News

Sports

Business

Entertainment

Ashantis are tribalistic, Ewes are tribalistic, Northerners are tribalistic.

Read Comments Comments (66)

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

Tell the truth

• Yaw 9 years ago

something that will come to pass. What have got to tell Ghanaians,NPP? Dumsor is not enough

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 9 years ago

....and accept the truth. The Asantes have always been ethnocentric not 'tribalistic'.

For an Asante NDC member to say that in a radio station meant he has seen it, heard it and observed it before saying it all out in the ...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Your people have an enclave in the heart of the Ashanti capital Kumasi known as "Anloga Town" meaning the tribe you hate and pray for their demise, are tolerant else, why will your people have an enclave in the heart of their ...

• THIRD PARTY BYSTANDER.... 9 years ago

BTW, do Ashantis have an enclave in Ho, your capital? Come again.

IF THE ASHANTIS WANT AN ENCLAVE IN HO OR HOHOE OR AGAVE, THEY CAN HAVE IT PELICLES, NO ONE IS CHASING ASHANTIS FROM HO, ONLY THEIR OWN ETHNOCENTRIC SHADOWS ...

• .... 9 years ago

WHY WOULD ASHANTIS WANT AN ENCLAVE IN A STINKING SHITHOLE LIKE HO? FUCK THAT!

I READ AN AMERICAN BLOG ABOUT SEVERAL AMERICAN MEDICAL STUDENTS WHO TRAVELED FROM USA TO HA-VE IN VOLTA REGION ON A MEDICAL MISSION AND THEY DESCRIBED THEIR JOURNEY THROUGH ACCRA THROUGH KPONE ETC TO HA-VE....ONE BLOGGER SAID ...

• Angry man 9 years ago

We are all tribalistics but in a multi party democracy where every vote is needed, we have to watch what we say. Thats the secret to winning an election.

• okofo 9 years ago

Let's tone down tribalism in political discourse, because it is not helpful. It's obvious Akans are majority and will naturally be reserved a major stake in political appointments. Whether one likes it or not, if this does no ...

NO TRIBE SHOULD BE BASHING ANOTHER TRIBE,ESPECIALLY IN A MULTI-TRIBAL COUNTRY LIKE GHANA!

OKOFO, IT IS NOT JUST AKANS THAT MUST NOT BE BASHED- AKANS ARE NOT THE ONLY "SAINTS" IN GHANA- THEY ALSO BASH OTHERS, EWES, GAS, NOR ...

• dr fynnn 9 years ago

This is a great piece. Thank you my brother

• PK 9 years ago

Third Party Bystander, if you want to come across as an objective person, you should be careful of regurgitating NDC propaganda. I'm also politically neutral in the sense that I don't care which party wins so long as it provi ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

Okofo, when rightist Akans are in power they dismiss Ewhes from both public and civil service. In 1969 Busia then the prime minister of Ghana dismissed 586 Ewhes from both civil and public service for no cause. Again in 2001 ...

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

@THIRD PARTY: "Yebroism" was strengthened during JJ's time. That was when these deep divisions started. By the way, can anyone name one school in the Volta Region that has a head who is a non Ewe. Outside of the region many ...

"No one is good enough to lead in V/R"? This may just be your perception and hence your reality?

If you are a solution seeker, you should try other ways to relate better to the V/R instead of outright condemning it and its ...

• ebo kwarteng 9 years ago

some voltarians are actually ashantis and happy to be associated with volta and even asantihene visits his people of volta origin. in any case aflao and lome are flooded with ashantis doing all sort of businesses. the world ...

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 9 years ago

your folks don't get it that we are now living a global village and one can chose to live anywhere in the world these days or become a national or citizen of their chosen place on this planet.

Yawose should there be told t ...

• TT 9 years ago

Trokosis the daughter fuckers have the bigotry crown wrapped up and nobody can take it from them.

Trokosis are not even ashamed of their ethnocentric behavior they greet each other with it, NYEBRO

• k sam 9 years ago

See this idiot, Rawlings and his marriage? The fraudster needed konadu to manage his poverty striken life. You idiot npp supporters cannot event hoist party flags in certain parts of your trokosi land.

• Boat, Boat, the New Yorker 9 years ago

If you need to know more about Rawlings' tribalistic nature I tell you a story. I was at a durber in Hohoe in 1992 in the run-up to the general election when Rawlings said to the crowd in Ewe that he would not work for any bu ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

First of all let me say that Yawose's article is full of distortions but I know it is out of ignorance.

Let me correct him that we don't call Ashantis or Akans "Gblutor" as he wants others to believe but the word is 'Blu' ...

"Kennedy Agyepong on radio said they should kill all Ewes and Gas in Ashanti region but your NPP party didn't see anything wrong with that,they even treated him like a heroe,as if he has won a presidential election."

ALTHO ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

I agree with many of your point but I disagree with you for saying the president should be accepted as him identifying himself with them at a personal level.
    Do you mean to say he was not identifying with the rest of the peo ...

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 9 years ago

So English is the "national accepted language"? What is the percentage of Ghanaians speaking that as opposed to Ewe or Twi or even Ga?

To you, it is unacceptable that the President chose one of our own languages in which ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

Dr SAS,I stand by what I wrote and still don't like it that the president of my country will choose to speak to Ghanaians outside the country in Twi making it looks like other tribes don't matter.
    We learn the English but i ...

• Dr. SAS, Criminal Defense Attorney 9 years ago

Your cause is quite diminutive if "matter" is quantified in terms of language. Or if you think only foreign language can "unite us" or be " a national language" to us.

If all that causes you grief is for somebody to approa ...

• Joe Canada 9 years ago

Did any Ewe or Ga got attacked or killed in Ashanti because of Dickhead Kennedy Agyapong's Comments?. Why is it that anytime somebody makes stupid tribal comments its the Ashanti's that gets attacked by the media, politician ...

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

CORNEY, I HAVE JUST A SIMPLE QUESTION FOR YOU AND I HOPE YOU WILL COME UP WITH A GENUINE ANSWER. I GUESS YOU HEARD THEN CANDIDATE MAHAMA DURING THE LEAD UP TO THE 2012 ELECTIONS TELLING THE PEOPLE OF THE NORTH TO VOTE FOR HIM ...

• ebo kwarteng 9 years ago

politics is a dirty game so if ur opponent go tribal, u must also do a tribal response else u will lose p)t))). in 2012 npp decided to use the tribal formular but didn't work. where were u when obetsebi talked abt even ivory ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

I heard the president say that and I know it was wrong but the president had no choice than to do that because NPP selected Bawumia to use him to get or make it hard for the president to get votes in the north and Bawumia was ...

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

I hate to get into this harshly censorious tribalism debate but for you Corney to even try to convince anyone that Ewes are not tribalistic but Asantes are is laughable and the height of hypocricy.
    Though I'm not Ewe, I su ...

• biko 9 years ago

I am not an Ashanti, but I think Ashantis are more welcoming than any other tribe in Ghana. Let,s be honest with ourselves and look around us. Tribes with common salt deposits would not want to share it with rest of Ghana. Ak ...

• Owusu Acheaw 9 years ago

Yoo! This is Ghana for you.All animals can run but the cow is crazy when it gallops.

• Kojo T 9 years ago

Stupid NPP come up with alternative solutions for food security, energy, housing,infra structure, health and stop your tribalism Osafo Marfo ,an Achimotan is a disgrace to his Alma mater "That all may be one "Ut Omnes Unum S ...

• .... 9 years ago

FOOOOOL.

• Uhuru Joe 9 years ago

Ghana, and the entire African Continent, as well as the whole World, needs many People like John Yawose, a self-confident Human Being, Fair-Minded, and a Scholar

By Uhuru Joe

• Ekow 9 years ago

Your write up is thick,rich and insightful......Tribal issues are inborn and only hypocrates make such statements to score cheap political marks

• MP 9 years ago

tribalism and anything tribalistic is evil and should be condemned by all,a strong nation is built by one love,and by all from north /south/east and west.Condemn it either by the presidents of the past or present ,or the mini ...

• ODjJAH 9 years ago

WHAT HAPPENED TO ONE GHANA ONE PEOPLE..We nearly achived that when the OSAGEFO was around but as soon as they got rid of him tribalism roared its ugly head again I would be bold to say it started with the Ashantis then the Ew ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Righteous outrage, we must say!

We would caution though, that as we all know "tribes" are composed of individuals who are presumed to have agency. The "tribe" in this case does not represent the individual, not even "their ...

• shoeshine boys 9 years ago

Mahama have right to speak twi to your people what are they doing in gambia? I know them well 20 years in France they can't read and write their names only prostitute fils de pute

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 9 years ago

You hit the point accurately - Jonny. Many of us who had the prevelaged to work with different ethnic groups can authoritatively said, this tribal bigotry do exits among all the tribes. However some individuals practiced it t ...

"Akans are law abiding, compassionate, reasonable and loving people."

STONER, I THINK THE ATTRIBUTES YOU HAVE DESCRIBED ABOVE CAN BE FOUND IN ALL TRIBES, THUS, AKANS ARE NOT THE EXCEPTION BUT THE NORM.

FUTHER, YOUR CONC ...

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 9 years ago

Hei TPB, I like your input but remember that geographically, Akans in general occupy majority of the entire land of Ghana. It is true as you point it out about intermarriages which has swept in the entire country. Would it no ...

• Joe Canada 9 years ago

To me federalism is the way to go. I believe it will benefit all regions as regions will be pressured to do well individually. This is what our so-called useless chiefs suppose to advocate for, rather they are chasing apusik ...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Trust me, if we have hundred people like you in Ghana, our nation will see great things and zoom out of her current predicament.

May the good Lord shower you with endless benediction. Thank you.

• LARYEAH 9 years ago

PELICLES, IN SHORT LET EACH REGION DEVELOPMENT ON IT OWN. A FEDERATED SYSTEM IS THE ANSWER. THE RESOURCES IN GHANA WILL BE IN A WISELY AND CORRUPTION WILL BE REDUCED SIGNIFICANTLY.

• .... 9 years ago

THEY LOOK ON LIKE DUMB SHEEP WHILE THEIR PEOPLE AND PARTY ARE CONDEMNED REPEATEDLY. NPP ARE A BUNCH OF WIMPS.

• John Yankson 9 years ago

Look, asantes have relations and marry from different tribes in Ghana. There are significant amount of asantes who have paternal lineages from different tribes in Ghana. However, just like any tribe, purity is maintained in s ...

• GOOD WORK 9 years ago

The writer should be commended for his forthrightness. No party should be made to benefit from any tibal comment. NDC usual tricks must be stopped

• Opoo Man 9 years ago

Bro you are right and I commend for your submission. God bless you. It is in Ashanti region that all tribes can freely settle and go about their daily life without any hindrance. To the extent of having tribal chiefs who si ...

• KLM 9 years ago

CHILDISH TALK:have you ever tried life some where in the other regions that you were chase out ???

• Wicked John Bull Mahama 9 years ago

Settlements of some tribes in other tribes come naturally and it is dictated by the hosts hospitality and natural self. Trying lives in other regions are not by force. Your challenge to Akans is misplaced

• Abongo 9 years ago

Ashantis are tribalistic period

• Big Dad 9 years ago

Yes fire ooo fire will burn them to ashes

• bondzi 9 years ago

Fire will burn you too , instead of condemning such acts u outchea promoting such bs #GrowUp... smfh

• Kwame 9 years ago

The majority of Akans are not found of speaking the languages of other tribes in Ghana, but people from various tribes in Ghana do learn how to speak Akan. So it is Akans, rather than other tribes who discriminate.

Nonsense. Akan language has naturally emerged as the most spoken and everybody is striving for it in Ghana. There is no legislation. Sociologists are happy a local LINGUA FRANCA is emerging in gGhana. You reasoning out there ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 9 years ago

Swine, why not legislate the use of Twi as the official and national language? And don't even stop there. Proceed to the United Nations General Assembly as Ghana's representative and speak it there!!! Goes to show you're a d ...

You clearly sound frustrated.

Cool it. No need for any legislation.

Things will roll out naturally

• mma 9 years ago

Tribalistic and that exaggerated feeling of superiority. It is just in them. They should know that the country is for all Ghanaians

• 3dem 9 years ago

so what, now we justify someone's present wrongs with the past wrongs of another person or people, when do we begin to correct any wrongs at all?
    Wisdom dictates that when an Ashanti ddoes it, we castigate him and when an Ew ...

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 9 years ago

The habit of associating any group of people with any generic habit is always problematic because you can always find too many exceptions to make any such generalization sustainable as a scientific conclusion. In this instanc ...

• k sam 9 years ago

God bless u! God bless Ghana!! Long live Ghana!!!

• DR, BOOM 9 years ago

YAWSON, YOU ARE BIG FOOL, CLOSE THATYOUR HOLE IF YOU HAVE NOTHING SAY, WE THE GOOD PEOPLE OF GHANA HAVE NOTHING TO SAY NOIW, BUT WE WILL RESPOND TO NPP IN 2016, I REST MY CASE

• if the lone crusader 9 years ago

Brilliant analizes from brilliant somebody goe bless you stay focus and lets fight this nonsense .it is crazy isnt it?