Ghana possess quality squad for World Cup – Essien

Read Comments Comments (43)

• tuy 10 years ago

Essien Should start from the bench because Ghana has quality central midfielders who can do the job.

• JoJo - USA 10 years ago

MICHAEL ESSIEN SPOKE INTELLIGENTLY AND MATURELY.

• Slimzay***The Unshakable Shaker*** 10 years ago

GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)
    DEFENDERS (8): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke C ...

• Rabon Zee 10 years ago

By leaving behind experienced goal-poacher and penalty-taker the US team has to rely on mid-fiielder Michael Bradley and kamikaze forward Chris Wondolowski. Jozy Altidore was a bench-warmer all year at Sunderland and has lost ...

• Akomkyire eni Mpaebour 10 years ago

Let's assume Ghana will make it out of the group stage, that leaves out the US and which other country, Ronaldo's Portugal or gold old Germany. Let the prayers and fastings begin.

• WENCHI MOKE 10 years ago

He was the piece of jigsaw we missed in the last W.C.Not quantitative,but of first class quality and brings confidence to the midfield.

• Ghfuo, Pastor Whodunnit! 10 years ago

I'm more worried about our defensive capabilities. How cohesive are the players? Who is the leader at the back? I think aa should use Essien in defence to achieve this aim. Boye is rusty and so is nkum. Aside from jonathan Me ...

• Rasheed 10 years ago

We are making a big mistake by allowing wimpy Appiah to handle black stars.

• LONDON 10 years ago

GET LOST WITH UR DIRT MOUTH

• The Stallion 10 years ago

Did you mean to say BS will win the first match?
    We are winning all the group matches, and on on we go!!!

• Koffi 10 years ago

People hate objectivity. Because you voiced an objective opinion regarding the black stars, they call you all sort of names. Never mind them, they're all a bunch of idiots with no critical thinking and no sense of football. A ...

Whether Rasheed is the man or not, all what I know is that we are sweeping everybody from day one to the end.
    Do you want to challenge?

• Rasheed 10 years ago

See how you dey run your mouth,like Usian Bolt wey dey finish 100 meters.

We will brush aside the USA, trample over Germany, and that will galvanize us to blank Portugal, after we have shackled Ronaldo.

• AMERICA LOVER 10 years ago

You liar bad Stallion! I don't think America will aloud us to beat them continuously three times.They are planing to surprise us.

• Koffi 10 years ago

When you say "We are sweeping everybody from the one to the end", which "we" are u refering to? I mean you and who??? I completely dissociate myself from such brash talks. Lets face it, we have no chance against Portugal, Ger ...

Me and my supporters! We are talking and focusing at the same time. The talking will put fear in our opponents, whiles we are preparing underground.
    They will smell shito and koobi.

• Rasheed 10 years ago

Appiah is already shitting in his pants and if you like, go and smell it.

• Peter Lawrence 10 years ago

It is going to be a tough match between Ghana and the United States. The Americans are busy doing their home work by studying videos, sending scouts and aggressive boot camp with strict discipline.
    What is going to happen t ...

• ck bklyn 10 years ago

Like this can do spirit lets go Ghana all the way.

• Harrison 10 years ago

The most important thing is; there should be cohesion in the team. This was lacking when we were playing Egypt and Zambia though we won. If the players are not blended together to play as a unit, we cannot win by mere havin ...

• TRUTH HURTS 10 years ago

"Anything can happen, but we are realistic enough to know we cannot aim that high from the start... WHAT KIND OF JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMMA MENTALITY IS THIS!!. GHANA IS ALSO WORTHY WINNERS. LOOK AT OUR SQUAD. WE ALSO HAVE EQUALLY ...

• Obibini 10 years ago

we are going to world cup Brazil not semi final Brazil

• Ghanaian 10 years ago

Yes, Ghana, we will win the world cup 2014 period

• Prince 10 years ago

I like the confidence Essien and Kevin Boateng have and that will see the team through. We will Qualify to the next stage. Go Go Black stars Go !!! Gooooooal

• Citizen 10 years ago

we want the ball in the net at th end of the day period.

• Citizen 10 years ago

we want the ball in the net at the end of the day; period.

• Babu 10 years ago

He is a spent force.

All he does these days is guiding balls and not tackle.

Not very productive

• WATCHDOG 10 years ago

You're very, very observant bro.

• Koffi 10 years ago

why are these players being too mouthy??? They need to shut up their mouths, speak very little and focus on their preparations. Prove it on the field. The more we speak and the more we brag about how good we are, the more dis ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

Is the Ghana Black Stars afraid of the World Cup ?. I f no,why soo many "yapi yapi".
    A 3rd World attitude indeed !.

• LONDON 10 years ago

TAKE UR FOOLISHNESS TO ISLAM BACKWARD AND STUPID PEOPLE WHO KIDNAPS CHILDREN
    ISLAM AND ITS PEOPLE LIKE U ARE VIOLENT ENTITIES ON EARTH
    GET LOST AND SPEAK BETTER

• mugu1 10 years ago

how hard you guys must try to provide the strickers enough passes

• yaw, USA 10 years ago

GHANA 3
    USA 1

GHANA 2
    GERMANY 1

GHANA 1
    PORTUGAL 1

• MELODY 10 years ago

GROUP G IS FOR THE TWO GG.......PERIOD

• Muguyaroo 10 years ago

Mark it! The USA is going to use rough strategy and the referee will not favor Ghana and the USA will win. Ghana players must be prepared for rough plays. If they fall down, no whistle blow for them, just score to win.

• MELODY 10 years ago

NAY WE LOSE OR WIN THE FIRST MATCH,,WE SHALL SURVIVE THE GROUP AND MOVE ON...YES WE ARE ARE NOT AFRAID OF ANYONE',WE SHALL ALL KICK ONE BALL THROUGHOUT THE 90MINUTES

• Whatever 10 years ago

Look at Atletico Madrid, they are not the better quality squad out there nor have they the better quality players yet they are Champions. The magic is that the overall team have its own QUALITIES. They can score from all kind ...

• Mohammed Ibrahim 10 years ago

Ghana Black Stars Progressing from their group will depend on the out come of their first game against USA.
    If Ghana Black Stars Beat the USA in their first Match then Ghana got a very good chance of Progressing from that gr ...

• benjamin O.anane 10 years ago

There is nothing new about a team losing a match,what is new is the vast range if excuses to justify it.Ghanaians do not have a particular playing strategy,our gift is we have antidote to any team's game plan. Before a pot ca ...

• GHANA FIRST 10 years ago

Michael Essien has shown us the way and every Ghanian Black Stars Supporters and players and the whole nation must do the same
    We will beat Germany before we go to the field if we will say it with our mouth and believe it in ...

• No Favoritism ! Is Essien good enough 10 years ago

May 22, 2014 10:19:00 PM
    The U.S. national team's all-time leading scorer will not be going to his fourth finals after coach Jurgen Klinsmann omitted him from his plans

USA's all-time leading goalscorer Landon Donovan has ...

• Ck Akunnor 10 years ago

Abeg o ommo blackstar make go leave your wives for me'ooo !!! Na weyti you dey stay here for!??