BoG gold watches not tax payers' money - Former deputy Governor

Read Comments Comments (44)

• AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

There is no Community Day SHS project in Ledzokuku-Krowor Municipality. What we have is an Artistic Impression of the E-blocks mounted on poster and placed on a land behind the LEKMA Hospital. Yet in the NDC published list of ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 7 years ago

AUTHOR: MAHAMA B3 KO ------- *** ---I wonder why Mahama, Amissah-Arthur, KOKU ANYIDOHO, Asiedu Nketia, Agalga, Inusah, Iddrisu, Limuna, Allotey, etc, etc are not responding and have not responded to any of the lectures the in ...

• Jah 7 years ago

Ugly thief

• Big Ben 7 years ago

How the hell could "a so-called learned man" make such high noon STUPID statement in MISUSING the nation's money?

Doesn't the former Deputy Governor of the BoG know that that BANK is not a PRIVATE entity but a PUBLIC one, ...

• Kweku 7 years ago

The bank is stealing from all shareholders, investors, depositors, etc, no wonder you don't make any profit. The next time, you will go the Ghanaians abroad when things are tough

• Ghana First 7 years ago

If you are not mischievious I did not see any thing wrong with the list the NDC provided. It is an information to Ghanaians to know where those schools are being built. Have you checked to see whether actual construction work ...

• GHANA MAN 7 years ago

Another Mahama brother Abi?

• KOFI YESU 7 years ago

At a time when trainee nurses allowance has been abolished trainee teachers hasn't received salaries for TWO years,people work in jobs like BoG (good pay, houses,all expenses paid,free travel) top bosses of BoG gets paid in d ...

• Jim w 7 years ago

Remember it's bank of Ghana and not bank of Benin , Nicaragua,Venezuela or any other place . So the bank is for Ghanaians! The staff and management are there to manage resources reasonably. In a country where daily GTv is ...

• Che Andrew 7 years ago

The answer raises more questions. Why for instance should the BoG engage in other income generating activities rather than concentrate its core mandate. What are those other activities and how legitimate are they? No wonder t ...

• canada 7 years ago

I don think far, if i decide to think far the i will ask the former governor if those money are internally generated funds, under what Brand name was that funds generated? I presume its BOG, Therefore the funds are for Ghanai ...

• Shipah 7 years ago

Do you receive ur appointment from the government of Ghana or u appoint yourself...does the head of the BOG swear an oath administered by the President? Then old man it's my tax payer money that is used to watch u....n also h ...

• nii mantse 7 years ago

why at all, as a people, are we so crazed about blinks blinks!!!.....even in old age! Are we that deranged and accursed? sometimes, i am wont to believe that TRULY the black person is inferior!

• Che Andrew 7 years ago

Why would a 60yr man/woman receive a gold watch instead of investing that money for the benefit of his/her children and grandchildren?

• Kobi 7 years ago

Which money are you using to purchase those WATCHES? How much DUTY are you paying to pay for those WATCHES? Is it a loan and not TAX payers money? If it's a a loan, how much interest are you paying, since Government take loan ...

• ghanani 7 years ago

Ministers and MPS serve only 4 years in office and they leave with billions of cedis and other benefits.A worker serves the state for 30 years and more, paid peanuts and is given a gold watch on retirement and there is hue an ...

• Che Andrew 7 years ago

If the amount was given to the retiree as ESB no one will raise an eyebrow. Your waft brain says retirement benefits are inadequate and yet you justify the buying of gold watches for people who are 60+ years?

• Ghanani 7 years ago

Ignorant buffoon!!!You do not know that a gold watch is an investment which can be sold or exchanged for an article of similar value.Go to Europe or America to see how people are buying expensive watches as a form of investme ...

• Pratt 7 years ago

Is the BOG a private Institution?

BOG fully belongs to the government, hence it is stupid and foolish for any forma beneficiary of public looting at the BOG to say that, " it is not Tax Payers' Money" He should go tell the ...

• Gabby 7 years ago

Mmm 2 million Ghana cedis for 72 pieces of watches. that means approximately 1 watch will be around 27,778 Ghana cedis ohh.

• Ama K 7 years ago

Even if they like they should collect all the money and gold from the Bank of Ghana and sent it home and when they die their relatives will burry them with it. Blackman black sense

• thomina 7 years ago

YOUR HUNGER SHOULD NOT MAKE YOU A TOOL TO PROMISE WHAT YOU DON'T HAVE

• Paa Nii 7 years ago

NDC cock sucker! Why are you following NDC blindly? I bet someone like you doesn't even have a job. NPP is not hungry, we've just had enough of Mahama's thievery & bullshit.

• Paa Nii 7 years ago

Please tell us how BoG generates funds “internally”! What mechanisms are in place at BoG that generates even one peswa per annum outside state funds? This is total Bullshit.
    All the current government does is lie to Gha ...

• Felix 7 years ago

Stupid man, is not taxpayers money who owns bank of Ghana, is it private company, it to your father?

• Bino 7 years ago

BOG has been given the authority to manage tax payers money's hence internally generated funds or otherwise, it's still proceeds from the tax payers money's at the Bank of Ghana. Without these public funds, the BOG won't exis ...

• Teacher 7 years ago

Sometimes wonder how people like this so-called former deputy governor get into such positions of responsibility. How can you give such an "childish" explanation to infer that BoG's internal budget is different from the Ghana ...

• Kanawu 7 years ago

Where do these people come from at alll?
    Isn't BoG a public institution? so the money for the watches are whose money? kwasea kwa. These are the people who manage our institutions. Useless useless useless.

• Right 7 years ago

Foolish talk. Do private persons keep their money at the Bank of Ghana? How can state funds not be tax payers' money? Are the recipients paying for the gold watches from their own pockets. Spare us this crap!

• Odikro 7 years ago

How do you let people talk such nonsense and walk around free? Bank of Ghana is a public entity but the internally generated funds are private. Why don't the staff generate these monies from home? So, the government of Ghana ...

• kwam 7 years ago

so by your explanation all state institutions that get internally generated funds can use some of the proceeds for useless things, like gold watches for former employees? e.g GRA,ECG, VRA, GHANA WATYER, POLICE, GHANA POST, DV ...

• KONONGO CONTRACTOR 7 years ago

Who are these people governing this banana republic? Ghana has no railways,no reliable water to drink,no sewerage system,no airways,no reliable electricity, but a budget for gold watches for retirees? GOD PUNISH THESE THESE F ...

• obi 7 years ago

u said is not tax payers money it that money from ur packet or ur home

• kORSHIE 7 years ago

Benson Torkornoo should keep his mouth shut. He has no moral right to criticize anybody. He should first go and refund the monies he has taken from poor Ghanaians in his fraudulent Safeway Tilapia Project.

• Ghana First 7 years ago

This is not the first time Bank of Ghana is buying gold watches for retired staff. They have been doing every time long serving staff go on retirement. Go and check records from 2001 to date and see if that is not the case. W ...

Those who work for only 4years, that is the MP's and Govt officials, ask their x'gratial how much they take and some one who worked for 30 good years awarding him with gold watch now become a topic. see how hepocrate they are ...

• bb 7 years ago

Do you remember the £1.8 million bling bling Kuffour put around some people's neck for no work done.
    What is wrong when a worker is given a gold watch when he is going home after long service.
    True workers deserves whate ...

• AMOH 7 years ago

fine...we will hire people to come and burgle your homes only for the watches..at least to reply to your simple mind...and if such a person had worked even for one hour at bog...sometimes i do not blame the politician..if the ...

• Koffi 7 years ago

This is nonsensical. is the money not Ghana's money ? thieves. To spend $2m for golden watch for retirees sound crazy. A country like ghana always borrowing money for development and some people laying hand on $2m cannot thin ...

• Aberinga 7 years ago

Former Deputy of the BoG is foolish. It is the attitude of these kind of people that have landed Ghana in its present predicament. In very disciplined countries where accountability is pursued a man of this calibre deserves d ...

• Praise 7 years ago

Ugly bug! It's a shame, it's a shame how y'all keep rewarding yourselves at the expense of the school child who still walks bare footed in Funsi. All this nonsense is attributed to government at large; why always this bugs un ...

• dunaa 7 years ago

The Bank of Ghana is a statutory government institution. Every penny the Bank if Ghana spends is tax payers money. If the Bank generates fees from any activity, those fees is taxpayer's money. Mr. Mantey is totally wrong in a ...

• Cadmus 7 years ago

If BOG is not a profit making entity, then which internally generated fund are they talking about? I need to be schooled on this, perharps.

• GTT 7 years ago

It would make sense to give them a soft loans to start a business. What will they do with gold watches? Half of these guys will pass on shortly because of inactivity in retirement. We need to rethink our priorities.