Genetic research links Akan tribe to increased kidney disease risk

Read Comments Comments (25)

• Truth Table 4 days ago

If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. (Romans 10:9) ..
    ,, .. ,

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 4 days ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine......for instance 15 tramadol at once....or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Toghay 2 days ago

Bogus research. Who is an Akan after centuries? Ethnicity is a social construction unless the Doctor did DNA tests for all his samples. And what type of sampling method did he apply to get the subject population.

• Kiki 4 days ago

Stop polluting the waters with galamsey.

• Oprege 4 days ago

Yes yes

• GOLDEN 4 days ago

THIS IS VERY INTERESTING INDEED,MORE RESEARCH NEED TO BE DONE,AND HOPEFULLY,THERE WOULD BE AVAILABLE MEANS FOR TREATMENT AND CURE!!!!!!!!!

• FACT 4 days ago

Commonsense is Stronger Than Research
    Who does not know that gold bearing rocks are in the Akan regions and that galamsey is very high in the regions dominated by Akans? And that the mercury and arsenic metals used in galams ...

• BLUE ELEPHANT 3 days ago

Yes we can talk of heavy metals like lead, mercury, arsenic etc. But we are forgetting that these affected people consume a lot of grass cutter feaces or shit. The feaces itself is a waste product. So how do we expect the kid ...

• PATRIOT. 4 days ago

AKANS, EWES ETC ARE NOT "TRIBES"; THEY ARE PEOPLES. STOP CALLING US BY STUPID RACIST COLONIAL NAMES!

• NDC NPP SAME DEVILy 4 days ago

Bogus presentation , lacks any scientific evidence nor facts. Mere assumptions. U are a disgrace to the scientific community. Give hypothesis ,test the hypothesis and come out with scientifically proven reasons and stop treat ...

• Nokware 4 days ago

Stupid research? Is this correlation or causality?

• AAS 4 days ago

Is that the new order of tribalism? What actually prompted this “research”? Wishful thinking is not research. Your name tells it all.

• MELO 3 days ago

I thought as much , tribal bigot

• Jerry 3 days ago

This implies that the Akans are relatives of the Igbos

• Mark Pepper 3 days ago

Professor, you are proved wrong. Blame the agricultural Professors. The disease is new in the society. Gone are the days when everything was natural, nothing of this sort heard of. They had encouraged of peasant farmers to do ...

• ADUTWUM IS A THIEF. STOLE GALOP MONEY MEANT FOR TEACHERS. CRIMINAL NPP PARTY 3 days ago

ITS BCOS OF THE ANIMAL SHIT THEY HAVE BEEN EATING. KWASIAFOUR

• Lance Dunase 3 days ago

Since when with discovery, if is within 2years, then there's secret weapon on purification process against Akans especially, specific areas and Akans must watch out, because, when it comes to poor lifestyle, the tribes you me ...

• KWASI IN EUROPE 3 days ago

I do not accept what you said but I admire your calmness so much. You are real gentlemen.

• Lidzi 3 days ago

No wonder. Because rat shit and bats are their favourite delicacies. Yes , antelope faeces as well. Spits!!: Nasty animals

• Adjei 1 day ago

Shit can be medicine wai. You have not heard yet?

• IT'S IN YOUR DNA 3 days ago

Genetic research links Akan tribe to increased PSD risk!

PSD is Propensity to Scam Disease!

• JA 2 days ago

Half baked research. Akans only and not Ga's or Ewes? How about other tribes in Ghana? Massa throw away that your stupid fake research.. You probably wasted a lot of government money on this crap!!!

• Mr Apehtwe 1 day ago

Prof, you plagiarized Havard research on this topic. This is not news. Harvard research found APOL1 gene variation is due to fighting tsetsefly related diseases. During the migration of the Akans to the south, tsetsefly ...

• Adjei 1 day ago

You have done the first such research in Ghana which will generTe solutions scientifically.
    However I want to share alternate vie. I believe from what have watched health documentaries that the real cause is the oxalic acid ...

• Adjei 1 day ago

Prof, we need same approach to determine which group are prone to diabetes and stroke do we can change our food culture