Otumfuo storms Okomfo Anokye’s shrine

Read Comments Comments (97)

• gyan 9 years ago

It is a good move at list the creator of Ashanti kingdom must recognized. The kingdom is for him.

• ELINAN 9 years ago

I personally thank the king for this move of gluing us together to fight white supremacy and neo-colonialist elements in our govt and among all our politicians that have made Africa and Ghanaian moral values dipped to their ...

• facts 9 years ago

A sensible move by an intelligent traditional ruler. Such moves unites our people we should encourage more of that.

• mugu1 9 years ago

if he is intelligent traditional ruler enough he wouldn't had convert to colonial christianity besides that village stool and there were none village elders throwing questions at him,
    this really suck in 2014

• Omanhene 9 years ago

hey Im here

• Julor Agyekum Kwakwe (JAK) 9 years ago

And stop using the phrase His Majestic because Ashante culture is a backward primitive culture. You better use Ashantehene Osie Tutu II AND STOP cOPYING THE WHITES, BACKWARD UGLY IDIOTS!!!

• Musa K. 9 years ago

"After addressing the people, he will pour libation at Okomfo Anokye's Shrine...."

The temptation to know the future or a situation through the occult, divination, were practices of the heathen; God forbade his people fr ...

• Paa Kwasi Thomas 9 years ago

Elinan, you're 100% correct. They speak long, long English when they are with us but when they meet the English man then they say "Yes Sir" and that is our downfall.

• Jojo 9 years ago

.After he helped them establish their state, they killed Akomfo Anokye because as usual, he wasnt an Ashanti, but a Denkyira.

This same ingratitude and high level of tribalsim still exists in Ashantis till date. At least w ...

• Repugnant. 9 years ago

So ashantes upon all their silly noises have a founder after all, and not founders. Thank goodness these ingrates now remember how they were recruited into their marauding swoon, to lie and steal, and cheat, and to provoke st ...

• Repugnant. 9 years ago

it will open new gates to the prosperous
    future

• nana osei 9 years ago

It beggars belief that ignorant and incompetent fools like Jojo can hide behind the anonymity of the world wide web to spew out such outright lies based on hatred. You need to have your head examined.

• Nii Tsokor 9 years ago

How did an Akuapem man have so much influence at the very center of the Ashanti nation ?

• Pelicles 9 years ago

You will have answers to your questions at the birth place of the great man Okomfo Anokye or haven't you heard anything about him before? The man did greater things and if he was to be a White man, he will be seen as the so ...

• Nii Tsokor 9 years ago

warrior.This is the first time I read about him with his Akuapem connections.Do you care to expand on his this ?

• Fofi 9 years ago

No he is an Ewe man from Notse. and settled in the Eastern Region.

• PHILTY McNASTY 9 years ago

Who told you Komfo Anokye is an Ewe from Notse. You idiots play on sound rhymes and try to claim for yourselves all things hat are good for others. Ewe from Notse my ass.

• mahall 9 years ago

But the real truth is that komfo anokye never had any family.lost through the bush hahaha after giving them the golden stool.put all their strength and souls in that stool.unless the Ashanti's destroy that stool they will con ...

• kofi 9 years ago

Are u sure Ashantis are cowards?
    Do u know the meaning of the name Asante?
    If so why are Ashantis everywhere controlling businesses which take risk n courage to start?
    Stop the irrational hatred n hypocrisy against Ahantis ...

• Jojo 9 years ago

And for your information, Ashantis are everywhere because they are a majority. Thats it. U cant expect anything else. They are all over kantamanto, Kejetia and little stores and corners because they like business, another nam ...

• kofi 9 years ago

Ewes go to school so n that's acceptable. Ashanti businesses employ ewe grads. Ewes are not able to think outside the box with their long chains of degrees. They invariably end up in an already crowded civil service sector fi ...

• Tei 9 years ago

Bro Kofi, I like you already.
    You were too nice to the fool Jojo!!You should have hit him hard with the truth!!!

• Abaji 9 years ago

Really,Ashantis cowards,you call JJ courageous apuu,it took brave people like Baah Kyamfour who's is an Ashanti and the likes to stage the uprising and got JJ out,what are you talking about.

• Nana Kwabena Asante. 9 years ago

Ashante is a wrong pronunciation of Asante.
    PLEASE NOTE THAT IT IS WRONG TO SAY ASHANTE. That is white people and other foreigners ascent.

• ELINAN 9 years ago

Learn to write good english before you prescribe a better system for the Asante ppl. There's no difference in what they have and the Indian Hinduism and Chinese and the Japanese Buddhism. Do you have any prescription for t ...

• fii 9 years ago

Iif u don't know it don't make false ststaments. Just shut up.

• JOE BILLY 9 years ago

GOD BLESS U NANA

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

WHAT HISTORY HAS OSEITUTU READ? "KOMFO ANOKYE" WHOSE FULL NAME IS NANA KWAME FRIMPONG ANOKYE WAS A HUNTER WHO WAS EXILED FROM ASHANTI TO AKWAMU FOR KILLING A PERSON DURING A HUNTING EXPEDITION. HE BEFRIENDED ANOTHER ASHANTI M ...

• John,Tema 9 years ago

This is needless if you don't have any comment shut up.

• NHYIRABA 9 years ago

osei yaw I don't think this is an insult.if you know that much we need history teachers at our schools.Maybe osei yaw you never knew nana Kwame Frimpong was a native of akuapem awukugua.I do remember seeing the palm tree that ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

I support you that Okomfo Anokye was not an Asante but from Awukugua. I also saw the Palm tree you are talking about. If Osei Yaw knows the history of the Asante, he is not better than the traditional leaders. After the death ...

• Kwame Osei-Boamah 9 years ago

Thank you so much for your comment about Osei Yao in his foolish attempt to rewrite Ashanti history. He is a typical Ewe man who abhors every good thing concerning Ashantis. I am an Ashanti from Kokofu, went to Legon and was ...

• wo haw ne den? 9 years ago

This Osei Yao is very naive and ignorant. Even, what is the meaning of 'ANOKYE' ANO-KYE, is not a Kyerepong/Guan name. I don't think you know better than the Ashanti king, you think he is a fool? He knows where the Ashanti po ...

ANO-KYE IS A KYEREPONG/GUAN NAME

• When will we stop to think 9 years ago

In the Gold Coast, when the Denkyiras were tormentors of the weak or small states such as the Asantes, it was the Akwamus who propped up Osei Tutu with the help of Okomfo Anokye to liberate these Asante states. The consequen ...

• Prof Botswana 9 years ago

People did you know that Okomfo Anokye was an Ewe man from Nortsie in Republic of Benin formerly called Dahomey. Because of his spiritual work he came to settle at Awukuga and the Akwapims were calling him Okomfo Notsie hence ...

Prof, it is not true he was from Benin. You tried to give his name without explaining it.
    Anokye, according to legend could perform spiritual feats. His father Annor became surprised. Anytime he performed any such feat, the ...

• let us correct our history 9 years ago

My brother Frank, as per the history I learnt at school, Osei Tutu's uncle was Obiri Yeboah not Oti Akenten. Obiri Yeboah was beheaded by the people of Dormaa state hence the vacancy which ushered in Osei Tutu the 1st

Yes you are right. The first were Twum and Antwi who ruled when Asante was made up of city states. They were followed by Koi Amamfi, then Oti Akenten before Obiri Yeboah, then Osei Tutu, Opoku Ware and the rest. The fact howe ...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

The Ashanti King who followed Twum and Antwi is Kobia Amenfi and not Koi Amenfi.

• Kpenyigba Kwesi 9 years ago

Distinguished Prof. you are right. Okomfo Notsie was an Ewe originated from TADO (Dahume). He and other Ewes travelled through Togoland, settling in Notse(Togo) before entering the Gold Coast.He was a greatest JUJUMAN of the ...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Are you people happy with the trash you are spewing on this site? How much do you that the Asantehene did not know and who told you that Okomfo Anokye came from Notsie? Go to Awukugwa and see for yourself his birth place. I ...

WHERE IS YOUR PROOF, WE ALL KNOW AND READ ABOUT HIS BIRTH AND YOUTHFUL SPIRITUAL PERFORMANCE AND ALL THE OTHER PHYSICAL PROOF IN AWUKUGUA-AKWAPIM. PLEASE FOOLS, STOP TALKING ABOUT ANOKYE AS AN EWE WITHOUT ANY PROOF. THE ASHAN ...

• TP 9 years ago

That's why we must write our own history for Ghana by Ghanaians. So Mr. Legon, what research n papers have u written about history of Ghana?

• Pelicles 9 years ago

If you are an Ewe, I pity you because you seems to be drooling too much. Who told you that Okomfo Anokye came from Notsie in the Volta Region? Akan will never steal any name from Voltarians because there is nothing good from ...

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Who is this silly guy demonstrating his ignorance over here? Who said Okomfo Ankye hails from Volta Region? The man came from Benin a place called Notsie, he has his twin brother, the one who came to the Gold Coast was t ...

• Paa Kwasi Thomas 9 years ago

Prof. Or whatever you like to call yourself,don't deceive yourself. Can you please bring any historical data to support your claim? Just keep quiet and learn from those who know.

• tina 9 years ago

Your facts are concocted.
    Learn history,submit yourself to wisdom n stop the propaganda

• amma 9 years ago

WETHER HE WAS AN EWE OR AKUAPEM, HE BEFRIENDED AN ASANTE HELP THEM CONQUA DENKERAS ONLIKE YOU GUYS TODAY WHO WILL WANT ASANTES DISAPPEAR. IF ASANTE WERE BAD PEOPLE, HE WOULDN'T HAVE LIFTED A FINGER TO HELP THEM.

• JOE BILLY 9 years ago

GOD BLEES YOU NANA

• Exposure 9 years ago

After all, there is a forgotten somebody who is not an Ashanti by birth? Is the so called glory being tainted?

• Asanteni 9 years ago

I am far away from home, but on reading this article, I feel like I will be one of the young men carrying one of the chief's stools.
    Our yound ones are losing the sense of nationhood, and such interaction between the chiefs ...

• Ghfuo: hang nyantakyi! 9 years ago

Factories, more taxes, better schools,.more universities and poly, hospitals, more jobs in construction, better planning and zoning in the kumasi metropolis is better than this..

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Otumfuo is the senior bastard

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

The most important visit will be Kumasi market where people are trading in dust is about time that you drop off all the jewelry and convert them to build the market and accountability to the Ashantis

• Akuapems must buck up 9 years ago

Tell the Akuapems to wake up. Tettey Quarshie hospital is in tatters. It needs serious expension as well as Akropong and Mampong schools for the deaf and dumb. The Akuapem main road needs road line markings seriously to check ...

• Fiifi Amakye 9 years ago

Let those who refuse to acknowledge the historic and the strategic importance of Otumfuo`s visit to the Akwapim area,especially AwukuQua,wallow in their ignorance.

• ben oteng sekyere 9 years ago

Thx nana kwaku i like your dynamism. You are always a pace setter

• STORMS 9 years ago

"STORMS"?? What a title?

• Kwabena 9 years ago

History and culture at its best. kudos to asanteman and awukugua.God bless the Ayempede family

• PIESIE 9 years ago

NANA SHOULD BUILD A FITTING PALACE FOR THE ANOKYE FAMILY AS A 'THANK YOU' GESTURE FOR THE WONDERFUL FEAT OKOMFO ANOKYE PERFORMED FOR THE ASANTES.A BRIDGE SHOULD BE BUILT BETWEEN THE FAMILY OF ANOKYE AND MANYHIA.ANY AWUKUGUA I ...

• Jojo 9 years ago

After he helped them establish their state, they killed Akomfo Anokye because as usual, he wasnt an Ashanti, but a Denkyira.

This same ingratitude and high level of tribalsim still exists in Ashantis till date. At least we ...

• MANY FAKE PASTORS vs NO SCIENTIST 9 years ago

YOU DON'T WISH NOTHING BETTER IN LIFE . EVIL JOJo .

• Gaddaffi 9 years ago

Look guys we all must respect the authorities OK.

• ASUOYEBOA 9 years ago

Too little too late. There should have been a whole palace built in a historic location in Ashanti Region in honor of Okomfo Anokye.

• JOE 9 years ago

The whole teaching hospital is named after him. I think that's OK

• KWAKU KYERETWIE 9 years ago

YES IT IS ABOUT TIME ASHANTIS GO TO OKOMFO ANOKYE AGAIN TO SEEK HELP SO THAT, THE ASANTEMAN COUNCIL CAN FOCUS ON REBUILDING THE ASHANTI NATION. AT THE MOMENT WE NEED THE INLAND PORT AND THE KUMASI INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT THAT M ...

• Isaac 9 years ago

While others are building spaceships etc. my people are more concerned about why a Chief did not visit his family after because of some myth story about a descendant in the 16th century. Oh Ghana daben?

• Kojo. 9 years ago

Well done.

• KOOBAAH. 9 years ago

ASANTEHENE SHOULD VISIT BEREKU ALSO WHERE OBOSOM TUTU WHO BEGAT OSEI TUTU I RESIDES? THE MOTHER OF OSEI TUTU WENT TO OBOSOM TUTU BEFORE SHE COULD THE CHILD OSEI WHO WAS NAMED AFTER OBSOM TUTU:KOOBAAH:

• Joseph Darko-Yeboah Frempong 9 years ago

I fully support your suggestion; Osei Tutu was a sole child named after "SUMAN TUTU" of Brekuso after his mother sort help from the Fetish Priest to have a child. A lot of Ashantis would not know this history and might think ...

• Mr Big Moff 9 years ago

Good stuff but Mr journalist weitin be the "late" Okomfo Anokye and the "late" Osei Tutu? Abi me too I go fit say the "late" Adolf Hitler or the "late" Napoleon Bonarparte? You no tink say if we do so all history books go ful ...

• Julius kwaku Adu 9 years ago

I agree with his majesty about this visit because Okomfo Anokye has contributed immensery in the history of Ashante.therefore he need to be remembered.

WE HAD ENOUGH PASTORS IN GHANA WE NEED SCIENTIST TO MOVE GHANA FORWARD . WE CAME EVEN FIX OUR ROADS AND SOLVE DUMSOR . WHAT A SHAME - YOU DIDN'T GRADUATE JUST TO SPEAK AND WRITE SOMEONES LANGUAGE - FOOLS . GHANA IS RICHER THA ...

WE HAD ENOUGH PASTORS IN GHANA WE NEED SCIENTIST TO MOVE GHANA FORWARD . WE CAN'T EVEN FIX OUR ROADS AND SOLVE DUMSOR . WHAT A SHAME - YOU DIDN'T GRADUATE JUST TO SPEAK AND WRITE SOMEONES LANGUAGE - FOOLS . GHANA IS RICHER TH ...

• evans adjei 9 years ago

well done nana may the gods bless you.

• Kwasi Asamoah 9 years ago

Otumfuo should listen so that he can learn the Asante history and do the right thing.

• OWEN,NEW YORK. 9 years ago

Ghanaians,should emulate this King Solomon of our time.Peace maker of our great country.Only that God gave us few wise politicians.Majority of them are 419, thieves.

• MSI-USA 9 years ago

Asanteman need to rise again and save Ghana from these corrupt people running Ghana today....More Power to Asantehene.. The visit is the right thing for Asanteman...Long live Asantehene...

• Sam 9 years ago

So if this family of Komfo Anokye exists in Awukugwa, what does it make of the family of the late Victor Owusu in Agona Ashanti who claim to be decendants of Komfo Anokye? If there is no connection between them and the Anokye ...

• Onyansani 9 years ago

I hear that the Anokye stool at Agona Ashanti has gone missing for some time now. Who knows, the Otumfuo went to Awukugua in search for the missing stool. A new history is in the making. Rattary and the other Ashanti historia ...

• agyenim 9 years ago

I come from Agona-Asante and I am perplexed. We know from history that Okomfo Anokye was the chief at Agona and after his death he was succeeded by his nephew Siaw Anim. Later, Kwame Boakye became chief and from that family w ...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

The man having done a tremendous work for the Ashanti nation, can be crowned as a Chief of Agona as a good gesture but the fact is he is not from that town. Okomfo Anokye whose real name is Kwame Frempong Manso hails from Aw ...

• Ahinsan 9 years ago

Frempong Manso is not a Guan name.

• Mensah 9 years ago

Those who know history will tell you that Okomfo Anokye was given a stool in the Asante Kingdom after his service to the Kingdom during King Osei Tutu I reign. He was from Akuapim, but he was honored with a stool in the Asant ...

• duffour zion 9 years ago

what a heritage

• Martin Ferkah 9 years ago

I thought komfo Anokye is really Asante. Anyway is good move and at least he can give them some few gold.

• Joe Saka 9 years ago

I am glad you have been submissive and have learnt something new, something factual. real not fabricated or false. Something research have validate and it's reliable. Not the false history by the late Prof. Adu Boahene, Dr Ay ...

• Kofi Lomotey 9 years ago

Yet the Akwapems are not trumpeting in the streets of Ghana and all the corners of the world that their person helped the Asantes to form a kingdom. Something the Asantes would have made the world to hear.
    Oh by the way it s ...

• kwame 9 years ago

king of wisdom

• Ahinsan 9 years ago

Kofi Agyei, who was popularly known as Okomfo Anokye, was then the chief priest (traditional) who commanded Ntim Gyakari to sacrifice a fair lady as a sign of victory over the Asantehene (the King of Asantes). Unfortunately t ...

• REEPE. 9 years ago

A twisted history in making! Find out where exactly this Okomfo from Notsie is coming from, you will be amazed

• Lolo 9 years ago

Priest ...

• mahama loot nd share 9 years ago

Corrupt chief noinses

• OVERLORD 9 years ago

No wonder the Asantefuo fear Ewe people so much. The Asantehene was there to pay homage to the his Ewe gods. Tweeaaa!

• Kwami - US 9 years ago

So the Asante King is now worshiping Voodoo and pooring libation at a like-wise trokosi shrine. Wonders shall never end.

• Kwasi Asamoah 9 years ago

Otumfuo is wrong this time! Please go to Agona Asante and look for Okomfo Anokye's family. They have what it takes to be Okomfo Anokye's family.