Francis Bawaana recaptures Jirapa for NDC

Jirapa Mp Dr. Bawaana Dakura polled a total of 15,390 votes to beat Mr. Deriguba's 8,249 votes

Fri, 9 Dec 2016 Source: GNA

Dr. Francis Bawaana Dakura, the National Democratic Congress (NDC) candidate in the Jirapa Constituency has recaptured the Jirapa seat after he lost it to Mr. Paul Deriguba, an independent candidate in 2012.

Dr. Bawaana Dakura according to certified results from the Electoral Commission (EC) polled a total of 15,390 votes to beat Mr. Deriguba who polled 8,249 votes to register his defeat.Dr. Bawaana Dakura

The seat was also contested by four other candidates from the New Patriotic Party (NPP), the Convention People's Party (CPP), the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP), and the All People's Congress (APC).

Mr. Kpieta Jesse Sung of the NPP also obtained 2,071 votes and Mr. Kaawaasan Peter Domopogee of the GCPP, Mr. Basuglo Joseph of the CPP and Ms. Paalee Jacqueline of the APC, scored 39 votes, 90 votes and 70 votes respectively.

For the parliamentary, a total of 25,959 valid votes were cast with 684 rejected ballots.

For the Presidential election, President John Dramani Mahama polled 19,404 votes to beat his main rival Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo who registered 4,322 votes.

The rest are Mr. Ivor Kobina Greenstreet of the CPP, 132 votes; Nana Konadu Agyemang Rawlings of the National Democratic Party (NDP), 81 votes; Dr. Papa Kwesi Nduom of the PPP, 207 votes; Dr. Edward Nasigrie Mahama of the PNC, 464 votes and Mr. Jacob Osei Yeboah, an independent candidate got 1,105 votes.

Total valid votes cast for the Presidential in the Jirapa Constituency stands at 25,715 while a total of 938 ballots were rejected.

Source: GNA
Related Articles: