Do Ghanaian PhD Holders Worth Their Salt

Read Comments Comments (89)

• k1k1k1 10 years ago

WELL SAID

• OZA 10 years ago

Well, Mr Rockson, you've clearly emptied your chest. But Please, please, your "Antoa", in spite of his/her imagined powers, has never done anything for Ghana that I know of. Okomfo Anokye as they say, at least brought a stool ...

• BISHOP 10 years ago

"When you compare them to our White contemporaries, the Ghanaian PhD holders are completely non-starters"

Adofo, the average black man is an idiot with a very low IQ irrespective of his education. We also need to remember ...

• BISHOP 10 years ago

If any other Ghanaian Non NPP had written this about Tarzan you would have been crying foul and calling it an Attack on another successful Akan yet when he (Tarzan) goes against your wishes you never hesitated for once to do ...

• Wiseman 10 years ago

"Do Ghanaian PhD Holders Worth Their Salt"

What kind of Ghanaian English is that? For someone who serializes articles just to see his name in print and claims to live in the UK...

• USMAN 10 years ago

PhD holders, like most university graduates in Ghana, are indeed useless.

• Nana B 10 years ago

One wiseman said "Unprovoked criticism is a sign of admiration and envy"! I think you wished you had a PhD.......

• CONCERNED GHANAIANS 10 years ago

We wonder how people like you would reason upside down in this age of civility. If you consider this to be unprovoked criticism, then we urge you to stop reasoning and analysing situations with your heads turned upside down

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

Hold it there. There is nothing at all wrong with black people or for that matter, any other race of people apart from those who enslaved and colonized their own fellow human beings under the most horrendous conditions.

W ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

The young White men that came up with Google engine, Facebook, Twitter etc. and Bill Gates, the world’s richest man never had PhD degrees but look how they have, and are transforming the world. What has Wereko Brobbey done? ...

• Adongo 10 years ago

Adofo,I have been reading all your articles but this one doesn't sound like you!How can you make such demeaning generalization?Are you referring to Ghanaians who obtained their PhDs in Ghana?Just because you find yourself in ...

• Kwobia ( Toronto ) 10 years ago

This Adofo guy suffers from too much self importance.He is trying too hard to make a name for himself.Is he that jealous of Wereko?
    All his articles are always devoid of intelligence.

• Ayiku Charwetey 10 years ago

No properly educated person and a PhD for that matter would fall to the level of the intellectually lazy, adofo who, does not understand the meaning of education or higher qualifications. He is simply jealous and wants the ir ...

• Adjei Mensah 10 years ago

Deal with the problems in your NPP camps. Ken Agyepong, Awuku, Kuranchie, Nana Akufo Addo, jake(julor) Obetsebi Lamptey, Gaby Otchere Darko, Akomea, Kruonfuor Kufuor and yourself etc are not PhD holders yet listen to their se ...

• Symbiosis 10 years ago

Sane human society expects that people who have undergone extensive learning can lead those who may not have been able to acquire such knowledge. That is why it becomes so annoying when apparently with almost no exception the ...

• Boy Alinko 10 years ago

Okay he is FOOL and Mr.Rockson Adofo
    what are you? I pray you write the same about that Ahoofe Ph.D guy.

• Wiseman 10 years ago

English

• USMAN 10 years ago

PhD holders in Ghana are indeed useless.

• Kwabena 10 years ago

Mr. Rockson your article indicates that you are equally as guilty as your accuser (Dr. Wererko Brobbey). Next, time, please be humble in expressing your thoughts and you will make more sense.

• Wiseman 10 years ago

"Do Ghanaian PhD Holders Worth Their Salt"

This is where "too known" hurts us. What horrible English! For a person who lives in the UK, this is awful.

• USMAN 10 years ago

Adofo has actually conveyed his thought, after all, we eat grammar.

• Nii Kotey Kotey 10 years ago

I AGREE WITH YOU ABOUT SOME OF TH IDIOTIC ACTIONS BY WHICH SOME PhD holders carry themselves about. I will be careful to refer to them as fools anyway. One's academic progress does not have direct relation to the exhibition o ...

• John,Tema 10 years ago

Even though I do not share the view that all professors should invent something,I believe that PhD holders should be able to use their knowledge to do something that will be beneficial to the society or neighbourhood that the ...

• Rans F 10 years ago

All this crap because of the arrogance of one deranged PhD holder? You appear to have a problem with PhD holders, especially those who are non-white! Any reason for this strange hatred? Go through what you have written and as ...

• British Man 10 years ago

Please, Rans F, the writer is just telling the TRUTH. Ghana's development has had ONE and only ONLy ONE direction since 1966. Yet Ghana is flooded with proud Empty and money concious PhD holders that only excellent at DECEIVI ...

• British Man 10 years ago

Please, Rans F, the writer is just telling the TRUTH. Ghana's development has had ONE and only ONLy ONE direction since 1966. That is Backward. Yet Ghana is flooded with proud Empty and money concious PhD holders that are onl ...

• Kweku Gyan-Krofa 10 years ago

I am sure adofo cannot differentiate the authentic PhD holders from the fake and self-ascribed PhD holders. Unfortunately most of them are densely populated in a particular party(no name mentioned) in Ghana. This insignifican ...

• Rans F 10 years ago

The TRUTH? Do you understand the meaning of the word 'TRUTH'? If this is the way you reason, then Dr Wereko Brobbey was probably right in insulting people like you and Rockson Adofo! He is also entitled to his opinion. To you ...

• Asitanga Joseph Awini 10 years ago

Wow! Wow!!!! Rockson Adofo!!! you 're terrific. You would be admired by the true and good citizens of our country. Yes so they are the so called PhDs on the land of mother Ghana not capable contributing but Erupting the natio ...

• Kokoroko Kukurudu 10 years ago

Adofo is a disaster waiting to explode? Whoever showed him ghanaweb forum committed a crime against mother Ghana. This guy Adofo is bereft of decency and common sense as well as refined and civilised manners. Most PhD holders ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

You talk too much! Go back to school, get your Phd, then come and tell your fabricated "tolis". Obviously, you did not understand what Tarzan said. If you do not have PHd, just shut the hell up. Tarzan is entitled to his opin ...

• Yakubu (PhD Student) 10 years ago

I remember a saying from Northern Ghana that goes like this " a blind man says that he does not want eyes because are are watery and smelly" .
    I am sure Mr. Adofo will lurch unto an opportunity to get a PhD if you could but ...

• Rans F 10 years ago

... a crime in Ghana! Wow!! Just read the insults. And we want to progress. What a strange Country!!!

• Mensah Emmanuel 10 years ago

I agree with you sir.

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Look at Bill Gates and Mark Zuckerberg; both are college drop out but just look at their achievements in the world. Every well educated Ghanaian is a thief. I will not give excuse. Dispute that and I will tell you to look ...

• P.P 10 years ago

I have always had same impression of our so call Phd,s.What have we attain from them, apart from wrecking the nation to our present state.

• Martin Brew 10 years ago

I read your title "Do Ghanaian PhD holders worth their salt?" I won't read the rest of your article because the grammatical atrociousness of your title tells me you're an unintelligent idiot. If your intention was to impugn ...

• Agyeman. 10 years ago

Wow,you're right.The title is the 1st thing that grabbed my attention too and to be honest i never bothered to read on due to such a mistake which throws the authors message into question.

• Nana B 10 years ago

You guys must be PhD holders! I am proud to be in your league. Thanks for the rebutal. Adofo is as mad as hell becuase he is uneducated!!!!

• GAWUKO 10 years ago

Adofo needs a PhD to write correct grammar. Do ... worth their salt? Wow!

• MUGU YARO 10 years ago

"DO GHANAIAN PHD HOLDERS WORTH THEIR SALT"? I USED OGUNDIPE'S BOOK IN SECONDARY SCHOOL. IF I REMEMBER CORRECTLY, OGUNDIPE WOULD HAVE SUGGESTED "ARE GHANAIAN PHD HOLDERS WORTH THEIR SALT" SO MR ADOFO, MAYBE THERE IS SOMETHING ...

• USMAN 10 years ago

He has conveyed his thought.

• Kofi Badu 10 years ago

Rockson even though you may not need a PhD, you need to go to school to "clean up your english. Also note that some of the Ghanian PhD holders also teach the white man or woman english

• Esi 10 years ago

If every Ph.D. led to an invention (whether it was earned by a black or white person), the world would be a very different place. People have done great things without necessarily having Ph.Ds (ask Bill Gates; and btw, Bill G ...

• USMAN 10 years ago

What is the jealousy here if people who have been trained as scholars cannot even write books. Do you want us to be happy over this?

• Kokoroko Kukurudu 10 years ago

Your header should have read, 'Are Ghanaian PhD holders worth their salt?' You too known ghanaweb nuisance!

• holy smoke 10 years ago

that is the problem of the writer

• Dr. Appocco 10 years ago

Jealous go shame! Where's your PhD? Don't envy, respect. If you know what goes into earning a PhD, you'd respect those who have one even if they haven't achieved anything else in their lives.

However, having a PhD does ...

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GOOGLE OR GO TO greatnanapowerfullspiritualist blogspot com

• Kofi Virginia 10 years ago

Your sense of lack of respect and recognition for doctorial degrees or the attitude to dismiss those who hold that degree is the same that causes big mouth radio presenters to think that they are equal or better than supreme ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

THEY R ALL PRIDEFUL AND FULL OF HATE. THEY HATE THE COMMON MAN. THESE PHD HOLDERS ARE UR TYPICAL UNCLE TOMS. THEY HATE GH. LOOK AT WHAT THIS MAN HAS DONE TO THE COFFERS OF THE NATION. THEY ARE QUICK TO BACKSTAB...

• Ghanaba Babs in the Diaspora 10 years ago

Adofo,I hardly read your articles because they are intellectually boring.

Your logic of assessing PhD holders particularly Ghanaians is unfair. You might disagree with Wereko Brobbey but to categorise all PhD holders as go ...

• Kwame - Lawyer - San Diego, CA 10 years ago

Hey My friend, you couldn't have put it any better. Even if this Wereko Brobey is an "Asshole", he's entitled to his foolery/opinion.

Adofo - Get a life, and "refocus" you make a fool of yourself, by casting a wide blame-l ...

• Ofori, K. Mensah 10 years ago

'A foolish and unintelligent statement by a 'peanut brain' Adofo. A PhD holders may be expected to behave in certain ways because of their higher education but they are humans after all. They are not any different from the pa ...

• Mallam Tula 10 years ago

Massa Ofori-Mensah; there is no need for you to spill the toxic flatulence of insults and call people names in the matter of Mr. Adofo's opinions t; I agree with Mr Adofo points ;that most PHD holders are to me acadamic fr ...

• Rans F 10 years ago

This crap can only come from an illiterate. You surely need to have your head examined if you think one becomes a fraudster after acquiring a PhD degree! You belong to the other side of the coin where Wereko Brobbey finds him ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Dispute what Mallam Tula said. Mention one illiterate Ghanaian at the helm of our affairs? Our PHD holders are nothing more than "pathogen doing all they could to infect the nation with deadly germs or virus to destabilize ...

• KWAMINA 10 years ago

ADOFO YOU ARE A TRIBAL BUFFON SICK IN THE HEAD AND A BIG LEAGUE IDIOT. ALL YOUR POSTINGS ARE JIBBERASH

• vic 10 years ago

WELL SAID

• OBIBINI 10 years ago

Cite Dr Busia as a typical example.He was the most useless leader ever to rule Ghana.It is sad ghanaians still believe that professors and PhD holders are the best crop of human beings to rule the nation.A lot of them can't e ...

• USMAN 10 years ago

This is how far our useless university education has brought us.

• Mensah Emmanuel 10 years ago

Mr Rockson Adofo, don't create another sad day for yourself again.

I must admit that your points were very clear but you got it all wrong when you started introducing insults into your needlessly long article.

READ: " W ...

• USMAN 10 years ago

Adofo has spoken the truth. What he said has a positive strategic effect on our sociopolitical discourse. It is a shame that some of you who are expected to know better are tying to gag Adofo. If PhD holders in Ghana are real ...

• Nyansa 10 years ago

You sound like an illiterate. The title of your posting says it all. I wonder which secondary school you attended. Dr. Wereko Brobbey may have his problems but you are worse. Your arguments smack of ignorance and feelings ...

• James B. Otafregya 10 years ago

Kwa'Adofo,

Be bold and mention the name of the man: He was Prof Dr Dr Prempeh. I knew him from School of Medical Sciences (Don't know if the name has changed now) and was there when the case happened!

• USMAN 10 years ago

The following are the reasons why PhD holders in Ghana are useless.
    1) Majority of PhD holders in Ghana are scholars who cannot even write books.
    2)They are bullies who lack leadership skills. The few ones tested all failed ...

• USMAN 10 years ago

We will Adofo need a PhD when the many useless ones in his own country have not inspired any hope in him.

• SK 10 years ago

Just let us know your own achievement in life before you begin evaluating others

• USMAN 10 years ago

Our PhD holders are scholars who cannot even write books.

• Debbie 10 years ago

Well, at least they're able to string words together to form conjugated sentences; that must be worth something. Isn't it ironic that you mock them but can't even perform this basic writing feat?

• jcoolman 10 years ago

That's all that counts for the Ghanaman. Big English and no brains is considered genius. Moron country indeed!

• Debbie 10 years ago

If you think the ability to speak and write properly isn't an important wealth-creating skill go and ask Obama and the CEOs of Fortune-500 companies, who have made it mainly by their abilities to speak, write and inspire peop ...

• USMAN 10 years ago

The English language has developed over so many years and so I don't understand why we should strain our spleen on a foreign language. I think this is a Ghanaian attitude which has its root in the infamous "Leadership by Trai ...

• jcoolman 10 years ago

Ghanaian intellectuals and Ph D holders are the worst kind of educated people in the world. the most useless creatures on earth.

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

It is very funny to hear the party zealot and tribally emaciated Rockson Adofo admits that the all too familial hoopla about an intellectual NPP party is not what they're cracked up to be after all.
    The more appropriate ques ...

• I K E Donkoh 10 years ago

I am told the holy book says the wise one do not speak at the wrong time. Dr.Wireko Brobe (phd) should put his phd aside and go and study the holy book so that he will know when to talk, how to talk and where to talk so that ...

• Dr. Momoni 10 years ago

The Ph.D is an academic award (a published dissertation signed by the dean of the school) and it has nothing to do with leadership style, common sense, or social life. Sometimes, the business dictates on how you should lead ...

• Pat Owusuwaa 10 years ago

Adofo, I never thought you could stoop so low, in fact below the level of a he-goat, to talk about Phd holder in Ghana. You infusions demonstrate your unfortunate lack of understanding of education. Know that Phd doesnot inve ...

• AMA 10 years ago

The question is: 'ARE' Ghanaian PhD Holders Worth Their Salt? and NOT "DO Ghanaian PhD Holders Worth Their Salt?" If you can't get such a simple question right, spend sometime on your English rather than on Politics.

• kee 10 years ago

Very good article. Seems some people are interested in titles than being productive. Unless we change this attitude we'll lag behind the rest of the world. Education must be geared toward solving problems not displaying titl ...

• Koo 10 years ago

I guess the medical professor referred to in the article is Prof Dr Dr Brobbey of KNUST. He is the only known medical doctor from Komfo Anokye Teaching Hospital to have gone by that title. I don't know whether he is related t ...

• Ofori, K. Mensah 10 years ago

There was a Dr, Dr, B.Y.A. Andoh. He was the head of the Department of Physiology at the Ghana Medical School at Korle Bu Teaching Hospital in the 1970s.

• Koo 10 years ago

Point of correction. Professor Frimpong Boateng is not a PhD holder. Check your facts well.

• khirsten 10 years ago

I think the comments both for/against Adofo has vindicated him. Instead of critiquing his opinion with intellectual debate, just like our lecturers have always done, we are finding fault with his grammar, lets Heal our Land

• Kwabena Boateng Jacaboba 10 years ago

Mr Rockson has raised crucial issue. I wish to connect with this man.

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

Hei Rock, your article seem to be a coincidence of an experience that came my way in the early 80's when I was a bank clerk at then Standard Chartered Bank at UST Branch. A Professor came in to cash his check and as usual pr ...

• Akwasi 10 years ago

It seems to me you're more of a fool than Wereko Brobbey. Get a life and watch your language.

Strange! Strange eh? Hard to believe that in this age of civility, people like you would analyse situations with your brains turned upside down! Lift up your head and reason correctly.

Until Dr. Wereko-Brobby went on air recently, no one could tell the substance he was made of, though many have long suspected that he is inherently paranoid suffering from inexplicable and uncontrollable air of pomposity and ...