News

Sports

Business

Entertainment

LIVESTREAMED: Asantehene, others speak at the 150th anniversary of the Sagrenti War

Read Comments Comments (44)

• Nii bi Nii 3 months ago

The Akan political criminal leaders should return all Gadanme indigenous land back to the original people.

• Royal One 3 months ago

NII’s immigration from ille-effe, Nigeria. You are Tribalistic

• Kooko 3 months ago

What about those who came from Mansa Musa's kingdom? Or do you still hold the belief that you came from holes under Bono Manso as Homo sapiens?

• Stupid guy..u we re selling lands 3 months ago

Like no tomorrow.. learn from the ant. Stupid boy

• Emma 3 months ago

May God continue blessing the great Ashanti kingdom

• Kwame 3 months ago

ASANTE is a nation . Hate ASANTE and die young . Piaaawwwww

• John 3 months ago

Galamsey Kingdom. They drink poisoned water and tickle themselves. Apuu

• Ananse 3 months ago

John wo maame tw3 a 3ny3 d3 sei

• Bambi 3 months ago

John the brother of John Mahama the shit carriers your people drunk the same water your cows drink. You shifty fool full of disease and smelly ass.

• Peace 3 months ago

Confused element, the same people gave birth to your parents

• Cheers 3 months ago

Wo gyimii se3 wo kuromu hene,aboa bi ba,yarefo ba

• Cheers 3 months ago

Kwasea wo maame tw3 kankan se3 dawadawa

• That's how Ashanteman became great 3 months ago

Alliances

• CHANGE IS IMPORTANT 3 months ago

EVERY REGION AND TRIBE HAS A LEADER, AND ALSO PART OF GHANA. WHY ALWAYS ONLY ASANTE CHIEF INVITED TO SPEAK AT EVERY ANNIVERSARY? THIS NPP GOVERNMENT IS TRULY FOR ONLY AKANS.

• Kobby 3 months ago

You're pained because your village chief isn't recognized. Whether you call him KING or not he is the king of Asante kingdom

• Cheers 3 months ago

Piawww Otumfo Nyamekese

• Ananse 3 months ago

It is so cos all Ur chiefs are fool foolish

• ATA 3 months ago

Asante is not part of Gold Coast. Asante is a Nation before Gol coast. Asante will be always great

• KD 3 months ago

i'm a proud Asnate and i find it's disgraceful to see such an event taking place at a university hall. A city the size of Kumasi needs a befitting
    City Hall, something similar to Royal albert hall in London. Unfortunately ou ...

• Kofi 3 months ago

You hit the point indeed. It shows how our chiefs are always here and there for celebration, showmanship etc.
    No vision for the city

• ROG 3 months ago

Your king used Asanteman money to buy an expensive mansion in London. He also smuggled huge amounts of Asanteman money to London and had them offshored to the Cannel islands. Don’t complain to us. Complain to your “king ...

• Nolan. 3 months ago

The fact that the British are not returning treasures stolen by them , BUT RATHER LOANING IT BACK PROVES THAT THE BRITISH STILL SEES THE ASHANTES AS DIMWITS. THEY DONT RESPECT THEM AND VIEW THEM AS EQUALS BECAUSE IF THEY DID, ...

• Noorah 3 months ago

They proposed loaning back artefacts to Greece as well and Greece is not happy. It is British law not to return artefacts. You are just ignorant.

• Kwabenata 3 months ago

Why be more concerned about the looted treasure than the stolen Africans that were taken to the new world? Otumfo should care more about the descendants of those were sold for guns and liquor. All stolen Africans should be re ...

• Kojo 3 months ago

Just trying to look important with fake news

• Ben Adjei 3 months ago

With all these stuff, you can’t even control Galamsey. They’re talking out of the Galamsey chemicals consume

• Gbagladza 3 months ago

The war is not called Sagrenti war but rather, Sagbadre war. Sagbadre is a bird that flies for lomg distances and will land and show where people and treasures are. Let us correct the history of the Gold Coast. Someone should ...

• Gbagladza 3 months ago

Sagbadre is an Ewe name for the bird in question that led the warriors to fight the enemies (colonial masters).

• Yaw 3 months ago

Sagrenti is actually "Sir Garnet Worseley". A British force under General Sir Garnet Wolseley was dispatched, and in less than six months, defeated the Ashanti army and burned their capital of Kumasi.

• Boakye 3 months ago

This man is a chief and not a king assholes

• Jake 3 months ago

This false narrative should stop. You went to war and was conquered, and certain things were taken, and you turn round and say certain things were stolen? Is that how things are stolen? Forceful taking and you term it stealin ...

• Jake 3 months ago

This false narrative should stop. You went to war and was conquered, and certain things were taken, and you turn round and say certain things were stolen? Is that how things are stolen? Forceful taking and you term it stealin ...

• Shut up..u subjects shut up 3 months ago

This is the popular kingdom by far. Learn the history and shut up

• Yaw 3 months ago

But why are some people bleeding. You people make jealousy ugly too much. Can people be this jealous. Unless they don’t see the name Asante or Asantehene.

• Bastie asantefourhene 3 months ago

Kumasihene must accord respect to Asantehene Nana Antwi Boasiako (Wontumi) and his Bantamahene Baffour Ampaw Amankwatia

• ROG 3 months ago

Pity, they looted your sacred gold artifacts an now a century later you are happy the looters are temporarily “lending” you your property to display to newer generations! Field Marshal Yaa Asantewaa was right - you are co ...

• Asbury 3 months ago

Ashantes are brain dead, I swear. They looted your treasures by burning down the so called Kingdom Palace , Manhyia. And made monies of it in museums. Now instead of giving it back to you because it's really yours, they say T ...

• Kwadwo 3 months ago

My friend,
    various Asantehene's also looted most of the artefacts from various other states within Ghana. Most of the items belong to other states. That is a fact.

fact.

• Nii Kpobi 3 months ago

What are we celebrating here, the final sacking of Kumasi?
    Why the Battle of Nsamankow is kept mute and Segrenti is being put on billboards is something i don't understand so the intellectuals here please help.

• Kwame nkrumah 3 months ago

Congratulations Ashantee

• KOFI ABRE, YEHOUAKROM 3 months ago

This explains why there are so many Hausa people living Kumasi. They were recruited in Nigeria by the British to fight the powerful Ashanti army of the 18th century.

• rainbow 3 months ago

Why should Ghanaians celebrate Anniversary of when the British won and many Ashantes were massacred, and their most important items all looted? Who or which country celebrates defeat in a War? The British and Ghana should rat ...

• Kwadwo 3 months ago

@Rain....whatever. The Asantes were actually terrorising the Fantes, Brong, Gas, Ewes, etc who were already part of the Gold Coast. Their Kings wanted the British to pay landing rights of ships landing at Elimina and other c ...

• African Man 3 months ago

Why are the Asantes not celebrating the earlier wars where they defeated the British? Why are they only observing the one the British won? Is it just a case of only allowing the narrative to favor the British all the time?