Teachers to cut back teaching hours

Read Comments Comments (44)

• Clement. 10 years ago

Hmmm.

• Nyansapor 10 years ago

Quality NOT Quantity. The many hours with students by these SYTO teachers only inflicts pain to the students. They spend a lot of these hours canning and beating students; so, who cares if they cut back the contact hours?

Forbes too confirms we shall go to war as we are 100% sure NDC will rig the elections with election engineering , propaganda , corruption , bloated register , hegemony mixed with northern tribalism. Now that the dumsor barge ...

• Kess Jones 10 years ago

Lack of knowledge my people perish... The so called SYTO teachers made you whom you are today, remember if you can read and write,to be able to call teachers SYTO today you must give thanks to the SYTO teachers...you INGRATE. ...

• attu zongo 10 years ago

If you follow this disgraced corrupt and incompetent destroyers in power the education system in Ghana will collapsed.
    NANA ADDO shall surely reward you when npp come to power.

• Jane 10 years ago

Nana addo is your saviour, abi? Keep waiting for your redeemer.

• Marcus chris Lawson 10 years ago

Generally civil or public servants are contracted for an 8 hour shift which is referred to as 9- 5.
    Teachers starting work and finishing at the 1.30 pm is only 5.30 hours , plus the reported extra 2 hours makes it a total ...

• Paa Cle, UCC 10 years ago

You were making very tangible submission but the ending is where I have problem with you, there is no need insulting the teachers, cos you don't know what is stipulated in the working conditions of the teachers. If you may wi ...

• Constructivist 10 years ago

Don't market your ignorance here, teachers in secondary boarding schools work not for 8 hours but 24 hours. The work of the teacher is not for only the time spent on delivering subject content!

• nanaQow 10 years ago

That's interesting, Lawson. I thought you will add extra duties like preps, supervision, etc. to your analysis. Get your facts straight ok. You sound like a well educated being. Think about what your teacher went through to m ...

• Kess Jones 10 years ago

Have you factor the preparation of lesson note,marking of exercises,preparation of TLM's and other stuffs?.

• Anas is unstoppable 10 years ago

Teachers don't even teach. Students are failing exams. Those who feel they are not motivated should stop teaching

• nanaQow 10 years ago

Stupid. Do teachers learn to write exams? Gyimi. Advice your younger siblings to sit down and learn cos teachers only guide you to be well educated. We live in the era of information explosion ok. And learning is not teacher ...

• Frimpong, New York 10 years ago

The statutory working hours is 8 hours. Therefore Teachers are to work from 8 AM to 5 PM. Where is the extra hours? GES to note. Parents also to note since it is possible to take legal action against Teachers if they breach t ...

• Free Voter 10 years ago

Can you talk from 8 am to 5pm? Not only talking but ensuring discipline for about 80 students for all this time? Have you ever sat even to chat with 4 of your own children for 2 hours without headache? How about 80 children ...

To the best of my knowledge, this motivation came as a result of parents wanting teachers to increase the instructional hours at the various schools and discouraged the organization of extra classes by individual teachers. So ...

• Afia 10 years ago

On a more serious note, teachers r supposed to be paid well than al oda profession. Scrapping this allawance is irrelevant. when mp's just sit in parliamnt n do "Yea yea/ No No" n take dat huge amnt. Let's al tink tru it.

• Captain K.tema 10 years ago

I beg you teachers ! You have to work for 8hours a day. Some institutions are even doing more than that. Eg police no holidays, no vacation, no extracurricular activities, at times 24/7 duties. Come to Tema and Ashaiman and s ...

• peter 10 years ago

Government must scrap the huge ministers allowances too coz they also take salaries!!

• Joe 10 years ago

Ndc goverment doesnt care about teachers.

• USMAN 10 years ago

Mahama is so heartless, wicked and corrupt that he wouldn’t blink stealing from an orphan. Please read the following:
    Ghana’s President Hurls Insults At Obasanjo At African Forum In London-bloomberg

There was near p ...

• Osnad 10 years ago

Failure is our success is waec and ges motto. expect more failure in wassce, this will increase the number of students who will register novdec.
    God save mother Ghana.

• customs officer 10 years ago

Just for 10ghcedis for only 2 hrs
    .what is the national daily minimum wage?

• Mike, UCC 10 years ago

Paa Cle, UCC and Afia congratulations !!!
    Actually, these are the kind of Intellectuals we need in this country. But for others, twaaaaa !!
    Several teachers taught you but you vehemently refused to think and speak as people ...

• Pito brewer 10 years ago

Hahaha some intellectual! You just heaped praises on some selected people and condemned others and offered no viewpoint on the issue at stake and ended up calling yourself an intellectual, please revise your notes and withdra ...

• Kwaku 10 years ago

You are suppose to work eight hrs. Do they want to work twp hrs

• when 10 years ago

This GOVT Wants to make every Ghanaian POOR and die of hunger BUT they should know they will die instead. Their TRIBAL compaigns will not work for them again. Now we are all wise, we will send this careless mahama out.

• kwame 10 years ago

Yet still let teachers in de volta region vote 2moro.They w'l still vote 100% 4 NDC.Ghanaians ar foolish.God hv mercy

• Mustapha 10 years ago

Love of country and children come last

• sanjay 10 years ago

teacher's and doctors if we leave Ghana for you people one day you will come out and say,each day you will be killing one student each, are u the only workers in Ghana,what a pity, today nurses, tomorrow doctors, and next tea ...

• For you 2016 jamb question and answer 10 years ago

For you 2016 jamb question and answer just visit WWW.MOBOVILLA.COM and call +2349030861174.

• kwesi 10 years ago

if the government is looking for ways to cut on expenditure and has cut nursing training allowance ,teachers allowance, subsides on fuel and electricity ,then it can also cut northern educational fund and also subsides on ele ...

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

Other than John Mahama (who steals so much from government he does not need any other incentives) which Ghanaian worker does not need incentives. When I was in Middle School, my teachers spent 4 to 4 hours helping students, d ...

• Obiba rBroke 10 years ago

Tit for tat, is even in the Holy book. Good job by good wise teachers

• kwasi 10 years ago

Ghana teachers has got it easy.they have to serve the 8hrs as every body dose.8am to 4pm.at lease the kid have to close at 2.30pm and they have to stay till 4pm.

• Yankey 10 years ago

The parents came into consesus to give the teachers some incentives. This policy makers will abolish the payment and pay for their wards. Look at the poor people, supporting it. The foolish man is asking teacher s to close fr ...

• anero 10 years ago

NDC government be very careful with teachers oo because this led the elephant to the bush. You can close your ears but l am telling u that the same people who sent the elephant to the bush will send the NDC to the sea

• uncle Yaw,swedru. 10 years ago

OYes,the scrapping of this illegal tr motivation allowance is very muchwelcome.Apart from d extra classes fees that trs collect to teach for one more hour they still collect this illegal motivation fees.Not all schools collec ...

• NANA USA 10 years ago

You these lazy teachers are doing nothing in the classrooms.Are you not paid?This is laziness if you will be serious in teaching for the hours given you l hope it will be fine

• Akora 10 years ago

This so called leader is speaking nonsense. If you are charging an illegal fees, you want right thinking Ghanaians to allow you to receive that illegal money? What kind of teachers are these?

My heart sometimes aches about the way and manner we the intellectuals allow personal and political sentiments cloud our thoughts and arguments. We are all thinking about how to improve our educational system. Insults and nam ...

• Bob Little 10 years ago

Sometimes, I don't understand why people get into professions they are not motivated by themselves to do.As teachers, you should have the interest in helping the young ones.The reason why everyone is not a teacher is because ...

• stereo 10 years ago

Teachers l guess you've now seen this Notorious Dirty Criminals(NDC). This is foolish,their can scrap all the allowances of teachers. Teachers will still survive, but 2016 is going to be the end of the road of this Notorious ...

• Sir Mike 10 years ago

I think the PTA should also stop their building projects for schools since that has outlived it's purpose. It is the responsibility of the government to provide classrooms, dormitories and teachers bungalows not the PTA.
    Ab ...