President Mahama appoints Dr Ekwow Spio-Garbrah as Special Envoy for Reparations

Read Comments Comments (141)

• Truth Table 1 month ago

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

Matthew 11:28 . . .

• Karikakchar 1 month ago

I don't think we have a case for this reparations stuff. After all we caught and sold our own brothers into slavery so who should pay us again for what we already received payments

• Yerworkrom 1 month ago

I feel so sad when this matter of reparations is also being reduced to partisan politics, as if the benefits of reparative justice would be monetized and credited to the Bank account of JDM and his family. Such comments stem ...

• NAA 1 month ago

YOU DON'T GET IT, BUDDY. SIT ON YOUR ASS AND ASK FOR REPARATIONS. THE WESTERN COUNTRIES ARE NOT GOING TO GIVE YOU A PENNY BECAUSE YOU SOLD THE SLAVES TO THE WESTERN WORLD. IT WAS BUSINESS AS USUAL. IN VIEW OF THIS, MAHAMA AND ...

• FRANKIE 1 month ago

Even the Jews, of whom about six million died during the Holocaust of 1941-1945 are still talking about it and receiving sympathy and compensation just eighty years after the act. How much more continental Africa where an app ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 1 month ago

I don’t think there is any need for Reparations to Africa for The Trans Atlantic Slave Trade. It was the Africans who went to wars, defeated their own and sold them into Slavery. Europeans did not enter into our Forest vill ...

• You are supposed to be old and know better 1 month ago

Waa it only through tribal wars that Africans ended up as slaves? Go to Upper Region of Ghana, and ask indigenes there how some of their people got trafficked and ended up being sold to the Europeans. Some Hausa people from p ...

• Farming 1 month ago

Buy your catfish Juveniles from us with as little as 2 cedis per fish to start your business and also get free guidance and training to help you succeed, we also have fish feed and tanks available on sale. 0265583388
    …:; ...

• NONALIGNED 1 month ago

PLEASE THIS IS NOT A POLITICAL COMMENT! I HAVE THE SAME VIEW ON THIS REPARATIONS THING AS KARIKACHAR! OUR OWN PEOPLE FOUGHT, EACH OTHER AND CAPTURED THE WEAKER ONES AND EXCHANGED THEM FOR GUNPOWDER AND INTANGIBLES!!
    YOU AND ...

• Sly 1 month ago

This Mahama is a total joke!!! Who the hell is going to negotiate with you about this your create and loot agenda????

• Concerned Ghanaian 1 month ago

Should the reparative money be paid to the descendants of those who sold their kinsmen into slavery or to those whose descendants were sold into slavery. Unfortunately the the president of Ghana is bereft of the wisdom and in ...

• Did those who were sold not have families in Africa 1 month ago

Those who were sold, you want the World to believe that they had no family members who were left behind? What about descendants of the relatives whose family members were captured and enslaved?

• Kwaku Tee 1 month ago

I first heard of Ekow Spio -Gabrah's name as a Secretary(Minister) in the 80s when I was in secondary school..Almost 40yrs gone and he's still fighting for govt/political appointment. What's wrong with him?

• Taborrah 1 month ago

Are you that stupid, @Kwaku Tee? Even your lunatic chimpanzee Akuffo Addo has also engaged in political opportunism since the late 1970's. It was only last year (at the age of 81) that he was swept away. Tell me if Spio Garbr ...

• Kasablanka 1 month ago

please feel free to express your opinion do to call any one stupid. We are all here to get our views across.

• Opoku 1 month ago

@Taborra.A scumbag like you dare insult Nana Addo
    .What is his crime?Even you respect your useless father who didn't bring you up well.Your useless father is not even fit to polish the shoes of Nana Addo you son of a bitch. ...

• Opoku 1 month ago

Taborra,Nana Addo is a monkey like your useless father.Kwasia.

• THEY ARE GOING TO PUT HIM ON ARTICLE 71 PAY WITH FAT SALARY, FREE CARS, FREE FUEL, FREE HOUSE, FREE WATER AND ELECTRIC, ETC ETC ... 1 month ago

MEANWHILE, HE IS GOING TO BRING IN ZERO REPARATION MONEY FROM NOWHERE!

3NKWASIAFOUR, WAS IT NOT YOUR ANCESTORS WHONCONNIVED WITH THE WHITE MAN TO ENSLAVE YOUR FELLOW AFRICANS??? WHAT MAKES YOU THINK YOU DESERVE REPARATION? ...

• Joe 1 month ago

Be careful Dr. Spio at the end you are not charge for coursing financial lost to the state.
    This is not going no where.

• Menz 1 month ago

Remember to take it first from Arabs who forcefully made slaves out of Africans. They caused more harm to the African in the slave trade than the white man who joined them much later only in the dying moments of the slave tra ...

• Efo Juju 1 month ago

Tweaaaaaaa! Who will pay you reparations? Trump or UK or France?

• FACT 1 month ago

MAHAMA MUST SHOW US THE LIST OF THE LIVIVG BLOOD RELATIVES WHOSE FAMILY MEMBERS WERE SOLD INTO SLAVERY.

THOSE DIRECT RELATIVES QUALIFY TO RECEIVE THE REPARATIONS.
    African Presidents must not collect the reparations and s ...

• Exactly bro. 1 month ago

Those relatives and descendants of the enslaved Africans who are due for reparations. They can surely find their relatives in Upper Regions of Ghana, Cape Coast and the then Asante. It is factual that some Cape Coast resident ...

• CRUSADER 1 month ago

THESE CREDENTIALS ARE ALL FAKE! SELF AGRANDISEMENT IN THE MAKING! CAN ANYTHING GOOD COME FROM THESE ABOTUI rawlings VARANDA BOYS?THE SAME OLD SONGS.GH ABRE!ABBA!

• Kanawu 1 month ago

This fool is not a PhD holder.
    He has an honorary doctorate from a community college that does not award PhD.

• Esi 1 month ago

Thank you

• FACT 1 month ago

IS MAHAMA GOING TO COLLECT THE MONEY AND SHARE IT AMONG THE BLOOD RELATIVES WHOSE FAMILY MEMBERS WERE SOLD INTO SLAVERY?

PRESIDENT MAHAMA SHOULD SHOW US THE LIST OF THE ELIGIBLE RECEIPIENTS.

AFRICAN PRESIDENTS CAN'T COL ...

• Kobina Ebo 1 month ago

God will PROVIDE IN THE MIGHTY NAME OF OUR LORD AND SAVIOUR JESUS CHRIST. SAY AMEN.

• Francis 1 month ago

Reparation for slavery and colonial exploitation. We were enslaved and colonized because we were fragmented and not unified. If there is any human race which should learn from its past, it is the black race. But have we learn ...

• John Quaye Quao 1 month ago

The only or one of the reasons why there is no unity in Africa is because of the so many languages and different tribes in each country in Africa

• Nsia 1 month ago

@ John....Have you ever thought about how many languages spoken in Asia or South America.?
    Our useless leaders are the problem, Abacha, Mobutu, Bokassa , Houphoet Boigny ,Ofori Atta etc all stole billions meant for infrastr ...

• Kwaseato 1 month ago

Do you know anything about Houphet Boigny to accuse him of corruption? Aponkye

• Albert 1 month ago

@John Quaye Quao. I can not agree with you more. Indeed tribalism is a major problem across Africa. We don't see ourselves as belonging to one nation. Quite often, we associate ourselves with our ethnic groups and political p ...

• Efo Juju 1 month ago

Unity for what? Do you want to unite with Mali or Niger (with their jihadists) or with Nigeria and their boko haram?

• Ozymandias 1 month ago

He is not a “ Doctor “. He has no academic doctorate degree. It was an honour given to him by a university in the USA where his brother had his studies. The GTEC should target him to also drop the DR he has added to his n ...

• Klitshcko 1 month ago

@Ozymandias gyimifuor ba! I've been expecting you (a moronic imbecile) to have used the same energy you're using to speak here, to tell us something about Akuffo Addo's academic qualifications. Dirty hypocrites!! You know how ...

• Kwasi 1 month ago

@Klitshcko, Nana Akufo-Addo is still alive, why don’t you take up the matter yourself, since it is of much concern to you?

• Abotsi 1 month ago

Which office is this one too?

• Use the GPS go there.. 1 month ago

Create, loot and share office. At the flagstaff house where a dead goat rules the 7th lowest IQ people in the world with lost and short memory..

• Araba 1 month ago

@Use the GPS go there. As you probably know, 80% of our brain capacity is formed by the age of 2 years. A child who suffers from malnutrition cannot develop his/her full brain capacity. Unfortunately, malnutrition is rampant ...

• Joe Pap 1 month ago

Office of the Looting Brigade.

• Okatakyie 1 month ago

An inconsequential appointment!

• Peter 1 month ago

Job for the boys

• Peter 1 month ago

Spio Garbrah do sth with you life if you claim who you are. Stop just surviving on bureaucracies and institutions. Create your own.

• Esi 1 month ago

Thank you.

• Agbalagba 1 month ago

That's why we call him Ekow Spew Garbage

• Paa Mossi 1 month ago

Job for the idle old men

• Kojois 1 month ago

Job for the boys. Mahama is a confused man. This old fold can they leave and rest and stop wasting the tax payers money. The youth are there no jobs and still appointed the expired drugs.

• Moses 1 month ago

No reparation should be giving to Africa, it should go only direct slave relatives in America and the Caribbean’s . The president should find spio- Garbrah another job. Such as sanitation minister because Accra is too dir ...

• New 1 month ago

You are absolutely right. Reparations must only go to the descendants of those affected, who now reside in the Americas and the Caribbean but I highly doubt the so called white man will ever pay those reparations. The are nat ...

• FACT 1 month ago

THE TAXPAYERS MONEY SPENT ON CHASING REPARATIONS AND TAXPAYERS MONEY SPENT ON THE ENVOY FOR INTERFAITH would benefit University of Science and Technology (KNUST) and University of Mines and Technology (UMAT) in research and i ...

• Capt Adabuga 1 month ago

If this is not job for the boys then I don't know what else is

• Samabakoma 1 month ago

So this one too is going to be on government payroll?
    Job for the boys.

• FA BI YE SREW. 1 month ago

SO FINALLY, MY MAN HAS GOT SOME CRAMPS FALLING OFF THE TABLE. HMMMMM. SOMETHING FOR RETIREMENT. IF IT WERE ME, I WILL REJECT IT. I HAVE BEEN TOO LONG IN THE WILDERNESS.

• Rose 1 month ago

Mr President make you no come spend our money byhart oooo. The last year president come waste our money on some big hole you too come you want spend our money on koo minini reparations

• Selfmade UNIVERSAL 1 month ago

This president is concerned with all the stupid stuff except taking care of security in our nation

• Agbalagba 1 month ago

Tweaaa

• Horace 1 month ago

What appointment is that Mahama. This Special Envoy for Reparations is no need for the country at moment. This is how they spend money. How is this appointment going to help the Nations. This is unnecessary appointment.

• Jonny 1 month ago

What type of stupid appointment is this? Is he going to be paid? Are we sick as a nation?

• Bill Amewode 1 month ago

This is waste of money….Stupidity at most….

• Boss 1 month ago

Nonsense and stupid appointment. He is going to have staff working for him paid handsomely by the Ghanaian tax payer. This is a very stupid thing to embark on by Mahama.

• Kanawu 1 month ago

Another useless job. Who is going to pay that reparation?
    Does Ghana have a military to force western powers to pay up?

• Isaac Boamah 1 month ago

Waste of resources. Job for the boys

• Kanawu 1 month ago

Job for the boys. Anyone can come collect a paycheck.

Also which degree does this 'Dr' have? Why are we allowing people with honorary degrees to parade themselves around as Dr's?

• Kotopre 1 month ago

He's one of the most respected politicians in ndc currently and I admire him very well but the way he's been described is what baffled me. That he was 'instrumental in promoting industrialisation', and my question is, since w ...

• Ateka Ateka 1 month ago

Massa, drop the "Dr." before Ekwow's name. He is not a medical doctor. He has not EARNED a PhD or undertaken a doctorate degree from any recognized institution. EKwow cannot write a thesis for a doctorate degree.
    Too many wa ...

• Jonas 1 month ago

A useless appointment. Has any Western country agreed to pay any reparations?? He's gonna be flying back and forth to the US and Britain collecting per diem and wasting taxpayers money on first class flights with a beautiful ...

• Ananse System 1 month ago

JOB FOR THE BOYS. WE ALL KNOW THIS WILL END NO WHERE

• Spio Get Some Dignity for Yourself! 1 month ago

Spio-Gabrah, respect yourself and reject this post. It makes you look very desperate!

• The Bro Needs To Pay His Bill!! 1 month ago

Yes, like many NDC folks without "lala suli lalai' from the taxpayer they can hardly survive.

Spio needs a monthly income to pay his bills. If he is even given the post of Chief Rat-Catcher at the Flagstaff house he will ...

• Stone 1 month ago

Exciting in futility.Waste of time and money. Instead unite Africa and get rid if those colonial boarders. Any African leaders who oppose this unity should be eliminated ASAP.From Morocco to South Africa unity by force.

• Kwaku 1 month ago

Where is the ambassador at large? You too come and "chop" small. Eno bi so? Palaver finish.

• The Truth 1 month ago

Please stop referring to this guy as a Dr. He's NOT, pleeeeze
    He's a very intelligent person but has earned no Doctorate anywhere.

• Pelicles. 1 month ago

When you describe Mahama as a fool, those who think like him do not understand that. What is the meaning of "Special Envoy for Reparations"?

Who is Ekow Spio-Garbrah going to dialogue to get that money, and Mahama was desc ...

• Jack 1 month ago

You should have made him the minister for foreign affairs rather. What is this appointment?

• AmanorUSA 1 month ago

This is a nice social fight but l don’t think any money will come out of this and so this office is a waste of money. Even the African Americans now as l speak are still under the entanglement of slavery in America with no ...

• Thesis of this doctorate 1 month ago

Where can I read the thesis of his doctoral degree?

Another nkwanch3n doctor? Degree na ebu sei!

• sam 1 month ago

Complete Malarkey. Fine... Repartations then what? Does it solve all the corruption in the public service and executive? We've lost more money from cletptocratic politiicans and their ensigns than whatever reparations will pa ...

• USUS 1 month ago

What reparations? The White owes us shit. Do you want to leave all their contributions to humanity behind and return to the days of our great, great, great Grandfathers savagery, cannibalism and constant tribal wars and raid ...

• Tanko 1 month ago

Reparation?? For what purpose?? Spio Garbrah. You cant do much. Tell Ghanaians, what are you going to do for reparation. The Mahamas administration has no work for you. Thus empty replacement.

• USUS 1 month ago

It cancels out. They opened Black man's eyes to the new ways of living they brought with them. Whiteman will be very stupid to pay any reparations to Africans and even the AAs.

• Prudhomme - Mahama, you have bitten what you cannot chew 1 month ago

The call for reparations has a long and complex history in the U.S.:
    • Early Petitions (18th Century): One of the earliest recorded petitions for restitution was in 1783 by Belinda Sutton, a former slave who successfully p ...

• Kwame Angel 1 month ago

First, Spio Garbrah has expired. Second, Ghana should focus on more important issues and stop this reparation thrash. What did you do when you were left alone? Look at Ken Ofori Atta; he has inflicted more harm to Ghana than ...

• GHANABA 1 month ago

MAY THE GOOD LORD PROTECT AND GUIDE YOU YOUR NEW ROLE AS SPECIAL ENVOY FOR REPARATIONS.

• Ortsrorzor 1 1 month ago

Half bread is better than none. In his next life he should check his arrogance and pomposity, it will be good for his health

• Francis Boateng 1 month ago

This appointment is just going to waste Ghana's already limited resources since it will involve a lot of traveling and in the end nothing will be achieved. It is just to satisfy Dr Gabrah. It appears the President is con ...

• Joy 1 month ago

Spio I miss your honesty as a president. Man you deserve to lead Ghana one day. Because every one knows what you did during your time with Rawlings .

• Outlander 1 month ago

Repatriate all the home boys from Ghana ganga banging on the streets of London. Robbing and a raping and a stealing.

• Ohene 1 month ago

Job for the Boys, When the Präsident created the Office for Prophecies and Religious Affairs he send one of his Boys there, so no wonder this Office will be headed by Mr Spio-Garbra.But is Portugal, Uk or America going to ...

• Efo 1 month ago

Refer this job for the boys to Bawumia and he will shred it into pieces.It is is a foolish appointment

• Blistering Barnacles 1 month ago

Nonsense! Cor blimey! The same old recycling yet again!

Reparations for who to chop?

• Mj 1 month ago

No no no no for real?

• SAMUEL 1 month ago

Hello please I have non expired data bundle for sale for all networks
    10GB-30GHS
    20GB-40GHS
    30GB-50GHS
    37GB-60GHS
    CALL/TEXT 0503256521

• Mj 1 month ago

All the Honda cars in town are reparation money hahaha

• Spio-Gabrah have some value for yourself!! 1 month ago

Please Spio-Gabrah respect yourself. Enfata wo! For this one di3 you should have even asked for the Ambassador of Togo!

• Kofi Adams 1 month ago

Job for the boys and nothing else .Who's going to repair what? Even if the Wester world is to give the continent (Africa) everything in their banks can that alone solve your problems? You have brains in your skulls, think and ...

• Bole 1 month ago

Nonesense

• Kwame 1 month ago

Our gold, diamond, timber, oil and could not help us as a nation but some small reparations will do? I now know that foolishness is endemic in Ghana.

• Kracky Jones 1 month ago

What a stupid idea from a good person
    You had independence since 1957(divorce)
    China and most Asia countries were worst off than Ghana

• WHAT REPARATIONS MR PRESIDENT-Kwabena ohemeng,london 1 month ago

What reparations, Mr President? What Africa needs most is prosperity for its citizens.The emphasis should be on african leaders working hard to achieve this objective.for their citizens.

• Cee Major 1 month ago

Spio Garbah deserves a better appointment than this. He should have been Foreign Minister.

• WATCHMAN 1 month ago

The UK parliament has already voted that they will not reparate money to all their previous colonies. So I do not see the relevance of appointing a Special Reparation envoy.

• Jim 1 month ago

This is a damn useless waste of money and resources. Which organization or country is going to entertain this reparation stuff. Shame on Mahama. Your administration cannot even fight galamsey with all the resources at your di ...

• Star Nation 1 month ago

The president is creating jobs for the boys.
    What is the minister of culture, or of trade, or of chieftaincy and religous affairs doing? Have all gone missing? Interesting times ahead of us. President do little.

• La Pleasure man 1 month ago

Reparations my ass..
    So the European/American taxpayers will have to pay for something that happened long before they were born..
    That includes that all the Africans living and working in Europe or US will have to pay too.. ...

• Senanau 1 month ago

So these people can only survive on elf government work? And claim to be self made

• Wise Man. 1 month ago

Mr President, This is dam Doom appointment because no Western Country will pay a dollar to any Africa Country so is better to stop this appointment and save Ghana money because it will be waste but if you want to give free mo ...

• Koppong 1 month ago

So at this age you still want Ghana to feed you
    Shame

• GHANABA KWAKU 1 month ago

Then he is the reparations minister, his deputies will be soon announced, including 'reparations workers'.Eiii, Ghana paaa. We should be serious as a country oo.
    Unnecessary appointments nkoaaa. Is he going to be paid? If y ...

• AMARIYA 1 month ago

WHAT REPARATION?

Couldn't you guys of NDC hierachy give this experienced man a more meaning position?
    When was slavery abolished? None of the beneficiaries of the Trans-Atlantic slave Trade would commit money for reparat ...

• Justrac Africa LTD 1 month ago

Website could help you get more customers and look more professional. At Justrac Africa we build clean, quality websites for small businesses like yours. Cost:1,500Gh. Domain, hosting & designing. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 Is ...

• Obentaa 1 month ago

Spew-Garbage
    Pathetic!
    Just jobs for the boys.
    What is the purpose of the Minister of Foreign Bribes, Ablakwah?

• Kasongo 1 month ago

Nothing but job for the boys. Ain't no way sons of slave masters gon pay any dime for some reparations.

• Joe 1 month ago

Mahama forgot Spio when he was given position in the government so now he has to find something for him,So nice Special Envoy for Reparations . Reparations from who?.We been asking for a seat in UN Security Council for over 3 ...

• UK boy 1 month ago

Eiiiiiiiiiii everyday appointment, Ghana resources

• Kwesi 1 month ago

Mahama please stop irritating us. Not long ago you came with a long list of people who you have appointed as deputy Ambassadors and now it is Spio-Garbrah's turn. Meanwhile, you promised to run a lean Government. Please do no ...

• Kofi BA 1 month ago

President Mahama has decided to share the nation's scanty resources among these old NDC folks who have fed fat on the nation throughout their adult lives. Who will give Ghana that reparation? Nkwasias3m nkoaa. So how many min ...

• Kofi K. 1 month ago

Job for the Boys

• Hannan 1 month ago

~~ Hot girls are waiting for you on -- Sex24.fun

• Tweaa 1 month ago

Please retire so that others will get the opportunity for a pay check too , there are too many young sharp minds out there too 3y3, ko na obi mmera

• B. ANSAH 1 month ago

Just get serious and develop your country and stop these baby mentality......
    Nobody talks about slavery anymore.....
    It's past and gone

• APALA 1 month ago

Reparations from who?

• Kojo 1 month ago

Job for the boys. This is one of the most useless positions ever created that will yield zero benefits to taxpayers. It's like, let me creat a position for you because I haven't given you any role since I took power. Once aga ...

• Lya 1 month ago

Eii I can only wish him well. The World has moved on .Will we even use this reparations judiciously granted we are given.

• Stone 1 month ago

We sold our own and because of mismanagement of our governments we are going in droves be slaved plus they giving us loans and grants to help plus heavy investments. So what else does the black man wants. They still taking ou ...

• Honourable9 1 month ago

Useless appointment

• Kwame panin 1 month ago

useless appointment
    Let us be serious!!!

• Ghabay NY. 1 month ago

Is Mahama serious at all?What the hell is that?Is Spio Garbrah going to get paid every month with tax payers money?And where is the 24hour economy?I think 90% of Ghanaians are very dumb and don't know shit,else they won't vot ...

• Ghabay NY. 1 month ago

Envoy for prophecies and now envoy for reparations?What a joke?

• Naa Adorkor 1 month ago

This reminds me of the exploits related to ecumenical issues.

• Kwame 1 month ago

fools will always be fools! the land is full of idiots!

• kk 1 month ago

this is almost stupid.

• cudjoe amuashie 1 month ago

about time
    Long overdue
    He would make a fine Foreign Secretary.
    One of the few credible guys in NDC.

• SANTROFIE 1 month ago

JOB FOR THE BOYS!

• JOE LAZRUS 1 month ago

Believe me, very soon Mahama will appoint a SPECIAL ENVOY FOR FUNERALS.
    Believe me, this is going to happen.

• Joe Pap 1 month ago

GTEC accepted Dr.?

• Soa 1 month ago

We have to continuously be grateful to the Europeans & Americans for accepting Africans in their soil. I don't think Africans or Ghana deserve reparations. Some people who are in Europe and America would today would be useles ...

• Ex-S/Sgt Haruna Iddrisu 1 month ago

Is Spio-Garbrah still calling himself 'doctor'after admitting when challenged by Koku Anyidoho that his 'doctorates is an honorary one?GTEC,Please take action.

• Kofi Kakraba 1 month ago

Is the appelation "Dr" honorary or rooted in 3+academic exercise.?

• Tweaaa 1 month ago

This man dey taya. With every passing day he fades more and more into irrelevance

• Paul 1 month ago

The should appoint the new generation not old generation. The country can only move forward with minds