Gov’t may not scrap Energy Levies - Ofori-Atta hints

Read Comments Comments (58)

• koo 7 years ago

and who said politicians were different?

• Eborenasa 7 years ago

I don't blame that aimless dwarf and his stupid government, I blame the gullible Ghanaians who couldn't differentiate fake unrealistic promises from realistic ones. U won on deceit and ur lies would catch up with u soon.

• Kojo T 7 years ago

That was just for the gullible

• NANA ADJEI 7 years ago

They are even plagiarising from NDC polices, saying they will maintain NDC policies. Why did we vote out NDC when they were in the right track? NPP will mess up Ghana. Where is Bawumia the so called economic guru?

• Comfort 7 years ago

I may sound emotional and passionate, but I honestly feel deceived by the NPP. I have always voted based on issues but it seems I was a bit gullible in 2016. I hope i'm wrong but it looks otherwise, npp reneging on all the pr ...

• Nii Armah 7 years ago

We call that "I did not say that". Imagine a son his dad having a chat about marriage and how to keep a good home by not cheating on your wife. And the son asking dad what if a girl with nice nipples and nice body other than ...

• Nii Armah 7 years ago

Wow and the debt would be converted into either equity or sold? wow
    hmmm
    privatisation is looming oooh.Wow this is what the so called mavericks of our financial industry has to offer. Hmmm Asem biriba

• pilolo 7 years ago

Those who reduced their goods bcos npp is in power, those who are expecting electricity bills, etc to be free, fuel prices reduced, free education etc, did you ever ask how on earth a country like Ghana can afford all those t ...

• pilolo 7 years ago

listen to what this thing is telling us. Why did we vote for you? Didnt Bawumia go around with all the figures? They knew what everybody even the govt in power did not know so why now. You see, fools will always be fools and ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 7 years ago

May I ask, sir. Are you from Kwahu?

Ken

• omanba 7 years ago

Thanks a lot Ken.Ghanaians are really fools.They have voted Nana and the NPP into power and that is it.The government can choose to honour the thousands of promises it made to Ghanaians to get their votes.Ghanaians will suffe ...

• KEIWUO, ACCRA 7 years ago

We have not heard what the Finance Minister is saying. The only thing we know is that the new govt will scrap this energy levies since we voted for them based on this promise due to the harsh effect the taxes were having on o ...

• Radical Joe 7 years ago

that mumtum banza shd be made to answer to this

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

grade C economist

• Alhaji Ibrahim 7 years ago

It's high time Bawumia end his " tuo zaafi" politics. This is time for them to start fulfilling the vain promises that brought them to power.

• Ritewing 7 years ago

Your party in government, hid a whooping
    Ghc 7 billion from government accounts and you are not the least worried about this. What manner of person are you. The Ndc government have badly managed the economy of Ghana and it ...

• David 7 years ago

It's good,we now know who was telling us the truth. Anyway it's politics.

• fakye 7 years ago

Her akufo ado n co! U deceits Ghanaians to won political powers n now u are saying this to Ghanaians no problem.god will punish u one by one,shaaaaaaaam

• David 7 years ago

Don't write if you can't spell

• dddd 7 years ago

hahaaaaaa, onaapo writing

• GOOD FATHER 7 years ago

YOU PROMISE THE MASSES SO DO NOT TELL LIARS TO GHANIANS.

• Obinim 7 years ago

Npp will even increase some extra levies and cut down allowance which they promised to bring back for teachers. We are waiting for our dam in my village. My constituency is waiting for $1m and my district is waiting patientl ...

• osei tutu 7 years ago

Am smelling a rat!!! Nana don't even try us because we will not hear that Nonsense!!! You promise us so fulfill it!!!

• NANA ADJEI 7 years ago

He thought ruling a country iss like sniffing drugs, we were having Ghana being built like Europeans did, Roads, hospitals, markets, airports, ITC centres,overheads, E-block excellent schools, ports expansions e.t.c. under Ma ...

• STEVE 7 years ago

" HAD I KNOWN, IS ALWAYS AT LAST." I told you so, and Ghanaians will live to regret voting back the NPP. The progress and development train has come to a halt, and all those who were crying for change will now vomit their stu ...

• Nana Addo 7 years ago

Oyiwaa. Foolish and stupid Ghanaians who bought into lies. It serves us right.

• Marvelous 7 years ago

So are they saying the then government were on the right path for introducing the Energy Levy ?
    Most Ghanaians voted you into power because you promised to scrap it.
    Was the former finance minister right?
    I think he(Seth ...

• koo 7 years ago

who said what? more shocks to come so we better buy more shock absorbers. npp go show ghana man real pepper. JM NIE NANA NIE.

• osei tutu 7 years ago

Masa we no want know how u go do um. Just do what u promise if not, u will regret. Nana is a big liar!!!

• Azz 7 years ago

As expected

• Addae 7 years ago

Don't play on our patients

• Adams 7 years ago

The same stories like VAT 2000 as kuffour made as to believe. It is high time we hold our leaders to their promises especially African leaders, If they want to be president then they promise heaven and earth

• Akuffo A. M. Accra 7 years ago

jkuhygtfrdeswa

• FT 7 years ago

lolololololololol, no matter wht happens me I dey centre rank. jm nie Nadaa nie. ppl can't still differentiate between power hungry promises

• Akuffo A. M. Accra 7 years ago

hygtfrdeswa

• Ataa 7 years ago

cHANGE HAS COME

• Ddy 7 years ago

........ but they told you all along that Ghana is broke. We need the money .

They said Ghana is not broke but bad governance form Mahama administration has made Ghana look like we are broke. When given the chance they will make Ghana one of the best countries to live. Now what are they telling us.Nana ...

• NANABA 7 years ago

Then NPP should prepare for opposition if these levi's are not scrapped. Thats why we voted for them. Meaning all politicians are the same.

• Africa King of powers 7 years ago

5A 5000 YEARS OLD SECRET JINNI FORMULA THAT UNLOCKS THE MYSTERIES OF WEALTH AND SUCCES “THE HIGH POWER JINNI MAGIC RING” A SECRET FORMULA unwritten until now, Remember the KINGS and their fabulous wealth? Even today the t ...

• Nana Apraku 7 years ago

The NPP government had campaign on the back of extensive cuts to what it termed “nuisance taxes,” to “recover the momentum of our economy.”

Oh so u people have deceived us eeeerh? Most people who were crying of lig ...

• Tai 7 years ago

Guys,instead of bastardizing the government for some of these concessions, especially, the finance minister, I believe we must commend them. After all, the ndc was not bad. They were pushed to take some of these supposedly wi ...

• yaw 7 years ago

Ghanaians were impatient. We couldn't wait for the generation of power the country needed n we put pressure on the then government. So they have to take that decision to get us the power. Now we r paying according to the prod ...

• Senior cizizen, BS Germany.. 7 years ago

You should not blame NPP for debts left behind by the NDC.These NDC mosquitoes thought they would keep on hinch on to power to continue [chopping small} the country,s meager resources till their pockets pinch up with holes, b ...

• yet 7 years ago

Guys its better they admit the truth than hide it(which is typical of politicians).... i believe they are being realistic with the situation on the ground to enable them have a strong financial base to enable them create good ...

• Musheshe 7 years ago

You are a foooooooooooool.

• Baababora 7 years ago

Finance Minister, is it not a bit too early for a U turn? Beware of those promises, you must fulfil them or face massive demonstrations.

• ONE GHANA 7 years ago

TWEAA!!!

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

with inflated and fake CVs

• Phather Abraham 7 years ago

Am not surprised at all, when the NDC government introduced VAT under Rawlings' regime, NPP rubbished it. When they came to power in 2000, they increased the VAT rate.... amazing how what was termed nuisance tax turns to be a ...

• Peter 7 years ago

WHY GID YOU MAKE NOISE ABOUT THAT.

• akyem nii 7 years ago

do you think yagyimi wahu

• Honesty-the best policy! 7 years ago

Deviwo gbedidi tror hee!!!

• THE WORLD 7 years ago

NPP have already failed ,failed Ghanaians,only this one they can't keep...then what about the free education,one village ,one dam,one million doolar for the districts?

• Otsibu Darko 7 years ago

ALL POLITICIANS ARE LIARS AND THEIVES!

• Collins A ANTWI 7 years ago

The Government would do Ghanaians a greater service to maintain the levies and increase our capacity to productivity higher.
    By this I mean if the Government would force down interest on loans and also make EXTRA money avail ...

• Man Kapoo 7 years ago

I sometimes feel alarmed by the pronouncements of the Minister for Finance pronouncements:-
    1. That DKM payments are not in our Manifesto.
    2. That govt. may not scrap this or that tax.

I wish to advice government(new) th ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 7 years ago

we told you that the promises are just to win votes ,now embrace yourself for more hardship.
    your darling old certless lawyer would be the biggest liar and deceiver from stolen cert to sneaking into the presidency