Norgbey wins Ashaiman seat

Sat, 10 Dec 2016 Source: Ghanaian Times

A 35-year-old procurement officer with the National Disaster Management Organisation (NADMO) representing the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Ashaiman Constituency, Ernest Henry Norgbey has won the parliamentary seat with 52,400 beating the New Patriotic Party (NPP)’s candidate, Labaran Yakubu Barry who obtained 35,697.

The Progressive People’s Party’s Kojo Atta Ayetey who came third with 507 votes, with the All People’s Congress (APC)’s Yakubu Musah, 240 votes and Convention People’s Party (CPP)’s Hamida Bidolti Samba obtaining 109.

The total valid vote cast was 88,953 with 365 rejected ballots.

The Returning Officer for the Ashaiman District of the Electoral Commission, Martin Okyerefo declared Ernest Henry Norgbey, the winner amidst cheers from his supporters.

Mr. Norgbey said he was able to emerge the winner due to the grace of God.

For the Presidential results, NDC had 51,756 while NPP had 36630, with PPP obtaining 437, followed by CPP who had 59 and NDP 50, PNC obtaining 36 and the Independent candidate 8. Rejected ballots were 580.

Source: Ghanaian Times
Related Articles: