Maame Pokua Sawyer retains seat in Agona East

Fri, 9 Dec 2016 Source: GNA

Mrs. Queenstar Pokuaa Sawyer, the incumbent Member of Parliament for Agona East, has retained her seat, having beaten two male contestants in the December 7 Polls.

Mrs. Sawyer, the Deputy Central Regional Minister, who represented the National Democratic Congress, polled 19,789 votes, while Mr James Owusu- Barnes of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) obtained 18,513 votes and Mr Ofori Sarfui of the Convention People Party (CPP) had 310 votes.

Mr. David Kwesi Amos, the Agona East returning Officer (RO) of the Electoral Commission (EC) announced this to the media at Agona Nsaba, on Friday.

The collation of the Parliamentary results was characterised by controversy between NPP and NDC candidates over the figures, which pushed for recounting of the ballot papers.

Mr Amos finally announced the results and declared Mrs. Sawyer as the MP-elect for Agona East Constituency.

The Presidential results declared in the Agona East are as follows: CPP - 92 votes, NDP - 191 votes, NDC - 17,681 votes, PPP - 280 votes, NPP - 19, 911votes, PNC - 40 votes, and Independent 17 votes.

Source: GNA
Related Articles: