Appoint new EC boss – GBA tells Mahama

Read Comments Comments (39)

• WOW!! 9 years ago

LEAVE THE PREZ. ALONE!!!

• Sethoo 9 years ago

Hahahaaa you're afraid John Mahama will appoint the wrong person bcos all his appointees are incompetent.List them Vicky Hammah,Lauretta Lamptey,Afriyie Ankrah,Kojo Adu-Asare etc

• EKOW 9 years ago

is it not this same man ? who was in charge when Npp won two eletions in Ghana?so because Nana Addo lost and went to court we should change the man,,what kind of thinking is this?

• Ghfuo: hang nyantakyi! 9 years ago

I nominate emile short to be examined and approved upon by parliament and the political parties. Djan was appointed and ordained by the ndc..so don't be surprised as to why he favojrs ndc

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

The proposals put forward by IEA for constitutional reforms are the best possible ways of strengthening our democracy. Anybody criticizing or unwilling to accept them must have some myopic and self-serving agendas that are no ...

• Mahmoud 9 years ago

I sincerely believe that Mr. Stephen Amoah went too far in his prediction that there would be suicide bombings if Mahama won the next elections. It is the right and duty of the opposition to point out the failings and excesse ...

• Ghanaian 9 years ago

In any true democracy, the President would have replaced the EC Chair long ago, but it seems he is being kept to do their bidding for them (the Government of the day).

Mr President, please listen to the voices of reason.

• apaska 9 years ago

If the President always have the mandate to choose an EC boss there will never be a level playing ground.It is going to be the same old story of satisfying the 'boss' who selected and elevated him.

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

Time to yank that dubious character from that noble seat. He's been a crook since he was born. Enough of his dubious electoral skirmishes. He and Atuguba are the cause of the problems Ghanaians are going through.

• Kojo Ghana 9 years ago

so call lawyers. fools they are with this logic. Present EC boss has what it takes to continue his good job.

• JMP 9 years ago

It has always been very clear that the GBA is NPP dominated/controlled right from the Nii Osae Mills sacking. So because the GBA Political party/NPP did not win, they should change Afari Djan? Lawyers my foot!!!

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

Double as lawyers for the party; many of these same individuals are members of the Judiciary Council,and thus pull strings,and exert undue influence within the judiciary! Little wonder then that they and their friends at the ...

• DR KUFFOUR 9 years ago

StarrFM.com, what is wrong with the present boss? Who are The GBA to tell Ghana what to do? By the way, is it really The GBA or NPP Lawyers making the noise?

• Jon K. 9 years ago

Dr Kuffour, the IDIOT Afari Djan is at the retirement age for christ's sake.

• kay 9 years ago

I will be last to reject any proposals from GBA but I wondering if the problem at 2012 election is capacity of the EC or the porous electorial system which was unfortunately institutionalised by bad LI? If the present system ...

• Okando 9 years ago

Why not the GBA appoint somebody they think can do the job for them.

• Concerned 9 years ago

Kojo I guess you are the BIG FOOL with your very poor english

• Concerned 9 years ago

Well I don't have any copyright over the name concerned but it will be nice for people to know you are not me. I agree with your comments on this occasion though

• Paa Kwesi Thomas USA 9 years ago

There should be elections to elect the chairman of the Electoral Commission. If the President appoints any person, we shall face the same problems. How can one deny someone who appointed him to a position? How can I kill my p ...

• Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 9 years ago

Mahama is a thief. All his appointed ministers are thieves including Okudzeto Ablakwa, Vicky Hamma, Kwaddwo Adu Asare, Ben kumbour, Woyome etc. How about Gyeeda Sada, Subah, AAL etc. The man is a thief. Kick him out.

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

EXPERIENCE MEANS NOTHING TO THESE BUNCH OF NO USE LAWYERS. OR THEY WANT HIS JOB? AFARI-GYAN HAS RUN FIVE ELECTIONS SUCCESSFULLY. THE TWO SONTESTED ONES ARE THOSE NPP LOST. THEY WERE SATISFIED WITH THE TWO WINNING RESULTS OF ...

• Kwabena 9 years ago

I guess this useless, bribe-taking, wig-wearing dunderhead, but 'learned' Ghanaian idiots always listen to themselves when they speak?

I am not a supporter of this failed president of Ghana but is the GBA sure that they wi ...

• Matter 9 years ago

They want Mahama to appoint a new ec boss so that if they loose again, (which is eminent)they can run to the supreme court again. Leave Mahama alone and go ahead with your own appointment.

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

This man has long passed his expiry date and lurking around and deciding who rules this country.

• Ozymandias 9 years ago

The EC's credibility is intact except for the NPP and it's surrogates

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Akufo Addo is addicted to failure

• KOFI BABONE 9 years ago

The new EC should not be a lawyer. I think Afari Djan meets all the qualities enumerated by the GBA but age is not on his side. Whoever is appointed should never be a lawyer. They are not reliable.

• MKB 9 years ago

They call themselves learned. Lawyers who argue blindly don't deserve to be on the BAR.The EC boss's term of office will expire before 2016 and the Perez will surely nominate for approval so why the rush now?You people only f ...

• Ernest 9 years ago

Hahaha..... Prez who was accused of collaborating with the current EC boss Afari Djan of rigging 2012 should appoint a new EC boss, coming from GBA, a pro opposition group? Have they forgotten about the constitutional positi ...

• Abbey 9 years ago

The GBA could as well ask the President to appoint a new Chief Justice!.Georgina Wood is corrupt to the core for accepting & paying for part of the looted lands by Kuffour & his government!.

• OKO 9 years ago

The president should go for a young person of about 30 yrs so that the person will last for about 1000 yrs without change just like the chief justice who is likely to be there for 100 more yrs. That will make it one- one to b ...

• HONESTY 9 years ago

Out of the 5 elections supervised by Afari Gyan, the NPP, the favoured party of the GBA won 2 of them. The GBA and power hungry and rejected Akufo Addo saw nothing wrong with them. I am surprised that the GBA is claiming to h ...

• Mm 9 years ago

Me I think em go put chart down go universtities den shs etc to improve the education system,tht will be very meaningful but Chale we nor well

• Fernando 9 years ago

GBA should shut up. We all know the party they affiliate with.Nobody is fooled.Indeed nobody!!!!.

• Hajj Hafiz Zakaria 9 years ago

I don't understand GBA/NPP.who was chairman at etc.and who declare kufour a WINNER ohhh GBA u are bogous layers.vampires GBA/NPP

• Ghanaian Voter 9 years ago

It does not occur to Mahama that it would be prudent to appoint a new Electoral Commissioner sooner than later, to give the appointee enough time to prepare before the next elections. But, No, not Mahama! He is probably waiti ...

• oor 9 years ago

This guy should have resigned long ago

• TEE 9 years ago

MAHAMA THE THIEF

• TEE 9 years ago

OUR STATE FUNDS PERIOD