Nii Lante orders Grant to use home-based players for Rwanda clash

Read Comments Comments (100)

• KWASHIE ADJAH 9 years ago

IS NII LANTE NOW SEEKING TO BE THE COACH OF THE NATIONAL TEAM????????? WHO THE HELL DOES NII LANTE THINK HE IS, TO ORDER THE COACH AVRAM GRANT TO CHOOSE CERTAIN PLAYERS OR NOT, THE MINISTER OF SPORTS, HAS NO BUSINESS RUNNING ...

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

All what the minister is doing is that, if the GFA is going to spend taxpayer's money to run its program, then the government should control the decisions...

Nyantekyi and his mafia say they do not respond to the governmen ...

• KWASHIE ADJAH 9 years ago

THE SAME MEDDLING AND INTERFERENCE HAPPENED FOR 19 YEARS UNDER RAWLINGS AND GHANA DID NOT QUALIFY FOR THE WORLD CUP EVEN ONCE OVER THOSE 19 WASTED YEARS. CONTINUE TO SING THIS "CALLING THE TUNE" GARBAGE AND GHANA WILL FAIL TO ...

• AMUZU 9 years ago

NDC CAN MESS UP ALL OF INSITITUTIONS BUT PLEASE LEAVE OUR FOOTBALL(SOCCER)OR SPORTS ALONE,BECAUSE THAT IS THE ONLY INSITITUTION,THAT UNITE US AS A NATION.

• Sethoo 9 years ago

Selection of players into the national teams is not the duty of a Sports Minister,its the sole prerogative duty of the GFA Technical directorate & the coaches period.By the way what is wrong with eyes of Nii Lante & John Maha ...

• anokwale 9 years ago

In fact, FIFA could see this action as government interference and suspend the team.

FIFA and GFA will not spend tax payer's money as if it is stolen loot...

The government, through its representative the minister, protects the tax payer money. Some corrupt guys at FIFA and GFA should not decide how to sp ...

• $AINT GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 9 years ago

WE HAVE AFRICAN BASED PLAYERS FROM AHLY, TP MAZEMBE, GH PLAYERS IN SUDAN AND SOUTH AFRICA. U DID NOT CALL ANY EXCEPT BENCH WARMER GYIMAH. ARE U SAYING AHLY, MAZEMBE AND THOSE SUDAN AND SOUTH AFRICAN BASED GH PLAYERS ARE ALSO ...

• anokwale 9 years ago

Depriving the fans of the Black Star matches will not stop corruption in Ghana. The corruption will only shift to another sector and the fans will suffer.

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

FIFA has paid more money for our sports than the government.

• MAHAMA 9 years ago

I don't know what is happening to this Nii Lante. He wants to behave like how E. T. Mensah was doing during his tenure as the minister of sports in the 90's. How does he go behind everybody to instruct the coach in the select ...

• $aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 9 years ago

This nigga always talking. What are u doing to progress sports in Ghana? Aaba! Dabiaa talking nkoaaa, we just came back from Rio with negative zero medals and this nigga mii lantey is still talking? Smh..

• Joe 9 years ago

NII LANTE IS RIGHT TOO MUCH CORRUPTION GOING ON AT THE GHANA FA. KWASI AND HIS FA BOYS ARE GREEDY STEALING AND DISRESPECTFUL OF GHANAIANS. THE LOCAL PLAYERS ARE GHANAIANS AS WELL AND MUST BE GIVING A CHANCE.NII LANTE IS BOLD ...

• Nii is stupid 9 years ago

Even if the team is Nii lante's private team he has no right telling the coach who to pick so that if the coach doesn't get it right we know who to blame and sack.
    What does this latrine porter boy know about coaching

• babs 9 years ago

If you can't arrest the so called corrupt gfa officials,just shut up and let us face our problems.

• Benito. 9 years ago

Nii ,you have no power to order Avram Grant around.. your style of leadership is autocratic.crude,achaic,outmoded,unprofessional,local etc.this kinda interfering with coaches job has not helped us over the years.Dont try to r ...

• Tufguy 9 years ago

He should go and be the coach

All what he is doing is to get raid of Nyantekyi and the Mafia called GFA...

THIS IS WAR...SUPPPORT THE MINISTER...

WE WALL HAVE BEEN CALLING FOR NYANTEKYI TO GO...This is the first minister with balls to stare the DE ...

• say it loud 9 years ago

Yes sir. Thank you. Sir please can I get your phone#. We the Local Players are capable. Our seniors are in Europe making good monies. We are also need this platform for exposure. Just give us $2000 or less and we shall be gra ...

• Ohene Gyan 9 years ago

The Honduras Senior National team coach is also the Olympic team coach, yet in Ghana we pay top dollars for a coach to stay in England to only call up players being trained by other coaches together for a couple of day before ...

• Ohene Gyan 9 years ago

Some correction here: Local potential players and coming from Europe.
    I stand corrected.

• Ernest 9 years ago

Your construction is still wrong. It should read, 'potential local players'

• Ohene Gyan 9 years ago

Thank You.

• wiseman 9 years ago

l think the minister can do the job better coz our players are too selfish, money conscious and greedy and who cares if black star win or lose.
    Thank you Mr Minister. lets use our local for the rest of the match.

• anokwale 9 years ago

Did the locals qualify for CHAN? What did they do at COSAFA? Did locals get us through Olympic qualifiers? Come on my people. We have to be realistic. Football has changed. We cannot field a local team and think they can ...

• Jacob 9 years ago

You are right my friend.keep telling the truth.

• Fred 9 years ago

Shut up hungry man.this same black star team was giving to local player during J.J.R.regime but nothing good comes out

• Jacob 9 years ago

Look at this lazy player...you too try to be proffessional and you will be selected.that is all.Lazy footballer.hmmmm.you want $2000 too.hmmmmm

• OPANIN 9 years ago

This is the most ridiculous way of pandering to sentiments. A national minister who is supposed to be initiating and implementing policies has now reduced himself into a "gota gota" coach. He has nothing to do.

Very soon t ...

• OPANIN 9 years ago

I suggest Avram Grant ignores this buffoon of a minister and let us see the effect of his stupidity. If there are no players for the team will Lante assemble boys to represent the country? Does he has that legal power to do t ...

• say it loud 9 years ago

Minister please continue the good work. There is wisdom your directive. Good richly bless you. And please be firm on this decision. An appearance fee of $2000 for me equals Ghc 8000.00. I have featured in all the premiership ...

• JOEJOE 9 years ago

LOOK AT DEAD RUBBER FACE OF VANDERASS.IDIOT PERSON FROM HELL YOU WANT TO DESTROY GHANA FOOTBALL AS YOU AND YOUR NDC DID IN THE 90THS. GOD WILL PUNISH YOU .IF YOU SEND GHANA FOOTBALL INTO DARKNESS AGAIN. WHAT NYANTAKYI HAS DO ...

• Registered independent 9 years ago

Please let the professionals do their job.if you want to be a coach go take coaching courses.Leave the GFA alone and concentrate on your ministerial work for Ghana sports as a whole.Leave Nyantakyi and coach Grant alone to th ...

• DADY 9 years ago

IF YOU ARE GOOD SPORT MINISTER WHY DONT YOU SAVE OTHER SPORT LIKE BOXING, ATHLETIC, VOLLEY, ETC .VANDERPUY YOU ARE WORKING FOR YOUR MASTER SATAN. YOUR EVIL INTENTION WILL BE A CURES FOR YOUR WHOLE FAMILY IN FUTURE

• BIBIO 9 years ago

The Black Stars have already qualified so some money must be saved

• Odza The Fireman 9 years ago

it most certainly makes excellent sense! You are 101% right my brother.

• Ken 9 years ago

Bibio you make absolute sense. Even if money is not saved, let all be given to the called local players and you will see the impact this will make on our league. The team should not be only local players alone but a mixer of ...

• babs 9 years ago

Logic doesn't work like that.tell your ministers to sacrifice their allowances and save money.

• Kwaku 9 years ago

That is not your job if you don't know your job. All that you need to do is to help improve the standard of our local league as a sports minister and stop talking shit.

• Yaw Boafu 9 years ago

One way of improving the loc add l league is by "suggesting "" that the
    local players be exposed to international duels.

• Kwo 9 years ago

When will some Ghanaians in authority stop interfering in other people’s Jobs? Since when has it been the duty of a minister to determine which kind of players to be used in the national team? He should really think of how ...

• The Future Force 9 years ago

Mr minister, this idea is very good but pls make sure the GFA does not influence the referee or some of the boys to take bribe and not win the match. I know you want to promote the local players but the forces you qte dealin ...

• EBBY 9 years ago

I will be extremely surprised if the coach yields to the demands of this dimwit. Nobody, not even the president of Ghana has the nerve to tell a national coach who to select into the team. It's not in his contract. However, i ...

• Oxygen 9 years ago

Can you please tell us the content of Grants contract, come on this minister is working for our good. The stars have qualified already and no need wasting money bringing down the foreign players when the local boys can just c ...

• Smoking Columbia 9 years ago

Massa, don't the local players get expose to international tournament like local AFCON and that CASSAVA oh sorry COSAFA cup? They couldn't even beat Zimbabwe. Make I think

• Odza The Fireman 9 years ago

Simply remember the age old adage that "he who pays the piper, calls the tune"!!!

• EBBY 9 years ago

That's not the case here. You hire a coach because you know yourself that you cannot coach the team. The coach, based on his experience, monitors all players and makes the best selection for the national team. Any interferenc ...

• Marcelino 9 years ago

Mahama please create a team for this useless coach to handle, but first he needs a coaching license.

• Abraham kpodo 9 years ago

go go go high hoñ. N I I lantey no weapon form against you shall prousper ... we will match them boot to boot

• Odikro 9 years ago

Idiotic fool.

• Ananse 9 years ago

Does the Minister watch the sub standard local league in Ghana? Which local players is he talking about?

If Nii Lante wants to be the coach of the national senior team, he should apply for as soon as possible. There is no where in the world where a sports minister select player for a manager or a coach. It is only in Africa an G ...

• Efo Ghana 9 years ago

Oh no. What is this country up to? But for politics, how and why should a football commentator become a Sport Minister? These politicians are killing us slowly. Remember football is our only pride as a people.

• A concerned citizen..3333333 9 years ago

Local players must excel at local Black Stars first before promoting them to the senior national team. Leave the coach alone to do his good job.

• anokwale 9 years ago

When our local players can qualify for CHAN and do something, then they can talk. For now, I see plenty of over hyped local champions.

• bio koteyt 9 years ago

Nii lante please allow the man to work. black stars have two two world cup qualifiers and the preparation starts now because it would be a failure on the part of the coach not qualify the black stars for the world cup.you're ...

• Joe 9 years ago

NII LANTE IS DOING A GOOD JOB LEAVE HIM ALONE. THE SYSTEM IS VERY CORRUPT. KWASI AND HIS FA BOYS ARE VERY CORRUPT AND GREEDY. REMEMBER THE LOCAL PLAYERS ARE ALSO GHANAIANS...

• totobi 9 years ago

Can so called bukom minister Nii Lante help those sleeping on the streets of Jamse town and Osu instead of Ghana football!

• Gam 9 years ago

Mr minister. You are surely going to fail by suggestions. If only you really said it. Do you know how many times the team can play together before the world cup qualifier? Team is coming together not because of this match but ...

• Joe 9 years ago

THIS MINISTER IS CONFRONTING THE FA AND THEIR WRONG DOINGS WHICH IS GOOD FOR GHANA...GHANA FOOTBALL IS NOT FOR KWASI NYANTAKYI AND HIS GANG ALONE BUT FOR ALL GHANAIANS.

• Grow Up Man 9 years ago

Mahama is squandering billions yet we are worried about GFA..oh Ghana.. stop envying our foreign players...Let the Minister be the coach and bring on local players and see Ghana's ranking next month...Oh Ghana

• ISSA ABONGO 9 years ago

WHEN JOHN MAHAMA AND HIS APPOINTEES STEAL GROM THE NATION, THEY DO NOT WATCH OVER THE BILLIONS OF DOLLARS STOLEN, YET THEY ARE WATCHING THE GFA, WHICH DOES NOT STEAL AND ACCOUNTS FOR THEIR EXPENDITURE IN GFA AUDITED ACCOUNTS, ...

• mark asare 9 years ago

there is a sayind that 'if you don't even like the antelope, you will definitely have to admire its running' I may not like the style of the new sports minister, but on this matter I agree with him 100%. the constant and pers ...

• totobi 9 years ago

Tell me when was the last time local club won a cup in Africa? The world is moving forward stay back and talk about local local.All entire French and Portugal team which played Euro final were foreign players ok. Do think Gha ...

• william delali 9 years ago

it a good call

• OSABERIMA 9 years ago

Any serious coach won't be sampling players like Kwesi Appiah did. Its imperative to build a strong chemistry within the team by using the same players regardless of the importance of the match. We also wanna advance in FIFA ...

• PAA SOLO 9 years ago

YOUR EVIL DEED WILL EXPOSE YOU ONE TIME .WHO TOLD WE HAVE QUALIFY SO WE DONT NEED FOREIGN PLAYERS. THE SAME LOCALS FAILED TO QUALIFY OLYMPICS, CHAN ETC. KWASEA NDC MINITERS ARE SPENDING HUGE SOME OF MONEY .WHY DONT YOU STAND ...

• Opoku 9 years ago

That ugly man called nii lantey

• Luze 9 years ago

When would this animalistic reportage stop in Ghana, if sport minister talk about the importance to use more local players who would take over from the current players, what is the order about this?

• Nokwarehene 9 years ago

Sports Minister: you are too much.

• A.M. 9 years ago

All that the sport Minister is saying is a suggestion. We have already qualified so it will be a good opportunity to give the local players that exposure.Secondly, it will save us the cost of paying to bring all the foreign p ...

• A.M. 9 years ago

Sometimes the way this stories are reported is not good. I am not sure Nii Lante will go and stand in front of the coach to tell him to use the local players. I am sure it is only a suggestion.

• PAA SOLO 9 years ago

DONT SUPPORT IDIOT CALLED VANDER..ASSWHOLE , FROM DAY ONE HE HAS EVIL INTENTION !OPEN YOUR EYES

• Koo 9 years ago

Now I see how this guy became a minister because he talk no sense like his boss, birds with same colours

• Gyakabram 9 years ago

As a founding member of OGCLAS now GHALCA, I write to state that the Minister is acting out of his powers.

The GFA is TOTALLY INDEPENDENT of the Sports Ministry,.

This is what we fought Major Kwasi Addai, Sam NelsonY e ...

• kobby 9 years ago

panyin kwasia, idiot, stupid fool,

• aaaaa 9 years ago

please what is wrong with this man he should go and control the Olympic team isn't this a disgrace to him as a sports minister the team that represent your nation could not won a medal in fact he should leave Grant alone to d ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

ANOTHER PIECE OF BULLSHIT ORCHESTRATED BY THE GREEDY, SELF-SEEKING, CORRUPTION PRONE GFA WOLF PACK. COULD BE WRONG BUT I DOUBT IT.
    SHOULDN'T TAKE MUCH TO FIGURE OUT WHERE THE WRITERS OF THE ARTICLE'S BREAD IS BUTTERED.

• armah 9 years ago

and talks like an idiotic pig, nii is amazingly blockheaded. why did he stop the foreign base athlets from going to rio. no wonder they fixed the most stupid professor i the world as president of GOC,greedy basterd nii lantey ...

• Tomorrow no dey 9 years ago

We have qualified for the Afcon already? the Minister decision is okay? let us try the locals for future needs. Again no plane tickets n fat bonuses for the 'ampahon' players.

• osei 9 years ago

you are stupid boy then you should have used the home based to players to qualify.and pay less winning bonses. if you hate the foreign based players stop watching the european leaque.

• FUFUO DADESEN 9 years ago

SPORTS MINISTER IS THE NEW JUDGE?...PERHAPS,HE WANT TO BE THE COACH "HE "FUCKING "SEF"

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

NII LANTE'S AIM IS TO GET RID OF KWESI NYANTERKYI, BUT HE WOULD FAIL. WHAT KIND OF INTERFERENCE IS THIS? COACH GRANT SHOULD INCLUDE NII LANTE IN THE TEAM BECAUSE HE USED TO BE A GOOD STRIKER DURING HIS PLAYING DAYS AROUND BUK ...

• Uncle T 9 years ago

I totally disagree with the Minister. You cannot assume the position of the Black Stars coach. Selecting players for the Black Stars at the expense of the coach is a bad precedent. Please if it is true gently review and sim ...

• fafa 9 years ago

pls Honorable this can not be possible we need them all, you local prayer who needs less of that money, if you find yourself in the shoes of the seniors you will request for more. don't be selfish

• mikel kofi 9 years ago

Thank you minister for thinking about how to develope d local league because this will give them an exposure.after all the foregn base player startd from our league.
    good call since we have already qualified

• jeff 9 years ago

So now Nii Lantey,is a coach of the black stars ahh ndc govmt want take control of everything in this country

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 9 years ago

This Nii Lante idiot must be called to order. He must leave the coach alone to do his job. If he Nii Lante knew better than the coach, Ghana would have given him (Nii Lante) the coach's job.

Every stupid fool in Ghana to ...

• Jamiu 9 years ago

What is wrong with Nii Lante? Jealousy will kill him. Does he know that if we lose this match, Ghana will drop in FIFA ranking? What a stupid minister! Moron!

• Ek 9 years ago

But u said Ghana premier league is not competitive

• Pk 9 years ago

Noting that these players get to play together only once in a while, such games still help to achieve team COHESION and understanding. Wearing a BS shirt should only be on merit.

• NANA AMA ADVISES U 9 years ago

nii lante is a stupid uneducated goat and he has no power what so ever to order the coach to change anything involving player selections.by the way he is going to get sacked any moment for all his stupid arrogant rants.ONLY J ...

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

It looks like newly appointed sports ministers need some orientation course on their job functions. MOYS has become ministry of Black Stars...SMH

• sam 9 years ago

It is a lie. Gfa denied it. Ghanaians should not always believe these useless unprofessional stations.

• Sly 9 years ago

Well done Nii Lante. Is overdue a poor country like Ghana should not be spending money any how. I agree and I'm with you.

• Abeiku SW2 London 9 years ago

Very disruptive individual .. hope it's not true ....

• NTAWA NTAWA MOSHE 9 years ago

Sanctions on the way.

• Kwame 9 years ago

IT IS JUST OBVIOUS THIS WAS A STORY CONCOCTED BY SOME CRACK HEADS TO DEMEAN THE SPORTS MINISTER. THE HEAD OFFICE OF GHANAWEB MUST BE LOCATED AT THE JAMES TOWN PUBLIC TOILET. THEY ARE FULL OF SHIT!

• Jim 9 years ago

I think this so called minister is an ass hole or just me another word Please give me one other country where the sports minister selects a football team Is the minister not aware of the disgrace his ministry meted out to the ...

• sam 9 years ago

It is a lie. Gfa denied it. Ghanaians should not always believe these useless unprofessional stations.