News

Sports

Business

Entertainment

Sagrenti War: Mahama, Bagbin, Bawumia, others join Asantehene at 'Kuntunkuni' durbar of Chiefs

Read Comments Comments (53)

• Prophet mohammed is a dog 3 months ago

Islam is pure evil.

• Gyasi 3 months ago

Asanteman , no size. Bleeding is allowed

• Togbe Agorkorli 3 months ago

Sack mahama from there…. What is dumb dramani doing over there… doesn’t deserve to be invited, after paying shallow Kevin Taylor to insult Asantehene. Lying mahama does not belong, he’s a fucking riff raff, sack him. ...

• Dr. Allen Smith Jackson, UK 3 months ago

Wow, such a beautiful rich culture of the Ashanti people, this is beautiful

• Akan Prophecies 3 months ago

BEAUTIFUL RICH CULTURE ? HOW MUCH DID IT COST THIS ANCIENT NONSENSE !!! THE MONEY COULD HAVE BEEN USED TO CREATE INSTANT EMPLOYMENT FOR ASANTE YOUTHS. THEY ARE ALL BECOMING ERRAND STREET BOYS SMOKING WEE AND DREAMING ABOUT R ...

• Be Bold 3 months ago

Observers are worried but you are quick to flock to the British Museum. Forward march, Ashanti!!

• Abizibay 3 months ago

Look at a fool all over the world especially Asians use their cultures to develop their countries, Nkwasiakika nkoa from no manner children

• Northerner 3 months ago

CELEBRATING DEFEAT TO THE POWERFUL DIR GARNET WORSELEY. HOW ON EARTH FO YOU CELEBRATE YOUR DEFEAT AND BURNING OF KUMASI. THEIR NEXT CELEBRATION WILL BE BASED ON WHEN THEY WERE SLAVES TO DENKYIRA BOAPONSEM. ENJOY YOUR FAILURE, ...

• Now Now 3 months ago

Why do the AKYEMS use to call their chief. OSAGYEFUOR KUNTUNKUNUNKU?

• Mr Wisdom 3 months ago

Because he loved eating Banku while wearing kuntunkuni, so they shortened banku and added the KU to get kuntunkunuku

• Kwame.Kesse 3 months ago

Mr Wisdom hatred and jealousy will always cloud your thinking and consciousness , you are doomed for hating peaceful people of Akyem.

• Ghanaians say YES to LGBT+ 3 months ago

Ghanaians say YES to LGBT+

• AAA+ 3 months ago

Very beautiful

• Oteng 3 months ago

Retards want to celebrate a War that Africans were slaughtered and disgraced . Russia celebrates the World War 2 because they won, US celebrates D Day because they won but US doesn't celebrate Vietnam War etc because they lo ...

• Funtumdunanfu ne Denkyemfunanfu 3 months ago

Give this advice to your village chiefs, wise one! It will be useful to them. Let them bring out their history of victory and we will all join in with the celebration. Asanteman have neither invited you nor asked you to rea ...

• Csei 3 months ago

You deserve MOMO.

• Csei 3 months ago

You deserve MOMO.

• rainbow 3 months ago

@Darren Jackson, you see why the white and Chinese say Africans have low IQ? You see why if you go abroad and have PHD they don't even respect you? It's because of guts like you who think they are educated but still have LOW ...

• Kwaku Ananse III 3 months ago

Asantefuo are NOT CELEBRATING Sagrenti; they ARE COMMEMORATING Sagrenti and OBSERVING the return of their stolen treasures. Big difference

• Nsia 3 months ago

@Oteng, it will help if you do a bit of research about the cause of that "Sagrenti War". Your opinion is too simplistic and banal. Now, Asantehene at the time was an outright bully., terrorising the smaller tribes within the ...

• Yaa 3 months ago

It's really sad that you still think and believe that the British fought for the interests of the Fantis and the Gold Coast tribes.
    Let me explain it to you, the British play on your naivety and your hatred towards Ashant ...

• Nsia 3 months ago

@Yaa... Ignorant farts such as yourself cannot see beyond their noses. Kwaku Dua, is not more Asante than myself. I have delved into archives and read copious amount about my own tribe. The sort of history that embellisher s ...

• Amoah 3 months ago

History is celebrated by people who have history

• Funtumdunanfu ne Denkyemfunanfu 3 months ago

Savage bro! It's must be very difficult living having no history and traditions. Unfortunately, social media will always bombard you with it. Ghanaweb is not stupid, it's just that they have no option. Hahaha!

• Bastie asantefourhene 3 months ago

Kwasia who doesn’t have history ? Wagyimi s3 used menstrual pad. History says Ashantis are Moshi. They were fucked by northerners. Any tall Ashanti you see has a northern blood. That’s also history.

• Darren Jason. 3 months ago

Another buffoon mumu half baked primitive Bastie, ex president John mahama is f...king your Bono queen and we have also learned that most Bono people have northerners as their fathers. So according to useless fake comments yo ...

• Sam 3 months ago

I mean it's different to celebrate a sad event like the February shootings , or the anniversary when the Mau Mau were bombed by the British so innocent people died, or when the British killed innocent people in Zambia. But to ...

• Okonfo at Nortsie 3 months ago

They are proud to be associated with the white skin considering their charcoal black complexion. It upgrades them to a dirty pink complexion. Something the consumption of mouse faecal matter could not do. Anyway I like and ...

Listen mumu half baked primitive sam, we all know your forefathers were traitors and jealousy people who hate unification so they were helping the British to rule over black Africans. No wonder your tribal people don't have a ...

• Northerner 3 months ago

His forefathers were against Asantes ruling them and supported the enemy of their enemy to defeat their enemy. Worseley did a good job if not your people would have claim others are your slaves as you continue to contest for ...

• Yaw 3 months ago

The bleeders association of Ghana are welcome

• Bastie asantefourhene 3 months ago

Your Kumasihene is the one bleeding hahahahah claiming people hate him and his useless tribe.

People are simply fed up with your nonsense and are returning the same energy

• Be Bold 3 months ago

But you are quick to read and comment on articles about the Ashantis. Can't you just read and move on without commentary, because that's where your anger and stupidity comes in.

• rainbow 3 months ago

This is what Bob Marley said emancipate yourself from mental slavery . This is real mental slavery whereby the white man destroyed Ashantes , thousands of them, set fire to the whole city that they built with money in that ...

• Baafi 3 months ago

It appears you're either stupid or mischievous in your comments, who said Asantes are celebrating? Please read the story again and this time carefully. It's commemorations, FOOLS.

Mumu half baked primitive calling himself rainbow, just because your forefathers were evil traitors working for the British. You don't want the Ashantis to tell their history. Kwasia gyimi ofui opro.

• Wontumi's Kingdom 3 months ago

The Asantehene said Power is transient

• Densu 3 months ago

Ashanti and Akan who said Africa had no culture . The truth is coming out live now . Africa forever
    Otumfuo we salute you. Who are we Africans really ? Do we know ? Answer somebody’s name somebody’s culture somebody’ ...

• Kwami - US 3 months ago

What is the meaning of “Sagrenti”? Why are the Ashantis now celebrating a war that was fought 150 years ago in which they lost? Just curious

• Flag of Ghana 3 months ago

Sagrenti War means Sergeant Gannett Wesley War. Their local dialect found it difficult to mention the name well. So called it Sagrenti

• Kwami - US 3 months ago

@Flag of Ghana, thank you for letting me know about Sagrenti

• Henry 3 months ago

Sir Garnet Wolseley

• Sul 3 months ago

ADDING BAWUMIA SPOIL EVERYTHING

• Yaw Annim. 3 months ago

Next, we will celebrate the Katamanso war, in which we lost to the GA-Adangbe tribe.

• Jeff 3 months ago

Who invited Jack Toronto/Bawuliar and his brothers there?
    Only Mahama supposed to be there…

• coaches 3 months ago

Ashanti get money fucking

• Jidoshaki 3 months ago

By the mention of the name Asante!!! Some people BP began to rise why, what is in that name Asante!!! That send kpokpobribri to the spine of......

• Oko 3 months ago

Is it Sir Grant war or Sagranti war?

• Code 9 3 months ago

This is not news in kano where indirect rules started. .

• Apotro 3 months ago

@ Darren Jackson, please you are a big fool. Rainbow isn't saying Ashantes should not talk about their history or culture . He's saying why commemorate a WAR WHICH ASHANTES WERE KILLED BRUTALLY AND A LOT TOO . ASHANTES CAN CE ...

• Flag of Ghana 3 months ago

Yaa Asantewaa was so angry with Sir Garnet Worseley that she disagreed with the demands of the British. The men went into hiding but brave woman Yaa Asantewaa took that rice gun with the long barrel and fired at the British. ...

• Robinson Crusoe and Man Friday 3 months ago

Those long guns were given to pre colonial chiefs in exchange for captured slaves. The chiefs were given those guns, whisky, mirror, cloths and sugar in a barter trade in exchange for slaves. The chiefs used those long gun ...

• Kanta Kunte 3 months ago

Tobacco was the most popular among the merchandise . Don Diego D' Azambuja should have been beaten to death by the people of Elmina. Very careless coastal tribe