Mahama commended for appointing Kufuor’s ADC as Chief of Army Staff

Read Comments Comments (149)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33 ) 7 years ago

Author:- Naa Dedei..... Why are we soo hypocrites in this country? This woman is showing all indications that she wants to plunge this country into chaos. Is her actions towards supreme court orders not worse than ken's own i ...

• aikins 7 years ago

If he don't deserve it why has mahama appointed him, but if he deserve it why the Kuffuor man, is it Kuffuor who employed him or has security service also become one of the mahama family and friends political appointment ? ...

• Sound Ghanaian 7 years ago

Obed was not Kuffour's ADC. Does the writer of the article understand what ADC stands for? To the best of my recollection, Obed was an attache at the Ghana High Commission in the UK.By the way, ADCs are relatively junior offi ...

• ask 7 years ago

every president ve senior officer as Adc

• Boyooo 7 years ago

O.B.Akwa was Kufour's ADC or Personal Assistant,though there were other bodyguards who worked closely with him.The first writer was right...

• Kofi Gbagbladza 7 years ago

Fool, ADC is Aide - De Camp

• noe street 7 years ago

Lol....dont display your ignorance here.u shd rather check..he was adc to prez kuffour

• koo 7 years ago

pls he was.check your facts well.when he was a colonel.colonels are adc to presidents.

• Dada 7 years ago

Masa you lie find out well he was first adc to Kwame Ado Kufour before been transferred to the President.Please get your facts right.

• NANA YAW SARKORDIE NEW YORK CITY 7 years ago

Please,I beg to differ with you.O,B Akwa has never being a military attache in London,it was rather Brig-General Gordon Kofi Adjei the former ADC to kuffour who was in London.Please can anybody tell me intake numbers from the ...

• Alias 7 years ago

The president deserve some commendation for what he has done. Unlike the NPP, JM believes in inclussiveness regadless of political affiliations. JM is the best candidate and deserve a second term.

• Kramo Seidu 7 years ago

I am surprised that the President want to score a political point. What is wrong with the President is the abandoning Kufour projects which could helped the masses but not an individual promotion.

• NANA AMA 7 years ago

Ex-prez kufuor is the most insensitive president to ever rule Ghana. Whist we had children learning under trees during his era he decided to spend a whooping 40 million cedis of the tax payers money on the renovation of his p ...

• Akans Prophecies 7 years ago

SHUT UP ! MAHAMA'S FAKE GOVERNMENT IS ONLY FULL OF BORED ... AND UNCULTURED SWINES

• NANA AMA 7 years ago

Hurl all the insults and the cheap propaganda all you want but for the records, that will not win the opposition the presidency. Change is already happening under President Mahama and currently over 600 local artisans have be ...

• Alias 7 years ago

H.E Mahama's government is the best so far! Ghanaians have witnessed massive development under the John Mahama led-administration.A total of 1,614 out of 2,578 basic school projects have been completed under the Schools Under ...

• NOBODY 7 years ago

Ken Agyapong slept with President John Kufuor to obtain his appointment as Deputy Minister in President John Kufuor's NPP administration. Clueless Serial Loser Akufo-Ado is a quack politician who only runs to lose, an he'll l ...

• Kwasi.London 7 years ago

You always write a lot of crap.Very soon your pay masters will be given the sack by the electorate and that will shut you up forever

• KK Dumfries US 7 years ago

You will be accountable your words before if even it delay for 1000yr

• NANA AMA 7 years ago

prez kufuor is the most insensitive president to ever rule Ghana. Whist we had children learning under trees during his era he decided to spend a whooping 40 million cedis of the tax payers money on the renovation of his priv ...

• Supremo 7 years ago

Prince sua nyansa kakra. Comment on the issue.

• Kofi Gbagbladza 7 years ago

Are u stupid? You don't sense. You sound like Adzator.

• Alias 7 years ago

Its abou time the NPP give the EC boss peace of mind to work. Elections are won on the grounds just JM is busily accounting to the people of Ghana unlike Nana Akuffo Addo and his people who are only interested in propaganda.

• Zuri 7 years ago

This is why you have never passed any exam in life.Digression is the word!

We applaud you for all inclusiveness, we know hater will still hate yo no matter what, just keep up the good works and we will definitely vote for you come 7 November 2016

• Kojo Poku -Canada 7 years ago

I am dreaming? Is this guy not a member of the Armed Forces? His promotion is long overdue,so don't be childish over this promotion, after all, its election year and Mahama should not pamper himself with inclusiveness, after ...

• Alias 7 years ago

This is a obviously a calculated attempt to discredit what the president has done. JM didnt appoint him because its an election year but because he deserves it. The victory of JM is however already secured taking into conside ...

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

Mahama is a good and generous man but he is not the leader we need right now.I was in his corner when he first took over and managed to silent his deputy ministers who had made insults their stock and trade.The Asantehene,Raw ...

• Soldier too 7 years ago

My friend plss don't be hypocrite cos this isn't anything new in the GAF.Go back to Ex-Prez Kufour's era n check the appointments that transpired n compare to a Single one that seems so new to do.Even Ibn Chambas was given a ...

• Akwasi 7 years ago

Kufour appointed Ibn Chambas to Ecowas highest office.

• kweku trouble 7 years ago

Can a President of a country appoint someone to the highest office of Ecowas? Do you think Ecowas is an appendage of Ghana government? Stop the illiterate talk.

Yes and I say yes Ghana is a member of Ecowass and if there is a vacant position every member countries submit their candidate for the job .

• pkirks 7 years ago

Your statement shows how illiterate you are. Ecowas is not for Ghana and therefore kuffour has no right to position who he wants in ecowas office. What you wanted to say is , he suggested him as all other African presidents d ...

You are are so dumb Ecowass is like the United Nations is presidents who submit names to the governing body for consideration and appointments

• CORNEY 7 years ago

He was Kufour's ADC and so what?

This guy I believe was appointed based on merit but somebody wants to once again play politics with it.
    The president is not vindictive as Kufour was,Kufour who removed most of the officer ...

• aikins 7 years ago

Another senseless comments.

• NANA AMA 7 years ago

President Mahama in all humility thinks about Ghana and nobody can dispute that. Under JM, our security services have also been retooled and available statistics show that crime rate has dropped by over 5,000 between 2013 and ...

• ERIC 7 years ago

nana ama,pls don't ague with incorrect statistics because we are in a state of insecurity and the police has confirmed crime rate is high.if u don't know pls becareful bcos hooligans wo krom

• Adonis 7 years ago

Yours is rather the most senseless! .

• PAA NII 7 years ago

Another ludicrously false statement from that miserable village idiot called Corney.

• Kay 7 years ago

Corney at times you surprise me with your stupidity. What has this appointment got to do with Kuffour and your useless ranting.

• CORNEY 7 years ago

Do you know how to read,do you want somebody to interprete this simple article for you,didn't you see the article says Mahama appointed Kufour's ADC,is it me who brought Kufour's name here,are you that dumb that a simple thi ...

• Daniel Afedzi.....HO 7 years ago

Funny Agalga,stop counting your eggs on Voltarians.we will vote Ndc out this time.What Kennedy said wad twisted by media.He said she Charlotte is behaving as if she traded herself for the job.Her behaviour does not depict som ...

• aikins 7 years ago

Wise one.

• NANA AMA 7 years ago

The people of the Volat region will continue to vote for the NDC since it serves their best interest. Under the NDC, work is progressing on the Ho airport, the 31km nyvie-tanyigbe road has been completed likewise the phase on ...

• Kojo Poku Canada 7 years ago

This Nana Ama seems to be one of the call girls for JDM.Anyway that's not her real name. She is always day dreaming.Good for her,because she has got some of the stolen money.

• kwabena kaade 7 years ago

Kojo Poku, disparaging remarks such as this from you towards someone who expresses her opinion no matter how much you disagree, is what fuels unecessary conflicts. A bit of emotional intelligence from everyone in response to ...

• Alias 7 years ago

Voltarians willl never disappoint NDC and for that matter JM considering what he has done and doing for the peole of Volta Region.JM has inaugurated the Worawora-Dambai road at Dambai, inaugurated a Community Day Senior High ...

• ugly akufo addo 7 years ago

Mr President we thanks u very much for a gud wrk u are doing to our dear nation

• Atoo 7 years ago

Great President. This will never happen under an NPP govt. Do we remember what NPP did to Gbevlo Lartey? We are all one people. Politics is a contestation of ideas and not a fight. President Mahama will always show the way.

• STAR 7 years ago

The core duty of the is to protect and safeguard the territorial sovereignty of Ghana.While the police primarily are incharge of maintaining internal peace and security,as well as enforcing the rule of law.Per the military c ...

• NANA AMA 7 years ago

There's no politics going on in the military. Just as you said, Appointments to higher command must therefore be based on competence and commitment and Maj.General Akwa earned it. It is also note worthy to state that the NDC ...

• HON ABE 7 years ago

If the Army Chief is due for promotion and this is done what is this rubbish about being the ADC of former President Kuffour. Cheap politics and playing to the gallery.

• Alias 7 years ago

I dont think this is about playing to the gallery. The truth must be told. He was ADC to former pres Kuffour which means if it were to be the NPP, they will never do what JM did especially as the country goes to the polls in ...

• Baah-KUMI 7 years ago

SHUT UP

• jack 7 years ago

Stop the hypocrisy. We know what President is up to. Ghanafo) be ware of Mahama's machinations

• NANA AMA 7 years ago

President Mahama by all standards serves the best interest of this country. Major General Obed Boamah Akwa's appointment was based on merit and this goes to prove that the NDC is ready to work with anybody irrespective of the ...

• Alias 7 years ago

JM is not up to anything. JM is committed to peaceful polls in the country. Besides, his unprecedented achieveents testifies on his behalf that, he is already a winner. The revived komenda sugar factory which he inaugurated r ...

• james mann 7 years ago

he just coldet have been passed for another person, it is his turn to be the Army Commander irrespective of what he was as ADC to Kuffour stop the political twist

Commending Mahama for appointing Kufuor's ADC as chief of army staff is out of place. It is like comparing apples with oranges. People should understand that soldiers are not politicians, they do their work as being command ...

• Alias 7 years ago

Nobody is saying that they are politicians! the fact is, JM has done what Nana Addo wouldnt have done which underscores JM's trust in the security service.

Please answer me when was Nana Addo the President of Ghana? He has never been President so if you say he can't do what President Mahama has done is childish

• kj soldier 7 years ago

were you not in Ghana when kufuor appointed Gen Akafia as ambassador? b

• Gambo 7 years ago

We are talking about securit... And u are talking about shit

• Ben 7 years ago

The armed forces is supposed to be neutral. The fact that one served as Kuffour's aid in camp does not mean his career should be over once Kuffour is out of office. The question is, is whether he is qualified to lead the arme ...

• Fred Adongo 7 years ago

Well done John Mahama. Not evey key job in Ghana should go to a Northerner. Good Good. JDM.

• PEPENI 7 years ago

I hope he is not a mole like those in the ECG who are causing problems for us now.

• Says Who 7 years ago

Yout think taking over a popular website and infusing it with these kind of articles will endear you and your handlers to the public.

This is a counter-intelligence faux-pas.
    Ther is no commendation here, so do not waste ...

• KANAWU KASABA 7 years ago

This is nonsense.

The writer is among a bunch of propaganda talkers and writer hired by the president office to write these nonsense.

They read politics and tribe into any thing.

NDC is dangerous to Ghana

• Alias 7 years ago

this is not about propaganda! Unless are implying that what the writter said in his articles are not true! was the army officer not a former ADC to ex president kuffour? JMM has once again shown the way- how democracy ought t ...

• Darko 7 years ago

Is because he deserves it

• PAA KWISE 7 years ago

Shame you

• Mugu yaraba 7 years ago

That man was not enlisted into the Ghana Armed Forces as Kufuor's ADC. He served in different appointments in different units until he became Kufuor's ADC when he was already a Colonel. For your information, Mahama has also m ...

• KWAME-BELGIUM 7 years ago

Quality is what is needed from him.

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

Folks is is shallow minded non thinking people that believe this nonsense coming from an individual rather than coming from the media.It is surprising that the idiot write did not tell us when those men were hired by presiden ...

• OKOROMANSA 7 years ago

MAHAMA IS PLAYING TRICKS, BUT THESE SO-CALLED PROMOTIONS WILL NOT HELP HIM. HOW CAN ANYONE COMPARE THE STATE OF TE NATION TO MILITARY PROMOTIONS? AFTER ALL GHANAIANS DON'T CARE ABOUT SOMEBODY'S IGP, COLONEL OR GENERAL. MAHAMA ...

• Alias 7 years ago

JM is not playing any tricks! his unprecedented achievements will secure another term for him come Nov 7 this year. for instance, 617-bed University of Ghana Teaching Hospital and the Second phase of the Tamale Teaching Hospi ...

• Nana Adjoa 7 years ago

Don't just write anything if you have nothing sensible to write.

• KINGSLEY BARIMAH APPIAH 7 years ago

JM HAS DONE WELL FOR THIS APPOINTMENT BUT ONLY ONE OF THE PEOPLE HE APPOINTED IS A SWINE. BRIGADIER GENERAL ALLOH WHILE HE WAS THE WAS THE CONTINGENT COMMANDER IN LIBERIA DURING THE EBOLA IN 2014 REFUSED TO GIVE THE EBOLA RIS ...

• KINGSLEY BARIMAH APPIAH 7 years ago

IF THE SO CALLED BRIGADIER ALLOH HAS REALLY DONE WHAT MR KINGSLEY SAID THEN I THINK HE SHOULD BE MADE TO PAY THE SOLDIERS AND ALSO PUNISHED.

• Sarfo Acheampong 7 years ago

Mr Mahama well done. And Mr Kuffour also has done it before dats what we need as a nation bravo

• Yaa 7 years ago

Who wrote this story. Mahama doesn't have a choice the man qualifies and he is next to be so why recommend Mahama. Your story is rather bringing division. He served Kuffour and so what. Journalist should stop writing this cra ...

• Ernest london 7 years ago

Ghanaians are hepocrates so what! you keep pampering this corruption magnate president Mahama for nothing.NDC must be disbanded they are all thiefs and robots including the founder ghana does not belong to NDC alone.

• Alias 7 years ago

John Mahama is incorruptible president who is committed to the fight against corruption in this country.35 officials including a former executive director and his deputy have been arraigned before court whilst 4 have already ...

• agyeman 7 years ago

WHO IS THIS WRITER? I THINK HE BETTER READ HIS/HER PIECE AGAIN AND ASK WHETHER THESE APPOINTMENTS ARE LIKE LIKE MINISTERIAL APPOINTMENTS. SORRY SON IN THE MILITARY ALL IS BY RANKS AND NOT FAVOURS. THINK BETTER.

• Abla 7 years ago

tweaa election propaganda

• Daniel gyima 7 years ago

The writer has done well all is good the Nap won't do this in an election year

• Daniel gyima 7 years ago

Let's rather praise the president he's done well bravo JDM

• Daniel kusi 7 years ago

great statesmanship form the president god strory

• Daniel kusi 7 years ago

i salute you Mr Addo the NPP wont do this

• igp 7 years ago

Before Mahama was appointed co-president of ghana by the Supreme Court, we were united as a nation and not disjointed as he sees every appointment on the basis of tribe. Lon g after we kick his ass on November &th, 2016, Ghan ...

• Alias 7 years ago

This is an attempt to mislead the public with false information. JM won the 2012 general election and not appointed by the SC but rather the SC verdict affirmed that he was legitimately elected. On Nov 7 this year, the good p ...

• Michael Kwame Kumatia 7 years ago

Mr John DramaniMahama is the best president this country can boast of.
    Mr President keep on doing the good things for the betterment of the country.
    God bless you.

• yayira Asafo Osei 7 years ago

Lets give the writer credit the president has done well

• Patriot 7 years ago

This is populist, cheap and irresponsible journalism. Gen. Akwa deserves his promotion and notwithstanding his service as ADC to former President Kufuor. Appointing him does not make Mahama any better president than his prede ...

• yayira Asafo Osei 7 years ago

Once again the president has. Shown political maturity

• Trudy 7 years ago

President Mahama is man of the people. He is a patriotic citizen and always put nation above self. God bless president Mahama for his able leadership. The NPP are afraid of things to come...defeat.

• Michael Kwame Kumatia 7 years ago

Good leader you deserve praise.

• VOICE OF REASON 7 years ago

Have we not got structures within the military to know when one is due for promotion.Why must promotion within the military be at the behest of the president....oh Ghana what kind of constitution are we practising

• TIMOTHY GYAMWAH. 7 years ago

Dis is wat we want in Ghana, appointment shd solely be based on competence n nt tribal or political lines. I commend de president for choosing a man everybody may thinks he is from de other side of de political devise bt know ...

• Biggy 7 years ago

What is special about this? Kufuor and Mahama are one, influenced SC judgment in Mahama favor.

• Alias 7 years ago

This is not true. the supreme court verdict rather attest to the fact that the 2012 general election was free and fair and H.E Mahama was legitimately elected.

• JOE 7 years ago

Just stop that cheep politics, bcos Ghanaians are very decending and they deserve better than this propagander.

• Alias 7 years ago

This is not about propaganda but facts. Talking about giving Ghanaians whhat they deserve: JM is already giving them waht they deserve. salaries of workers have been increased by 10% across board, they are enjoying stable sup ...

• Slyster 7 years ago

And at the end of the month all the salary goes to water and light bills. What's there to boast about. I don't give a fuck if you , Alias and nana ama or what ever your name is in real life are being paid to comment about th ...

• Ex WO1 Edward 7 years ago

I think the last appointment should be SUPPORT SERVICES BRIGADE, AND NOT 'Special service brigade"this should be corrected.

• Teiko 7 years ago

Like Kwame nkrumah who admitted that the brilliant and the best brains who could help his govt were all at the opposition and he had to rule with pawpaw heads like maama's father and some other useless people. Same is going o ...

• Antiba 7 years ago

Spare us our ears. This doesn't put food on the average suffering Ghanaians table. Do u think Ghanaians are fools. This will not let people change their minds about this election. What is written is written. God save mother G ...

• Alias 7 years ago

Yes we know and that is why JM is creating a lot of job opportunities for the youth in order to have food on their table: the revived komenda sugar factory alone is providing over 7,000 jobs to the youth. The youth are equall ...

• Anthony Frimpong NY 7 years ago

CONGRATULATION, KWAKU, ON YOUR ELEVATION TO REAR ADMIRAL! KNOWING YOUR CAPABILITY, THIS IS NO SURPRISE YET, CONGRATS ARE IN ORDER. KOTI WELL DONE!

• Branaboy 7 years ago

Where is the editor for this article. I stopped reading when the work TAUGHT is used instead of THOUGHT in the first paragraph. Our journalist need to go back to school and relearn their English.

• Bowman 7 years ago

Taught is a WORD, not WORK! So you see?

• apuuuu 7 years ago

Fake appointing John Ford Drama Mahama think he can fool some this appointment is over do apuuuu

• ERIC 7 years ago

the man deserves it.don't make this political bcos every president becomes the commander in chief of the Armed Forces and he has the power to appoint deserving service personnel to positions

• sgt Ahenful 7 years ago

you should all know that the military and the other security services is neutral from politics.this is a warning to the public.any promotion or demotion is free from any political interference hence no one should applaud or c ...

He's NOT Kuffour ADC.He's a professional soldier, who serves Ghana, no matter what.

• asem 7 years ago

eeeeei mahama, no woman? why are you people doing this to us?

• Sad 7 years ago

You think we are fools, does this pay electricity bill or big school fees.

• Ade 7 years ago

Balone

• Kyiri gyimi 7 years ago

Was the soldier not only doing his assigned work by being Kuffour's ADC? Mahama has done nothing. The guy was only doing what he was assigned to do. Kuffour did not recruit him into the army. I hate gyimi!!!!

• Anganmwin 7 years ago

What an excellent job.JM all the way.Continue with the good work some people are simply jealous and thy will continue to be in OPPOSITION for centuries

• Futurama. 7 years ago

Cheap propaganda.

• For all 7 years ago

This is not the first time. Kufour recommended In Chambers and Spio Garbrah for international a point mens. Check the records. And at any rate Major General Akwa was appointed for his quality. Otherwise he could not even hav ...

• Sansan 7 years ago

Cheap political talk, this guy is a soldier performing duties for his motherland .what is Kofour's ADC , does that means he owns allegiance to the president or to Ghana as country.

• Sory Shaibu k. yeboah 7 years ago

the source of the story is not reporting but trying to influence our thoughts.what is the motive. Just because you are okay so we Must all feel okay

• Sory Shaibu k. yeboah 7 years ago

who is commending who give us the sources. look like people are being paid to pollute the political scene with distortions. you failed to tell us the admirers. watch out smart people have come on board. my problem is this pla ...

• Slyster 7 years ago

This president thinks that we are feeble minded. Who cares who you choose. You and your thieving gangs are clueless and not fit to lead the country. Of all the natural resources around us, just look at the state of the countr ...

• kwek 7 years ago

Let's set the record straight, president Kuffour didn't appoint Dr.Mohammed Iben Chanbas but supported him after Dr had applied.

• k.b frimpong 7 years ago

Poor journalism! Is this a new? Is the man Ghana employee or Kuffour employee? Enough of shoddy work!

• jj 7 years ago

Point of correction ECOWAS chairperson is not appointed by one member country president but all member countries. But the way the kuffour ADC Is due for the position by service rule so not a news.

• Kwasi.London 7 years ago

If he was promoted on merit,what is the big deal.No need to commend Mahama.

• Naa Shika 7 years ago

CONGRATULATIONS to all who has been promoted

• Naa Shika 7 years ago

have been promoted

Good for Ghana

• Isaac Kobina Ansah 7 years ago

Do not just write anything and put here for us to read because you belong to a certain political divide. Take time to read on regular and irregular verbs and their past tense formation. past tense of think is THOUGHT and not ...

• Sokman 7 years ago

I happen to know GEN.AKWA,very humbleman of all standards.We attend Mpass past students meetings together he is soo many years ahead of us yet relates very well with every body.Once again congrats snr mother Mpsass is proud o ...

• Tommy Thomson Tanyigbe 7 years ago

you are a dull to write this foolish article, has Kuffuor manufactured some body in Ghana??? if the man deserve this post what is big deal about Mahamah or Kuffior?? stop this foolish,,

• KK 7 years ago

stop this cheap political propaganda. Does following Kufuor for 4 years change him to Kufour? Didnt you people say soldiers should stay out of politics, so where is this cheap talk coming from.

• oh Ghana 7 years ago

Is he not a Ghanaian with the qualification for the job at hand?

• oh Ghana 7 years ago

Is he not a Ghanaian with the qualification for the job? Ghana is not for any party but for God, the Creator. Let us think about our salvation than politics. The Almighty is coming.

• Addo Kuffour 7 years ago

It's a lie Kuffour never appointed Ibn he was forced to give his approval and support prior to his appointment because he had no choice
    Ibn had no equal in NPP as alternative to Ibn so he had no choice but to support Ibn's b ...

• Asona Ba Bekoe Atuo - USA 7 years ago

It is more to the maturity of Gen. Akwa than Mahama. Unlike other career soldiers and policemen, they turn to worship the president than their career.

• Lord of the 7 Spirits 7 years ago

Pray 4 Otumfuo & Mahama because I see a small group of people misleading this Leaders and the end was a doom for mother Ghana.

• Iceman 7 years ago

military officers get their medals and ranks from the battle front but Ghanaian officers get theirs sitting in offices. shame

• SULLYMAN YAA SALAAM 7 years ago

THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME

• Famboy 7 years ago

There's no need to commend him. There's discipline in the military unlike the the other security services and therefore he could not usurp the authority of the military high command by appointing someone else.

• Mahama has disappointed soldiers 7 years ago

Fools ,you can't by pass him to appoint another person if he is the senior most Major general ,military can't be politicized, if you and your Mahama keep fooling you will compel all the rank's to take sides in politics and t ...