17 presidential aspirants file nominations

Video Archive
Fri, 30 Sep 2016 Source: starrfmonline.com

Seventeen presidential aspirants have submitted their nomination documents to the Electoral Commission to be considered as candidates for Election 2016.

The Electoral Commission will next week announce the candidates after vetting the documents which have been submitted to it.

The forms were submitted to the EC without the 50, 000 Ghana cedis filing fee due to an interlocutory injunction filed by the PPP on Wednesday.

However, the EC accepted the filing fee of the PPP on Friday despite the suit.

Commenting on the development, the Chairperson of the EC, Mrs. Charlotte Osei said she assumes that by the PPP bringing the money along with their nomination, she was of the opinion that they had withdrawn the court case.

She, therefore, questioned why they brought the money since they knew the case was in court.

The presidential aspirants who have filed their nominations to contest the December 7 polls include; Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of the NPP, John Dramani Mahama of the NDC, United Freedom Party represented by Akwesi Odike, United Freedom Party Agyenim Boateng, Hassan Ayariga APC, Kofi Akpaloo IPP, Akua Donkor of the GFP and Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings NDP.

The rest are Kwabena Adjei RDP, Papa Kwesi Nduom PPP, WO1 Richard Nixxon Tetteh UDSP, Dr. Henry Lartey GCPP, Ivor Greenstreet CPP, Edward Mahama PNC and Thomas Ward Brew DPP.

The two Independent Presidential candidates who also submitted their forms are Jacob Yaw Osei and Kwame Asiedu Walker.

Source: starrfmonline.com
Related Articles: