Mahama seeks to buy 4 helicopters, 2 presidential jets at GH¢13.1 billion – Abu Jinapor alleges

Read Comments Comments (81)

• Jim 3 weeks ago

Ghana doesn't need all these. For what?

• Reap what you sow 3 weeks ago

Doesn't this guy understand that his opinion is not necessary ? Where was he during the 8 years Akofu Addo rule in Ghana. Ghanaian have not forgotten what he and his Akufo Addo family and friends did to destroy Ghanas economy

• GOOD FOR GHANA. NPP TIME, THAT AMOUNT X 10 WENT INTO YOU PEOPLE'S POCKETS. YOU BOUGHT HOUSES, CARS, TRIPS, ETC FOR YOURSELVES, YOUR WIVES AND KIDS. YOU PEOPLE STOLE HUNDREDS OF BILLIONS FROM THIS COUNTRY IN 8 YEARS 3 weeks ago

IF YOU NPP PEOPLE HAD LEFT THAT MONEY IN THE NATION'S COFFERS, MAKING THIS PURCHASE IS NOTHING

• IT IS ITCHING YOU THAT THE COUNTRY'S MONEY IS BEING USED FOR THE COUNTRY. WHEN YOU AND YOUR NPP FOLKS WERE POURING TEN TIMES THAT AMOUNT INTO YOUR BANK ACCOUNTS DE333R YOU KEPT QUIET LIKE A TOMBSTONE. 3 weeks ago

NOW THAT TAX' PAYERS' MONIES ARE BEING USED FOR THE COUNTRY YOU WEAR COAT TO COME AND DO EXPOSE. ONE BULLET IN YOUR HEAD IS WHAT YOU NEED TO RESET TO FACTORY SETTINGS. EMPTY FART.

• prophet mohammed was a sick dog 3 weeks ago

Allah is satanic scum and qur'an is toilet paper..........Search online for ways to move away from evil islam. You can join ex-muslim groups online and be safe......you ...

• Allah is the greatest 3 weeks ago

May Allah guide you, else you will regret it one day

• A Ghanaian. 3 weeks ago

Go arrest all looters and stop fooling

• Gblie 3 weeks ago

Is this man a human being

• EFO KOKU. 3 weeks ago

24HR ECONOMY
    What did Akuffo Addo that we don’t know?

• Kokroko 3 weeks ago

Abu Jinapor is either a liar or simply dumb. I listened to his submission in Parliament, on the subject, and I really felt ashamed for him.
    He was quoting figures in both cedis and dollars, and mixing it all up. He either di ...

• Kanawu 2 weeks ago

He is definitely both - Dumb and a liar. PERIOD!!!!!!

• Paa Kwasi Sackey 3 weeks ago

Who actually released these Jinapors on us, one making noises with people calling themselves PhDs and another increasing our electric bills and this mouthy who also shouting out. Who are they. Aaaah so with all these plane cr ...

• xxxx 3 weeks ago

see this small boy corrupt thief ranting

• Emmanuel 3 weeks ago

Is the economy healthy now?

• MAKE MONEY WITH THIS SKILL & CHANGE YOUR LIFE - START WITH THIS NOW!!! 3 weeks ago

Have you given up on 2025 already? There's still what you can do to change things; Take a bet on yourself now by investing into your future before the end of 2025!.Where capital for business could stop you, a skill you learn ...

• Adzei 3 weeks ago

Has he visited our hospitals? Misplaced politics.

• Pelicles. 3 weeks ago

Two presidential jets for what?

• Nana 3 weeks ago

So the future govts wouldn't spent time on such necessities

• Innaxxio 3 weeks ago

For your mother

• A Ghanaian. 3 weeks ago

One Maham and the other fir Naaba Jane

• Lopez 3 weeks ago

Has Mahama and his Ndc liars made every Ghanaian rich enough for the government all of a sudden found money to purchase six aircraft for the country. Where is Okudzeto Ablakwa who always talks about profiglacy lifestyle of Np ...

• Kokroko 3 weeks ago

Nonsense!
    Was every Ghanaian rich when that your midget was wasting our money having showers in the sky?

• FAG 3 weeks ago

So every government should continue that way. The past government failed the people so the current one should do the same. Where are we heading to? Hmmmmmmm Ghana.

• Adzei 3 weeks ago

KOKROKO aboa. Must we continue to make mistakes with your stupid EQUALIZATION arguments!

• Kojo Menkah, Bremen. Germany 3 weeks ago

Please read the budget for yourself and comment on what you read not a write up.

• Controversial Bill 3 weeks ago

Am surprised Ghanaweb published this news, Ghanaweb knew very well that when the former minister was asked to substantiate what he said he couldn’t . I Must be sure before l comment on any story you guys publish.

• Stop Mahama from buying toys now. 3 weeks ago

Fight Galamsey and stop the buyng spree.
    Oh Oman Ghana, you are bleeding.

• kelewele 3 weeks ago

That's too much for two presidential jets and four helicopters. In US Dollars that's roughly $1.2 billion. How is the government going to come up with this money?

• Mohammed Abdallah (northern region precisely YENDI) 3 weeks ago

The embezzlement of taxpayers' money is unacceptable. At this critical time, with high unemployment rates, how can the government justify spending such an amount when citizens are suffering and can't even afford a meal each d ...

• Nana 3 weeks ago

A typical presidential jet, the IL 96 M cost $46 million dollars, the Concorde cost $406 million dollars. It depends on what kind of presidential jet we want to buy, and the safety mechanism and the hospitality in its place. ...

• Adepa 3 weeks ago

Pls fix the county poor roads for the people who voted for you than group of people to benefit presidential jets and helicopters. Let’s think about development of the country first, than these helicopters and presidential j ...

• Citizens first 3 weeks ago

They can't buy 4 helicopters and 2 presidential planes while still shs are running in shifts, difficult to pay workers,bad roads that are everyday killings fellow citizens,dumsor in the corner,hey beautiful mahatma and his nd ...

• NANA TRUMU TRUMU ADDO 3 weeks ago

YES WE SHOULD BUY THEM AND NPP CANNOT DO FOKO

• Sultan 3 weeks ago

This Abu guy....no nothing quoting dollars on the floor of the house to make a point where the figure was in cedis....just trying to mislead and make propaganda of serious issues....dumb ass

• Kokroko 3 weeks ago

Don't mind the the disgraceful idiot.

• Reubens 3 weeks ago

Ghanaweb,we watched the proceeding in parliament.Abu Jinapor could substantiate his arguments, and so had to deviate into the military retooling of their strategic fleet, when infact he said that government was purchasing two ...

• Kokroko 3 weeks ago

No wonder the Majority Leader asked him where he had his primary school education.

• Redman 3 weeks ago

Ghanaweb jandam. The man said 1.2 billion dollars. The figure he argued with. But when his figure was questioned, he mentioned 13.1billion. No one knows where he is getting his figures because it is not in the 2026 budget....

• Afetor Kwesi 3 weeks ago

His news conference was disingenuous. He said $1.2 billion for a presidential jet in parliament during his debate on the 2026 budget. He's now saying the expenditure is for 2026-2028. Even that is a lie because the line item ...

• Apraku 3 weeks ago

Listen to his submission well before commenting. He quoted the cedi rate to dollar, before coming out with that figure.

• Atiabiah 3 weeks ago

Why does this portal report something which has been expunged from the records?

• Nana 3 weeks ago

At least they are using the money to buy something tangible that would help Ghana aviation. What exactly did your govt do with billions of money gone and not traced. It wasn't a 1 helicopter but 4 and 2 presidential jets. I b ...

• YB 3 weeks ago

Do we have money now

• Rocco 3 weeks ago

No. We have just printed some secretly at the Bank of Ghana

• Pwalugu 3 weeks ago

Prof Ameyaw Akumfi the sky Train thief should be jailed. Not even a Train window to show. It was a complete photoshop sky train

• Michael Linton 3 weeks ago

I’m surprised Jinapor talks as if he’s from space we were in this country when the most incompetent president ever in our history Akufo Addo was chattering private jets and was bathing in the sky with Serwa Broni. Didn’ ...

• Koo Boire 3 weeks ago

It is not clear where the helicopters will go but I believe we shall have good uses for them. To buy 2 more presidential jets in addition to the present one I think is unwise. Mr president I think your love for buying aircraf ...

• Innaxxio 3 weeks ago

@Koo Boire/ Wo hó kankaen proper, proper! Was it your mother who confirmed the details to you, or your father? Stupid fool

• Free Radical 3 weeks ago

Our financial coffers have become NDC gold mines mining our money to fill their pockets.This is new creat loot and share.

• Rocco 3 weeks ago

The financial coffers for you and who? Dirty dog! Have you seen anybody stupidly digging an empty hole with Ghanaian money anywhere

• AyyBeeCee 3 weeks ago

Make your point but don't recite that poem - 'teachers etc etc are suffering' - because you didn't recite it in your eight years when teachers etc etc were extremely suffering.

• Yiadom 3 weeks ago

According to Ato Forson, the economic minister $31billion was unaccounted for, gone missing and now former economic minister has run away, the should get him arrested and take the huge amount of money from him to buy these ne ...

• Achakanapaya 3 weeks ago

You see the hypocrites crying, pretending to love Ghana tweeaa.
    Where was this idiot when the npp went to purchase unfit for purpose helicopter's for the Ghana police, the Law of coursing financial lost to the state must be ...

• Yanks 3 weeks ago

Shame on you Abu Jinapor. You messTd up the country whe you had the chance to govern. I wish a strong man like ibrahim Traore could come and probe all politicians from 1992 and we'll find who would be found to be cleaned from ...

• Kojois 3 weeks ago

Let them buy them becos ghanaians are fools.

• Niiblue 3 weeks ago

Hope for the state and NOT individual like NPP

• Akajatayogogo 3 weeks ago

If we will buy them, we should buy NEW ONES and not second hands. So we buy NEW ONES.

• Site 3 weeks ago

Whatsapp me if you need a social media expert to help you market your products, business or services this December....I have amazing packages available.I also design all types of websites: www.spotlightafricamedia.net / 02442 ...

• Kofi Ghanaba 3 weeks ago

Dem say ibe 24 Our Ecomini.We all remember the 5 million dollar bribe John Dramani Mahama got from the other Ghana Armed Forces aircraft deal.I believe history will repeat itself.Eyer zu eyer za.Emefa miao miao.

• John 3 weeks ago

Why is this even a debate? Upon all what we have seen when even Ayew Afreyie a brother to Omane Boamah said President Mahama should never fly on the old jet. When it’s obvious our military needs jet? The Abu Janipor is sick

• MO KWAME NKRUMAH NO 3 weeks ago

Just shut up there, Daughter of a murderer proclaimer!

• Obroniba 3 weeks ago

You Abu Jinapor should know better and stop spewing utterly stupid words including some of you foolish politicians. This same helicopters and aircraft is what ferries you around. One common sense you forget is that, these mac ...

• Moses 3 weeks ago

Ghanaweb shouldn't be reporting false claims..what he said on the floor of parliament was expunged completely from the records for being inaccurate so Ghanaweb going ahead to publish that inaccurate statement without the corr ...

• Sense 3 weeks ago

Ghanaweb is publishing falsehoods, Jinapo was seen at parliament lying how can government buy two presidential jets at same time?, The npp is heavily wounded and they try think lying to the public will help them

• Jonathan 3 weeks ago

NDC is too hypocrite.

• Bk man 3 weeks ago

Another criminal!

• Nyameasem Nyasasem 3 weeks ago

Anybody who calls himself/herself a Ghanaian and yet kicking against retooling our Armed forces, is but a criminal saboteur.
    Or, he/ she may probably having issues with his brain.
    Why? At this era where armed gangs are i ...

• Paul 3 weeks ago

Nonsense. The fact that opposition must oppose does not mean opposing common sense.

Your party chose large government, mismanagement and stealing over the wellbeing of citizens.

After all the planes are for Ghana not ...

• Nyameasem Nyasasem 3 weeks ago

We Ghanaians regard our country as a great nation in West Africa, second only to Nigeria both in population and economic and yet all the small countries around us have their Armed Forces far more equipped than us. In terms o ...

• Kwaku 3 weeks ago

Two presidential jets ????? This guy ABU is insane , how does this makes sense ?? This man is cluless lieing bastard

• Martin Kreisler 3 weeks ago

The purchase of the aircraft is not a misplaced priority; it is long overdue. With the deteriorating security situation in the West African Sub Region, it is common sense to mordenise our security forces, which includes the A ...

• ALLERGIC TO NDC 3 weeks ago

Anytime my allergy to NDC wants to wane, it suddenly increases irreversibly. NDC does nothing to alleviate the plight of the poor but only focuses on procurements and infrastructure. What pro-poor policy will the NDC ever imp ...

• Erik 3 weeks ago

Wasn't this dis honourable mp in Ghana when the chimp faced president was flying in luxury private jet with Serwaa Broni in Ghana. Is the aircrafts you're complaining of be the property of the JM or the state of Ghana.

• KKK 3 weeks ago

How many presidents do we have at any point in time to warrant two presidential jets? Ghana can't afford two presidential jets while we have one president and his Veep. If president travels, Veep is there and vice versa so wh ...

• Kwame panin 3 weeks ago

useless government. Failure in the galamsey fight. Liars and sycophants on parade

• Rekado 3 weeks ago

So now d debate has turns into lies how can we buy presidential jet at 1.2billiin usd. Very sad npp has turn Tobe party to liers.

• Kojo Menkah, Bremen. Germany 3 weeks ago

When he ashamedly knew he was peddling falsehood and blatant lies but was loud hmmmm. When it suits you you mentioned the cost in Kuffour cedis, but we are using ghana cedis ever since. Npp specialises in lies and can not dis ...

• Lekumorente 3 weeks ago

Mahama the useless thief and bribe man wants another bribe money from the manufacturers of these Aircraft Carriers just like he did with Airbus. Stealing is in his DNA

• This is Coruption 3 weeks ago

Madness. when we have record unemployment. This is Madness

• Nii Fio Shamo 3 weeks ago

The headline is absolutely misleading. The State is the entity buying, not President Mahama using his own money. Ghanaweb trying to sway public opinion to cause disaffection.

• Kanawu 2 weeks ago

It saddens me when men who are supposedly educated and know better display gross ignorance in the name of politics.