General News Wed, 10 Jan 2001

President Kufuor nominates 11 Ministers for appointment

The President, Mr. J. A. Kufuor on Wednesday nominated 11 more people for appointment as ministers. A statement signed by Ms Elizabeth Ohene, Presidential Adviser on Public Affairs, named them as, Mr. J.H. Mensah, MP for Sunyani East as Majority Leader and Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, Mr. Yaw Osafo Maafo, MP for Akyem Oda, as Minister of Finance, Nana Akufo-Addo, MP for Abuakwa as Attorney-General and Minister of Justice, Mrs Gladys Asmah, MP for Takoradi as Minister for Women's Affairs, Mr. Hackman Owusu-Agyemang MP for New Juaben North as Minister of Foreign Affairs, and Dr. Kwame Addo-Kufuor, MP for Manhyia as Minister of Defence.

Others are, Dr. Kofi Apraku, MP for Offinso North as Minister of Trade and Industry, Major Courage Quashiegah (RTD) as Minister of Agriculture, Alhaji Malik Yakubu Alhassan, MP for Yendi as Minister of the Interior, Dr. Kwaku Afriyie as Minister of Lands and Forestry and Professor Dominic Fobih, MP for Assin South as Minister of Science, Technology and the Environment.


The President had earlier appointed Mr. Jake Obetsebi-Lamptey as Chief of Staff and nominated Mr. Kwadwo Baah-Wiredu as Minister of Local Government and Rural Development

Source: GNA
Related Articles: