Council of State should appoint EC Chair – VCRAC Crabbe

Read Comments Comments (51)

• Kwame 9 years ago

The Council of State does not have the power to sign a contract of employment with any Ghanaian.

• DR TRUTH 9 years ago

JUDGE CRABBE IS RIGHT. IT IS FAIR FOR ONE COMPETING NOT TO APPOINT IT OWN REFREE

• DR TRUTH 9 years ago

BREAKING NEWS! AFARI GYAN WHO WAS APPOINTED BY EX PRES JJ RAWLINGS AFTER OVERRIDING COUNCIL OF STATE HAS NO LOCUS TO OVERSEE N DECLARE A WINNER IN ANY ELECTIONS IN GHANA!

• KWAA 9 years ago

The Council of State is too partisan to be allowed to appoint the next EC chairman.All these guys were appointed by Mr Mahama,and they are all "yes sayers".Has the Council of State ever talked about the worries of Ghanaians,l ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

Old age must be playing tricks with this ld man's brains. A former judge urging the president to flout the constitution? I am sure if he wakes up from his slumber he will laugh at himself.

• Samuel Ansah ,New York 9 years ago

It's the same Council of State that all former Presidents in consultation made appointments Rawlings used it to appoint the current EC . Kufour used it to pack the Supreme Court because of Tsikata . Again Kufou ...

• Komla Asem 9 years ago

This NPP Crabbe man is too old to think properly. All the Council of State will do is to "advice" the President. This means, the President will nominate his candidates (about three people), present them to the CoS for advic ...

• charles,accra 9 years ago

the judge has ruled and therefore all must cease power

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 9 years ago

After picking her son up from school one day, the mother asks him what he did at school. The kid replies, "I had sex with my teacher." She gets so mad that when they get home, she orders him to go straight to his room. When t ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 9 years ago

So it's the male teacher! Wow!!
    Can''t stop laughing.

For a minute there, I thought the dad was proud of his son because he was going to say, "LIKE FATHER LIKE SON."

Ken

• Michael 9 years ago

The issue of who appoints the Chairman of the EC to is an issue of semantics but people are putting political colours to it. An advice may or may not be taken. It is not obligatory. The phrase 'The President shall ..' make ...

• Brian Williams 9 years ago

You are right for saying the EC performs function of the returning officer, but you and I know a lot of rigging goes on in that strong room. On selection of the EC the council of state is only tasked to advise not " advice an ...

• charles,accra 9 years ago

the judge has ruled and therefore all must cease fire

• Samuel Ansah ,New York 9 years ago

If any person would made that statement certainly not VCR .I'm very disappointed in him .Is it the first time such a constitutional provision is being used since the 4th Republic , VCR ? Where were you when all former ...

• Belinda 9 years ago

our mothers are selling agblema and stuffs whiles this stupid ndc ministers we voted for are looting and enjoying the monies with their girl friends and families because they think we are fools and will always vote for ndc no ...

• salinsa 9 years ago

infantile mind

• NKANSAH 9 years ago

U ARE A RESULT OF PROSTITUTION, DON'T MAKE SUCH STUPID STATEMENTS AGAIN OR ....

• ABOKOBA 9 years ago

OH VC,THIS IS WHAT NDC PEOPLE DON´T WANT TO HEAR.THEY WANT TO TURN AWAY FROM WHAT THE CONSTITUTION SAYS AND USE BUGA-BUGA TO PICK ANY BIAS PERSON TO REPLACE THAT SATAN.

• Nanor 9 years ago

Is that what the Constitution says? Or it must change because of the quest for one man to be president? Don't put your integrity on the line please.

• kofi 9 years ago

JM GO APPOINT. SIMPLE

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

crabbe is inserting words into the constitution. "Acting on the advice" and "acting in accordance with the advice" do not mean the same thing. acting on the advice, means the council of state, "recommends a number of candidat ...

• Say the truth 9 years ago

This bogus document written for Rawlings by his cousins lays too much emphasis on the President. It makes the whole document appear to be too autocratic. In a democratic dispensation broader and stakeholder consultation make ...

• DR TRUTH 9 years ago

WHEN THE CONSTITUTION DOESNT MENTION ANY FIGURE SUCH AS 2 OR 3 NEVER ADD IT ON YOUR OWN WILL. IT IS A SACRED DOCUMENT SO SHOULD BE KEPT SACROSANCT. IT ALLOWS THE COUNCIL OF STATE TO RECOMMEND ANY NUMBER FROM 1 TO INFINITY

• Asante 9 years ago

Tf this is not in the constitution, then the Constitution needs to be amended for this to happen.

• Kwame Yeboah 9 years ago

Did the constitution state "act on the advice of the Council of State" or "act in accordance with the advice of the council of state"?
    VCRAC, should be informed enough to differentiate between these two phrases. They do not ...

• cnn 9 years ago

No evil agenda shall materialize.
    Allow the first gentleman to go by what is enshrined in the constitution.
    Those opposed to this are on a mission to mislead Ghanaians.

• ATAAA 9 years ago

Oh Ghana. Is that what we have reduced ourselves to? People who have toiled and gotten to where they are now in the name of politics talk as if they do not have sense. Is that what is in the constitution? I thought he was a j ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

THIS IS A MAN WHO WAS ONE OF THOSE WHO CONTRIBUTED TO THE DERAILMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT THAT HAD TAKEN PLACE IN GHANA AFTER THE MAD COUP BY THE ARMED CRIMINALS IN MILITARY UNIFORMS THAT OVETHREW THE LEGITIMATE GOVERNMENT ...

• Al Hajj AAA-RASHID(OH.USA) 9 years ago

Paa Joe! Oh! Please talk some for me. If I may be allowed to use the street parlance here.

These guys here are so young they do not know what some of these guys have done to hurt our country.

This same Crabbe was "in be ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

AL HAJI.

THANK YOU FOR YOUR REMARKS.

WE ARE IN A MESS,BECAUSE, MANY OF THE PRESENT SO CALLED PRIMITIVE POLITICIANS COME FROM THE VERY HOMES OF THE ANTI-ELEMENTS AND ANTAGONISTS GRANDFATHERS,GRAND MOTHERS, FATHERS,MOTHER ...

• Nii 9 years ago

How neutral can a referee appointed by a president be in a match between him and his opponents. The council of state were also selected by the president, what a foolish constitution.

• Al Hajj AAA-RASHID(OH.USA) 9 years ago

I am not the least surprised to read this from Justice Crabbe. I have known this guy since 1959 and he has always been controversial.

Prez. Kuffour appointed 4 members of the same EC in consultation with his Council of Sta ...

• PALMWINE 9 years ago

It is trite knowledge that the appointment of the chairman of the EC is one based solely on the advice of the Council of State as clearly specified in the constitution. It is therefore ridiculous some erroneously think it is ...

• Kakaminamor 9 years ago

When are you going to die?

• Ken Mensah 9 years ago

Ok, my question is will Obama consult with the Republicans before selecting his Attorney General or Supreme Court Nominee? Oh Ghanaians..

• Patriot Kaya 9 years ago

A man of wisdom that must be listened to by anybody who loves Ghana. But you know what? The SPIRIT OF STUPIDITY that runs through the veins of the Gang of Rogues who ceased power in 1981, and then constituted themselves into ...

• Azumah Nelson 9 years ago

Mahama should appoint an NDC man or woman.This is a power he got.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 9 years ago

An engineer who was an Electoral Commissioner dies and reports to the pearly gates. St. Peter
    checks his dossier and says, "Ah, you're an engineer -- you're
    in the wrong place." So the engineer reports to the Gates of
    Hell ...

• Osei Yaw 9 years ago

The Honorable Judge's assessment is off. Clear reading of the language means that the president will pick the EC appointees and consult with the Council of State on his appointees only. Not that the Council picks the appointe ...

• shaibu-sissala west 9 years ago

Who the hell is this ass hole empty grey head Crabbe guy trying to fool here?

Look! JDM should appoint the EC and whoever's is not pleased should go to hell or burn the Sea.
    Stupid npp demagogue, where were you and the c ...

• Abongo 9 years ago

Fuck off. Is that what the const5itution says?

• jaga 9 years ago

Nonsense ..

• Yussif Fuseini 9 years ago

Let the council of state appoint Asiedu Nketia as the EC boss still the NDC ll lose in 2016.NHIS alone and the corruption associated with it ll make them loose, how can a mandatory 2.5% be deducted as taxes and contributions ...

• Abongo 9 years ago

Idiot, how can you win if you win in just two regions

• Okponglo Guy 9 years ago

Presidential politics is wasteful, divisive, and promotes tribalism.

Let's reduce parliament to 20 Senators, 2 from each region. Elect reps to regional assemblies and let's aggressively promote regional development.

• Lord Tennison 9 years ago

It will not make any difference.Members of the Council were appointed by the president.He may try to call in his favors.
    The National House of Chiefs is more representative of the people than the Council.Nananom will do a be ...

• Kwobia (Toronto) 9 years ago

The NPP simply wants an EC boss that they can manipulate.Talk about total dishonesty.

• kusasi 9 years ago

we have a constitution, what is all this for?stop disrespecting the president elect of the day

• kusasi 9 years ago

look, ignore crabbe old age.the presence of nana in Ghana politics raising turmoils here and there. this fake lawyer should be lock up by now for impersonation

• papa kofitd 9 years ago

For what reason did Nkrumah drove the British away from Ghana? Knowing very well that Black man can never do without mess if left on his own.Ghana will been like South Afrca if the whites ruled till today.

• Komla Asem 9 years ago

Crabbe is an NPP sympathizer.