Galamsey is already illegal; how do you ban it again? - Ursula Owusu-Ekuful asks critics

Read Comments Comments (61)

• Wow 1 year ago

Very stupid response.
    Why don’t you enforce the laws then?
    She buys her drinking water from USA and Europe while Ghanaians drink the heavily polluted mercury and arsenic water.

• DotCom 1 year ago

Sometimes it feels very insulting to have people like Ursula as a state minister. If galamsey is illegal and therefore banned, why has the government of which she is part don’t take action against illegal mining but can jai ...

• Prince Farmer 1 year ago

The time is now or never

• Errortorial Commission of Ghana -EC 1 year ago

KelniGVG Ursula Owusu, in a few months you will be called upon to account! All you looters and nation wreckers

• YSL 1 year ago

Ursula, banning small scale mining in it's entirety is what those with brains are asking for, no one asked for galamsey to be banned, small scale mining,so those with and without papers will all be banned temporarily. Just as ...

• Esi 1 year ago

This government is just a congregation of sociopaths who are greedy, lack empathy and self-awareness, and are narcissists to the core. How many behavioral disorders can one human being have?

• DAN 1 year ago

THESE CRIMINAL, EVIL AND DEMONIC IDIOTS OF A POLITICAL PARTY KEEP IRRITATING US WITH EVERY COMMENT THAT COMES OUT OF THEIR STINKING MOUTHS. THE DEVIL WHO THEY WORSHIP WILL DEFINITELY DEAL WITH THEM. GHANA WILL NEVER MAKE SUCH ...

• Leroy 1 year ago

"The main difference between banned and illegal is that "banned" means something is prohibited or forbidden, while "illegal" means something is against the law".

• Slim 1 year ago

Hey, this Akufo Addo girl dey?

• Dr.J 1 year ago

One of the Akyem mafia gang, criminals, thieves

• So.why Is it still going on? 1 year ago

Talk talk kwa

• Jones 1 year ago

This woman always spills garbage. NPP hide her till after the election.

• Sam Fante warrior. 1 year ago

NPP should hide her till after the election ? You evils bastards illiterates villagers who want to destroy Kwame Nkrumah Ghana God will expose you evils hiding fools among human beings. Idiot son of bitch go and look for your ...

• Jones 1 year ago

Dirty mouth like you need to be locked up in Asylum until after the election.

• Hmm 1 year ago

Politics and politicians are sworn by oath to do the right things and stop all illegal endeavors. So, how do you go about saying "all political parties must make a public commitment...". Said it again and again that you wei ...

• Ben 1 year ago

Is she seriously blaming us the citizens who repose our power in them to act in our stead?

• Boldsteven Mother Serpent of Corruption 1 year ago

Ursula it has to be ban again because they are doing simple logic.

• Alfa 1 year ago

The president has been asked to first of all declare a state of emergency, then measures can be put in place to further tackle problem.

• Prince Farmer 1 year ago

If you think it's illegal yet people are practicing it under your govt then you whore is a foolish woman. May agradaa burn you all for destroying our beautiful forest and rivers. If our gods are true then they should prove us ...

• Edward 1 year ago

Foolishly illogically flawed argument. Because your government has literally legalized by allowing it, hence the call to ban it, in case its ban was lifted by NPP

• Sam Fante warrior. 1 year ago

Ugly dark stinking NPP woman criminal. If the galamsey is already illegal then why for good 8 years your government can't do nothing about it and getting worse and worse. Foolish elephant family illiterates educated villagers ...

• Newself 1 year ago

Very good question from the minister. What the president and government should be doing is going after the galamseyers, their wealth and their proceeds for breaking the law. That will surely win the war.

• Nana 1 year ago

Did all Ghanaians support his excellency the president in the national cathedral project? Did he not go ahead to build? Same can be said for less popular agenda like e' levy. Did he stop implementing it

• John 1 year ago

Useless minister. If country have Useless minister like this woman how would it progress. Senseless question

• Gh boy 1 year ago

Ursula I think you have been sleeping on your job, that's why the failed economist has taken over your job. Ursula you are warn

• Dan 1 year ago

When will NPP ever be sensible. Ursula is the one arrogant MP ever elected outside Ken Agyapong and Agywmang Manu. Galamsey is already illegal so why ban it? So what should be done then? Tell your Akuffo Addo boy friend to de ...

So your government is aware that galamsey is illegal but has refused to go after these galamsey criminals all these years that it has been squatting at Julor House?

• Mos 1 year ago

Stupidity at highest level

• Mos 1 year ago

Stupidity!!!!!!!!

• Nana Adusei 1 year ago

This foolish ASHAWO woman. If it's already illegal, why is it that those involved, including the president and his appointees are not prosecuted?
    Obaa KWASEA

• Sikano Ahye 1 year ago

Galamsey has been legalised by your NPP government, whose child-like thinking, like your son, has destroyed our forest, farms, and environment poisoned by our drinking waters and rivers to sponsor your party. It's the reason ...

• Bongo 1 year ago

The call is to ban all small scale mining because they are using illegal methods to mine. We mean small scale miners doing galamsey, blockhead minister. NPPig!!!

• Nyogblonyor 1 year ago

If it's already illegal then why did your party said they won't ban it? NPP shot itself in the foot. I wonder why they were so hesitant against the demo against galamsey and now after others rose they kept quiet and this will ...

• Abrewa ewiii 1 year ago

This old foolish criminal woman always talks nonsense.Looting from the people those not make you intelligent but rather make you stupid and criminal in the eyes of the people.This foolish woman hide behind democracy and looti ...

• EDT 1 year ago

You see banning something like galamsey is not only about outlawing it. There is more to it than that. I think somebody is being clueless for thinking that once it is illegal that's all. NO, it requires enforcement of the law ...

• Jay 1 year ago

First of all prof was talking about responsible mining and for you to misrepresent her is in your NPP nature to do. It’s almost like you saying your teen son can run the government and now your government has woefully faile ...

• Oyibo 1 year ago

Why can't we comment without insulting the woman? If we can't make any useful suggestions to the government as to curb galamsey, then we are not different from the people we are insulting. What is wrong about what the lady sa ...

• Ujah 1 year ago

See, don't sat things that can make people doubt of ur intelligence. Everyone know it is illegal but it seems to be legalised under ur npp administration. Because the execution of the law is not there dude.

• Willie 1 year ago

How can you say we should ban something which is already illegal. Is that what you saying, really!. I thought you are a lawyer, aren't you. You are in power and this galamsey thing has gone out of hand, you are now asking for ...

• WHY NPP 1 year ago

Ig you choose stupid chief you become stupid subjects

• Antiba 1 year ago

Plagiarism. This was said on Newsfile by a pundit. You will be sued

• Albert 1 year ago

This is shocking. Looks like she's in love with galamsey. It's illegal and it has thrived all this while you've been around? If you guys had stopped the illegality you say it is, there'd be no galamsey for people to want you ...

• Samuel Attafuah 1 year ago

Well, if it is illegal, and it is still going on then there is something terribly wrong. Don't you think so, honourable? I think parliament could enact a law that is beyond it being illegal that simply says, GALAMSEY IS BANNE ...

• Erik 1 year ago

If galamsey is illigal and your government is in power and it's still going on then this your government has no business running the country. It's a proof that your government is a failure.

• Northern Boy 1 year ago

So you as a government are watching a criminal act going on. And you are all taking salary

• Politicians and stupid comments 1 year ago

You see politicians and their stupid annoying comments, why do they talk like this,are they mentally deranged?please be serious

• UNCLE PEE 1 year ago

It is the beginning of the end. When the gods want to kill you, they first make you mad.

• Nana 1 year ago

Okada is also illegal. Regulate it or chase them off our streets

• Yaw 1 year ago

Is it the English language people doesn’t understand or what I don’t get it .In the first place what is the meaning of illegal if you understand the word illegal you won’t insult the minister if something is illegal how ...

• Sobolo 1 year ago

If Dumsor was named after JM and NDC who took responsibility to solve it, then Galamsey is equally the sole responsibility of Okaffo- Borrowia NPP government.

• First Offer 1 year ago

Saa maame gyimifour Wei? Kai! She should go and bring that her teenager boy to solve only the galamsey mess .

• Akyem Kraman. 1 year ago

Ursula "too knowing" Ekuful, what useless argument are you making here? For you to accept that galamsey is illegal yet being done, is a MAJOR TESTAMENT THAT WE HAVE IDIOTS IN POSITIONS OF POWER IN THIS INCOMPETENT and corru ...

• OSAFO KANTANKA 1 year ago

Dear URSLA, I am really disappointed in your logical and legal reasoning on what is going with the Galamsey and small scale mining activities. My dear, both activities are intertwined . Some Small Scale miners are into Gala ...

• Citizen Gh. 1 year ago

Stupidity has taken over proper reasoning. Nobody said you shd ban galamsay. We said, stop the galamsay and ban all mining activities in our forest and river bodies.
    You people cannot even comprehend simple English because y ...

• Worried citizen 1 year ago

NEVER VOTE FOR THIS WOMAN...we can vote for npp or ndc,just keep this woman out parlement she gived Ghanaians their share of suffering with SIM cards and registration bullshit. I never forget this nonsense

• Asonaba asiedu 1 year ago

By enforcement!!

• Sheriff 1 year ago

No one is excited doing galamsey , the fact is galamsey can’t be stopped.. the only thing is to make agreement with them not to beyond the soil and spoil it surfaces
    What’s needed in galamsey now is measures, cus it alre ...

• Kwabena 1 year ago

The title of this story implies that it is the government, through its law enforcement agencies, that have failed in the fight against illegal mining. What does the police, for example do, when they encounter thieves in the a ...

• Zargon 1 year ago

They are have lost the plot… such rubbish comment.

• Ellembele Nyamekeh 1 year ago

See oooo Kwasea talk saaaaaa.who put his presidency on line ,,,,NPP agyeeeeee taaaaarrrrrrrr NPP Ofuuuuuiiiiii Party

• This is oligachic gofmet built on deceit and economy dew... 1 year ago

If you knew your work you wouldnot make the cheap veep to make you redundant. Yet you still take salary for doing nothing. Pay!!