'Selfish, greedy bastards' – NPP delegate rains insults after being disenfranchised

Video Archive
Sun, 21 Jun 2020 Source: www.ghanaweb.com

After several failed attempts to find her name in the voters' album, a visibly frustrated delegate in the Adentan constituency, precisely the Gbentanaa electoral area, resorted to throwing tantrums to register her dissatisfaction.

At around 11.30 am on the voting day, a lady who was clad in white with blue jeans, together with her fellows arrived at the Adenta Community School, which served as the polling station for the Gbetanaa electoral area to cast her vote.

She was assisted by EC officials to begin the voting process but after several minutes of failed attempts to find her name in the album, she went berserk and charged at representatives of some aspirants with insults.

But some party observers and representatives of aspirants who also had enough of her insults and curses indulged her in a rather ‘dirty battle of words’ which almost ended in blows.

To make matters worse, the lady in question threatened doom for the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the upcoming 2020 general election. She was heard saying, “We shall see, these primaries are nothing but the main day in December, I’m telling you…I worked for the party, I was elected as a delegate and you had the guts to remove my name from the album. We shall see. Why are you people selfish, NPP members you’re selfish…greedy bastards but wait and see,” she angrily lamented.

But for the timely intervention of the police and other concerned party members at the scene, the exchange of words would have turned messier.

In the heat of the moment, however, all safety protocols including wearing of face mask and ensuring physical distancing were either blatantly disregarded or not strictly adhered to.

In that particular electoral area, 135 delegates were expected to vote but as at the time the fight broke out, only 99 had come to cast their votes.

According to the party’s collation form at the end of polls, out of the valid 130 votes cast Yaw Buaben Asamoa got 60 votes while Emmanuel Kwesi Mantey got 61 votes. Zack Rahman got 9 votes and the other two contenders did not get any votes at all.

Yaw Buaben Asamoa was subsequently declared the winner after winning in 11 electoral areas.

Source: www.ghanaweb.com
Related Articles: