Prof Appiagyei-Atua on why Torkornoo's return as Supreme Court Judge may be impossible

Read Comments Comments (63)

• Kwame 2 months ago

It is nowhere in the world that when a worker misconducts himself and is summarily dismissed the same worker can be given another position in the same company or state establishment from which he was summarily dismissed.
    Th ...

• We are NPP 2 months ago

Let us stop making this irrelevant comments about madam Araba Torkornoo. She herself knows that her time is over as both a political representative and CJ. She is only interested in some USD$$$$$$

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 2 months ago

Hello youth of Ghana. You can take your own life with medicine. For instance 15 paracetamol at once......or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• Karikakchar 2 months ago

Obviously the law is about nothing. All these supposed gaps create room for judges to use their discretionary power to satisfy parochial interest.

• Catfish 2 months ago

Buy your catfish Juveniles from us with as little as 2 cedis per fish to start your business and also get free guidance and training to help you succeed, we also have fish feed and tanks available on sale. 0265583388
    ___~~#

• don`t care !!! © 2 months ago

Appiagyei-Atua has rediscovered for abused

• JESUS IS GOD 2 months ago

Jesus Christ loves you and wants to save you from sin and its consequences. He died on the cross for your sins, was buried, and rose again on the third day. Believe in Him, accept His gift of forgiveness, and receive eternal ...

• Simple 2 months ago

By their logic, that means if IGP, AUDITOR General, CDS, EC CHAIRMAN AND MANY MOTE ARE REMOVED THEN THEY GO BACK TO THEIR FOLD.....what kind of flawed thinking or reasoning is this

• Jack 2 months ago

Masa, allow the law to speak. The AG, who is and minister and MP as well. If through petition he is removed as AG or a minister, will that affect him also as an MP? What does the constitution say in such cases? Let her test t ...

• Donatus 2 months ago

Massa, I beg to differ. Who says an offence him as AG and as MP? Says that? If the AG steals, murders or rapes someone for example, he the AG will lose both AG and MP. No law, no one law in this country says if a minister com ...

• Karikakchar 2 months ago

Ministers are removed from time to time and those removed if MPs always go back to parliament. I don't know what's right or wrong in this whole thing but the hatred that's shown towards Torkonu gives me the impression that sh ...

• 3rdEye 2 months ago

Karikakchar, you think it is hatred towards her (Torkornoo)?! Really?!

She herself, knows that she messed up. Thus, jeopardizing her career, credibility and dignity and a legal practitioner.

Let her test the law for a m ...

• SURVIVAL. 2 months ago

Jack you're a stupid fool.Is minister the same as Mp?

• Adasaman 2 months ago

Jack, you are really low-minded. To be appointed a Minister or what-not isn't contingent on any primary status as MP, etc. It is at the discretion of the "appointer" to assign an MP or whoever the status as a Minister or what ...

• Okyere J. 2 months ago

The whole point we are all missing is the fact that Torkonoo mis-conducted herself and what happened is CRIMINAL, VERY CRIMINAL!!! She is very lucky she isn't before a court for a charge on misappropriation of public funds. S ...

• TRUST IN THE LORD 2 months ago

You are wrong and had every thought here wrong. MP’ represent the people by the choice of the people and that gives them the job. By appointing an MP to occupy a ministerial office is an executive privilege and don’t forg ...

• Nananom 2 months ago

MP position is elected by the constituents to represent them. The CJ by default was also an appointment position. Being at the supreme court as a judge is also by appointment. She was vetted by parliament to that position and ...

• Yaw 2 months ago

Araba just chill and fight for your money for you will never go back there.

• POURFENDEUR DE LA CORRUPTION/ANTI-CORRUPTION 2 months ago

You see the harm John Ford Airbus Deadgoat Dumsor Mahama has caused the nation? Ghanaians were warned about the return of John Mahama but they didn't listen. The judiciary, an arm of government is now compromised. It is no lo ...

• Paa Joe 2 months ago

Just another ignorant NPP support.
    Ghana has moved on and you can choose to live in the past. You can call the president any name you can think of that will not change the fact that Ghanaians voted for him as their preside ...

• Benbella 2 months ago

Does the misconduct matter against her equally apply to the removal of a justice of the supreme court? If it does, then in my humble opinion she can't be a justice of the supreme court. Period.

• Araba Asaaba Gertrude Torkono My Sympathy Though! 2 months ago

The crime she committed is related to her misbehaviour as a CJ and logically should affect her position as a Supreme Court Judge why because 2+5=7. Moreover both positions are within the judiciary.
    Her chances of remaining ...

• Prayer 2 months ago

@Benbella,You are intelligent.You think deep.I doff my heart to you

• Andropov 2 months ago

Osono maame, based on the committee’s findings, the president can then proceed to dismiss you as your worth as a Supreme Court judge is in doubt. Maame just beg for your entitlement. This can be done through the president ...

• Akua 2 months ago

INTERESTING ! THEN DAMPARE , KWASI ACHEAPONG AND KOFI KYEI SHOULD HAVE CONTINUED TO BE IN THE POLICE SERVICE HAVING BEEN PROMOTED TO THE HIGHER RANK OF COMMISSIONERS OF POLICE !!!!

• Kwame 2 months ago

Jack, the fact is that the Chief Justice is not an elected position, thus he cannot compare himself to a member of parliament who is at the same time a member of parliament, who still holds his position in parliament when rem ...

• Goku max 2 months ago

Must the constitution say everything expressly before as human we can appreciate it? You are sacked as the CEO of the establishment and you want to come back and be a management member. Morally, mentally, humanly, spiritually ...

• Prince 2 months ago

Interesting days ahead. Who should live above reproach comparatively, justices of the Supreme Court or the chief justice? The chief justice, presumably demoted, can he/she rise back to become chief justice again? If so, what ...

• Osahene Asantie Yeboah 2 months ago

When judges steal or corrupt themselves whiles in office, what happens to them? According to the constitution/the law, they are fired! Madam Torkornoo misappropriated state funds, and has been found by a committee of guilty o ...

• Kojois 2 months ago

Low iq. The law is simple. Was she not a ghanaian. Does she has right to work. Mahama just read history and communication and he does not know anything about the law. He don't even qualified to rule tha country that is why gh ...

• Amoo 2 months ago

And Akufo Addo is a lawyer? Nonsense

• Oklemekuku 2 months ago

It's impossible, not may be impossible

• Asakramitoga 2 months ago

Mo one wants this Winneba moron back. She is just disgracing herselfore and more as she has no proper morals to be on.the bench again. She should go home to her Torkornoo to rest

• Nana TRUMU TRUMU Addo 2 months ago

FORGET ABOUT THIS USELESS WOMAN!. SHE THOUGHT AKUFFO ADDO AND FAMILY HAVE TAKEN OVER GHANA AND THAT NO ONE CAN DO FOKO

• Donatus 2 months ago

Please, for me, if a political party or parliament as a whole decides to reshuffle leadership, that is a different matter, your status as an MP is not affected. But if anyone parliament goes to steal etc and is a minister you ...

• Free Radicals 2 months ago

When you are born a fool no education can change the status quo being a fool.A professor who should know better has sold his thinking faculty to stupidity talking nonsense.if it is possible for corrupt imbecile John Dramani M ...

• . 2 months ago

What a farce! These do called intellectuals are stupid. Is the Prof saying that if a vice Chancellor is dismissed fir wrongdoing he or she can revert to their former position of say lecturer in a faculty under the same univer ...

• SURVIVAL. 2 months ago

So this bofrot like face woman won't allow people to have peace of mind?

• Osei Bonsu 2 months ago

There is no confusion with article 146. Torkunoo has been removed on stated misbehaviour, which is the same offence which any superior court judge found liable will be removed from office. This strenuous efforts to keep her o ...

• The wise one 2 months ago

Infant ; some pigs are in this country calling themselves professors, even the illiterate knowns very well that if you lose your position you lose everything in that organisation.

• Kofi Manu 2 months ago

I can now understand why so many respected intellectuals academics will support this former CJ case in High court. Because it sounds so good academically but in the real world with 'home sense', its flaw and silly and unpract ...

• Seth Danso 2 months ago

Why all these waste of time and energies on this matter! Have all these lawyers making the argument for the disgraced CJ make the same arguments for, says, the removed IGP, Dr George Akuffo Dampare who, before attainment of t ...

• Bbk 2 months ago

There is no any confusion any where? You guys why can't you just speak the truth and stop all these manipulative ideas just because it is affecting an npp woman. She acted as a judge and also a lead of the judiciary hence if ...

• Dallas1 2 months ago

It's amazing how these NPP political insects always seem to lose their sense of reasoning when the law is applied against them. They, however, feel OK when the same is applied against their political opponents. In fact, I can ...

• Achakanapaya 2 months ago

She should stop wasting our time.
    Tokornu is gone forever and ever Amen.
    The Law is still the Law and the Law.
    By the way eny idiot can go to court.
    Next time when you get the chance, abuse it in the name of protecting yo ...

• Accra is dirty.com 2 months ago

ArabaTorkonoo Araba Esaba is the one who ruined her own Judicial career,"Yen tena wiase nndi awudisem saa", I don't know what he found in Akufo Ado and NPP government and became too bias the way and manner she conducted herse ...

• Another Mosi lost 2 months ago

I wonder where you got your professorship from. If a person have been removed from highest position, common sense should tell you she's not fit for purpose. She was not demoted for crying out loud. Her offenses warrant sack, ...

• Gbetia 2 months ago

Why this woman disturbing noisely unceasingly in tease as one sick of asphyxia? Calm her down with AKPLE KPLE FETRI DETSI else the colonial wig will accidental derail! Better her wipe the tears with that wig and throw for the ...

• Good Pastor 2 months ago

You did not talk, when Rawlings and his NDC shot down Valco.they have caused the city of Tema to village.

• Opi London6 2 months ago

Madam please go and rest la

• Ken 2 months ago

At times, I really do not understand the logic of some of our experts, professors and other highly educated citizens.
    Let us assume that the Chief Justice Torkornoo had resigned for one reason or the other. Are we going t ...

• Mental charter 2 months ago

Her profession is justice and her position is cj.... there's difference

• Mental charter 2 months ago

Kikikikiki...... Ghana

• KofSam 2 months ago

Certain things are obvious and does not require any further explanation. If the chief justice is fired , how can she still be retained as a justice of the Supreme Court . She has not been demoted, she has been fired . This is ...

• Zom 2 months ago

No Prof Atua

This case has been settled by the Supreme Court in other cases like Adjei Teum and Another case ,Tanko said she can’t be a Supreme Court justice
    Art 246 is about superior court justices removal and and a S ...

• Matete 2 months ago

MADAM TORKONOO IS HISTORY. WHY BRING ABOUT REINSTATEMENT. PROF. THIS NATION IS MOVING FORWARD. FIND SOMETHING BETTER TO THINK ABOUT PLEASE. THE RESETTING IN ON. AND OUR MERCIFUL LORD WILL SEE THE PRESIDENT THROUGH. AMEN

• FINISHED AS A PUBLIC SERVANT - kwabs 2 months ago

Why should Ghanaians continue to waste their time on the sacked chief justice? She is a sacked public servant and sacked for misconduct whilst in office.No chance for her to hold any other public office.She is finished as a ...

• Willie 2 months ago

So if she's challenging her removal as a justice of the supreme Court,then it's wrong to go to the high court, in my opinion. The right place is the supreme Court and not the high court. I don't know why some people use the l ...

• Okyere J. 2 months ago

The chief justice title is purely administrative job. How did one becomes a chief justice? It's by being a supreme court judge and once an adverse finding is identified with your work as a chief justice, it has bearing on you ...

• TRUST IN THE LORD 2 months ago

I see no flaws in article 146 as some legal luminaries are claiming. I am not a lawyer and don’t intend to be one though I can’t predict the future but common sense makes it clear that, she assumed the position by dint of ...

• Analyst 2 months ago

There's no gap in Article 146 at all. Don't we have brains? A CJ is a superior court judge and when dismissed for a misbehaviour, that's is it – it is finished.
    It appears some people don't understand the seriousness of a ...

• OSAFO KANTANKA 2 months ago

What kind of a Team captain would fight to Sit on the benches as a substitute player? Come on !! Madam !! Don’t Humiliate yourself to this Level.n

• Cosmos 2 months ago

All just noise. She should have known better, with a real sense of justice! The position of CJ & JSC are conjoined. Loosing one position implies losing the other. If one is removed as JSC, there's no way one can be appointed ...