Arthur K: The True Heroes of 31st December

Read Comments Comments (124)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 8 years ago

AUTHOR: STEVOO-------
    GOD ISNT STUPID LIKE US, WE REAP WHAT WE SOWED,,,,WE SOWED FAKE JUDGEMENT DEBTS, ALMOST ONE BILLION DOLLARS....WE SOWED WOYOME 45 MILLION DOLLARS, WE SOWED WATERVILLE 46 MILLION DOLLARS, ISOFOTON $325,4 ...

• daladam 8 years ago

GHANA PEOPLE SUPPORTED RAWLINGS BOTH WHEN HE TOOK OFFICE BY POWER AND BY ELECTIONS ,GHANA PEOPLE DID SUPPORT HIM BY AS MUCH AS 90%OF GHANA PEOPLE SO TO COME NOW CLAIM OTHERWISE IS A LIE

• King deed 8 years ago

Where is the 90% coming from? Which elections gave him that? Stop misleading the public. Quote facts and figures. I can see our society is deteriorating because the masses continue to justify or support the evils/wrongs of ...

• YF 8 years ago

Ghana has allowed these aliens who were deported in the 70s to take over the country without being documented, and these people especially from Togo and Burkina are with such hate and enviness they wish the destruction of our ...

• Wisdom 8 years ago

Is there any brave and wise man in Ghana? Nope! So ghanaians are still being ruled bt Mahama?

• Agonaba 8 years ago

"Sometimes God prunes his children through any means,just like he used Israel's enemies to defeat them in the past just to straighten them up,having said that ,not all revolutions are from God".

• totokwa 8 years ago

WHO CARES ABOUT THIS HISTORY AND YOUR KNOWLEDGE. THE FACT REMAINS THAT YOU ONLY RECEIVED "ONE VOTE" AS A PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE. ATTENTION SEEKER ARTHUR K TRYING TO MAKE HIMSELF RELEVANT. JUST GO AWAY AND LEAVE THE NPP ALONE.

• Susuka 8 years ago

If anybody wants to know how genuine this clown Arthur Kennedy is about his false sympathies for the demise of democracy on the 31st December event, just ask him what he thinks about the Afrifa and Kotoka coup d'etat against ...

• Oppong, VA 8 years ago

Right on point susuka.What these bigots were trying to do was to create some class in our society.No any ordinary hardworking Ghanaian would have even risen to level of parliament if you don't relate or coming from their line ...

• Nana Akyea Mensah, The Odikro. 8 years ago

OFFICE OF THE ODIKRO
    a companion of the black star!

It looks like my friend, Arthur K's memory is failing him. It was rather Joe Atta Mensah, who asked Rawlings the following questions at the Great Hall:

"Mr. Chairman, ...

• Nii Teiko 8 years ago

Tell Mahama in the face that he is corrupt. That is only when Ghanaians will take you serious

• Nana Akyea Mensah, The Odikro. 8 years ago

OFFICE OF THE ODIKRO
    a companion of the black star!

Hi Nii Teiko,

Who born dog? You can be sure that if Nana Odikro has any evidence, he would not hesitate to say it to Mahama in his face! If you have the evidence, sha ...

• Jake 8 years ago

Waiting for part2

• METCHEEEEEW 8 years ago

Wo y3 aboaba paaa. May the spirit of Nana Akyea Mensah kill you for denigrating the son of Akyem. May birem river deal with you proper. You people think Ghanaians are joking with you , you don't take their peaceful nature fo ...

• francis kwarteng 8 years ago

Dear Brother,

Where have you been all this while?

Anyway, when is the Part 2 of your "Akufo-Addo Is Corrupt" coming?

You have no idea how long I have been looking forward the sequel.

I hope you are doing great.

• Pas Joe 8 years ago

And Joe Atta Mensah has been at the Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) for some years and still counting!! Remember, Arthur K was at the UG Medical School and not UST! His info would be second-hand!

• Charles Agbenu 8 years ago

Mundane thoughts which are rejected by even the fishes in Keta sea an? the hungry antelopes in Gonja forest. Keep these thoughts in your ugly and vindictive mind.

• Kwame Boateng 8 years ago

Arthur K is a confused soul. He is always trying to make himself relevant to the Politics of Ghana. Sadly he always gets it wrong.

• James Nyameke Arvo 8 years ago

Thank you Dr Arthur Kennedy for your little bit of history. But for the sake of those who were young to know more about all the names you have mentioned in your piece, a little elaboration about each one of them, especially t ...

• Na Akufo-Addo and Adu Boahene and Afr 8 years ago

Dr Arthur Kennedy thank you That s how we remember your heroic role too But these days you are getting certain utterances on your own party made in bad falth in a thinly veiled dsilike for Nana Akufo Addo. You chose to call i ...

• Paa 8 years ago

The most sensible article I gave read from Dr. Arthur Kennedy in a while.

• Rastafara"I" 8 years ago

most corrupt and hypocritical ghanaian ...mahama is scared of him...but he is just a thief and a bully

• Efo Kwaawaaku Canada 8 years ago

Looking at jj rawlings at this stage without certificate or degree and was able to ruled Ghana for 19 years enrich himself as the most corrupt leader after Mahama administration is very unfortunate, bleeding ndc criminals and ...

• truth 8 years ago

, shai wat nonesense all the great leader both dead n alive was it a degree dat made dem great leaders.

• Koo 8 years ago

Hi guys, the sad thing is Rawlings begat the worse political party ever in the history of Ghana. The party which is bleeding thievs, dumsor, tribalism, division and etc etc. Gen. Acheampong was not as corropt as JJ or Mahama. ...

• Yaa 8 years ago

The true heroe is J J Rawlings. The corrupt people in Ghana would say he isn't. Idiots if someone is bold like J J Rawlings and takes the gun as I'm speaking and turns our economy around now I will call that person brave and ...

• Papillon 8 years ago

I do agree with Yaa on this issue. Some of us have already forgotten what Ghana was going through before JJ descended on the scene. It's quite amusing when u realise that these hypocrites pretend to have forgotten about Kutu ...

• God bless 8 years ago

Arthur K Thanks

• Yaovi 8 years ago

When we were all suffering in exile Abidjan, some of you negotiated with the PNDC ,especially the NUGS leaders and return to Ghana, can you defend this U turn, please Doc , Arthur K. or whatever you called yourself, let sleep ...

• ufh 8 years ago

Yaovi Arthur K was one of those who negotiated with Rawlings and returned to Ghana from Ivory Coast and some of those his hero's that he mentioned were in correspondence with the PNDC particularly Kojo T. and Quashiga Arthur ...

• Abeeku Mensah 8 years ago

The elephant in the room no one wants to talk about for fear of exposing the lies, treasonous ideals, delusions and hypocrisy of the NPP and NDC has been exposed unknowingly by Arthur K of the NPP. If the president of KNUST ...

• Nii Teiko 8 years ago

Just get back to your Manhole

• jam 8 years ago

Bravo,Nana Akyea Mensah for setting the records straight. Twisting of facts has been the stock in trade of Attack K. like he has been doing to the NPP . Shame unto you Arthur K.

• Kojo Opoku-London 8 years ago

Yes, the so called 31st December Revolution was staged by Rawlings and his Tsikata Ewe mafia to destabilise Ghana as Kotoka did in 1966 to turn the clock on Ghana Development under our Visionary Leader Dr Kwame Nkrumah. Ewe K ...

• Neither NDC Nor NPP 8 years ago

Ghanaians have seen now with their own eyes that Rawlings is the greediest bastard of them all. Acquiring state lands, state factories, state bungalows and having the state provide him with even curtains - that's what the so- ...

• Paa Nii 8 years ago

Arthur Kennedy, you have to achieve what you intend to achieve with open mindedness and fair appraisal of the past. I don't know what you want to achieve but this write up is totally misleading. Facts are not correctly presen ...

• John 8 years ago

This is revisinist history. Where were these heroes when there was Kabule as there is now a cry of corruption? We have Rawlings and his men to thanks for bringing back the country from doldrums. Thanks to him, many of you are ...

• John Anabila 8 years ago

This man's madness is off and on. He is generally a confused academic but he has lost his political credibility. He should have realised by now that he has so effortlessly damaged his relevance in Ghana politics by his nic ...

• abba 8 years ago

THE SPIRIT OF JUNE 4TH 1979 REVOLUTION IS TOTALLY DEAD BECAUSE MAHAMA LED NDC HAS TAKEN THE COUNTRY A HOSTAGE AND LOOTED ITS COFFERS. NOW IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE BLOOD OF GEN.I.K.ACHAMPONG AND THE OTHER VICTIMS ARE INNOCENT.

• KWAME-BELGIUM 8 years ago

The enemy of progress in Ghana are these UP/DOMBO/UP/P.P and now NPP people. They always try to re-write the history of Ghana.

• ATM 8 years ago

They were all criminals with criminal minds to destroy the country. God gave Rawlins the power to safe the country from criminals

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

You illiterates don't involve God in this. Because Rawlings himself is a criminal.

• Ralph 8 years ago

Jerry John Rawlings & associates remain heroes of the 31-Dec Revolution. Dr Kennedy, your attempts to re-write this historic history will not whitewash: An illusion

• Akans Prophecies 8 years ago

Calling lawlessness a revolution. You have not seen a revolution yet Your rawlings will be the first to flee .

• NANA KOFI 8 years ago

That Rawlings needs to be EXECUTED.

• Bright K 8 years ago

Repent from your sins and take the free gift of salvation by believing on Jesus Christ as your Lord and personal saviour and you shall be saved. Heaven and Hell are real. Where will you spend eternity. Choose heaven.

• GENERAL IDDI AMIN DADA OF GHANA 8 years ago

The mistake Rawlings did was the killing of those generals. I think they should have been afforded the opportunity to have a fair trial and be placed under house arrest or given prison terms instead of firing squad.

And th ...

• Yaa 8 years ago

Those people were also going to kill J J Rawlings. The clock was only turn around. The pit the generals dug for J J Rawlings unfortunately those general fell into it.

• JUSTICE FOR KUTU 8 years ago

MAY HE REST IN PEACE.

TIME WILL TELL

JUSTICE WILL BE DONE

• Gobiak yoa 8 years ago

You are perfectly right. Also up North in Bolgatanga, heroes like Paul Afoko, the late Larry Bimi and others resisted the coup and ended up in exile.

• TEE 8 years ago

MAY THEY ALL REST IN PERFECT PEACE

• TEE 8 years ago

COMPLEXITY MADE RAWLINGS TO MADE THE COUP, A BASTARD SON OF A BITCH PERIOD

• Sako 8 years ago

TEE or what ever do you know where Ghana was heading towards before JJ did that? Himmmmm. Some of you are kids even in knowledge.

• Akans Prophecies 8 years ago

Are you well in your thoughts? Have your rawlings taken you to his promise land? Your parliament full of criminials voted by bloated register voters, mandated on corruption deadlier before your useless lawless coup.

• Bulldozer 8 years ago

Asante cocksucker!!! Bush pig like that!!

• dela 8 years ago

HE ENDED UP CREATING A PARTY THAT IS MORE CORRUPT THAN THE PEOPLE HE CAME TO KILL

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

JJ Rawlings is the devil's representative who has brought Ghana to this wretched state. We have to find a way to remove the transitional provisions in the Ghana constitution, and let Rawlings face the law for the high treason ...

• corruption in Ghana 8 years ago

Though they lost focus later on, i think they contributed to the 4th republic

• Newson Jonathan 8 years ago

Mr. Rawlings despite mistakes as human has helped de nation as a sacrifice

• DALLAS 8 years ago

This guy has openned a can of worms. But there are surely gonna eat him up alive.

• Abdulai Muhammed . 8 years ago

Arthur K. You got it wrong this time. JJ is the real hero of the period unless you want to play mischief. JJ came in when the economy of this was running negative and he worked hard and reversed it and we started enjoying po ...

• Abdulai Muhammed . 8 years ago

Rawlings greatest mistake was handing over power to these corrupt politicians. They are only good at creating looting and sharing.

• Chris, MA 8 years ago

Point on Abdulai. That is the problem i have with Rawlings till today.He still remain my hero though..These good for nothing politicians we see today will continue to amass wealth until another revolution happen.Today,we have ...

• Salifu seidu 8 years ago

Doc, thanks for this interesting history lesson.I wish long life and I'm looking forward to read more of your writings

• KONOGO KAYAKAYANII 8 years ago

nkwaseafor mma for killing innocent Ghanaians

• USA 8 years ago

Just don't get what you are talking about
    Those your uncles where thief's changing power every 6 month. .
    Do you think Ghana would have been stable now?
    You are sic

• Van 8 years ago

You're a foolish boy Arthur K

• Cecil s 8 years ago

whats the relevance of this piece to the ghanaian calling for change mr one vote?

• Yellow man 8 years ago

Nobody is against the coup that Rawlings staged on June 4.My problem is the core reason for the coup was forgotten immediately Rawlings took over.He justified his killings of all these generals,judges and all who questioned h ...

• Delo 8 years ago

I read with pity and rage when people display the highest sense of ignorance and senselessness when it comes to issues with Rawlings and the revolutions that took place.But i don't blame them because Ghana is a country that n ...

• Yaa 8 years ago

Well said

• YF 8 years ago

'YES' you will support that madness that took place in Ghana. During that time were Ghanaians selling their children for food? and who told you Ghana was experiencing hardship during that time? The kalabule he was talking abo ...

• Sako 8 years ago

The writer has no knowledge on what a heroe is. In fact he or she doesn't know a heroe

• somewherein.USA 8 years ago

J J should be hanged to death

• Kuntu 8 years ago

You wasting time in your hide out in somewherein USA. To your knowlegde Rawlings is still alive,drives himself around so it is easy to carry out your plans.....we want more heroes and i challenge you to be the next hero....

• kofi kanokwere 8 years ago

If you resist an establishment n succeed then u are a hero. In this case Rawlings n his men resisted the establishment n succeeded so they are the heroes n not the names u mentioned who failed n ran into exile. The oppressors ...

• save ghana 8 years ago

I feel Arthur K is an attention freak. he has lost his significance. now hanging on history . uncle Arthur K, please tell us history about Okomfo Anokye and the golden stool

• Yaw 8 years ago

You may hate Rawlings but you can't take away what he stood for, long live Rawlings.

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

I have always been saying that JJ Raw.shit is useless, when it comes to development of Ghana. After taking advantage of the Gas, Ewes, and using tribalism as the means to gain financial for himself and his family including n ...

• Nii Addo 8 years ago

Please stop throwing dust in the eyes of Ghanaians. Look all the soldiers you mentioned were not Angels , OK? They did not resist the revolution because they were patriotic The fish was taken off their hook. They were also pl ...

• Kingsley @East Legon 8 years ago

After all this, NANA Addo Danquah Akuffo Addo said this in November 14 after he visits for his blessing, Jerry John Rawlings is a gift of God and I'm in your house today for my last blessing , My brother's and Sister's if ...

• Nii Addo 8 years ago

We have young people who must be told the truth no matter how painful it is. Stop poisoning the youth of Ghana. If you don't know what exactly happened then shut your mouth. Look, major Sulemana, Odartey Wellington and others ...

• Adjei 8 years ago

You led us into useless strikes and whisked away to the USA to continue your course.
    I was hoping that by now you would have gotten the bigger picture of Neo- colonialist with interest in our resources to be behind all the i ...

• Ghanaba Babs In the Diaspora 8 years ago

The last sermon of Arthur K at the U of G central cafeteria was mind blowing. That was 1987. Together with Bedu -Ansah you guys led the struggle.

Arthur K your brevity inspired some of us to stand for what we believe was ...

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

So

• GENERAL IDDI AMIN DADA OF GHANA 8 years ago

The mistake Rawlings did was the killing of those generals. I think they should have been afforded the opportunity to have a fair trial and be placed under house arrest or given prison terms instead of firing squad.

And th ...

• Ibn Batuta 8 years ago

Well, that is your opinion. Am surprised you left your name as a counter-revolutionalist.
    We all thought John Macain was a war hero until renegade Donald Trump came out blasting on all cylinders.
    You see, 31st December wa ...

• clifford senyo 8 years ago

Real Hero's don't ran into exile

• Simply George. 8 years ago

Ungrateful ingrates like Arthur Kwasia whose stock in trade is character assassination must be ashamed of himself,his family and friends. Imagine the names he mentioned. What is the most enviable feet achieved by these people ...

• kofi (USA) 8 years ago

ARTHUR K , WHERE IS YOUR NAME. we know Rawlings chased you out of the country...........

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 8 years ago

TO: H.E.PRESIDENT OF GHANA DR.JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMA
    H.E.FORMER PRESIDENT OF GHANA AND FOUNDER OF NDC DR.DR.JERRY JOHN RAWLINGS
    HON. MINISTER OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS AND REGIONAL IN ...

• cool it 8 years ago

NO SENSE

• Alancash 8 years ago

Arthur K the most dumbest person of all time. Hater like u doesn't deserve an airtime

• Alancash 8 years ago

Arthur K the most dumbest person of all time. Hater like u doesn't deserve an airtime

• Samie 8 years ago

Brave men don't run.They stay put. Look who is talking today. There is a great Ghanaian proverb which says "After the fire has finished burning and the fagots have turned into ashes, dogs would then sleep in the heath and war ...

• Bulldozer 8 years ago

JJ is the reason Ghana has any chance at,all. Thank God JJ came along.

Ungrateful scumbags!!

• Africa 8 years ago

good article

• Peterson 8 years ago

Leave that man a lone, we need democracy and we got we are enjoying it too.You and many Ghanaian so Happy with the current situation God bless Ghana

• Carol 8 years ago

It is very strange that Ghanaians have very short memories. Arthur K is right on point. These were no heroes, but hungry psychopaths who wielded power through the barrel of a gun, with brutality and fear just because they cou ...

• Aba Atta 8 years ago

Please put it in a book form, I supported the revolution, but all th
    e story, negative and positive must be told

• Aba Atta 8 years ago

• MYSTERIOUS SABU-AYAM 8 years ago

I think Elizabeth Ohene should have been mentioned. She stood against the stomach revolution with her insightful editorials at the Daily Graphic newspaper.

• kizii 8 years ago

this is nothing but full of big lies and shits