Olele was playing for Olympics in 1988 - Grusah

Read Comments Comments (113)

• kokroko 11 years ago

Is it greed or what. This guy with his experience and age should retire take a coaching and become th keepers trainer. Or may be he cannot even read? Illiteratracy is one thing that Needs be updated in our beloved country.

• Sammy the Sheriff 11 years ago

If Olele played for Olympics in 1988 and is 35 years old today, that means he was 10 years old when he was Olympics goalkeeper. "Nawaooo!!, 10 year old goalkeeper in Ghana Premier league.

• WWW.FILMOVER.COM 11 years ago

Watch All Your UK & US Channels At WWW.FILMOVER.COM
    FILMOVER HAS ALL THE CHANNELS IN THE WORLD.

• Kay 11 years ago

LET THE YOUNG TAKE OVER.

• Truth 11 years ago

Olele is not less than 45 but he is still going strong and if he is doing better than the younger keepers, why not use him. The older the wine, the better the taste!

• Davi 11 years ago

You toke the words out of my mouth,goal keepers are just like wine the older they get,better and more confee they become.We should keep Olele in the team inorder to have inpart on the Young Ones.

• Alugu 11 years ago

How old is the Italian goalkeeper Buffon? How long has he been the goalie for Italy?

• Boss 11 years ago

A great record. Perhaps the greatest soccer record. Playing in the elite division at 10. No one else has ever done this. Congrats Olele.

• baba cpp 11 years ago

Ole-ole means thief, A 10 year old Olympics player? Only the Wonder Club could have had a 10 year old goalkepper. This reminds me of a certain premier league captain who was playing for the under 20's. S0 Olele must be in his ...

• OGOGLO QUARTER 11 years ago

THOSE DAYS WE USED HEIGHT SYSTEM TO DETERMINED IF A PLAYER IS NOT OVERGROWN FOR COLT SOCCER.YOU CAN BE 35YRS IF UNDERHEIHGT YOU GOOD TO PLAY.IF YOU CAN'T CLEAR THE HEIGHT SYSTEM MEANS YOU'RE DONE "..ODWAA-HEIGHT"NO MORE COLT ...

• Rasheed@Leave Kingson alone. 11 years ago

since the inception of the youth tournaments, most Ghanaians have lied about their ages.So why you attacking Olele? If he is 60 and still performing better than the young keepers, why not allow him to keep the post. We have h ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 11 years ago

I don't understand why people are so much concerned about Olele's age. If a person is strong why worry about his age, plus he's got so much experience. My only problem with Olele is that he doesn't use his brains well in the ...

• GC/USA 11 years ago

AS YOU AGE YOUR VISION, REFLEX, COGNITIVE ABILITY DECLINE AND I BELIEVE HE HAS ALREADY OR BEGINNING TO DEVELOP JOINT ARTHRITIS. HE NEEDS EYES EXAMINATION.

• Kasavubu 11 years ago

We are all worried over olele simply because our boys rarely score plenty goals in a match. Granted that olele mans the post I wonder if the Egyptians will score more than 10 goals against him. Meanwhile, we have a winner in ...

• 4 Year Old 11 years ago

Olele is too old for the game. He may collapse in the post. He can't jump, he can't run and he can't catch. He is toooo old for World Cup Series.

• OmanheneU$A 11 years ago

“AKORA” Fidel Castro of Cuba once stated this:

"Leave the American alone now for ‘they will make a mistake’ and tell the truth later." And, Boy, his ass was damn right. America has disclosed many embarrassing truth ...

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 11 years ago

I KNOW THIS NAIJA MAN WHO WORKS AS A BAGGAGE HANDLER AT NEWARK INTL. WHEN HE CAME TO THE US, HE WATERED DOWN HIS AGE BY 15YRS. NOW HE IS PAST RETIRMENT BUT STILL WORKING. IS THIS LIFE?..LOL

• OmanheneU$A 11 years ago

Of the many "Konkonsa stuff" that several immigrants indulge in to stabilize their living abroad, two of these kinky stuff stand out clearly:

1) Watering down (reducing) their ages, which leads one to work like a dog into ...

• Joe Wapi 11 years ago

The man olele is as old as stone

• Nii 11 years ago

So who care if he is a 100 years old. If he is the best we have at the moment let's unite behind him and win the game we need to win. the younger ones can learn from him.

• hmmm 11 years ago

olele was just 10 year old when he was in great olympic

• POW@ Appiah 4 Brazil.com. 11 years ago

MDFSKK "me da fom' sere kwaa kwaa". Yeah that's the Ghanaian version of Lol aka laugh out loud.

Anyway, the question is, are his reflexes aharp enough as a keeper? Does he have good eye sight? If all these are good and he ...

Why the hue and cry about Olele's age?Peter shilton, Dinozoff and one One Irish keeper(Name Forgotten)were either 40 or plus? If the guy is 50 and still performing better than the young keepers ,why not allow him to keep.I a ...

• Artillery 11 years ago

The Norther Ireland goalkeeper's name you are after is: PAT JENNINGS.

You are right bro.

• Mr.N 11 years ago

No one is crying about Olele's age he has to come out with rightful age so the coach can access him better. All the ones you mentioned were playing with their rightful age this is difference.

Young man do not deceive yourself. With the exception of Dede Ayew, Jordan and perhaps Kwaresey ,all those players are not using their right ages. Look at a player like Frank Acheampong whose face is as hard as Mr.N's knee, a ...

• Abrantie-In Da house 11 years ago

Dear Rasheed, I guessed you just rushed to answer Mr. N without thinking about what you wrotr upthere yourself. You were the one comparing the likes Peter shilton, Dinozoff and Pat Jennings to Olele's case. THEY WERE PLAYING ...

I don't get your point Mr.Abrantie. Forget about the documentation issue and focus on the real age. Olele is 45 years old and still growing strong, so allow him to display his skills buddy.

We all want a good goalkeeper for the national team so if Olele is 45 but in very good shape than the young ones, so be it, let's go ahead and use him. Age is just a number.

However, it's fascinates me in particular just f ...

We don't have any problem if Olele is 100 years. Read my first comment well. What's creating this hullabaloo is the fact that some of us have said it over and over again about the age cheating of our players. This is why Grun ...

Why are you people attacking Olele only?,In that case, all the black stars players should declare their true ages. Just look at Frank Acheampong's face? It is as hard as POW's knee, and he is telling us that he is under 20.Ag ...

MDFSKK. At least now I know what you do. Hey girls beware, there come Rasheed. Haaaaaaaaaa, check all my comments and you'll note that I'm against age cheating. It's not about Olele, but all of our players. By the way, my kne ...

U FOOLS ARE MISTAKENLY COMPARING OLELE TO SHILTON ETC. REALLY?ZOFF, SHILTON, WERE PLAYING IN MUCH COMPETITIVE LEAGUE. WITH THER RIGHT AGES. THEY WERE ALSO WINNING TROPHIES AT THOSE AGES. OLELE IS 52 AND PLAYING IN A SHITTY CY ...

• pala 11 years ago

we know this. whatever grivances the alhaji has against ghana's best goal keeper ever, he should seek redress elsewhere but not in the media.
    kingson is the best ever. dont go mention robert mensah. robert mensah was on the ...

• Coach 11 years ago

Idiot, Africa at that time was allocated only one slot unlike today when we have five. Olele is not even amongst the best 5 Ghana goalkeepers.

• pala 11 years ago

if africa was alloted only one slot, then the best should go for it. some country went; your bragging osei kofi, mfum & co could not. when it came to 2 countries, the razaks, polos, abedi peles, could not go. when it was made ...

• Kasavubu 11 years ago

You call Osei Kofi a braggart? Possibly, you have been told very little about Ghana soccer in the immediate aftermath of our independence. One may brag and pride the self on the achievements of other...my father is a professo ...

• Kwasi Asante, Providence,RI USA 11 years ago

Ghanaians should know that some people age stronger and better than others. I am 63 years old. I get on the dancing floor and could do all the moves including down, down, to your knees while younger men and women struggle to ...

• Joe Tetteh 11 years ago

So what exactly is your point?

• pala 11 years ago

kwesi appiah is not sending other goal keepers home because he is inviting kingson. it is competition. the best will be selected. kingson was sent home to make room for kwarasey even kwarasey himself protested. that was the m ...

• Peter P 11 years ago

Ghana's best goalkeeper ever? Really? With all those gaffs? When were you born? Ever heard of Robert Mensah, John Naawu, Dodoo Ankrah? Ghana's best goalkeeper my foot.

• pala 11 years ago

what was their track record? how long did they keep the post? i will rate joseph carr over the names you have mentioned.
    a british selected team beat ghana 7:0 at the accra sports stadium just after independence. check who w ...

• Peter P 11 years ago

You said it yourself - Robert Mensah was voted Africa's best goalkeeper at age 30. Can you say same for Olele? Yes, Joseph Carr was very good, so was Essel Mensah, but both of them cannot compare with Robert Mensah or John Na ...

HE IS OLDER THAN METHUSELAH. HE IS A GRANDPOPPY. HE PAID AA 5000 DOLLARS JUST SO HE COULD GET SELECTION. WILL BRASIL COACH DO THIS? NO..THISIS WHY I DONT GH TO GO TO BRASIL. TOO PRIMTIVE.

• Peepe 11 years ago

Stupid Comments!!!!

• Coach 11 years ago

Go back to school, you illiterate moron.

U 2 FAGOTS ARE AFARAID OF THE TRUTH. ITS BCOS OF SPECIMENS LIKE U THAT I DNT LIVE IN GH. GH IS THE WAY IT IS BCOS PPL LIKE U 2 BITCH ASSES SWEEP THE TRUTH UNDER THE RUG N PRETND AS IF ALL IS FINE. U WANT OLELE TO DIE IN THE P ...

• BJJ 11 years ago

DON'T TALK ABOUT THE AGE TOO MUCH,BCOS WE ARE NOT CREATED EQUAL,SOME PEOPLE ARE OLD BUT STILL STRONG.GHANAIANS ARE TALK TOO MUCH.ESPERIENCE IS THE BEST TEACHER.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

Olele may be experienced but age has caught up with him. His soul may be willing but the body is weak. AA should be careful of his Kingston choice.

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

An older, white haired man walked into a jewelry store one Friday evening with a beautiful young girl at his side. He told the jeweler he wanted a special ring for his girlfriend.

The jeweler looked through his stock and ...

That is just hilarious. Prince, I am talking about how age can catch up with you and there is nothing you can do. I remember myself being a good sportsman and dominated the UCC 400 and 800 yards during my school days. I was a ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 11 years ago

A Goalkeeper is not like a 200 meter athlete. Goalkeeping is more about skills and experience than about energy. Don't forget about those aged German goalies who have even excelled in FIFA World Cup tournaments.

• Kwaagyebi Kofi 11 years ago

Alhaji, And so what? You should rather admire and praise him for still being in the game. Look, he is one of the best we have ever produced, period!

• Kwame Kumi 11 years ago

I don't know what or who your question 'And so what?' is directed at. But I hope it's not directed at Alhaji Grunsah. The only comment he made about Kinson is that he was playing for Olympics in 1988 so I wonder where your ...

• Solomon 11 years ago

SO, GRUNSAH WANTS TO SAY RICHARD KINSON WAS THEN TEN(10) YEARS OLD WHEN HE FEATURED FOR OLYMPICS AGAINST HEARTS OF OAKS IN A LEAGUE MATCH WHICH ENDED IN A 2-2 DRAW IN 1988. I QUITE REMEMBERED HEARTS GOT THE EQUALIZER THROUGH ...

• Appiah 11 years ago

GRUNSAH'S RECORDS MEANS KINSON SHOULD BE MORE THAN 35 YEARS,BY MY CALCULATIONS. IF HE STARTED WITH OLYMPICS IN 1988,THEN IT MEANS,HE FEATURED FOR THEM AT THE AGE OF 10.BY THEN HE SHOULD BE IN PRIMARY FOUR (4).I CAN'T BELIEVE ...

• Joe 11 years ago

Solomon, it was not a forty yarder. the volley was from an Ablade Kuma free kick that Shamo redirected into the net. Much as it was a beautiful goal it was not a forty yarder. The redirection was from the top of the box, that ...

• Kwame Kumi 11 years ago

So by your own analysis, especially since you don't dispute the fact that you yourself saw Kingson playing for Olympics in 1988, what's the minimum age you'll give to Olele? Mind you, Alhaji Grunsah hasn't given him any age. ...

HW3, DARE OLELE O DIVE. WHEN HE WAS IN THE EPL, HE COULDNT DIVE FOR FEAR HEWILL BREAK HIS HIP. ALWAYS BEND DOWN NKOOAAA. IDIOTS WANT TO COMPARE OLELE TO PETER SHILTON, BUFFON, ETC. U ARE COMPARING CYPRUS LEAGUE BANZA WEI TO I ...

• Rain 11 years ago

Kw33333 age cheating be wat? lol only in Ghana m333n

• Kobby 11 years ago

Ethiopian keeper Atougah was 38 when featured for Ethiopia in 1978 Africa cup of Nations in Ghana so what is the big deal?

The nature of soccer has changed since then. It has become faster and people need a bunch of stamina to compete. Has Olele got those qualities now? HMMMM.

• dannyman 11 years ago

Look all this guys cheat, even stephen appiah stated that he played for hearts at 13years, his father died at 70 but appiah was 30 & her junior sister was almost 40, osei kufour got weak at 28, anthony annan played an exhibit ...

• fifa.org 11 years ago

That is how the GFA is. Even Moses Odjer was 16 years when the u-20 world cup was on going this, a premeir league (Tema Youth) product and a training college graduate. Can the GFA be fair at all and to everybody??? Even those ...

• Pancho 11 years ago

The evil that men do lives after them. Give the younger athletes a chance to grow into the system. Yes Olele is too old he can be recruited as a goalkeeper coach but his inclusion into the Black Star will back fire and that's ...

• Joe 11 years ago

The point is when it comes to the senior national team, age should not be a limiting factor. The very best eleven must be used, period. That said, Olele and several other players are using massaged ages with the connivance of ...

• JH Sela-Quarshie 11 years ago

Mr. Kobby, please check your records well. Atougah was a TUNISIAN GOALKEEPER AND NOT AN ETHIOPIAN AS YOU ARE ALLUDING TO.

• Kobby 11 years ago

Than U, JH but the import of the message matters.

• Frank Talk 11 years ago

If coach Appiah is bent on inviting old players to save the Black Stars...
    then he shd call Stephen Appiah to complete the circle..... Na waoo

• NPP 11 years ago

HE IS OLD BUT GOOD KEEPER,AGE IS NOT A CRIME AS SOME PREMITIVE GHANAIANS ALWAYS TALK ABOUT AGE,BECAUSE HE DIDN,T GREET GRUSAH SO THAT IS HIS CRIME.

• KOFI MUMUI 11 years ago

SO WHAT!?

• small axe 11 years ago

If u want to go public get your facts right. Any reasonable person can check from olympic whn he joined. In anycase if he is 1000 years and can do wht 25 yrs are unable to do who cares? Grunsah is a senseless man yet he alway ...

• Abeku 11 years ago

Why are we chastising our own hero?Is
    Grunsah a coach?At what age did Oliver Kahn retire? At what age does a goalkeeper reach peak performance? At what age did Roger Milla score the most sensational goal in a world cup fina ...

• jonathan sackey 11 years ago

I think we are not working as a concerted unit in realising our dream of going to the World Cup the third time . If olele can assist the Black stars in getting to the World Cup, who cares about the age.Question ,is the Goalk ...

• Ohenenana 11 years ago

Grusa is right. Olele was in the post for Olympics when Kotoko beat Olympics two nil in Kumasi in December 1989. Isaac Kwaakye and Yahaya Kassum scored the goals.

• osuklottey 11 years ago

Your are a real patriotic Ghanaian,your comments is the best of the lot,thinking Ghana,lol

• KOKU ONLINE 11 years ago

CAN THE DAILY GRAPHIC OR TIMES PLEASE CONFIRM THIS. GUINNESS BOOK OF RECORDS CAN YOU UPDATE YOUR RECORDS FFOR OLELE

• Fred 11 years ago

Guys, all jokes and sentiments aside..Is this really how we treat our heroes? This guy is a legend! A record not even the legendary Robert Mensah can boast of. What has he ever done to anybody other than answering a call to h ...

• CHAMPION 11 years ago

THE BRIBE AKWESI APPIAH TOOK FROM OLELE WHICH OF YOU CAN PRODUSE THAT MONEY? IT IS NOT BECUASE OF OLELE IS A GOOD KEEPER, BUT BECUASE OF THE MONEY. GUYS WISE UP, AKWESI APPIAH IS A SENSEBLE PERSON, AND VERY SMART IN L ...

• AGYA SIMPA CARPENTER 11 years ago

And Alhaji Grusah did not know about Olele's real age then? Why has the can of worms been opened up now? Has any of these gentlemen anything to gain or lose with the veteran goalie's inclusion or exclusion?

• Kwame Nimako 11 years ago

Oh Alhaji!!!!!!. Do you know more book than the GFA people? Don't you know that they are the same people that keep the records? Everything is on the computer and by the click of a button the answer will be on the screen. Don' ...

• Mouse Russell Crowe 11 years ago

hahahahahahahahahaha

• wilson 11 years ago

it cant be true

• south 11 years ago

Look at somebody want to be GFA president.

• pala 11 years ago

had it not been kwesi nyantakyi, he would have been the chairman.

• Lover of soccer 11 years ago

You people are so mean and vindictive. Shame on you all for casting the first stone. Search your hearts and identify where you also cheated. Leave him alone.

• roy,usa 11 years ago

What is all this about. Who is that man. He should be ashamed of himself. You helped somebody to gained a team , so? everybody need somebody. you helped him and he is giving it back to Ghana so he better shut the hell up. Jea ...

• Mike 11 years ago

So funny

• Forthright 11 years ago

Kingston's Turkish name, after he naturalized, was Faruk Gürsoy.

• OGA yum yum 11 years ago

yeah, alhaji bravo...

• fifa.org 11 years ago

i wouldn't be suprise if FIFA is following this our age cheating saga. And we would be in Ghana and FIFA would just strip Ghana off all the medals and trophies awarded to Ghana at the all the youth competions in Ghana. All th ...

• wilson 11 years ago

as a secondary school boy in 1988, i used to watch olympics training at police depot park @ tesano.
    i remember seeing harry zakour & others. i also remember seeing goal keepers' trainer john naawu telling one goal keeper cal ...

• Wenchi Moke 11 years ago

What is this alhaji insinuating?Age is but a number.If he is the best we have,so be it.

• wilson 11 years ago

remember alhaji made the headlines when he criticised the use of edward ansah by bukhard ziese on his second coming. that made him very popular and he received a lot of applause when he drew an analogy between the ages of him ...

• Ghanaba 11 years ago

I agree. 1988 was the year of Shamo Quaye and Ablade Kumah and hearts twinkle starlets. Kingston was no where at the time.

• INTERESTING 11 years ago

Mr, Remembering just a single episode in an entire season isn't enough to debunk the Alhaji's assertion. Bring something more convincing.

• okasadon 11 years ago

Thank u soo much wilson

• wilson 11 years ago

you will make me enjoy this week end

• nicman@atl 11 years ago

with nyaho tamakloe as the center half or shut up

• Analyst 11 years ago

One big problem we have as a country is that we feed on any negative story about a successful person as if it is teh gospel truth.
    If Kingson had played for Olympics in 1988 and his age reads 35, then he was 10 years when h ...

• wilson 11 years ago

keep it up

SOCCER IS A PHYSCAL SPORT. ASK URSELF WHY WE HAVE A RETIRMENT AGE OF 65. SOMETIMES, I DONT KNOW WHY PPL IN GH SEEM TO HAVE A TOTALLY DIFFERENT BRAIN THAN EVERYONE ELSE. IS THE LEVEL OF SHEER STUPIDITY IN THE WATER. OR IN THE ...

• Robert Mensah 11 years ago

Aaaaaaaarrrhhhhh! Why do we keep players as reserves when you can resurrect dead carriers?

AA please answer this.

• OGOGLO QUARTER 11 years ago

UNTIL THE BONES ARE ROTTEN.HE WILL USE WALKING STICK AND STILL KEEPING GOAL..KEEP IT UP OLELE .

• j m 11 years ago

Ghana don't need olli kwsiaper if Ghana.love this match you are gone

• naapong 11 years ago

It is never true that Olele played 4 Oly in 1988.Alhaji shd check his records.even in ealy 90s, Olele was no where near Olympics

• m.m hamburg 11 years ago

Rasheed u are a true bushman.dede n Jordan were born in France n kwerasey in Denmark. so they can change their age.

• joeitaliano 11 years ago

I see nothing wrong with his return , keepers can even play at 40 , there are so many examples in the world , moreover his presence can lift the morals of our players and keepers as well which we need at this stage . So guys ...

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 11 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFUL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• RAS -VULTURE 11 years ago

I admire Alhaji Grunsah a lot because he fears no foe when it comes to being vociferous concerning an act he sees as detriment to the growth of Ghana soccer.

Alhaji has been in Ghana soccer for so long but this time aroun ...

• crorkz matz 10 years ago

cYA5O4 Really appreciate you sharing this post.Really looking forward to read more. Much obliged.

• crorkz matz 10 years ago

EniIvP Hey, thanks for the article post.Much thanks again. Will read on...