Regional News Sun, 21 Apr 2019

Akroso SHS to get multipurpose sports turf

Mr. Alex Incoom, the Asene Manso Akroso District Chief Executive (DCE), has cut sod for the construction of a multipurpose sports turf for the Akroso Senior High School (SHS).

The project, was to help promote sporting activities in the school and also unearth more talents.

The project, which had been on hold, for the last ten years, was being funded from the school’s Internally Generated Fund (IGF), with support from the District Assembly, the Member of Parliament for the area, old students and other well-meaning citizens of Akroso.

The DCE called on the various stakeholders in the education sector to contribute their quota meaningfully to augment the huge investments that government was putting into the education sector.

Mr. Incoom, who is also an old student of the school, said the vision of President Akufo-Addo, was to promote and develop all sporting activities throughout the country with particular emphasis on the ‘lesser known sporting activities.

He said government plans to undertake some projects is yet to undertake in the school as the construction of boys’ dormitory, a masters’ bungalow and a 10-seater toilet facility.

According to him, all the documentations surrounding the multipurpose sport turf for the school has been made and work is expected to smoothly take-off by end of May, this year.

The DCE urged the students to take their academic work seriously and eschew all forms of social vices that would endanger their academic performances in the near future.

Mr Sampson Agyiri-Nyarko, the Headmaster of the School, expressed his gratitude to all who had contributed to the project.

Mr. Agyiri-Nyarko was optimistic that the facility when completed, would go a long way to motivate the students to take sports seriously in conjunction with their studies.

The DCE as an initial support, donated 100 bags of cement towards the construction of the multipurpose sports project.

He was accompanied by some New Patriotic Party (NPP) Constituency Executives and other staff of the District Assembly.

Source: GNA