Yaya Toure named African Player of the Year

Read Comments Comments (61)

• kwame nti 9 years ago

this bullshit by what criteria

• Wells 9 years ago

This CAF self should burn itself in shame. What kind of thing is this. I think the English countries in Africa should start thinking of another African games because this is sickness to say the least.

• NANA YAW 9 years ago

ASAMOAH GYAN IS BETTER THAN MESSI BY FAR.

• maxwell 9 years ago

You don't know what to say.

• Ghfuo: Be Bad & Hang Nyantakyi, NOW! 9 years ago

Went there? Gyan should go to Oman League and From there go to Bahrain

• Allotey 9 years ago

How can this guy be best player four times in a roll. He has only had one good season his entire career. Prior to that he was a bench warmer. After that he has been a mediocre performer for both club and country so how does t ...

• Bangarlee sylla 9 years ago

Is this a joke? I mean is CAF to be taking seriously or what ? No disrespect to Yaya but he is no way near the award this time around , no where near . CAF is a joke !

• The Stallion 9 years ago

You should have mentioned who should have won, and your comment would have been perfect!

• NANA YAW 9 years ago

LOOKING AT THE STYLE OF PLAY AND GOAL RECORDS, BETTY JET IS FAR BETTER THEN DROGBA OR ETOO.

Why have you semi-literates invaded this forum this way?

• Allotey 9 years ago

How does he merit this award. The african player of the year award has lost all credibility.mthis guy doesn't deserve it period

• Gordon Yeboah,USA 9 years ago

I wonder why English side of African are still competing for the African best player thing.its hayatous ways and means way of honoring his French African side.no wonder Paul biya of Cameroon has been a president for almost 40 ...

Name the best African player you think should have won.
    I want to read: "Toure shouldn't have won, so and so should have won". That's all I want to read!!!

• allottey 9 years ago

Listen, asamoah gyan has been far better than him. What did he do beside the fact that he plays for a top European team? The fact is there hasn't been a winner from an English speaking country since kanu of Nigeria won it in ...

My friend, name who should have won!!! Why have semi-literates invaded this forum of late?

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

Asamoah Gyan should have won, period. The next person in line should be Nigerian goalie Enyeama. Yahaya Toure did nothing in Africa in 2014. He was also nowhere to be seen in Brazil. It is Drogba and Gervino who fought for th ...

I was waiting for a single intelligent Ghanaian to mention a name, but all of them were beating about the bush!!!
    Now that I have praised you, the semi-literates will come out in their numbers and be mentioning names which s ...

• Allotey 9 years ago

Where do u come from? U r here to question the intelligence of ghanaians. What is ur country?who born u by mistake

• Tanga star in Egypt. 9 years ago

let me tell you no Ghana no football in Africa. Who dare you to say something against Ghana?

Can you play in division 2 and be awarded the best player of the year award in ghana? Gyan plays in a weak, non competitive uae league. The Saudi league sef betta pass uae league muahahahaaaaaaaaa

1.He helped naija win the last afcon trophy.
    2. Has been consistent with club in French league
    3. Naija put up a good show in brasil largely becos of him.
    Yaya is good, but he has only been good at the club level. His eff ...

• roy usa 9 years ago

I agree with you. How can a player wins Africa award while he did nothing to help African team. I watched all Ivorian games at Brazil, this guy was a disaster. So with all the clubs in Africa continent we couldn't find best p ...

• Great 9 years ago

You are 100% right. This award will only go to the French counties. That Hayatous or whatever his name is, is destorying The African cup of nations.

• Mumbi of Toronto 9 years ago

All u know is your idol, Gyan, who has no trophy to his name. Toures 23 goals will be equal to over 100 goals at Al Ain. Let is be real. You don't play in a low low league & expect to be winning trophies & awards.

When you want to question someone for him to sweat, don't help him with the answer. Just ask him to name the one who should have won. Read my comments above.

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

Is this a trophy for English football or it is a trophy for African football? Does Yahya Toure score goals from the back of the net. If this is about goal scoring alone, then why was Enyeama chosen among the last 3? Why don't ...

• JK 9 years ago

How many goals has Yahya Toure scored in a World Cup, and when was the last time he scored? How many has he scored on African soil?

• black street 9 years ago

did you watch the world cup?

• MEMAN NTI 9 years ago

Gyan is playing low low league but he is better than Yaya Toure at international stage.Gyan 2 goals at world cup is more than Toures 23 goals at premiere league.

• JOE,LONDON 9 years ago

What shit is this?How can Yaya Toure be the best african player for four years running? Rubbish!!!!

Who should win? Give names!!!

• NANAÖ MOTHER !!! 9 years ago

It should have been Asamoah Gyan.Reason is he was the africa player in the World cup who score more goals and have score more goals in club level.

• WE DON'T CARE 9 years ago

WE ALL KNOW THIS WAS RIGGED.SHAME ON YOU FOOLS FOR DISCREDITING SOMETHING THAT COULD HAVE BEEN BEAUTIFUL.

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

He as been more consistent than any other African Player.

• HHAAHAAAHA!! 9 years ago

THERE ARE A HANDFUL OF MORE DESERVING PLAYERS WHO'VE NOT EVEN BEEN CONSIDERED!! IT HAS TO DO WITH HIM BEING AT MANCHESTER CITY!! HOPELESS THROPHY!! WHY 4 IN A ROW? AFTER 3 WINS,HE NEEDN'T CONTINUE TO BE IN THE RUNNING!! ...

• Keen Observer 9 years ago

This is really fucked up!
    Who does Gyan need to buttfuck at CAF in order to get the recognition he deserves??

• Whatever 9 years ago

They guy couldn't even take the so-called star-studded Ivorian national team to the semi final of the the last edition of the Africa cup of nations and ended up achieving nothing personally and professionally at the world cup ...

• roxy 9 years ago

Funny

• Boozu 9 years ago

Better choice, Not like someone called Gyan hiding in some league we don't know about and still wants to be nominated.

• MEMAN NTI 9 years ago

Gyan is playing hiding league but better at international stage.Compare both ( Toure and Gyan)at international stage,I mean World Cup and Africa Cup of Nations.

• falilu fadiga 9 years ago

congratulation man, u deserved more than that .it would not be fare if they gave it to those who played in a ghost league

• yup 9 years ago

Sure a ghost league....but comes out to set a record at the WORLD CUP. Isn't this something that needs to be recommended?...how did Toure performed at the world stage? Perhaps Gyan can do better if he also plays with the cali ...

• Fair 9 years ago

Is it an award for the best African player playing in Europe or what? The goalkeeper helped Nigeria to win the African Cup he has been consistent at the club side and all that Yaya did was to help Man City to win the league. ...

• Sankara 9 years ago

he is a good player but Toure doesn't deserve this Enyeama should have won unfortunately he is not Francophone

• Eric 9 years ago

If u think too much about this things u will end up getting BP..I don't know what will change Africa...Shame..

• Eric 9 years ago

If u think too much about this things u will end up getting BP...I don't know what will change Africa..Shame..

• maxwell 9 years ago

Yaya deserve it 100 tyms.he is a world class footballer.

• Maxi Gh 9 years ago

dey always give de award 2 de francofon players

• Kwaku 9 years ago

How can you compare UAE league with the greatest EPL? The EPL is the biggest league in the world and for Yaya toure to play in one of the biggest clubs (man city) in England and he is one of the highest goal scorers this seas ...

• yup 9 years ago

So the award should simply be " the best African player in europe"...cos at the world stage Yaya is nowhere near Gyan at the moment

• TOGBE EMMA. 9 years ago

I Absolutely agree with those who think the award should be renamed `the best African player in Europe" , then Yaya Toure comes in but if it encompasses soccer around the globe then the winner should have been Gyan or the Gab ...

• Yankee 9 years ago

Useless body with bias awards. Asamoah Gyan is the best in Africa now.

• Eeeee 9 years ago

Currently who can beat yaya?

• loops 9 years ago

what has he done to be crown that. he deserves nothing.

• Lewis S/A 9 years ago

@mumbi
    Your brother won it when playing in china so what do you mean low low league does not win award? Is the chineas league better than the saudi league?

• Amega 9 years ago

The formula for choosing the best African player is really faulty and needs review. It looks like the chosenone has to be playing in Europe.

• The boy 9 years ago

Yaya Toure deserve it....Gyan has to make a move to the EPL...and 4gt about money..He is already rich among Ghanaian players...so all what he needs now is the awards....

• JABIR 9 years ago

Yaya toure deserved the award.He is a good player by all standard,he is among the top ten best players in the world.The top 5 best midfielders.

• kofi ba 9 years ago

True

• shaf 9 years ago

I think CAF should rename the title to best African player in europe because looking at the performance of Gyan and Yaya in the year under review in Africa and for their respective countries Gyan deserves the award

• Okesse 9 years ago

Gyan is playing in an unknown league but he came to score Germany
    He is CAF best scorer
    An African best World Cup score but has not won the CAF award. Surprise!Surprise