Politics Fri, 14 Oct 2016

Parliament needs PPP – Nduom

Ghana’s parliament needs the Progressive People’s Party (PPP), hence Ghanaians should vote massively for the party’s MP aspirants contesting in the December 7 polls, Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom, flag bearer of the PPP, has said.

According to him, although he is challenging his disqualification from contesting in the presidential election, as announced by the Chair of the Electoral Commission (EC), Charlotte Osei, that should not distract the campaign of the parliamentary aspirants. He is among 12 other flag bearers who have been disqualified for various infractions and other offences on their nominations form.

He has served notice he will go to court to challenge his disqualification because the law which governs elections requires that the EC should "draw my attention to it and give me the opportunity to correct it".


Speaking in an interview with Chief Jerry Forson, host of Ghana Yensom on Accra100.5FM on Friday October 14, Dr Nduom said: “At the moment the New Patriotic Party has representation in parliament but does not have a president; the Convention People’s Party has representation in parliament but does have a president; and the People’s National Convention has representation in parliament but does have a president, and so I want the PPP parliamentary aspirants to go to parliament as we challenge my disqualification in court.”

Apart from Dr Nduom the 12 others who have been disqualified include the flag bearers of the All People's Congress (APC), Hassan Ayariga; Dr Edward Mahama of the People's National Convention (PNC); Dr Agyenim Boateng of the United Front Party (UFP); Kofi Akpaloo of the Independent People's Party (IPP); Kwabena Adjei of the Reformed Patriotic Democrats (RPD); and Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings of the National Democratic Party (NDP).

The others include: Dr Henry Herbert Lartey of the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP); Mr Richard Nixon Tetteh (United Development Systems Party); Thomas Ward-Brew of the Democratic People’s Party (DPP); Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, an independent candidate, and Akua Donkor of the Ghana Freedom Party (GFP). Mr Akwasi Addae Odike of the United Progressive Party's nomination is on hold pending a court case.

Source: classfmonline.com
Related Articles: