 7 years ago

Where has the big big English taken us to? Our accent in Ghana is so heavy, and when we travel outside Europeans and Americans can not even understand what we are saying. It takes some time for you to adjust and speak for pe ...

• obi 7 years ago

i salute this guy

• JAY 7 years ago

Listen to this Stupid and foolish man,Ghana is not an Akan State or Nation.

• Zig 7 years ago

Ur inability to speak english doesnt mean u have to force one language on a nation of over 46 languages..it jus will bring confusion...plus english is international...even the chinese use english often in their country nw

• Baba 7 years ago

Language got nothing to do with development

• Ojuku 7 years ago

African countries have a peculiarly complex situation concerning the use of local languages for official business because they are too many. In Ghana alone, we have about 40 indigenous languages; Nigeria has over 240.
    It is ...

• kanta 7 years ago

its unfortunate. the twi language is not much develop. basic English words are describe by sentences. how can we study science with twi language. chemistry, ophthalmology ,urology. etc. what is the twi correspondence. and ho ...

• Osagyefou 7 years ago

There is home sense education and white colour education, Mr.kwaku manu you have nailed it all.

• John Nartey Adaminor 7 years ago

I salute you Kweku Manu , a good one there! you have said all. majority of intelligent Ghanaians are not contributing to nation building just because of the English language, even when you tried to contribute with the little ...

• unclefi 7 years ago

My heart bleeds for Ghana.Instead of hurrying up to catch-up with rest of the world we rather would stay in our comfort zone because some lay back who did not go school and therefore can not speak english wants everyone else ...

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 7 years ago

Unclefi, you better retract your statement because going to school do not necessary means you are to learn English language.

Foreign born kids who are not in English speaking countries do study in the languages of the coun ...

• MALAM CD 7 years ago

this is a viable argument that you're making Kwaku.Its about time this issue is addressed. In the 80's Ama Atta-Aidoo spoke about this issue,to permit high school stdents to speak pidgin freely and it was mt with stern resis ...

• no nonsense 7 years ago

You are 100% right Kwaku. Africa's underdevelopment is due to adoption of foreign languages as national language. When we speak in America, they laugh at us cos of poor accent and bad sentences too. The Koreans, Japanese and ...

• Sankofa 7 years ago

Spot on, Kwaku Manu!

English has been the bane of our development.

We should adopt Twi as our national language, and ensure everyone learns to be literate in their mother tongue. We can learn English as a foreign langua ...

• king 7 years ago

is not not fault you get akans the fool them if not ghana a illitrate like kweku menu too get chance to bringe idea ,,,,kwasiaaaaaaaa kweku menu or what ever

• king 7 years ago

alot of ashanti region guys can not speak english

• Desmond 7 years ago

Ashanti guys are supporting this foolish idea just because most of them are cocoa farmers who don't wanna go to school... foolish illiterates

• ferguson 7 years ago

you are fucking idiot does it mean that when u a not ever being in school than u a not a human being

• ScHoly 7 years ago

The first thing I will do when I become president. Changing our official language to a widely spoken local language like Twi or Hausa

• Concern citizen 7 years ago

Why?Does it mean the man don't understand English language or what.
    Then he should go back to school to learn the language. After all it's the lingua franca of the country.so he should forget about what he's saying there.Und ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 7 years ago

The word is "Concerned Citizen" NOT
    "Concern Citizen"

You should rather go back to school

Ken

• Jeff 7 years ago

I can call myself anything I like, it doesn't have to make sense to you. What matters is your ability to understand my interaction with you!

• Toto Fitter 7 years ago

Switzerland has over 4 major languages but it is developed. Lazy fools like K. Manu come with this nonsense because they are illiterates. I blame those fools who speak the Akan language. That is the only reason they refuse to ...

• OKOROMANSA 7 years ago

KWAKU MANU IS RIGHT, COUNTRIES LIKE KOREA, SWEDEN, NORWAY, DENMARK, GERMANY AND OTHERS DID NOT DEPEND ON THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE TO DEVELOP. TRUE, TODAY AKAN IS SPOKEN ALMOST EVERYWHERE IN GHANA. ALMOST ALL THE MINISTERS INCLUDI ...

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

Kwaku you are 2000 0/0 right BRAVO for your good food for thought.can we sit proper and think outside the box?Ghana?

• Marfo 7 years ago

If you can't understand kwaku Manu then look to the East n West countries.

• 3fo the carpenter 7 years ago

Nkwasias3m nkoaaa wo gh

• Jeff 7 years ago

Every sensible person in the world knows the importance of English; it is an international language. Ghana cannot do without it. If Kwaku Manu is too lazy to learn to speak and write good English, someone tell him I'm also to ...

• LA-STAR 7 years ago

I AGREE 100% JEFF

• Boat 7 years ago

Fuck English as English fuck EU

• Marcus Chris Lawson 7 years ago

Whatever you call yourself ,dropping out of school does not offer you the audacityto advocate for the language domination of other ethnic groupings in our country
    Why is it that some others can learn the language you are adv ...

• Niim3Niim3 7 years ago

This Akan thing is good but quickly gets into heads smoothly. How would we even communicate with even members of ECOWAS States not to talk about the larger picture of the international community? What real benefits can be der ...

• Benjamin Asare 7 years ago

My brother I couldn't agree with you more! For Ghana to transform its current status they should do away with the English and go by a common local language which at least 90 percent is spoken by the people . Just look at Chin ...

• Jumapo. 7 years ago

This is one of the reasons why Nana Akuffo Addo lost two time in a row.

• David 7 years ago

WHAT AN INSULT TO GHANAIANS
    SO THIS MAN IS SAYING THAT THEY SHD MAKE TWI A NATIONAL LANGUAGE? THAT WILL WAKE TRIBAL CONFLICT IN GHANA. WHY DIDN'T U MENTION DAGBON, KUSAAL EWE GA OR MAMPRULI? U think there are only akans in ...

• NDC DESTROYERS PARTY 7 years ago

YOU CAN SPEAK ENGLISH LANGUAGE TO YOUR GRAND FATHER AND SEE WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO YOU .FOOLISH MAN RETROGRESSIVE MINDED FOOL WHEN WILL LEARN SENSE.YOUR AFORE MENTIONED LANGUAGES HOW PEOPLE SPEAK THESE LANGUAGES. LET GHANA BE ...

• Togo Banku 7 years ago

Choo, see mumu. U see goat dey bath water b4?

• Togo Banku 7 years ago

U naa u no no spik the English language, y u no go fight against am.

• Funny Guy 7 years ago

This is a horribly poor claim. Obviously the product of "poor education".????

• LA-STAR 7 years ago

HAHAHA YES, OBVIOUSLY THE PRODUCT OF POOR EDUCATION, AND THE SAD PART IS THAT HE DOESN'T REALIZE THAT THIS IS THE REAL PROBLEM WITH OUR DEVELOPMENT. IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH SPEAKING ENGLISH. HE DOESN'T WANT TO LEARN ANY O ...

• Bob 7 years ago

good back and learn good English

• Ankrah 7 years ago

I agree 50%with Kwaku Manu. My suggestion is to put all the Ghanian languages to National Referendum for Ghanians to decide. This method will take care of any discrimination that may arise as a result. We will then abide by t ...