I was selected because I am a Muslim – Dr Bawumia

Read Comments Comments (75)

• Yaw Poku, USA 9 years ago

This is an NDC propaganda and it will sell. Shame on NDC

• Kojo T 9 years ago

Nana is divisive and is not competent.I have called them twiddle dee twiddle dum Bawuia isnot competent and you can see it from his comments Has he ever proferred solutions

• TIJANI 9 years ago

knowledge + wisdom what a great man. I have changed my mind. npp all the way.

• NANA 9 years ago

Hahahaaa intelligent moslem Allah bless,you refused to be provoked.A man may choose a woman bcos of her beauty but it may turn out that she has more than the beauty,which may be intelligence,hardwork etc

• champion 9 years ago

If leaders are chosen based on religion rather tha competency then Ghana is a big trouble. We need competent people to lead Ghana.

• bex 9 years ago

Please, for goodness and peace sake, let's leave Muslim and Christian out of this.

I thought he was smart that was why he was chosen. His comments make him a dumb asshole.

• Nii Nortey (New York) 9 years ago

Its a shame to Bawumia to introduce religion into Ghana politics. Let Ghanaians be careful of wolfs in sheep's skin

• CITIZEN ONE 9 years ago

I have read all the comments, and like a typical Ghanaian you all think alike and very shortsightedly.

The man is right, he was a strategic choice for political and campaign expediency, when Atta Mills had Mahama to boost ...

• Rasfii 9 years ago

You dummy fool that found your self in usa.what is ndc here, there is more than this to come before 2016.remember the damage Akufo addo and his people cause them selves before 2012 election.its not their will to say this kind ...

You damn dimwit nincompoop with pig brain what do you know nothing. You don't even make sense in your submission you posted. Get lost fool. Why don't you just get a copy of his speech transcript to know whether he made such a ...

• Kwadwo 9 years ago

I am glad he was chosen because of his religion.

• HANSON 9 years ago

Why did you say that. So many factors are considered before picking a running mate.
    Not just religion

• Citizen 9 years ago

Go back to the root of the Ghanaian politics and you`d read the right way. Rawlings never selected a northerner simply because he knew he could steal the two elections he won without any sort of fears. Some people who stood a ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 9 years ago

Who said this?

Ken

• odikro 9 years ago

Whatever u do people will talk about it.

Gh

• OBSERVER 9 years ago

Those condemning Dr Bawumia should think of the positive side of his selection. Should we have Christian domination or religious integration in our body politics?

• Bro J. 9 years ago

This is dangerous for our future as a nation. Let's learn from the countries that gave such platforms and the price they are paying for their mistake. Ghana, next on that agenda. Voters be advised. We need solutions not reli ...

• Mugu Yaro 9 years ago

A very stupid article. How can you quote Bawumia as saying that he was selected partly because he is moslem and then interprete it to mean that he said it wss selected mainly because he is moslem. What jaundiced English. By ...

• ?@G 9 years ago

Wrong,wrong,wrong, NPP/NDC must stop this ridiculous practice.

• Ibn Batuta 9 years ago

This article is so amateurish and childish it insults the intelligence of the average reader. Little wonder the country lurches from inertia to chaos.

• ACCRAMAN 9 years ago

Give the guy a break, he spoke the truth. He said, he was "partly" selected because he is a muslim. He did not say that, he was selected "mainly" because he is a muslim. See the difference.

We all know that is the truth bu ...

• ERIC K. 9 years ago

This same NDC people since 1992 has made Ghanaians believe that NPP is anti muslim,northners,ewes,etc. Now look at the new twist. COMPLETE NONSENSE!

• MAB 9 years ago

Face the facts, its about Bawumia saying he was selected because he is a moslem. Has this got anything to do with NDC? Who forced him to saying that?
    Interesting to see people who have being in the political landscape for ti ...

• John 9 years ago

Picking one tribe against another may help you win power but you would never be successful to bring a change.Discerning Ghanaians are beginning to see this trick started by JJ/NDC.It won't work this time around.

• anne 9 years ago

He was selected because he was the best person for the job. This is Ghanaians for you he doesn't know how to sell himself to win confidence and resorted to religion.

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

A Catholic nun was sitting on a train opposite a
    Muslim man wearing a turban, who was eating fresh shrimp.

Every time he ate one, he spat the tail in her
    direction, requiring her to deflect it.

He finished the box and ...

• John Mahama 9 years ago

There is nothing wrong if Dr Bawumia states that part of the reason why he was chosen by Nana is because he is a muslim.
    The consideration has always been to have a south -north ticket . Therefore we saw Prof Mills selectio ...

• TEE 9 years ago

MAHAMA SAID THE SAME THING " I AM ONE OF YOU " SO WHAT NOW USE TO IT

• concer 9 years ago

Hahahaha,,,u see hypocrisy. though I don't support tribal or religious politics, when Mahama said that northerners should vote for him because he's one of them, he was severely and severally condemned in no certain terms sp ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 9 years ago

WHICH ONE IS MORE DANGEROUS? ETHNICITY OR RELIGION.

• Truth Stands 9 years ago

These people want power at all cost.Now after creating problems in the north the NPP now wants to play the religious card - a divisive tactics. Ghanaians will reject you people again

• Kofi ATL ,GA 9 years ago

The emphasis is on the word partly,dude.

• TEE 9 years ago

I DON'T THINK BAWUMIA THOUGHT OF IT WELL, IT WAS A SLIP OF TOUNG PERIOD

• Kwame 9 years ago

We know that Bawumia is more competent than Mahama and Amisa Arthur put together.

• Pumpuni 9 years ago

"...selected partly because I am a Muslim..."

• Joe 9 years ago

How can a Christian and Moslem combination be described as divisive in our politics??? These idiots in foreign lands don't even know what is happening in ghana.NDC propaganda is so myopic that they don't even know our constit ...

• Alhaji M0r0 9 years ago

I SIMPLY HATE NDC BECAUSE 0F THESE S0RT 0F LIES.THE 0NE WH0 WR0TE THIS SH0ULD BE ASHAMED 0F HIMSELF.HE IS SH0WING THE CALIBER 0F PE0PLE HIS PARENTS ARE .HE SH0ULD KN0W THAT HE IS INVITING CURSES T0 HIMSELF AND HIS FAMILY MEMB ...

• Citizen 9 years ago

This has been his stock in trade in politics. It was to counter this kind of divisive politicking that compelled John Mahama to ask the people of Walewale where Bawumia is from to vote for him because he was also one of their ...

• Elijah 9 years ago

Does this surprise anyone? Nana Akufo-Addo's entire political style is based on divisiveness, intimidation, lies and self-aggrandizements. He has succeeded in driving a wedge between the Akyem and Ashanti factions of NPP and ...

• KING LOMOTEY 9 years ago

Well said Elijah.
    We want a leader who doesn't flaunt his/her ethnicity, religious beliefs, and socio-economic status.

Shows his party lacks vision.

Muslims are not stupid; they won't vote for you, just because you cl ...

• BURA 9 years ago

i now understand why NDC government is causing a mess in the economy.They don't even understand the word 'PARTLY'.

• Tima 9 years ago

What do you think the Nasara Campaign started by the Late Aliu Mahama was all about.

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 9 years ago

DEAR HON. NPP VICE PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE FOR 2016 DR. BAWUMIA,

TO RESPECTFULLY AND HUMBLY COMMENT ON THE ABOVE RELATED GHANAWEB.COM PUBLICATION HEADLINE "I WAS SELECTED BECAUSE I AM A MUSLIM--DR. BAWUMIA" AND TO HUMBLY SU ...

• Half Cast, New York 9 years ago

If Bawumia is a moslem and so what ? Look what moslems are beheading innocent people, bombing aeroplanes, buses with innocent people on board. Has Bawumia ever stood up and condemned this atrocities perpetrated by his people ...

• lagfor 9 years ago

i beg to differ bawumia,
    you were selected because the kanbonga people want to use you. they pitch you against a fellow northerner and you are happy. you can never be made flag bearer in an akan dominated and ashanti oriente ...

• ISSA ABONGO 9 years ago

THIS NDC RADIO IN LONDON IS LYING AGAIN. WE SHALL REPORT THEM TO THE PRESS COMPLAINTS COMMISSION IN LONDON ABOUT THEIR LIES. THIS IS NOT GHANA, WHERE MEDIA ORGANISATIONS CAN LIE WITH INMPUNITY AND GET AWAY WITH IT. WE ARE LIS ...

• Afua 9 years ago

Wait and watch nana and bawumia bring Boko haram and IS to invade Ghana

• kwaku 9 years ago

You people should leave dr. Bawumia alone. Bcos if he would have said something different, you guys will capitalize on that.

• Kwabena Erzoah 9 years ago

Dr Bawumia has been very FRANK as one can not lie in a place of worship. It is an accepted fact that he was and still being used as a tool to harness 'something' from the religious community he belongs to. A regret? Yes! But ...

• National Patapaa Party 9 years ago

After "yen akanfuo" now this! Ooooohhhh NPP when shall you learn that "mateme hu" ideology does not work anymore in Ghana politics????

• BABAGNA 9 years ago

I PERSONALLY THINK THAT THOSE WHO ARE CONDEMNING DR. MAHOOD BAWMIA HAVE MISUNDERSTOOD HIM COMPLETELY. HI NEVER SAID HE WAS NOMINATION BY NANA ADDO IS NOT BASED ON HIS COMPETENCE BUT OTHER FACTOR INCLUDING THE FACT THAT HI IS ...

• AKWAPIMBA,LAS PALMAS DE G.C.,SPAIN 9 years ago

-JUST START TALKING JAZZ.KEEP YOUR MOUTH SHUT.WHEN DEPTY.GOV.OF BANK GHANA NOT BECAUSE YOU WERE A MUSLIM OR ELECTED BECAUSE YOU A ....NANA SHOULD DROP YOU FOR SAYING THIS.TO RULE A NATION NOT ON TRIBAL OR RELIGION ASPECT.

• G. K. Berko 9 years ago

So, what? If that reason alone could help us avoid Boko Haram, it is good enough for us. If his ability of solving the problem with our Economy could materialize, we would take that for an icing on the cake.

We do not ne ...

• allen 9 years ago

Such a person aspiring the to be the number two man of this national

• Andrew Naija 9 years ago

Thank you for allowing mobile readers to comment. Now when will the Discussions Forum become mobile friendly like Nairaland.com? Nairaland was set up in 2005 and they have more than 1.5 million members. GhanaWeb was set up be ...

• Lorgo Ligri 9 years ago

If partly means total in your thinking then, religion equates region when you select your vice. This osibisa radio is beginning to sound and dwell on a one liner political konkonsa asem yer-paa messages.

• KOMLA AGBEVE 9 years ago

YOUR OWN ARTICLE CLEARLY SAYS THAT HE DR. BAWUMIA SAID THAT HE WAS CHOSEN "PARTLY" BECAUSE HE IS A MOSLEM. PARTLY ONLY MEANS THAT THERE ARE OTHER CONSIDERATIONS. THESE PIRATE ILLITERATE RADIO STATIONS MANNED BY HALF BAKED UNE ...

• p m 9 years ago

Sorry doc you are not de first person represent the muslems in the npp runing mate the late Aliu mahama were first to reprent de muslems but interms of our haji arrangement the late Aliu n de npp last we then know the same th ...

• Ras Nabia 9 years ago

we don't care, what we know is 2016 NPP all the way

• Nii Ogbami-Tetteh 9 years ago

So now I can go to the people of Akropong-Akwapim and ask them to vote because I am a believer of 'akonodi', then to Kumase, Mampong, Nsuta etc and say I belong to 'anton nyame'. Go to Keta, Ho, Agbozume, Dzelukorfe and prono ...

• Nana 9 years ago

Hajahahahahaa...this article is funny. Infact it makes a mockery of itself. I nearly stopped reading after the 1st paragraph. The writer should know better. Kg 2 journalism. hahahahahahjaaaa

• Kaba,kumasi 9 years ago

if your a Muslim so what, their a lot of Muslims in the world but they don't practice Islam religion. You said the same in 2008,2012 now in 2014.PLz are you a Muslim more than Alh. Aliu Mahama?RPT Hmmmmmm 'asem woho"

• Jeff, UK 9 years ago

What has religion got to do with politics. I admire you but stop making such sill statements. This is how Nigeria got itself when it is with this nonsense of sharia and the stupid boko haram

• Patriotic Ghanaian. USA. 9 years ago

Mr. Bawumia ! I know you are a man of integrity and my presumption is that ,as an aspiring Veep you'll serve all Ghanaians without fear or favor should you be elected , so pls next time be a little smart with your public st ...

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Am a Muslim n will never follow cocaine addict

• sasha 9 years ago

foolish talk............muslim my ass !!!

• JJ 9 years ago

Moslem or not, Bamuwia is far more intelligent than Mahama and any of the NDC stealers.

• kk 9 years ago

I am highly surprise about the author of this article, I do not know what he want to achieve. From paragraph three of the article it reads "I have been selected partly because I am a Muslim" Is it because the writer does not ...

• Bomb 9 years ago

What is wrong for he saying that,the president was going round telling us he is a northener so the northeners should vote him,if Bawamia said he was choosing because he is a muslem,i am a muslem I will vote for him.

• kofi temple,York.city 9 years ago

PARTLY......Common English u cant figure it out. Propaganda at its best..insteading of cmn out wif an alternative to this abysmal governance u r wasting ur breathe on trivialities... Dumso dumso is worth discussing than this ...

• kofi temple,York.city 9 years ago

Odwaen dnt follow the fools

• Jac 9 years ago

this is a very unfortunate statement

• KGD 9 years ago

To be honest Ghana is religiously mainly Christians and Moslem. So what is wrong, if he is chosen to represent Moslem when Nana Addo is a known Christian? Is that not all-inclusive gov in a making? Now how would you feel if a ...

• KING KONG,WHITE HOUSE,WASHINGTON D.C 9 years ago

I have always said dr bawumia aka dr bawushit is an idiot.for a guy who holds a doctorate degree,he talks like a child.he is so predictable...expect him always to dribble from his mouth.simply put,he is STUPID,pure and simple ...